Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Newcastle United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014/15

• Registered Users Posts: 980 ✭✭✭Seannew1

The funny thing about this result is that I'm actually questioning myself whether Tan is a better owner than Ashley and that's pretty bad....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,036 ✭✭✭BArra

It's back to the same Crap again..... And we fielded a strong line-up today

Jaysus :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,774 ✭✭✭cadete

Is anyone really surprised? we were on a good run of results not thanks to pardew but despite him,
    the guy is not up to the task and never will be its that simple, we can expect the same as long as he is there, tactically clueless and has no idea what his best formation or best side is,
    As long as he keeps us up (and perhaps even if we go down) he will be there.
    A club without ambition or direction a really sad situation, and we shall remain that way until ashley leaves. Which cannot happen soon enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,979 ✭✭✭Vurnon San Benito

Hardly surprising, and not too bothered by it to be honest.

Players fault - took their foot off the gas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Chazz Michael Michaels

Doocey wrote: »
    Hardly surprising, and not too bothered by it to be honest.

Players fault - took their foot off the gas.

Not bothered by three straight defeats?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,161 ✭✭✭✭M5

And umpteen consecutive early cup exits to teams way below us in the league(s)

Not really, no.

In all honesty the FA Cup isn't what it used to be - and the revenue from it is pennies in comparison to the Premier League. At the end of the day football is a money game, especially with Mike Ashley.

Much prefer us concentrating on the league.

Throughout the last six years I forgot what a good cup run feels like.

Pardew played a team that should have won that game to be fair, its not as if he shirked the idea of going for it.

Onwards and upwards.

Not really, no.

In all honesty the FA Cup isn't what it used to be - and the revenue from it is pennies in comparison to the Premier League. At the end of the day football is a money game, especially with Mike Ashley.

Much prefer us concentrating on the league.

Throughout the last six years I forgot what a good cup run feels like.

Pardew played a team that should have won that game to be fair, its not as if he shirked the idea of going for it.

Onwards and upwards.

Concentrating on finishing outside the relegation zone and not in the inconvenient Europa league spaces?

Thought you had more ambition for your club than that? Or has Ashleys BS finally worn down that amazing positive aspect of yours?

M5 wrote: »
    Concentrating on finishing outside the relegation zone and not in the inconvenient Europa league spaces?

Thought you had more ambition for your club than that? Or has Ashleys BS finally worn down that amazing positive aspect of yours?

Do you honestly believe we would have come anywhere near winning the FA Cup?

Ashley had nothing to do with the result today - it was a mix of complacency, some tactical ineptness on Pardew's behalf and a Cardiff City side eager to prove a point to their new manager.

I don't think anyone at NUFC will try avoid finishing in a Europa League spot - I know I'd certainly take.

I'm just surprised ye all still expect anything different from the usual after everything that has happened in the last six years!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

Ashley had nothing to do with the result today - it was a mix of complacency, some tactical ineptness on Pardew's behalf and a Cardiff City side eager to prove a point to their new manager.

I don't think anyone at NUFC will try avoid finishing in a Europa League spot - I know I'd certainly take.

I'm just surprised ye all still expect anything different from the usual after everything that has happened in the last six years!

Boro, Spurs, Wigan and Swansea have all won a cup in recent years.

Why should we settle for this same **** year after year?

Supporting this club has become a totally joyless pastime.

I'm sick of it tbh.

last 10 years clubs like millwall, west ham, wigan, portsmouth, stoke and cardiff have all made a cup final,

Are we not at the same level as those clubs?

I expect to beat cardiff at home every time we play them no matter what the competition,

SkySportsNews 7.30 folks - tune in.

Post disappearing here or is it just me?

Tuned in now Doocey

Post disappearing here or is it just me?

Tuned in now Doocey. What am I watching?

Tea lady, embarrassing stuff

Anyone's posts disappearing?

Contract agreed in principle for Nathan Dekoké to move to Newcastle. Compensation must be agreed w/ St ettiene

Hours after Pardew stayed there would be no defensive cover....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,036 ✭✭✭BArra

another mini tiote?

marv,bigi,good,abeid,amalfitano.......

SS reporting about de jong again

will believe it when i see it :pac:

BArra wrote: »
    another mini tiote?

marv,bigi,good,abeid,amalfitano.......

SS reporting about de jong again

will believe it when i see it :pac:

i thought bigi has always been good when hes played would actually like to see more of him
    the others meh.....

Obertan and Marv on the way out supposedly. Makes sense

Out of the cup, tons of bull**** stories about signings to placate the fans.

They have this whole spiel down to a tee don't they?

Moneymaker wrote: »
    Out of the cup, tons of bull**** stories about signings to placate the fans.

They have this whole spiel down to a tee don't they?

Ha I thought the exact same thing - no better way to try ease a Cup exit than rumour possible 4 incoming signings.

Saying that, still expect us to do business.
    Montpellier chariman says we're poised to make a bid for Cabella and also in talks for de Jong.

LONG, LONG way to go yet as we know though!

Ha I thought the exact same thing - no better way to try ease a Cup exit than rumour possible 4 incoming signings.

Saying that, still expect us to do business.
    Montpellier chariman says we're poised to make a bid for Cabella and also in talks for de Jong.

LONG, LONG way to go yet as we know though!

Surprised if we get any in TBH. Perhaps will need replacements for Marv and Obertan. Other than that would imagine the squad size will remain the same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

Lads, don't be fooling yourselves you know come deadline day we just ''weren't able to get it over the line''.

Ah yes, the old 'over the line' spiel.

It should make a great drinking game.

Recent fans meeting with club:

http://t.co/kX9XAId05S

Big thing to come out of that - as we all expected - Sports Direct are NOT paying for advertising on stadium, rather it is a 'showcase' for potential buyers. Hardly surprising, but annoying all the same.

Jesus that makes for some seriously depressing reading.

That debt of 111 million is deliberately there to stop any potential buyers. The SD advertising should at least be paying off some of that, not to mention the 15/20 million a season that is exiting the club for other "loans"

Ashley has no intention of selling the club.

Gomis on twitter talking about English lessons...

He was taking them before his potential move to us broke down earlier this year as well...

Be interesting to see if we're in for him again after the whole commotion over his agents..

He was taking them before his potential move to us broke down earlier this year as well...

Be interesting to see if we're in for him again after the whole commotion over his agents..

Still not convinced we will sign anyone, still interesting enough story

Nothing like a bit of optimism :pac:

But yeah, will be interesting to see what happens - I think we might nab one .

But four signings seems bulls**t - it's not as if we're trying to stave off relegation like last season!

Nothing like a bit of optimism :pac:

But yeah, will be interesting to see what happens - I think we might nab one .

But four signings seems bulls**t - it's not as if we're trying to stave off relegation like last season!

Every bit of optimism I had has drained away in the last 5 years lad...

Unfortunately your right. That's the limit of our ambition. That was proved last year with our emergency signings

We ain't singing anyone and if we are it's a replacement for someone we sell.

Simple as lads.

Premier League midway review: how have the 20 teams fared so far? Newcastle:

http://gu.com/p/3ykb5

We ain't singing anyone and if we are it's a replacement for someone we sell.

Simple as lads.

If we replaced Obertan and Marv and Ameobi I'd consider that a very successful window!

Problem is getting rid of those three.

We couldnt give them away!

Problem is getting rid of those three.

We couldnt give them away!

your right there! still we can hope

Club say there have been no bids made so far

Also, Santon out of the city game along with suspended Debuchy. Let's see how our lauded strength in depth looks.....

So, let's have a fun exercise. Let's pick the worst modern Newcastle XI.

The rules:

- I'm defining modern as the 93-94 season onward
    - You must pick players that played in first eleven with some regularity, and served at least one full season
    - You can pick a manager, but only one who served at least one full season
    - You may choose any formation, with at least three defenders

Ok! My team.

Pavel Srnicek

Barry Venison --- Jean Alain Boumsong --- Alain Goma --- Celestine Babayaro

Des Hamilton --- Silvio Maric --- Christian Bassedas --- Daniel Cordone

Andreas Anderson --- Albert Luque

Manager: Ruud Gullit

World beaters. :-)

Srnicek in a worst XI? Seriously?

Hooper
    Pistone
    Bramble
    Boumsong
    Quinn
    Bassedas
    Hamilton
    Smith
    Obertan
    Guivarch
    Luque

Guivarch played one/two games?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭Malmedicine

Obertan has to be in any team mentioned here. Makes Ali Dia look useful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Srnicek in a worst XI? Seriously?

Hooper
    Pistone
    Bramble
    Boumsong
    Quinn
    Bassedas
    Hamilton
    Smith
    Obertan
    Guivarch
    Luque

I agree apart from Smith. He played a decent role when we got relegated. I remember him deliberately fouling a Cardiff player when they were on the attack in the dying minutes for us to win that game. Top lad. :pac:

Hooper barely played either. We have been fortunate with goalies... Hislop probably our worst regular starter

Up front has to be Carl Court and Paul Kitson

CB combination of Boumsong and Cacapa

Hislop

Pistone--Boumsong--Cacapa--Charvet

Tomasson-Andersson-Maric-BAssedas

Court--Kitson

Lord, Cacapca was absolute garbage. Remember John Utaku ripping the piss out of him ffs.

Rozenhal was barely any better.

Lord, Cacapca was absolute garbage. Remember John Utaku ripping the piss out of him ffs.

Rozenhal was barely any better.

Rozenhal had a couple of decent games. Cacapa was rubbish even in the champ

• Registered Users Posts: 511 ✭✭✭RickyBobby1

Gk Hislop
    DEF Bramble
    DEF Boumsong
    DEF Cacapa
    DEF Marcelino
    MID oberton
    MID maric
    MID Bassedas
    ST Anderson
    ST Luque
    ST Tomasson

Jonas is off. No word on where but goodbyes are being said on twitter.

Good servant to the club. Heart could never be doubted. Has suffered from a huge slump in form since the 5th place finish. A leader in the dressing room. Might be missed in that regard

Hopefully he will be replaced...

JFK in the match program

"will not be rushed or forced into making knee-jerk decisions. This window in terms of quality and quantity, stronger than season we finished fifth"

So as predicted Joe "judge me on my signings" Kinnear wil preside over another window where we sign fcuk all! Wont even start to pick holes in the stupid statement!

The latest "5 minute plan" from the club.....