Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Aston Villa Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2013/14

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,791 ✭✭✭✭JPA

COYVB wrote: »
    Villa Superthread Super League Now Up and Running
    51813-415491

http://fantasy.premierleague.com/

I'd say if we even got 10 in it'd be worthwhile

I'm in, I'd pay €5 max NP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭remoteboy

Happy to pay but not sure what league were using. Have already joined the first league mentioned as Remote's Boys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭Easy Rod

In - Fuzzy Dunlop is my team name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

The two leagues are as follows:-

Villa Superthread Super League (Just for fun) : Code 51813-415491

Villa €50 voucher (providing we get at least 10) : Code 364949-423877

Sign up for the second only if you are willing to contribute a maximum of €5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,518 ✭✭✭matrim

I'm in. Same as others €5 max

Very excited about the coming season, even with the ridiculous opening fixtures. We could easily nick something at Arsenal and against Liverpool. Hopefully we continue the form we were in at the end of last season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭LeBash

Synode wrote: »
    Very excited about the coming season, even with the ridiculous opening fixtures. We could easily nick something at Arsenal and against Liverpool. Hopefully we continue the form we were in at the end of last season

Yeah, and the cheek of Moyles ranting about Man Us opening fixtures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,114 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Bent finally gone - on loan - to fulham.

Glad to see he might get game time now..

Wish him all the best. He saved our bacon two season ago

• Registered Users Posts: 1,608 ✭✭✭cathalio11

Sylla and Herd out for the game tomorrow.

Is this good news for Arsenal fans?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,580 ✭✭✭✭CSF

cathalio11 wrote: »
    Sylla and Herd out for the game tomorrow.

Is this good news for Arsenal fans?

Not the biggest deal in the world. Sylla is useful but not crucial. Herd wouldn't have played

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭jimmy the car

CSF wrote: »
    Not the biggest deal in the world. Sylla is useful but not crucial. Herd wouldn't have played

What's our likely midfield then? At a guess:

Gabby Delph Westwood Tonev/KEA?

Presume Wiemann up front with Benteke and back 4 of Lowton, Vlaar, Baker/Okore, Luna/Bennett....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 739 ✭✭✭Feidhlim

What's our likely midfield then? At a guess:

Gabby Delph Westwood Tonev/KEA?

Presume Wiemann up front with Benteke and back 4 of Lowton, Vlaar, Baker/Okore, Luna/Bennett....

I expect the line up below

Guzan
    Lowton, Vlaar, Okore, Luna
    Westwood, Delph, KEA
    Weimann, Benteke, Gabby

Tonev to come on in the 2nd half, especially if we are losing
    Bennett wont start

Feidhlim wrote: »

Guzan
    Westwood, Delph, KEA
    Weimann, Benteke, Gabby

Bennett wont start

Don't think Okore will start either.

Guzan
    Westwood, Delph, KEA
    Weimann, Benteke, Gabby

Bennett wont start

Really hope that is what happens...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,608 ✭✭✭cathalio11

Would Luna be a wise fantasy signing for the double header in this gameweek?

Guaranteed starter or not? Didn't think Bennett was Premier League standard at all last season. At all.

cathalio11 wrote: »
    Would Luna be a wise fantasy signing for the double header in this gameweek?

Guaranteed starter or not? Didn't think Bennett was Premier League standard at all last season. At all.

Not just that - he has had feck all game time in pre season. Luna all the way to start all 3 opening games.

Bennett in the cup, maybe.

JPA - you may be right on Okore. I'm gunna stick my neck out and say it will be him. If not, Baker.

JPA wrote: »
    Don't think Okore will start either.

Why not? You think he'll go with Vlaar and Clark?

That would be insane

Clark is our 4th choice CB right now

Vlaar and Baker. Almost certain.
    Okore missed some preseason and needs to adapt as well .
    Might get first start in cup.

JPA wrote: »
    Vlaar and Baker. Almost certain.
    Okore missed some preseason and needs to adapt as well .
    Might get first start in cup.

You may be right, in hindsight.

I'll give Lambo a shout and find out for sure

You may be right, in hindsight.

I'll give Lambo a shout and find out for sure

He said Okore will start

Did he mention anything about a final score, just looking at some odds and they're very tempting ;)

Nah, most of us might think he is a genius but he isn't that good.

Someone already posted, put your money on both teams scoring. You'll be laughin'

Only 4 teams so far in the fantasy football €50 Villa voucher idea:-

The Villain (Boards name: Synode)
    Better on Paper (Boards name: COYVB)
    Combustible Lemons (Boards name: ?????????)
    Benteke the beast (Boards name: ?????????)

If you're interested make sure you join the league on the website : 364949-423877
    It has to get at least 10 by the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,357 ✭✭✭OneColdHand

Only 4 teams so far in the fantasy football €50 Villa voucher idea:-

If you're interested make sure you join the league on the website : 364949-423877
    It has to get at least 10 by the morning.

I joined the one that COYVB posted - but that's different to the one you have there?!

Team name: Zach's Tache

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,076 ✭✭✭Eathrin

I joined the first league.
    P. Jones' Face Squad

Yes there's two leagues. The one COYVB set up which is just for fun as there's people who don't want money involved (Villa Superthread Super League: 51813-415491).

The second league called "Villa €50 voucher" is this code 364949-423877.

I set up a different one as it's easier that way to see who is involved for the voucher, rather than having one league and some involved for voucher, some not. It's only going ahead if we get 10 by tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,357 ✭✭✭OneColdHand

Yes there's two leagues. The one COYVB set up which is just for fun as there's people who don't want money involved (Villa Superthread Super League: 51813-415491).

The second league called "Villa €50 voucher" is this code 364949-423877.

I set up a different one as it's easier that way to see who is involved for the voucher, rather than having one league and some involved for voucher, some not. It's only going ahead if we get 10 by tomorrow.

Ah! Right!

Ok I joined the first one. There's 19 in there now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,518 ✭✭✭matrim

I joined the both.

Who won last years villa thread league?

Yep good showing in the normal one. 6 in the voucher one now.

Can't remember who won last year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Just joined both. "Sure 2nd is grand"

Ill join the one for 50 after jammin.

Btw i reckon Clark is starting beside Vlaar. He is very highly rated by everyone and im glad he didnt turn into a utility player which he was in danger of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,660 ✭✭✭COYVB

LeBash wrote: »
    i reckon Clark is starting beside Vlaar. He is very highly rated by everyone and im glad he didnt turn into a utility player which he was in danger of.

Doesn't seem to be that highly rated by Lambert at the moment. As things stand he's most definitely our fourth choice. He's been absolutely awful for the last 12 months. Loads of potential, but has a touch of the Brambles about him in terms of disastrous decisions

He can be a liability at times alright

Btw i reckon Clark is starting beside Vlaar. He is very highly rated by everyone and im glad he didnt turn into a utility player which he was in danger of.

Maybe he will start but there's not really any basis for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭kilburn

Had already joined the first one.

Joined the second team name YES YES YES

That makes 7. Need another 3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,114 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Match is on Setanta is that correct?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭damoth

listermint wrote: »
    Match is on Setanta is that correct?

Yes

Setanta 1

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,866 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

If anyone is cooking an omelet whilst watching tomorrow I'd appreciate a recipe pm after all I went to the lengths of typing this Omelet nonsense and It'l be nice to get to watch Villa without having to stay up till the middle of the night for the first time in ages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,335 ✭✭✭death1234567

He is very highly rated by everyone
    :eek:. He's was dire last season and is a calamity waiting to happen.

He is very young for a starting centre half. He will come good. Also picking him out as dire last season is unfair.

On last seasons form Vlaar Clark and Baker would struggle to get into another prem teams starting 11. I still reckon wee will see huge improvements this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭remoteboy

That makes 7. Need another 3.

Joined up there. That's 9 so far.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,030 ✭✭✭pavb2

He is very young for a starting centre half. He will come good. Also picking him out as dire last season is unfair.

On last seasons form Vlaar Clark and Baker would struggle to get into another prem teams starting 11. I still reckon wee will see huge improvements this season.

Agreed, not many players on last years showing would get into another prem team's line up.

Last year was a baptism of fire for a lot of players but what we do have unlike previous season's are a lot of players with a lot of potential.

I also think we will see huge improvements, though I think I'd take a 10th place finish now.

Actually, Rule me out. I'll have limited access for the next few weeks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,660 ✭✭✭COYVB

we need one more in before kick off or we go with 9 I reckon. sure it's only a little over €5.50 each

I'm good with 9 if everyone else is. Any more takers to make it an even 10?

The players I have so far are:-

Sure 2nd is Grand (Boards name: Neil3030)
    perth06 (Boards name: basillarkin)
    Yes! Yes! Yes! (Boards name: kilburn)
    Remote's Boys (Boards name: remoteboy)

And the following who need to confirm their Boards names:-

It's Bentekkers (Boards name: ????????)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,580 ✭✭✭✭CSF

I'm good with 9 if everyone else is. Any more takers to make it an even 10?

The players I have so far are:-

Sure 2nd is Grand (Boards name: Neil3030)
    perth06 (Boards name: basillarkin)
    Yes! Yes! Yes! (Boards name: kilburn)
    Remote's Boys (Boards name: remoteboy)

And the following who need to confirm their Boards names:-

It's Bentekkers (Boards name: ????????)

Gwan lads, Los Pollos Hermanos