Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Newcastle United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014/15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

That was a stonewall peno against Cabs too! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

Can't wait to hear Mark Hughes after this :pac:

Shawcross is some knacker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,036 ✭✭✭BArra

haidara is so unlucky with harsh tackles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,161 ✭✭✭✭M5

Could have had 3 more penalties here...

Now the question is who gets dropped when Tiote comes back in?

Against Arsenal specifically Ben Arfa could get the bullet despite his showing today. The idea of Walcott or Podolski going unchecked doesn't really offer much promise.

this could have been a completely different game if the red cards didnt happen, newcastle midfield was missing something before the red cards, and it was probably tiote

ben arfa does not track back and hound defenders, he just wants to dribble the ball past them outside their box.

theres no doubt he played a cracker with assists and hitting the post a couple of times, but should he be dropped for tiote?

i would say he does oddly :confused:

Pretty sure we will bring in Tiote for HBA in the next game. HBA could be a game changer if/when we go behind.

A positive result would make quite a statement! On our day its possible, we had a handy second half against Stoke so the team should be fresh enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,979 ✭✭✭Vurnon San Benito

Taking Anita off at HT was a move to keep him fresh for a big job against Arsenal as wel I would assume.

Really looking forward to the game, if we play like we have recently there's a good chance of beating them. Need to be wary of Walcott's pace of course, but our midfield can mute Ozil and Ramsey if they're up to scratch.

In Vurnon we trust :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 511 ✭✭✭RickyBobby1

Even though we scored 5 and Remy did score 2 we badly need a striker.
    Remys better playing just to the left of a target man, he just doesn't compete in the air.
    Gomis should fit the bill if fat mikes arsed, seen too much of shola lately

We can draw very little information from the Stoke game. Just a blip for both sides.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Doocey wrote: »
    Taking Anita off at HT was a move to keep him fresh for a big job against Arsenal as wel I would assume.

Really looking forward to the game, if we play like we have recently there's a good chance of beating them. Need to be wary of Walcott's pace of course, but our midfield can mute Ozil and Ramsey if they're up to scratch.

In Vurnon we trust :pac:

Your midfield won't have to worry about Ramsey. He's out till the middle of January.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,979 ✭✭✭Vurnon San Benito

greendom wrote: »
    Your midfield won't have to worry about Ramsey. He's out till the middle of January.

Right you are, bar Newcastle I didn't see or hear much of the other games

Who'll fill in for him do we think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Doocey wrote: »
    Right you are, bar Newcastle I didn't see or hear much of the other games

Who'll fill in for him do we think?

Wilshere will be back for Sunday. Rosicky is the other possibility

Just not good enough unfortunately.

It's not the end of the world but **** me I never want to see Shola on the pitch again, I love the guy to death but he is awful.

Cabaye, Remy and Ben Arfa all disappointing today.

Oh well, onwards.

Way off colour up top. Every player was poor going forward bar Debuchy.

Cabaye seemed to cruise through the game... make of that what you will

Bringing on Shola and punting it long just played into their hands completely.

Very odd to not bring on Cisse instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,774 ✭✭✭cadete

although cabaye didnt ave his best game i thought he worked really hard and closed down well. arsenal were sure to give him no space when he did get the ball at his feet aswell.
    I thought we performed well pressured them but we were just too slow goin forward and i couldnt blame remy too much as the slow build up allowed arsenal to track him
    The ref was poor also, sissoko fouled in the buildup to the free where arsenal got the goal, definate foul on debuchy by flamini in the box and nothing, disappointed but definately looked a match for them and thats 1 very big positive and on another day we would have had 3 points

Any why would you bring on a ball playing midfielder and then moments later start bypassing the midfield by hoofing it?

remy's isolation has been highlighted yet again, its just not working with him up there on his own

ben arfa i cant really blame, he has always been a selfish player looking for that goal, it wasnt his fault for not laying off a few half chances he created himself

we just did not look like scoring

need a striker to come in that can complement remy, in saying that we might not even keep a hold of remy!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Lee Ryder ‏@lee_ryder

Reports of Gabriel Obertan storming off before the game today after being told he wasn't involved #nufc

Paully D wrote: »
    Lee Ryder ‏@lee_ryder

Reports of Gabriel Obertan storming off before the game today after being told he wasn't involved #nufc

lol well cant fault his self confidence,

Lee Ryder ‏@lee_ryder

Hopefully thats him off then, had one game you could describe as decent. Abysmal other than that

Lee Ryder ‏@lee_ryder

Best news i've heard all day.

So strikers...Gomis is the one we've been linked too all the time but at 28 he doesn't really fit the profile.

Luuk de Jong could be an option but he hasn't done the job in Germany so that would concern me.

Tom Ince is someone we've been linked with also.

Anyone got any other names?

Always rated Quagliarella myself but too old at 30 most likely.

The fact is though that for a real top striker you have to pay top dollar and we ain't doing that under Ashley.

Moneymaker wrote: »
    So strikers...Gomis is the one we've been linked too all the time but at 28 he doesn't really fit the profile.

Luuk de Jong could be an option but he hasn't done the job in Germany so that would concern me.

Tom Ince is someone we've been linked with also.

Anyone got any other names?

Always rated Quagliarella myself but too old at 30 most likely.

The fact is though that for a real top striker you have to pay top dollar and we ain't doing that under Ashley.

Highly unlikely we will sign anyone....

M5 wrote: »
    Highly unlikely we will sign anyone....

Yup, you're probably right. :(

Seeing Shola in our colors in 2014 is quite depressing frankly.

Yup, you're probably right. :(

Seeing Shola in our colors in 2014 is quite depressing frankly.

we are performing above our expectation, no need to strengthen from a position of strength, that would just be silly! :o

• Registered Users Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭TaosHum

I think something we seriously lack at the moment is natural width. Neither Sissoko, Gouffran, Ben Arfa are natural wide men so I think a winger is badly needed.

Might not be popular with some, but with McGeady nearing the end of his contract at Spartak and wanting away, I think he could be gotten on the cheap.

Newcastle have made an offer for St Etienne U17 centre back Nathan Dekoké according to @francefootball

Stolen from true geordie on facebook

Obertan reacts to not being in the squad against Arsenal

gabby_zps89492806.jpg

cadete wrote: »
    Stolen from true geordie on facebook

Obertan reacts to not being in the squad against Arsenal

gabby_zps89492806.jpg

Brilliant.

Someone should tell him he's not in the squad because he's ****ing ****.

The ball is on his court to improve, not the management.

Krul; Debuchy, Coloccini, Williamson, Santon; Cabaye, Tiote, Sissoko; Remy, Shola Ameobi, Gouffran

Wonder why Shola is back in the side.

Odd alright....

Looks like Remy is going to be on the left of the three, his best position IMHO

gouffran is on the right this time, remy playing in off the left which seems to suit him

lets see!

Sholas having a stinker

Shola being Shola.

We are all over the place, so sloppy.

Shola being Shola.

We are all over the place, so sloppy.

Lots of possession but no cutting edge, just like the Arsenal game

Remy not much better so far... Ball not staying in the WBA final third for very long

Remy unable to pass the ball it seems, has shot or attempted to pretty much every time he gets it

I wouldn't be passing it to Shola either in fairness.

Why don't our players ATTACK the ball when it's crossed in like that???

Frustrating as hell.

Why don't our players ATTACK the ball when it's crossed in like that???

Frustrating as hell.

Again, not too dissimilar from the Arsenal game, not committing enough players forward,

Ah jasis Gouffran! :mad:

FFS GOUFFRAN

:mad::mad:

how didnt gouf pick out remy on that break, jaysus

Our passing in the final third has been crap for 120 mins

The amount of good possession we've wasted has been criminal...almost as criminal as the space we're constantly giving Amalfitano.

Foot on the ball lads FFS!

Add Gouffran to the stinker list!