Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Newcastle United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014/15

• Registered Users Posts: 613 ✭✭✭smog

So finished work and on the TV is St James renamed to <insert rubbish company name here> Just because we're not fighting a relegation battle he feels he can do what he likes .. absolute disgrace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,161 ✭✭✭✭M5

smog wrote: »
    So finished work and on the TV is St James renamed to <insert rubbish company name here> Just because we're not fighting a relegation battle he feels he can do what he likes .. absolute disgrace

He tried it when we were in a relegation battle too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

If he's selling off the naming rights does that mean we could be subjected to a stadium name change every few years? Ugh.

Dammit Doocey mate, where the hell do you get your positivity from? ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 613 ✭✭✭smog

M5 wrote: »
    He tried it when we were in a relegation battle too!

He tried a half attempt with the SD@SJP, this is the whole hog dumping SJP which i dunno he thinks will slip by this time as we should be happy :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

That_Guy wrote: »
    Just got an email from Newcastle United advertising their latest 130th anniversary products. Cheeky bastards.
    It takes a special type of business acumen to make money out of a club thats been defunct for 119 years :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 980 ✭✭✭Seannew1

One thing I have to credit Ashley for................his timing is impeccable! People are saying because were doing so well it was a good time to announce the stadium name change,but it actually couldn't be at a worser timw going into 3 really important games,hopefully it doesn't affect the dressing room too much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

http://www.mirrorfootball.co.uk/news/Newcastle-chief-Derek-Llambias-slams-Kevin-Keegan-and-Alan-Shearer-in-foul-rant-article829807.html
    Newcastle managing director Derek Llambias stunned Toon Army fans by unleashing an astonising, foul-mouthed rant in public on Geordie icons Alan Shearer and Kevin Keegan.

The former casino boss — who virtually never gives media interviews — delivered a withering condemnation on the managerial abilities of the Magpies legends in front of startled onlookers in a Newcastle gastro bar.

Llambias, who along with Toon owner Mike Ashley has enraged Toon fans by re-branding historic St. James’ Park as the Sports Direct Arena, blamed Shearer for Newcastle’s 2009 relegation and claimed there “will never be a right time” for the former England skipper in management.

And in a blistering broadside aimed at Keegan, the Magpies MD claimed the former England boss is unable to cope with the stresses and strains of management.

Llambias railed: “Kevin Keegan can’t take pressure. His f*** head is all over the place.”

He also made a shocking claim in a meeting with fans last month that Keegan’s second coming as Newcastle manager in 2008 came about because he was the preferred choice of potential Arab buyers. He revealed: “Mike (Ashley) was selling to the Arabs and they wanted Kevin Keegan.

“The Arabs wanted him, the fans wanted him — perfect!”

A candid Llambias admitted he was at fault for recruiting Shearer as manager in April 2009 when Newcastle were battling to avoid the drop.

Llambias said: “Shearer was my choice and I have to hold up my hands — the wrong choice.”

Referring to the relegation battle and the managerial team of Shearer and Iain Dowie, he claimed: “Shearer, for this, destroys us. He gave all the responsibility to Dowie. Rubbish!”

A supporter suggests “It wasn’t the right time” for Shearer. Llambias responded brusquely, and said: “It would never be the right time. Shearer? There would never be a right time in football.”

When one of the onlookers suggested Shearer is arrogant, Llambias agreed and said: “You guys have given him that arrogance.”

What will perplex Newcastle fans about Llambias’ put-down of the Geordie hero is the fact that days after relegation, Ashley issued a statement in which he said: “Bringing Alan Shearer back to Newcastle United was the best decision I have made.”

Chris Hughton succeeded Shearer as manager and led Toon back into the top flight at the first attempt as champions (below, left).

Hughton was sacked by Newcastle a year ago, and is now manager of Birmingham.

He was also in the Llambias line of fire when one of the group asked why he was dismissed.

Llambias responded: “He would never have taken us where we want to be.

“That’s my decision by the way.

“Chris can’t make decisions. If I am asking about a player, Ben Arfa? he says ‘I’m not sure, blah blah’.

“With Chris, he couldn’t cope with where we are mentally. We are aggressive.

“You need to be aggressive. I don’t want a manager below me who can’t argue.”

But of all the colourful claims made by Llambias perhaps the one that will not be disputed by Toon fans is: “You guys don’t understand how f*** horrible we can be.”

After last week’s act of soccer sacrilege at St. James’ Park, many Geordies believe they understand only too well.

Newcastle declined to comment last night.

He's spot on with virtually all of that to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

He's not spot on at all.

He is embarrassing himself & the club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,979 ✭✭✭Vurnon San Benito

He's fairly spot on with the majority he has said to be fair - except the Hughton part; he could have taken us further.
    It's just the way he's said it.

Can't see clubs wanting to do business with NUFC anytime soon after some of those comments - mightn't be a bad thing :pac:

What an absolute load of crap, completely factually inaccurate/hearsay.

It shows what a crass attitude these guys have and also yet again illustrates the lies the board constantly trot out.

An absolute disgrace, should be fined for bringing the club into disrepute

Considering he practically owns the club given his relationship with Mike Ashley, that is an absolutely ridiculous suggestion.

Paully D wrote: »
    Considering he practically owns the club given his relationship with Mike Ashley, that is an absolutely ridiculous suggestion.

The fact what you say is true unfortunately shows how the club is being run.

Any other club would show this crass clown the door. Completely unacceptable, akin to the hall's all those years ago. Lack of dignity and class never mind the unbelievable unprofessionalism is sicking

To be fair he hasn't said anything extraordinary - it's just the timing and the manner he has spoken out on. Considerably drunk I'd assume.
    Saying that - great to SAFC fans breaking Newcastle United news to Boards.ie readers: sign of the times eh?

Doocey wrote: »
    Saying that - great to SAFC fans breaking Newcastle United news to Boards.ie readers: sign of the times eh?

For the first time in over 3 years you're actually doing better than little old Sunderland. A team so insignificant to you your fans actually once said ''Manchester United are our rivals now''. Good to see you making the most of it :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Paully, you have one whopper chip on your shoulder.

Paully D wrote: »
    For the first time in over 3 years you're actually doing better than little old Sunderland. A team so insignificant to you your fans actually once said ''Manchester United are our rivals now''. Good to see you making the most of it :rolleyes:

Can't resist an auld bite I suppose eh?

They were; and not so long ago don't you forget ;)
    Great how you can remember that very quote as well, top marks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭AstonMartin

So paully is the new troll? The reason I have to wade through a load of ****e in almost every thread? Should be a function if 100 members with a minimum of 1000 posts vote to ban someone they are sent packing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭AstonMartin

Thats for insulting suarez!

I guess its 1:1 then :rolleyes:

think your in the wrong thread for one ups tho m8

• Registered Users Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

Ok, behind the crassness of his wording, he's said some very frank things that give some insight into their thinking.

They believe:
    - Shearer wasn't half as good a manager as he thinks he is, and never will be.
    - Keegan has serious difficulty coping with the pressures of the modern game.
    - Chris Hughton wasn't as decisive/assertive as they wanted him to be.

All bar the Hughton comments are stone-cold truth IMO. Shearer took Newcastle down when there was a very solid squad in place, and seemed fundamentally unable to reverse the slide. Keegan has cracked under pressure in every job he's taken since England.
    I'd also see his point about Hughton, though on balance it was the wrong decision to sack him. If they wanted someone who was ready to have a row about a player, and assert himself in the club, Hughton (for all his undoubted ability) wasn't that person.

geeky wrote: »
    Ok, behind the crassness of his wording, he's said some very frank things that give some insight into their thinking.

They believe:
    - Shearer wasn't half as good a manager as he thinks he is, and never will be.
    - Keegan has serious difficulty coping with the pressures of the modern game.
    - Chris Hughton wasn't as decisive/assertive as they wanted him to be.

All bar the Hughton comments are stone-cold truth IMO. Shearer took Newcastle down when there was a very solid squad in place, and seemed fundamentally unable to reverse the slide. Keegan has cracked under pressure in every job he's taken since England.
    I'd also see his point about Hughton, though on balance it was the wrong decision to sack him. If they wanted someone who was ready to have a row about a player, and assert himself in the club, Hughton (for all his undoubted ability) wasn't that person.

Rubbish

Shearer had 6 games, he inherited a team in the relegation zone comprised of poisonous mercenaries like Michael Owen and others who simply did not want to be there as well as those who rightly or wrongly had given up on the club due to farcical decision making at the highest level at the club. Shearer may never be a decent manager but to blame him for Newcastle's relegation is frankly stupid

Keegan was forced out of the job. He has proven this in a court of law. He was promised the sun the moon and the stars and given nothing. In fact the brightest stars such as Milner were being sold. His net spend was 0. He inherited a side sliding into the relegation zone, averted the slide (granted not by much). There were signs of improvement, a creditable away draw against Man U springs to mind. All hell was to break loose though with the sale of Milner and the signings of Xisco and Gonzaleaz neither of which Keegan rated good enough for the PL.

Hughton was a disastrous decision too at the time. I think that was universally recognised. That has however turned out to be the correct decision despite the sour taste left in the mouth afterwards

How many times do we need to repeat these facts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

Mr Alan wrote: »

It seemed to all go down hill from the day we signed Henderson .

Rubbish

Shearer had 6 games, he inherited a team in the relegation zone comprised of poisonous mercenaries like Michael Owen and others who simply did not want to be there as well as those who rightly or wrongly had given up on the club due to farcical decision making at the highest level at the club. Shearer may never be a decent manager but to blame him for Newcastle's relegation is frankly stupid

Keegan was forced out of the job. He has proven this in a court of law. He was promised the sun the moon and the stars and given nothing. In fact the brightest stars such as Milner were being sold. His net spend was 0. He inherited a side sliding into the relegation zone, averted the slide (granted not by much). There were signs of improvement, a creditable away draw against Man U springs to mind. All hell was to break loose though with the sale of Milner and the signings of Xisco and Gonzaleaz neither of which Keegan rated good enough for the PL.

Hughton was a disastrous decision too at the time. I think that was universally recognised. That has however turned out to be the correct decision despite the sour taste left in the mouth afterwards

How many times do we need to repeat these facts.

They're not facts - they're your interpretation of the facts.

- Shearer inherited a difficult position, true, but he also had a strong squad. Deriding Martins, Owen, Duff and many of the Premiership calibre players who stuck with Newcastle as they went down as 'poisonous mercenaries' is ridiculous. He had 8 games to turn it around, not six. He managed a single win - against one of the worst Boro teams to ever stink up the top flight - and two draws, against Portsmouth and Stoke. Five points out of a possible 24 - and losing out to both Sunderland and Hull for survival - just doesn't cut it.

- Having a net spend of 0 (on transfer fees) with a squad like Newcastle had under Keegan is hardly something to whinge about. He was successful in his constructive dismissal claim because, as you say, he was promised things that weren't followed through. Now, it appears, we know why they were so keen to recruit Keegan - to get the club off their hands. That unprofessional approach doesn't actually change Lambias' point - that Keegan didn't cope with the strains of top-flight management well.

- The Hughton sacking has turned out not to be the disaster people expected, simply because they made an unexpectedly good hire in Pardew. On balance, I think sacking him the wrong decision, but his explanation of their thinking - that they wanted an assertive, definite voice - actually has some merit.

Mr Alan wrote: »
    So paully is the new troll? The reason I have to wade through a load of ****e in almost every thread? Should be a function if 100 members with a minimum of 1000 posts vote to ban someone they are sent packing.

Wrong thread lads.

At least the Newcastle fans on here can have a bit of banter and can take/give some back rather than acting like someone has gone in and took a shit on their kitchen table whenever someone says something they don't agree with.

Here you go:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056442659

Just read those Llam-bollocks quotes. The man is a fúcking stain.

geeky wrote: »
    They're not facts - they're your interpretation of the facts.

- Shearer inherited a difficult position, true, but he also had a strong squad. Deriding Martins, Owen, Duff and many of the Premiership calibre players who stuck with Newcastle as they went down as 'poisonous mercenaries' is ridiculous. He had 8 games to turn it around, not six. He managed a single win - against one of the worst Boro teams to ever stink up the top flight - and two draws, against Portsmouth and Stoke. Five points out of a possible 24 - and losing out to both Sunderland and Hull for survival - just doesn't cut it.

- Having a net spend of 0 (on transfer fees) with a squad like Newcastle had under Keegan is hardly something to whinge about. He was successful in his constructive dismissal claim because, as you say, he was promised things that weren't followed through. Now, it appears, we know why they were so keen to recruit Keegan - to get the club off their hands. That unprofessional approach doesn't actually change Lambias' point - that Keegan didn't cope with the strains of top-flight management well.

- The Hughton sacking has turned out not to be the disaster people expected, simply because they made an unexpectedly good hire in Pardew. On balance, I think sacking him the wrong decision, but his explanation of their thinking - that they wanted an assertive, definite voice - actually has some merit.

Shearer-Sorry 8 games, that was a typo, the previous 8 games yeilded one win too. the team were in free-fall and those plyers you listed were not playing for the team, as i said this does not mean he can be blamed for the relegation which Llambias is trying to do with these ridiculous comments

Keegan could see that we needed investment. He was proven right when several of the players failed to do their jobs due to whatever reasons they had. You dont want a player like that at your club. I couldn't care less if they left when we got relegated. I did not criticise them!(you can look that up if you wish). The reason i refered to them as mercenaries is the ghastly unprofessionalism shown by many in our relegation season. I agree it was a strong squad and i put it down to attitude that we got relegated. We had a far stronger squad that 4/5 teams who did not get relegated that year!

Keegan was also undermined, lied to and treated like a fool. They made his position untenable. All this is public record

I agree, Hughton should not have been sacked, the fact it worked out is beside the point

Shearer-Sorry 8 games, that was a typo, the previous 8 games yeilded one win too. the team were in free-fall and those plyers you listed were not playing for the team, as i said this does not mean he can be blamed for the relegation which Llambias is trying to do with these ridiculous comments

He's not - he's saying Shearer's not a good manager, that he's arrogant, and that he farmed off responsibility to Dowie. Two of these I agree with completely, the third I'll never know the truth of.
    I couldn't care less if they left when we got relegated. I did not criticise them!(you can look that up if you wish). The reason i refered to them as mercenaries is the ghastly unprofessionalism shown by many in our relegation season. I agree it was a strong squad and i put it down to attitude that we got relegated. We had a far stronger squad that 4/5 teams who did not get relegated that year!

You didn't criticise every player, but you wrote off a strong squad as defined by 'poisonous mercenaries', which I thought was incorrect. As you're now pointing out, Newcastle had a strong squad that year which (IMO) should have achieved mid-table status. Now, there were a few bad apples, but the whole team going south in the way it did? A succession of batty management appointments, and the failure of those managers to perform has to be taken into account.

Ref the pre-Shearer run of 8 games with one win, it's worth pointing out that they got 1 more point than shearer from a tough set of fixtures, including games against Arsenal and United. And this was at a time when Kinnear went down with heart trouble and the Hughton-Calderwood-Barron triumvirate came in. H-C-B got the same number of points from 6 games - which included Arsenal and Utd - as Shearer did from his 8. And Shearer had the team at a time that most mid-table sides are only playing for the win bonus.

I can see why people want to give Shearer an easy time - and yes, he inherited a side in a bad position - but he gave absolutely no indication during his stint that he'd made a good manager.

Look, the relegation season was an unmitigated fiasco, and the guys at the very top should take the lion's share of the blame. But both Shearer and Keegan, whatever they've done for the club in the past, deserve a bit too.

With regards Llam-bollocks.

Wasn't Joey shown the door for speaking out of turn? Why is he exempt from this?

Sammy signs a new 3 and a half year deal. Good stuff. The chap is very raw but has got serious potential.

Anyways...

How I think we should line up for Saturday's game V City.
    Krul

Simpson --- Colo --- Saylor --- Raylor

Gosling --- Guthrie --- Cabaye --- Jonas

Ba --- HBA

AFAIK Best is still injured. I wonder if HBA's head will be in the right place given that this is the same place he suffered that injury.

Important that we can keep a consistent team as possible. Simpson and Raylor are going to need some serious protection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭bazual

Sammy signs a new 3 and a half year deal. Good stuff. The chap is very raw but has got serious potential.

Anyways...

How I think we should line up for Saturday's game V City.
    Krul

Gosling --- Guthrie --- Cabaye --- Jonas

Ba --- HBA

AFAIK Best is still injured. I wonder if HBA's head will be in the right place given that this is the same place he suffered that injury.

Important that we can keep a consistent team as possible. Simpson and Raylor are going to need some serious protection.

If it was me I would go the below route. I do think Tiote is fit and will start.
    Hopefully we will go out and attack them.
    Krul

Jonas --- Tiote --- Cabaye --- Ba

Shola --- HBA

Ba on the left mate? Interesting one but I wouldn't move Jonas. Raylor depends on his defensive duties.

scaled.php?tn=0&server=610&filename=m82hf.jpg&xsize=640&ysize=640

• Registered Users Posts: 303 ✭✭gav86

Krul
    Guthrie --- Tiote --- Cabaye --- Jonas

Shola --- Ba
    I would go with this and then bring on Ben Arfa up front after 60 minutes and Sammy Ameobi around the same for Guthrie depending on how the game is going, Guthrie has played well when needed and i think he can do a job here and can protect Simpson a bit better.. maybe i am too negative

• Registered Users Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭TaosHum

Think if we go 4-4-2 on Saturday we will get ripped to shreds. 4-5-1 with Guthrie, Tiote and Cabaye in midfield, and with Ba up front on his own I think would be more suitable.

Although, this team has proven me wrong alot this season already :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭bazual

What about starting Santon right back and playing Raylor right midfield. Might be an option too but I doubt he will want to break the back 5.

bazual wrote: »
    What about starting Santon right back and playing Raylor right midfield. Might be an option too but I doubt he will want to break the back 5.

I want to see Santon come in eventually but to be honest, if it's not broke, don't fix it. You don't want your first game to be against City.

Manchester City: Joe Hart, Micah Richards, Joleon Lescott, Vincent Kompany, Gael Clichy, Nigel De Jong, James Milner, Yaya Toure, Samir Nasri, Sergio Aguero, Mario Balotelli

Subs: Costel Pantilimon, Kolo Toure, Aleksander Kolarov, Garteh Barry, Adam Johnson, David Silva, Edin Dzeko

Newcastle: Tim Krul, Danny Simpson, Steven Taylor, Fabricio Coloccini, Ryan Taylor’ Jonas Gutierrez, Danny Guthrie, Yohan Cabaye, Sammy Ameobi, Hatem Ben Arfa, Demba Ba.

Subs: Rob Elliot, James Perch, Davide Santon, Alan Smith, Dan Gosling, Peter Lovenkrands, Shola Ameobi

Sammy starting??? Huge ask. Nice to see Hatem starting but De Jong starting too. :/

Look at that City bench. Ridiculous amount of good players.

Should be an interesting encounter to say the least :pac:

Wor Sammy starting, gotta love it :D

Doocey wrote: »
    Should be an interesting encounter to say the least :pac:

Wor Sammy starting, gotta love it :D

It's a huge ask and a really risky one imo.

I'd have stuck Guthrie out there instead and have Cabaye and Smith to break up play but what do I know? :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭leonidas83

Well nothing to fear hear lads, couldnt be going to City in a better position or run of form, not many teams expect to get anything at City these days, expect this match to be the game of the weekend with a draw the final outcome, not convinced of city's defensive capabilities and think they are more than a little prone to errors. Hopefully HBA or BA can capitalise on this.

Expect first 30 mins to be goalless, a goal for us not long before half time. Them coming out and going for broke after the break with a final score of 1-1 or 2-2 depending on whether or not we are able to hang on.

Cmon the TOON

It's a huge ask and a really risky one imo.

I'd have stuck Guthrie out there instead and have Cabaye and Smith to break up play but what do I know? :pac:

Extremely risky, maybe pards spotted something?

Wasn't overly impressed with Sammy v everton

Extremely risky, maybe pards spotted something?

Wasn't overly impressed with Sammy v everton

I can only assume so. It's not like we're stretched in that position with Gosling and Guthrie able to play there.

I'll reserve judgement til the final whistle.

HOWAY THE LADS

I can only assume so. It's not like we're stretched in that position with Gosling and Guthrie able to play there.

I'll reserve judgement til the final whistle.

HOWAY THE LADS

Actually I reckon he's going to be used as an outlet much like obertan

Good to see Sammy get a start, also good not to see Silva playing!! Peronally don't think we'll get anything,but i know the lads will give it all they have.........any one get a decent link for the game??

Actually I reckon he's going to be used as an outlet much like obertan

Good shout. Obertan played that role perfectly against Stoke so here's hoping for a similar performance from Sammy.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,320 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

Davie Provan really grates on me.

City deserve to be winning but jaysus that 2nd goal was a real kick in the teeth............

OK the city game

Positives

Steven Taylor had a solid game!
    HBA showed some nice touches
    Sammy did well

Negatives

Ba failed to score with 2 good chances and must do better
    Raylor showed that is a balancing act keeping him in the act, he is capable of winning and loosing the game for you

Conclusion

HBA and Santon need to be in the team and we need Tiote badly against Man U