Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chelsea Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2011/2012

• Registered Users Posts: 1,247 ✭✭✭Meglamonia

We have played a high line the majority of this season mate.

In fairness it took AVB long enough to change things, as in Romeu for Mikel loosing the high line and dropping Lamps to the bench.

Our defense has been poor all season, a better Valencia could of easily scored and beaten us, we were also very lucky against Newcastle. Its a miracle we didn't concede actually.

Bit of a negative Ned on our hands :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭willmunny1990

MUSEIST wrote: »
    What, we were excellent against Valencia and yes it was a miracle newcastle didn't score against us but it was also a miracle we didn't score at least 2 more ourselves.

I wouldn't say we were excellent id say it was their inability to do anything worthwhile on the ball, Valencia had 66% possession, they just couldn't do anything with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,838 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

I wouldn't say we were excellent id say it was their inability to do anything worthwhile on the ball, Valencia had 66% possession, they just couldn't do anything with it.

Perhaps because they weren't allowed to do anything with the ball?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,627 ✭✭✭Sgt Pepper 64

Errr that was the plan! :eek:
    Lampard was left out so we had a highly mobile midfield
    Letting Ramires and Meirles play to their strengths
    The width came from Danny and Mata, with Drogba through the middle.
    Luiz and Terry were much more comfortable defending deeper.

We conceded possession trusting our defence and Romeu to break up play when they got too close, playing the ball forward and then hitting them on the break.

It worked a treat and AVB got his tactics spot on
    A fast mobile midfield able to turn defense into attack and making sure when we did have possession we used it well
    Romeu was the key. He rarely wastes possession like Mikel does, must be the Barca genes.

Unfortunately, they have that damm buy back clause!

AVB has commented that he doesnt need to buy in Jan, especially a striker, but I think thats a smokescreen. If we can get the right player for the right price, then we will move, probably a defender and creative midfielder.

Oh and like AVB points out, our defense has conceded only 4 more goals than Citys or something?
    We are adjusting to a new manager who is adjusting to the league.
    It will take time sorting out, Roman wants attacking football and AVB was brought in to give it to him. He is already making headway with this new look midfield, yes we have dropped some silly points but we are making progress, only a quarter of the season in

The big test comes on Monday night

Transfer rumours put to bed by AVB

In summary:

Barca only have first refusal on Romeu if Chelsea decide to sell him
    Modric - Unlikely we will go back for him. Essien is coming back soon
    Alvaro Pereira - ditto - too pricy and Betrand is there
    Cech - not leaving and wanted by the club to sign a new deal
    Cahill - Made no enquirys and not a player we are considering but admires the player

VILLAS-BOAS: OUR ORIOL

Posted on: Sun 11 Dec 2011
    Andre Villas-Boas has addressed a couple of incorrect media stories that have been circulating, including the details of an agreement with Barcelona regarding Oriol Romeu.
    The 20-year-old summer signing has been the most regular selection for the anchor midfield role in the past month. His raised profile in England has led to a repetition of previous stories suggesting his former club have an option to take the player back should they so wish. In reality, all the Catalan club have is a first-refusal agreement should Chelsea deem Romeu surplus to our requirements.
    'The buy-back option states that Barcelona can only buy back if Chelsea are willing to sell,' clarified Villas-Boas, who also discussed Romeu's quick acclimatisation to England.
    'There is always time needed for you to adapt into the Premier League but with Oriol Romeu and Juan Mata, and Raul Meireles last year at Liverpool, these players have adapted pretty well to Premier League standard. They have all set standards of quick adaptation to this level.'
    The other report the manager is able to dispel is one suggesting Petr Cech's time at Chelsea could be coming to an end. He also spoke about loan plans for Thibaut Courtois, the young keeper signed in the summer from Genk. He is currently playing at Atletico Madrid.
    'There are false stories about Petr Cech leaving the club,' Villas-Boas stated.
    'We are trying to reach an agreement with Petr and he knows we are interested in renewing his contract.
    'Regarding Courtios, we have to make a decision at the end of the season. We will not recall him in January for sure, and what I will say is Hilario and Ross Turnbull have shown an outstanding level of performance when they have been called up so we are happy with the work that they are doing.'
    Two moves to Chelsea that didn't come to pass before the transfer window closed at the end of August were Luka Modric from Tottenham and Alvaro Pereira from Porto.Villas-Boas doesn't anticipate those players will be targets when the window opens again in January. He also responded to media speculation about Bolton defender Gary Cahill.
    'At the moment we have not made any enquires about Gary Cahill,' reported Villas-Boas.
    'He is a fantastic player because he plays for the English national team and he is a central defender of high qualities. He had a fantastic year last season and this year he has improved but he is not a player that we are considering.
    'Alvaro [Pereira] I don't think so based on prices and because we are pretty satisfied with what we have got. Ryan Bertrand has shown fantastically good levels of understanding in the team and talent and Ashley Cole is continuing to perform fantastically well.
    'Luka Modric I don't think so because we have Michael Essien returning and I think we have left that one out for sure.'

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

gavredking wrote: »
    They're 6 months too late with that story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,258 ✭✭✭MUSEIST

Thats brilliant news on oriol, I was afraid that barca would be back in for him but thankfully its only if chelsea want to sell. He has been excellent for us and what a deal at just 5 million.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭the_monkey

Whats Mancini playing at saying Chelsea can win the title ?

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/16131402.stm

Mind games or what ?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,890 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

Surprised that Anelka hasnt been confirmed 100% yet, Although my chinese sucks its been all over the news in Shanghai that he has signed (well keeps playing on the metro news channel atleast and I saw it in one paper I couldnt really read properly).

the_monkey wrote: »
    Whats Mancini playing at saying Chelsea can win the title ?

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/16131402.stm

Mind games or what ?

I don't no what he is playing at to be honest, we haven't got a snowballs chance in hell of winning the league this season.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,726 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzovision

Really? From the way you've been talking I thought we were going to walk it......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,511 ✭✭✭The Davestator

Good result for us in the stoke v spurs game- hopefully we can get at least a draw tomorrow night to capitalise

Agreed.

Stoke did us a real favor, we need to capitalize on it. I hope AVB doesn't revert back to the high line, if he does i fear we will be turned over with ease.

Agreed.

Stoke did us a real favor, we need to capitalize on it. I hope AVB doesn't revert back to the high line, if he does i fear we will be turned over with ease.

I think he will, he wont concede possession to City like he did Valencia as City will hurt us more with that sort of possession.
    City are vunerable at the back, so I expect a full on attacking formation and a high scoring game

Better strap yourself in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

I'm going to say what we all know it lads, lose and we will be fighting for 2nd at best, win and the league is back on.

Also I think we'll beat them 2-0 or 2-1. With Spuds dropping points they should be our immediate concern, take them out of the top 4 and then try and push on.

I can see us winning, believe.

Carefree.

From the site, interesting bit when he mentions hes not sure if Alex will be gone or not.

With Luiz suspended for tonights game Ivanovic is going to start at CB with JT and Bosingwa will fall into RB. Alex or one of the yougnsters could make the bench tonight.

Andre Villas-Boas has been considering the form of Didier Drogba, who looked back to his best against Valencia last week.

The forward scored twice and made the other as we comfortably beat the Spaniards to qualify for the Champions League knockout rounds, and is expected to lead the line once more against Manchester City at Stamford Bridge tonight as he continues to build his match fitness after a period on the sidelines following suspension and arm surgery.

Recent games have marked a significant turnaround for the Ivorian, who started the season on the bench at Stoke and then went on to start just one game in eight, though Villas-Boas offered an explanation.

'He started one in eight because he got injured against Norwich,' the manager said. 'Fernando started against Stoke then he started in the second game against West Brom. In the game against Norwich Didier started, got injured and then we went on that run when he recovered.
    'Swansea, Fulham, Valencia he was on the bench, then Fernando got suspended and Didier played all the games until he got suspended for three games. Then we came to the arm operation, so at the moment this is the only period where three strikers are competing for one place.
    'To this latest run he had he found the consistency in terms of goals which helps the team's performance.'

Villas-Boas believes age is no barrier to Drogba or any of the other senior players in the side, just so long as they continue to perform.

'We have been challenging players in terms of performance levels, and our selection and criteria will continue to be this. No matter the age, it's what we get from training and from games that will help us make a decision,' said the 34-year-old, who also pondered January transfer activity.

'We have to make a decision. With Didier we can count on him for sure and will continue to do everything in our power to have him back as soon as possible from the African Nations to allow him to continue to perform like he has been doing.

'If not again we spoke about the fact that Fernando [Torres] is there for that position, [Daniel] Sturridge is there for that position, [Romelu] Lukaku is there for that position. There are enough options.

'We have to see. We have plenty of central defenders on loan we have a buyback option on [Slobodan] Rajkovic, and we don't know if Alex will go. Then we have [Jeffrey] Bruma, Rajkovic, [Sam] Hutchinson and [Nathaniel] Chalobah so we have a lot of talent coming through and it is not 100 per cent sure.'

From the Telegraph site : http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/teams/manchester-city/8949821/Manchester-City-face-a-challenge-as-they-try-to-follow-in-Chelseas-global-footsteps.html

Few figures thrown about in the article. Decent enough read.

When Premier League leaders Manchester City face Chelsea at Stamford Bridge on Monday night, Roman Abramovich will get a first-hand view of the Frankenstein’s monster he has inadvertently helped to create at the Etihad Stadium.

Chelsea owner Abramovich has outspent City’s Sheikh Mansour bin Zayed al Nahyan by approximately £1 billion since arriving in west London in June 2003, but the Russian oligarch has taken eight years to creep towards the £2 billion mark.

At his current rate of spending, Sheikh Mansour will break that barrier two years quicker.

It has taken a combined investment of almost £3 billion from both men to transform tonight’s fixture into a battle of wealth, ego and power, as well as a mere contest for three Premier League points.

But while the product on the pitch on Monday evening would suggest that City have aggressively taken Chelsea’s blueprint to another level and left Abramovich with the expensive quandary of whether to stick or twist in an effort to reclaim past glories, the picture beneath the surface paints a different image, one of Chelsea’s roots beginning to bear fruit in a manner that City can only aspire to.

Within Stamford Bridge, and also among the hierarchy at Old Trafford, the Nou Camp and Allianz Arena, there is a sense that City’s historical and geographical limitations will eventually restrict their so-far unchecked growth.

City have made the Chelsea template work on the pitch – well-recruited young, athletic players under an all-powerful manager – but closing the gap on the London club commercially, a key issue once Uefa’s Financial Fair Play regulations come into force in 2015, will be an altogether more difficult challenge.

The most recent accounts posted by both clubs help illustrate the challenge facing City off the pitch.

While a loss of £194.9 million, fuelled by an annual wage bill of £174 million, obscures City’s success in hiking turnover to £153 million, Chelsea’s figures are much healthier.

Their £172.5 million wage bill is a cigarette paper away from City’s, but turnover of £205.8 million and loss of £68.6 million emphasises the distance City must travel to surpass Chelsea.

Globally, Chelsea have become the closest challenger commercially to the well-established triumvirate of Manchester United, Barcelona and Real Madrid.

The club are ranked fourth, with 250 million global fans, as the world’s most recognised and supported, while Chelsea are a top-three brand within the Adidas football stable.

When City played Club America in San Francisco in July, it was in front of a crowd of 11,000. Two years earlier, more than 81,000 witnessed Chelsea’s clash with Inter Milan in Pasadena.

Garry Cook’s presence at City prior to his resignation as chief executive in September was viewed within the game as a positive factor in the club’s attempts to ‘crack’ America due to his links with Nike, so Abu Dhabi’s choice as his successor is being eagerly awaited by rival clubs keen to assess City’s targets for commercial expansion.

But those targets depend on exploiting the City brand and it is one which has yet to establish the global footprint of Chelsea.

Even within Stamford Bridge, there is an acceptance that United, with their 50 years of history dating back to the Munich disaster, are a brand apart.

Real, Barcelona, Bayern and the Milan clubs are viewed with similar respect.

Chelsea’s unique selling point is their London base and the club actively leverage the London aspect when recruiting players and sponsors.
    Big brands, whether they are players or companies, are attracted by the pull of London -- which is why United, City and Liverpool have offices in the capital to exploit the London market.

But while City have in the past compared their growth to that of Pepsi, which piggybacked the much more established Coca-Cola in the Eighties to establish its brand, exploiting United’s global appeal to secure the spotlight can be no more than a phase one strategy.

City’s challenge is to establish their own unique credentials in a crowded market. Once the ‘project’ of becoming the best has been achieved, what next?

In the United States, the LA Lakers and New York Knicks remain the most powerful and prosperous NBA brands, despite the recent successes of the San Antonio Spurs, which supports the theory that history, location and success will always outweigh success alone.

Progress is clearly being made at City, however. The £400 million, 10-year ground and shirt sponsorship deal with Etihad Airways shows that club’s ability to match deals struck by their most established rivals.

The club are also keen to stress their involvement in the local community. The purchase of land in east Manchester close to the Etihad Stadium will regenerate a run-down area of the city and lead to the building of a new training campus should planning permission be granted on Dec 22.

City’s determination to grow as a ‘good neighbour’ even stretches to products such as ice cream and soft drinks in the stadium press room being sourced from local manufacturers and their determination to project themselves as Manchester’s team has been evident since the infamous “Welcome to Manchester” poster following the signing of Carlos Tévez in 2009.

Having finished ninth in the season prior to Sheikh Mansour’s arrival in September 2008, City have depended on an accelerated investment strategy to arrive in their current position. Chelsea’s rise under Abramovich was faster, but the Russian purchased a Champions League semi-finalist with a squad and structure already well-established.

Crucial to Chelsea’s success, however, was the appointment of Jose Mourinho following Claudio Ranieri’s failure to repay Abramovich’s investment with silverware.

Roberto Mancini now appears to be emulating Mourinho’s strategy of recruitment and winning tactics. Chelsea’s trajectory was checked by Mourinho’s departure, but the club have since won a Double, reached a Champions League final and secured consistent top-three finishes.
    The belief is that, having built a winning structure, Chelsea can succeed, whether the manager is Guus Hiddink, Carlo Ancelotti or Andre Villas-Boas.
    Can City thrive without Mancini, if they are faced with the loss of the Italian and his self-appointed backroom team as Chelsea survived the loss of Mourinho and his coaches?

City are a formidable challenge for Chelsea, however, and one which prompted the £70 million deadline day purchase of Fernando Torres and David Luiz in January.

But while Abramovich may be forced to repeat that investment again to close the gap on City on the pitch, there is only one winner off it.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

Anelka signed 2 year deal with Shanghai Shenhua.

Nicolas-Anelka--posese-wi-007.jpg

^ Thats saved us aboout 90K a week anyway. Now to ship out some more dead weight and we'll be sorted for the UEFA F.F.P.

G'luck to Nico, good servant for the club but the moment that will forever stick with me of his is this :

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRUYiV4PfnYD5qjswre2sfjEH0Gjqg5EJZ7WfhmlqvjwGn31iw9

Only Shevchenko in the '05 Final hit a worse penalty to lose a match.

Anelka repeated that masterclass against Everton in FA cup isn't it. Penalty with no run up, no power, no precison. :pac:

Giggsy11 wrote: »
    Anelka repeated that masterclass against Everton in FA cup isn't it. Penalty with no run up, no power, no precison. :pac:

Yup, hes missed a few penalties for us, come to think of it, we've had a few incidents will penalty takers anyway, Luiz missed in the CL a few weeks back and it cost us, Lamps recent record is something like 2 missed from his last 6,7.

Once we dont get inot a penalty shootout in the FA cup or CL this year we should be alright. :pac:

Yup, hes missed a few penalties for us, come to think of it, we've had a few incidents will penalty takers anyway, Luiz missed in the CL a few weeks back and it cost us, Lamps recent record is something like 2 missed from his last 6,7.

Once we dont get inot a penalty shootout in the FA cup or CL this year we should be alright. :pac:

With Terry in the penalty takers list you should be :cool:

How many has Lampard missed in his Chelsea career? I remember only 2, he has some conversion rate..

With Terry in the penalty takers list you should be :cool:

How many has Lampard missed in his Chelsea career? I remember only 2, he has some conversion rate..

JT is always regarded as one of the first on the 5 man list to take penalties, the CL miss was unlucky could have happned to anyone.

I think, and I'm trying to find it online, that Lamps ahs missed 4 or 5 penalties in the league for us.

Another penalty that haunts me is away to Spurs last year, game is a draw at the time and Drogba who is only after coming off the bench steps up and misses and we only draw the game, think it was 2-2.

JT is always regarded as one of the first on the 5 man list to take penalties, the CL miss was unlucky could have happned to anyone.

I think, and I'm trying to find it online, that Lamps ahs missed 4 or 5 penalties in the league for us.

Another penalty that haunts me is away to Spurs last year, game is a draw at the time and Drogba who is only after coming off the bench steps up and misses and we only draw the game, think it was 2-2.

I think had Terry was included in the list as Drogba was sent off. Otherwise I dont think he would have been in the list.

I wouldnt have minded had JT's penalty cost us the game but Nico's was just lame.

Still, all in the past now. :pac:

Still cant find Lamps penalty record but can remember Given saving one, Krul, the other week, I think Sorensen saved one now to try and rememebr the other(s). :confused:

7 - Juan Mata has now assisted 7 goals in his last 9 PL appearances for Chelsea – only David Silva (8) has more in 2011-12. Provision.

I think we'll beat them tonight anyway lads, Danny Sturridge to haunt his old club.

He should have a field day against whoever City play at LB. Romeu will be deployed on Silva and it will be up to Meirelse and especially Ramires to drive us forward.

I know people are divided on him but Luiz had a fine game aginst Valencia and only got forward once or twice. We are more a lot more solid with Ivanovic at RB and Luiz at RB then we are with Bosingwa playing.

A repeat score line from last years game at the Bridge will do nicely. ;)

From the site, http://www.chelseafc.com/page/LatestNews/0,,10268~2542925,00.html

Also shows highlights of last years game at the Bridge. City are stronger this year though.

Ramires has been looking ahead to the visit of Manchester City in what is another massive game for the Blues and the midfielder has stressed the importance of continuing our recent impressive run of form.
    Little over a week ago the vultures were circling over Stamford Bridge, with Champions League qualification yet to be secured and our title aspirations hanging by a thread.

However, successive 3-0 victories in the space of a week, away at Newcastle and then in midweek against Valencia, have given supporters and players alike plenty of reasons to be optimistic as we prepare to take on Roberto Mancini's unbeaten table toppers.

'Of course the two victories were really important for us in terms of confidence,' he tells the official Chelsea website. 'We want to move up the table and put pressure on the teams above us.

'Obviously it's very important for us to close the gap at the top and to maintain this good momentum. A win would be good and we are playing at home against one of our main title rivals so we need to take advantage.'
    Three clean sheets from our last four matches serve only to emphasise the improvements in our defensive displays of late, encapsulated in the game against Valencia where the Spanish side enjoyed plenty of possession but never seriously looked like penetrating the Blues back four.

At the other end of the pitch, only tonight's opposition have scored more goals in the Barclays Premier League this season. Frank Lampard, John Terry and Ramires himself have all helped out the forwards by chipping in with their fair share of goals but, according to the Brazilian, collective success far outweighs any individual contributions.

'The position of the player who scores the goals doesn't matter,' he says. 'The most important thing is to take opportunities when they come along. Goals win games, but we are a team and as long as the team is winning it doesn't really matter who scores the goals.

Chelsea won the corresponding fixture last season 2-0, with Ramires putting the seal on an impressive win with a fantastic solo effort that was picked out as the club's goal of the season, but as he readily admits, another strike like that could be slightly more tricky this time around.
    'Yes, it was a good goal and I remember it well,' he says. 'If I had the chance to score a goal like that again or an even better one that would be great but now the opposition are more familiar with me so it will be difficult. The most important thing, of course, is to help the team win matches.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭Soby

131638940856.png

:P

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

Willy Willy Give us a wave , Willy Willy give us a wave ,

I dont think you will have any doom and gloom to be spouting after that ,

Get in there ,

KTBFFH :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,546 ✭✭✭Masked Man

3 wins out of 3. **** the haters (hi will!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭McDave

2:1! That's Chelsea back on the rails. But importantly that's MC's unbeatability scotched. They'll still be hard to catch. But if this stretches into a bad run there's no saying what can happen in a dressing room full of superstars and divas. A lot of players have signed up there for instant success. If it doesn't go their way, things could get narky.

IMO the best news for Chelsea is the self-belief that will flow back into the team. Confidence will build in AVB. And it'll be easier to sign the kind of players we want in January and especially next summer. No disrespect to Ferguson, but will really ambitious players really want to sign for MU now? Or Arsenal? Or Tottenham? Or Liverpool? Nope. Outside of MC, Chelsea are the main team with renewed prospects. And the transition could be less painless than feared. Is a good run in the UCL back on the cards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,511 ✭✭✭The Davestator

As a lot of the regulars know, I'm not Ramieres's biggest fan, but he had an unbelievable game tonight. Speed, tenacity, skill, heart - MOTM in my opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭blue-army

For once this season we got a bit of luck!

City probably should've had a penalty when they were 1-0 up, but I guess it just about makes up for QPR/Arsenal games!

AVB showed real balls leaving Lamps on the bench for such a good game, but you've got to hand it to him - used the bench excellently!
    Great performances all round, Romeu and Ramires were impressive as always. Mata and Sturridge were excellent too. The future is looking bright!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

I hope Johner was over for that .

Well done Chelsea.

Thanks for knocking their confidence for next week :D

Well done Chelsea.

Thanks for knocking their confidence for next week :D

Aye, you's do the business next week and it all gets a bit interesting

• Registered Users Posts: 1,247 ✭✭✭Meglamonia

Oh yeahhhh! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,258 ✭✭✭MUSEIST

Delighted with that:D:D. AVB is finally putting a team together and the last 3 games have been huge results for us.

We got lucky with the peno on silva but yaya toure is the luckiest man alive, should have had 3 or 4 yellow cards on different occasions and got nothing.

Romeu had Silva in his pocket all night :p

MUSEIST wrote: »
    Delighted with that:D:D. AVB is finally putting a team together and the last 3 games have been huge results for us.

We got lucky with the peno on silva but yaya toure is the luckiest man alive, should have had 3 or 4 yellow cards on different occasions and got nothing.

Yep, what must be remembered is that AVB is still learning about being in the hot seat in the league and is still learning about his players.

He will get it wrong, the team will lose again, but it all helps in a strange way - the old "you learn by your mistakes"

Romeu is a huge find for us, Ramires had one of his best games as did Meirles

What to do about Torres though???
    Still has a part to play and will probably play against Wigan

Just one #Chelsea player in the top five in terms of passes complete tonight, according to FourFourTwo's Opta app. Who? Oriol Romeu. #MOTM

BTW What the hell was Danny doing to hart/fans before drogbas FK haha :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Cracking result!Delighted. :) City battered us for the first half an hour thought we were in for a hammering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭bullpost

Great result. Was out at a Christmas Party and only picked up the result . Couldnt believe it . Very happy with that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

Willy Willy Give us a wave , Willy Willy give us a wave ,

I dont think you will have any doom and gloom to be spouting after that ,

Get in there ,

KTBFFH :D

I was with him in the pub tonight watching it. (yes, yes, I know him. Real world and all that:p)

He was going crazy about the high line after the City goal. To quote him ''If I had the laptop in front of me, I swear to God I'd be banned from Boards'' :pac:

He was delighted with the response though and very happy overall. (As was I, thx btw :D)

So happy in fact we bought another box of cigs, stayed out for another few hours and had a few more pints! He was resigned to the fact that he wasn't going to make it into work tomorrow:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,236 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Thank you, Chelsea.

I'm going to say what we all know it lads, lose and we will be fighting for 2nd at best, win and the league is back on.

Also I think we'll beat them 2-0 or 2-1. With Spuds dropping points they should be our immediate concern, take them out of the top 4 and then try and push on.

I can see us winning, believe.

Carefree.

Just saying.................;)

AVB already improving on last year. :cool:

At the same time last season (13th Dec) :

P W D L GF GA GD PTS
    17 9 4 4 31 12 19 31

This season (13th Dec) :

P W D L GF GA GD PTS
    15 10 1 4 33 18 15 31