Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chelsea Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2011/2012

• Registered Users Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

Liverpool supposedly trying to get Gary Cahill

http://twitpic.com/80vddv

Just to add as I've said in the Liverpool thread I think it's a load of bollocks.
    Sounds like an agent ploy if the personal terms with Chelsea have stalled.

I'd say Chelsea are still odds on to sign him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,627 ✭✭✭Sgt Pepper 64

amiable wrote: »
    Liverpool supposedly trying to get Gary Cahill

http://twitpic.com/80vddv

Just to add as I've said in the Liverpool thread I think it's a load of bollocks.
    Sounds like an agent ploy if the personal terms with Chelsea have stalled.

I'd say Chelsea are still odds on to sign him.

Apparently he is wanting 100k a week and we are offering 70K. Outrageous but Ferreira is on 90K himself and he hardly ever plays himself. I'm sure they will find a compromise based on appearances etc

and he doesnt fancy it down south! Well feck it, Pool can have him.
    Another Carroll waiting to bite them I reckon!
    Sure we might have to pay more upfront, but I reckon we can get the same or better quality for 70k a week!

Isn't that what clubs are trying to get away from paying 90k a week to subs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,258 ✭✭✭MUSEIST

Isn't that what clubs are trying to get away from paying 90k a week to subs?

Why are you assuming cahill would be a sub, I think the idea is to pair him with terry as the two work well toghether and put ivanovich to RB.

I have never been a huge fan of cahill but chelsea do need a new CB badly, the good thing about him is that he won't need 6-12 months to adjust like a foreign defender might. Chelsea need a player that can go straight in and he fits the bill. He won't be everybodies cup of tea but IMO it would be a clever signing.

MUSEIST wrote: »
    Why are you assuming cahill would be a sub, I think the idea is to pair him with terry as the two work well toghether and put ivanovich to RB.

I have never been a huge fan of cahill but chelsea do need a new CB badly, the good thing about him is that he won't need 6-12 months to adjust like a foreign defender might. Chelsea need a player that can go straight in and he fits the bill. He won't be everybodies cup of tea but IMO it would be a clever signing.

I'm not assuming anything.

I'm on record on this thread several times saying Cahill would be a good signing for Chelsea.

The Sgt said Ferreira is on 90k per week and that's what i was referrring to.
    And he is a sub more often than not?

IMO Cahill will slot right in to play next to John Terry

I'm not assuming anything.

I'm on record on this thread several times saying Cahill would be a good signing for Chelsea.

The Sgt said Ferreira is on 90k per week and that's what i was referrring to.
    And he is a sub more often than not?

IMO Cahill will slot right in to play next to John Terry

Yeah, ferreira is crazy really, I think he has played only a couple of times this season. Crazy to sign him on a long contract but thats chelssea for ye

MUSEIST wrote: »

AVB made a very good point in an interview that, yes Cahill had been part of a collective that was bad, but that at Chelsea it is hoped that he will be part of a good defensive collective that would allow the individual to shine. You shouldnt really have bad defenders as you are supposed to defend as a unit.
    It could be Terry and Carvalho all over again, but this time with Terry as the seasoned old pro showing the young Cahill the way to go.

Like many chelsea, i am on the fence with Cahill, but we should be positive the bloke hasnt even joined yet and we are writing him off, but it could be the beginning of a beautiful partnership!

He's young and probably the future of england, and hopefully chelsea.
    He will get a fair few games I reckon - could be a bargain, and last season was held in high regard, just this season Bolton are ****e all round!

Said it before - but this is exciting -we are finally building a new chelsea, better than it was before, better, faster..etc etc........:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭abelard

Guess who starts today?

Ferreira.

*gulp*

(Full lineup - Fer, D Luiz, JT (c), Cole; Ram, Oriol, Meir; Sturr, Drog, Mata)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭G.K.

Hutchinson on bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭RichT

abelard wrote: »
    Guess who starts today?

Ferreira.

*gulp*

(Full lineup - Fer, D Luiz, JT (c), Cole; Ram, Oriol, Meir; Sturr, Drog, Mata)

subs - Turnbull, Hutchinson :), Lampard, Bosingwa, Malouda, Kalou, Torres

RichT wrote: »
    subs - Turnbull, Hutchinson :), Lampard, Bosingwa, Malouda, Kalou, Torres

Yes, in my shock I forgot to mention the big good news story of the day. Delighted for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭smuckers

Delighted for Sam.

Think Torres will start Mon. c'mon you blues!:)

after Utd result, must take 3 points today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Gileadi

Any decent streams for the game lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

DROGBA 150TH GOAL! LEGEND! :)

Keeper should have saved it.

Get in!

Any decent link? firstrow sports asking me to istall a plugin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,852 ✭✭✭homer simpson

smuckers wrote: »
    Get in!

Any decent link? firstrow sports asking me to istall a plugin

first row link 3 best i've had in ages...

ah FFS... terrible stuff again 1-1

1-1, can't keep a clean sheet to save our lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

****ing **** defending!

Fuck sake

I didn't see that coming, oh wait no I did, in fact I was sure it would come. Typical of chelsea this season:(

and that's why we need cahill

cmon chelsea, get a result and let me enjoy Utd losing!

Conceding almost instantly after we scored. Again.

Probably just grind the rest of the match away now to another 1-1 draw....

That's pretty much this season so far anyway.

Romeu is playing well. That's about it.

Usual ****e from chelsea, we will lose this. Wait and see, another sloppy goal and its 1-2.:(

Veles wrote: »
    He should have finished that,we really should be losing at this stage!!!

Agree. The penalty was our only real chance of the game, I can't remember the Villa keeper being forced into a save today at all. Chelsea look lazy, no spark in the game at all everything seems laboured.

Very frustrating to watch. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 910 ✭✭✭Jagera

romeu off, lampard on.. madness.

edit: and now torres. for sturridge. god help me!!

RVP just scored for Arsenal too, making anything but a win a very nasty outcome.

Super effort by Torres.

Just what does Meriles be thinking. Thats 3 times he has picked up the ball 30 odd yards out and 3 times he has tried a shot and skyed it ... not even close to being on target.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭McDave

AVB said no radical overhaul this Jan and I agree, it would be madness.
    Overpaying again, Jan is not the time to buy
    The Modric piece in the Telegraph intimated that any move would only come into the frame at the end of the season (Modric wants to see how it pans out with Spurs over the full season). January seems to be ruled out.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭jcf

Seems like more of the same rubbish today
    Must be a record amount of concurrent draws
    Rubbish

avb said he wanted cahill sorted. then look at the forward situation. reckon we will need a forward or a playmayer just to finish top four! don't care as it won't matter about being cup tied

bose close, pressure building

Drogs should have done better there, great play from Torres

pls pls torres, show some class

don't you know.....

****ing ****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

AVB out?, would be 3 points from last possible 12.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭wonderboysam

nice defending lads

wow

horrible ...horrible stuff. Should have been a pen just beofre the goal and the defending was as shocking as i've seen for the goal. Shocking shocking stuff. I'm off for a drink.

sick of this ****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 910 ✭✭✭Jagera

deserved lead for villa.

chelsea have zero formation. no penetrating through the middle or out wide.
    terrible subs again, like against fulham.