Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Newcastle United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014/15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

BfUTM_6CYAAgz-9.jpg:large

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,320 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

M5 wrote: »
    Tomorrow would have been the game to go for, the derby and the last meaningful game of the season

Game isn't on Sky or BT :(

I'm right at the end of my tether tbh.

It's just so utterly devoid of joy supporting this club.

I don't ask for much, a decent cup run, some sign that there is an element of ambition and not just an owner lining his own pockets and free advertising everywhere you look.

We're not Real Madrid, but i'm just so sick of the lies and all the bull****.

Why is Joe Kinnear there? What does he do?

Why is Sports Direct plastered everywhere instead of advertisements from companies that actually have to pay for it? So you know, it can be invested in the club.

Why did Joe Kinnear say no one would be sold and than Cabaye says there was an agreement in place for him to leave?

Why do we always make such lowball offers when we do actually bid for a player?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,854 ✭✭✭Beekay

Moneymaker wrote: »

Why did Joe Kinnear say no one would be sold and than Cabaye says there was an agreement in place for him to leave?

To make sure they got good money for Cabaye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,979 ✭✭✭Vurnon San Benito

Although I shouldn't be surprised, I am a tad by the fact we haven't brought anyone in as his replacement. Grenier doesn't want to leave, fair enough. Djuricic bid has been rejected. We don't want to pay over £10m to a midfielder it seems.

Same old craic, but hardly surprising.

Either way, looking forward to the game tomorrow — think the lads will put a right performance in. Certainly hope it's better than the last showing against em @ SJP!!

HTL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,161 ✭✭✭✭M5

The Master wrote: »
    Game isn't on Sky or BT :(

yeah, odd one that, almost every country in Europe has coverage, except Ireland and England

I see we tried to flog Cisse too today! JFK looks like more of a fool every day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

The Master wrote: »
    Is it the Ha'penny now?

It appears so. Just happened to be on nufc.com and it said that if people are around Dublin to watch the game in the Ha'penny.
    Has there been any attempts to organise a 'beers' for us NUFC fans? Could be a good idea!

Could be a good idea. Obviously tomorrow would've been ideal but I'm sure we could organise something for the end of the season if there was enough interest.

I'd be on for beers if I'm free on the day!

An evening game might be best?

1304618376_tumbleweed-gif.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,774 ✭✭✭cadete

Transfer business completed!
    What an utter load of crap,
    As long as ashley is at the club we are doomed to be lower/mid table, no investment no ambition no hope

Zaha - Young, talented, would suit our 4-3-3 system, available cheap.

Ince - Available on loan or permanent for 4m. Similar qualities to Zaha.

Ledley - Champions League experience, British, good age, available for less than 1m.

Holtby - Experience at top clubs across Europe, good, creative player, available on loan.

From the Chronicle. All cheap investments yet we show zero interest in any of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭bazual

1304618376_tumbleweed-gif.gif

I was just thinking of posting this :D same ol' same ol' story

Cardiff and Arsenal were interested in loan deal for Cisse, Ash wanted the cash though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,917 ✭✭✭✭GT_TDI_150

sooo, 5-6pts from safety ... last few days of transfer window ...

as a club we could buy 2-3 good players and push on for a European spot

OR

we can try to offload any players owrth any few bob and settle for securing survival.

and we go for ..... door #2 offcourse, you need ambition to go through door #1!

A top flight club without a single permanent senior signing in a full year. Amazing.

Apart from the addition of, well, you know who....

the only little glimmer I can cling to now is the Andy Carrol transfer ... Eventually that money was spent, just too late!

I just hope that they line up 3-4 players for the next window.

.... God I'm sooooo delusional!

I'd like to think we have agreed to buy Cabella in the summer, but of course nothing at this club surprises anymore.

Doocey wrote: »
    I'd like to think we have agreed to buy Cabella in the summer, but of course nothing at this club surprises anymore.

We'll see a couple out before we see anybody in I'd imagine.

Can't wait for the club's official bullshít statement to come. May as well copy and paste the one from summer.

How are we expected to do any transfer business with that tool JFK involved and MA not willing to spend the money required to make significant signings

GT_TDI_150 wrote: »
    How are we expected to do any transfer business with that tool JFK involved and MA not willing to spend the money required to make significant signings

It's unclear as to what exactly he's been hired to do. No transparency. Seems really dodgy.

I feel sorry for the scouts. Spend all this time chasing players and the club can't stump up the cash... Well, more so won't stump up the cash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭Salmon

The worst part of this whole saga is we have replaced one of the best passers of the ball we have had with a tall target man, albeit in a different position. have a really bad feeling we'll revert to our route 1 hoof ball tactics, hope I'm wrong

No point in having a target man with the midfielders we have .... Ben arfa, gouffran, sissoko not exactly known for their Robert / Gillespie / Solano like crosses

At least we didn't panic buy, I was waiting for the usual N'Zogbia mention then realised he was injured. Can't believe Tom Ince was not even sniffed at considering all he wanted was a loan deal.

bazual wrote: »
    At least we didn't panic buy, I was waiting for the usual N'Zogbia mention then realised he was injured. Can't believe Tom Ince was not even sniffed at considering all he wanted was a loan deal.

Without the threat of relegation, and the absence of ambition there will never be panic...

Krul Debuchy Williamson Taylor Santon Tioté Anita Sissoko Ben Arfa Sammy Shola

two ameobis, fcuk me :(

M5 wrote: »
    Krul Debuchy Williamson Taylor Santon Tioté Anita Sissoko Ben Arfa Sammy Shola

two ameobis, fcuk me :(

where's gouff?!?!?

pardew did say sammy had a stormer midweekf :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭BetterCallSaul

Fairly dire looking team tbh. Gouffran must be injured?

Can't believe this isn't on TV!

Gouffran Injured

Police to blame for it not being televised. Clubs have protested by removing busses for sunderland fans. They were brought by police escort through the city.

Only chance of a result here is if HBA has a worldie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,036 ✭✭✭BArra

santon ball watching, not watching johnson at back post, idiot.

but sure there was NO need to replace Cabaye, NONE at all!

what a shambles! 2-0 down within 25mins

there is a match thread folks

• Registered Users Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭TaosHum

Gonna be a long end to the season................

Well, bye.

Blatant abandonment of duties by the owner, manager and DOF. Absolutely ****ing heartbreaking watching the club yet again being ****ed over by this lot!

We are safe so no one at the club could give a toss

Would pay for the flights for HIcks and Gillette myself, if they wanted the club

Wonder if it has actually gotten to the point where "support the team not the regime" is not far enough.

Free advertising is Ashleys only motivation. If the club starts to lose money he will no longer be interested. Boycotting 2/3 home games in a row may send a signal. The distance between the cub and the fans is growing, this has to come to a head

I do think that Pardew needs to take some of the blame here ...

I appreciate he has little control over who Ashley sell out from under him, but fook it grow a pair and give the man an ultimatum ....

But from a 'managers' position ....

I CAN NOT understand how Tiote still gets a start in that team week in week out, he gets caught in possession, mis-places passes, mis-times tackles, ... he is a liability!

Ben Arfa is the kid from the playground that just will not pass the ball!

The ameobi brother are NOT good enough for the PL.

Williamson ... how long till he blunders again?

Benching Cisse after he scored his first in x games ....

Why was there no substitution after 30mins today and a change of system when it really wasnt working?!?

All signs of poor management imho!

GT_TDI_150 wrote: »
    I do think that Pardew needs to take some of the blame here ...

I appreciate he has little control over who Ashley sell out from under him, but fook it grow a pair and give the man an ultimatum ....

But from a 'managers' position ....

I CAN NOT understand how Tiote still gets a start in that team week in week out, he gets caught in possession, mis-places passes, mis-times tackles, ... he is a liability!

Ben Arfa is the kid from the playground that just will not pass the ball!

The ameobi brother are NOT good enough for the PL.

Williamson ... how long till he blunders again?

Benching Cisse after he scored his first in x games ....

Why was there no substitution after 30mins today and a change of system when it really wasnt working?!?

All signs of poor management imho!

Ben Arfa.and Tiote have regressed under pardew along with several others. He has to answer for that too. Yes conditions are not ideal but with the players.he has at his disposal some of the performances this season and last have been unacceptable. A 10 game or so run is the only difference between this year and last!

194 failed long passes today supposedly. #pardewisatacticalmaster

Really tough watch. Fúcking ridiculous stuff.

I will be boycotting Newcastle United until Mike Ashley is gone.

So long ya'll. It's been a long 22 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭Salmon

I will be boycotting Newcastle United until Mike Ashley is gone.

So long ya'll. It's been a long 22 years.

Where do you go now though? Do you become a neutral or do you start looking around for a substitute team to support until things change? Im in exactly the same predicament, hard to do but this regime is tainting my enjoyment of football! Any ideas?

Yiz could always try a local LOI team if there's one available to you. Kinda makes me rekindle my love of football somewhat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,774 ✭✭✭cadete

Bit drastic, this crap been ongoing for last few years and had worse times than this, Ashley kinnear and pardew all gotta go no doubt, but its hard not to keep the faith hopefully the summer will bring big changes
    Club should take that 20 million cabaye money and give it to Ashley get this loan he gave the club paid back and we might be more attractive to a new owner, good times HAVE to be on the way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

Can't believe people are actually talking about leaving the team... The situation is bad, don't get me wrong, but we're 8th in the league.. It's not like we're going down the roads of Portsmouth, Leeds, Wolves and Boro, I will continue to support NUFC regardless of what happens, I will just have to accept that on days like today I will be in a bad mood and hate everything!

Salmon wrote: »
    Where do you go now though? Do you become a neutral or do you start looking around for a substitute team to support until things change? Im in exactly the same predicament, hard to do but this regime is tainting my enjoyment of football! Any ideas?

I'm still a football fan, that will never change.

But I can no longer be invested in a football club with Mike Ashley in charge.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭BetterCallSaul

Is it just me or should the bloody manager not know the best system to get the best out of the players at his disposal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Chazz Michael Michaels

Dave147 wrote: »
    Can't believe people are actually talking about leaving the team... The situation is bad, don't get me wrong, but we're 8th in the league.. It's not like we're going down the roads of Portsmouth, Leeds, Wolves and Boro, I will continue to support NUFC regardless of what happens, I will just have to accept that on days like today I will be in a bad mood and hate everything!

I agree. Compared to our relegation season, we are doing just fine. People are really overreacting.

IMO, given the fact that we are not mega rich, or have the pull of big clubs, a 7th or 8th place finish is the only realistic position we can get in any season, which is where we currently are. The only major disappointment has been our performance in the cups.

What do people expect, like? Champions League? Signing Juan Mata? Get real.

I agree. Compared to our relegation season, we are doing just fine. People are really overreacting.

IMO, given the fact that we are not mega rich, or have the pull of big clubs, a 7th or 8th place finish is the only realistic position we can get right in any season, which is where we currently are. The only major disappointment has been our performance in the cups.

What do people expect, like? Champions League? Signing Juan Mata? Get real.

Mike Ashley's net worth is over TWO BILLION.

Read back through the thread, people's expectations are quite reasonable.

Is it unrealistic to expect some investment in the club on players we desperately need?

Is it unrealistic to hope for a good cup run when Wigan, Sunderland, Swansea, Bradford, Spurs and others have all done it in recent years? Or for the management to even give a **** about it?

Is it unrealistic to hope that our players will improve, not regress as so many of them have done?

Is it unrealistic to expect the team to show a semblance of pride against our local rivals and not be EASILY defeated THREE STRAIGHT TIMES.

You and Doocey need to get your head out of the ****ing sand. A handful of decent results in what is a truly awful standard of EPL does not equal fine.

Worst of all is I don't care anymore.