Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Aston Villa Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2013/14

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,660 ✭✭✭COYVB

Kess73 wrote: »
    Think a quality centre back would do marvels for Villa.

We signed one this summer :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

COYVB wrote: »
    We signed one this summer :)

Who? I thought Okore was the only centre back Villa bought this summer or did you buy another?

If Okore is who you mean, then I would have to disagree that Villa bought a quality centre back this summer.

Don't get me wrong, Okore has loads of potential (I think he is looking like a cross between Anderlecht's Kouyate and Juve's Ogbonna in terms of style and potential) and may go on to become a quality centre back, but I don't think it would be unfair to say he is not a quality centre back yet.

I just think a more proven centre back alongside Vlaar with Okore being the number three CB who steps in as the cover for the two main CBs would see Villa as a much tougher proposition at the back, and would still see Okore progress.

Of course Okore may have a break out season at this level and not look back, but I think it may be a season or so too soon for him to become one of the starter CBs.

But you guys are going to see a hell of a lot more of him play than I will, so will not take very long for you all to be letting me know exactly how ready he is or is not.:)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,280 ✭✭✭slingerz

Kess73 wrote: »
    Who? I thought Okore was the only centre back Villa bought this summer or did you buy another?

If Okore is who you mean, then I would have to disagree that Villa bought a quality centre back this summer.

Don't get me wrong, Okore has loads of potential (I think he is looking like a cross between Anderlecht's Kouyate and Juve's Ogbonna in terms of style and potential) and may go on to become a quality centre back, but I don't think it would be unfair to say he is not a quality centre back yet.

I just think a more proven centre back alongside Vlaar with Okore being the number three CB who steps in as the cover for the two main CBs would see Villa as a much tougher proposition at the back, and would still see Okore progress.

Of course Okore may have a break out season at this level and not look back, but I think it may be a season or so too soon for him to become one of the starter CBs.

But you guys are going to see a hell of a lot more of him play than I will, so will not take very long for you all to be letting me know exactly how ready he is or is not.:)

Ciaran Clark is the more proven CB there alongside Vlaar. Cant help but think last season will have improved him as a player no end

slingerz wrote: »
    Ciaran Clark is the more proven CB there alongside Vlaar. Cant help but think last season will have improved him as a player no end

Clark seems to be 4th choice CB, and was only on at Arsenal and starting last night because Okore lacked match fitness. Baker is ahead of him, rightly so, in the pecking order too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

LeBash wrote: »

There is a lot of unwarrented bad press at Clark. Dont get me wrong. He has had a couple of howlers but so had everyone of our defenders, Lowton excluded who has been 7/10 in every game.

Lowton has had his fair share of howlers last season too, he got a bit better at the end of last season and seems to have continued that into the games this season. Baker and Clark I'm still not sure about, if Clark can eradicate his braindead moments and overplaying, I still think he can be a very good defender. Vlaar too is another that needs to play better this season, he's not been as imposing as I thought he'd be at all. As a team so far the defending has been better this season though, except Ivanovics free header.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,579 ✭✭✭✭CSF

slingerz wrote: »

Proven to be fairly poor. He isn't all bad but he is a mistake waiting to happen.

LeBash wrote: »
    He has had a couple of howlers but so had everyone of our defenders, Lowton excluded who has been 7/10 in every game.

Did you know, that we conceded more goals last season down Lowton's side than Bennetts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Very much a baptism of fire for the defence so far this season, in fairness. We'll have a better idea of where we stand after 5 or so games.

One thing I noticed is that Chelsea seemed to give up using their width for large portions of the game last night, which played right into our defensive tactics of packing everyone in narrowly to clog up any moves up the middle. On two of the few occasions Chelsea did go wide, they scored. I was actually surprised Mourinho didn't cop onto this, though I suppose part of it could be the fact that none of the Chelsea team are naturally specialist wide players, so their inclination would always be to try bring the move back inside.

My stream crapped out for the final ten minutes, how did Tonev look when he came on?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭LeBash

Did you know, that we conceded more goals last season down Lowton's side than Bennetts?

To be fair that doesnt show in overall play otherwise everyone here would be killing Lowton the way they have done with Bennett. So i will make assumptions such as free kicks and corners from that side led to a lot of goals, both of which will have very little to do with the full backs performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

So how should the club spend the ~70m we should be getting for Benteke? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 739 ✭✭✭Feidhlim

Neil3030 wrote: »

Buy him back for €50m

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,038 ✭✭✭circadian

My stream crapped out for the final ten minutes, how did Tonev look when he came on?.

He wasn't on for long enough to display much more than speed. I remember him breaking from the edge of our box and was near the final third in no time.

If he's as good with both feet as we're led to believe then breaking like that could result in some screamers.

He's bloody quick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,038 ✭✭✭circadian

We could buy about 20 Lambert type players for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

circadian wrote: »
    He wasn't on for long enough to display much more than speed. I remember him breaking from the edge of our box and was near the final third in no time.

If he's as good with both feet as we're led to believe then breaking like that could result in some screamers.

He's bloody quick.

He takes corners with both feet too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,016 ✭✭✭mirwillbeback

Lads, heading over tomorrow with the wife and kids for the game, SO excited about the game....I fancy us to win, and for some reason I really fancy Gabby to score.
    Is there anywhere I can go with the kids before the game for a pint? I think the Irish Lions have a place in the ground?

If anyone on here wants a programme let me know....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,791 ✭✭✭✭JPA

We need that AM.
    Disappointed with that performance TBH.

Meh. Pushed a bit in the second half but never had real proper pressure. Another home match where they only play for a half, so many of them last season. Midfield pretty toothless attacking wise. Would love someone else in with a bit of creativity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

The first half performance was very poor with far too much respect being given to Liverpool, big improvement in the second. Keeping Liverpool to 1 shot on target represents progress defensively so surely there are clean sheets on the horizon.

For the Rotherham game I'd like to see

Steer
    Bacuna----Okore---Clark----Luna

Sylla
    KEA

-Tonev
    Gardner
    Albrighton (one last chance maybe?)/Grealish

Helenius

I'd give Bacuna another run out in midfield TBH, and I'd also play Benteke. No league match now for a few weeks, so let him bulk up the old goal tally a bit if possible. Strong team for a confidence boosting demolition of lower league opposition followed by a nice break for everyone. I'd go with:

Steer
    Jonacien--Vlaar
    Okore----Bennett
    Sylla
    Bacuna
    Albrighton
    Tonev
    Helenius--Benteke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭Maddylicious

We were desperate first half.. Was actually embarrassing :cool:

Second half was much better but we should have gotten a goal out of all the opportunities we had. no excuse considering we had such a high number of corners & majority of possession.. Having said that Mignolet had one or two cracking saves

I'd give Bacuna another run out in midfield TBH, and I'd also play Benteke. No league match now for a few weeks, so let him bulk up the old goal tally a bit if possible. Strong team for a confidence boosting demolition of lower league opposition followed by a nice break for everyone. I'd go with:

Steer
    Jonacien--Vlaar
    Okore----Bennett
    Sylla
    Bacuna
    Albrighton
    Tonev
    Helenius--Benteke

Actually now that I think of it, weimann needs a goal, so him instead of benefits is what is like there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Tonev looks like he has the potential to be a fan favourite for ye, some shot on him

Steer
    Jonacien--Vlaar
    Okore----Bennett
    Sylla
    Bacuna
    Albrighton
    Tonev
    Helenius--Benteke

Think Albrighton will be leaving so not involved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

Seems the Japanese guy was left out of the Nurenburg team today, hopefully a sign for us

Faulkner says we're in for "someone who'll make a difference"... Sounds promising

Interesting. Wonder if it is Kiyotake. Least it seems some sort of movement to look forward to at the end of the window.

Edit: Kiyotake came on for last 20 min against Bayern, so it was probably only a tactical decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

While disappointed with yesterday's result I'm not to despondent.
    I actually think the performance wasn't terrible, we fairly dominated in the second half and it was clear to see that some players were having an off day with some loose final balls etc.

If we can keep up that level of performance we wouldn't be a million miles away from challenging for europa cup...

shoutman wrote: »
    While disappointed with yesterday's result I'm not to despondent.
    I actually think the performance wasn't terrible, we fairly dominated in the second half and it was clear to see that some players were having an off day with some loose final balls etc.

If we can keep up that level of performance we wouldn't be a million miles away from challenging for europa cup...

I disagree. Can't afford to just not be at it for an entire hour of a match. I think when we have to push for equalisers we look a bit short to create. It's still encouraging but unless the problem is sorted there could be more frustrating matches like it.

Corholio wrote: »
    I disagree. Can't afford to just not be at it for an entire hour of a match. I think when we have to push for equalisers we look a bit short to create. It's still encouraging but unless the problem is sorted there could be more frustrating matches like it.

Third game in a week and its not like we didnt have chances...

Interesting. Wonder if it is Kiyotake. Least it seems some sort of movement to look forward to at the end of the window.

Edit: Kiyotake came on for last 20 min against Bayern, so it was probably only a tactical decision.

Have a good feeling it will be someone highly rated. Not a household name but probably one to impress in the Hipster thread!

Dean Saunders on Goals on Sunday telling some funny stories about Ron Atkinson when he was at Villa. Ron brought in Take That, Mick Hucknall and a singer to sing Nessun Dorma into the dressing room at different games :P

Always like listening to Saunders. Showed the '96 goals too. Good times.

naughtb4 wrote: »
    Tonev looks like he has the potential to be a fan favourite for ye, some shot on him

I'm completely unsure about him TBH. He might be a fan favourite, or he might be the most hated player on the pitch...depends where he goes from here really. IMO right now he's way too greedy, doesn't have enough composure and doesn't look like a team player

Third game in a week and its not like we didnt have chances...

It has been a long week, but the chances we made were from the pressure we put them under from being 1-0 down and had to go for it, it's expected pressure. I'd rather it when it's 0-0 and not waiting until the last 30 minutes.

There's definitely good signs, hopefully we start playing a lot better at home, it's been years since the team was solid at home really.

How long until we keep a cleansheet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

I'm completely unsure about him TBH. He might be a fan favourite, or he might be the most hated player on the pitch...depends where he goes from here really. IMO right now he's way too greedy, doesn't have enough composure and doesn't look like a team player

From a Liverpool perspective, reminds me of Patrick Berger

naughtb4 wrote: »
    From a Liverpool perspective, reminds me of Patrick Berger
    From a Villa perspective he reminds me of Patrick Berger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,518 ✭✭✭matrim

Just got this
    Hi ,

It seemed unlikely that we would be able to meet for this one, but Murrays have done us proud and they have 100% confirmed that Aston Villa vs Rotherham will be live on their screens this Wednesday night. This match is not on any UK or Irish channel and exclusive!
    Its the last Villa game for a couple of weeks as it's the international break.

Wednesday 28th August
    Meet from 6pm in the upstairs bar as usual
    Kick Off: 745pm.

See you there
    UTV!

Should mean that there are streams but if not there's a backup of popping into Murrays

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 845 ✭✭✭V1llianous

matrim wrote: »
    Just got this

Should mean that there are streams but if not there's a backup of popping into Murrays

It's on Al Jazerra Sport HD6.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,114 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Enda Stevens has joined Notts County on a 28-day emergency loan. The 23-year-old left back will be eligible to play in County’s Capital One Cup second round game tonight against Liverpool at Anfield.

Thats disappointing for him im sure. Being brutally honest im not seeing why he is off as far as im concerned he opened last season with a really good account of himself and that injury really messed things up. hasnt played first team since.

listermint wrote: »
    Thats disappointing for him im sure. Being brutally honest im not seeing why he is off as far as im concerned he opened last season with a really good account of himself and that injury really messed things up. hasnt played first team since.

I thought he did ok when he played but he does probably need game time to improve and it looks like he probably won't get it here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,335 ✭✭✭death1234567

How long until we keep a cleansheet?
    I can't see there being many of them this year, more than last year but still not alot. Not a bad thing though, if we are going to be mid table also rans I'd prefer that we play exciting football rather than bore our way to 40 points.

Being linked with Tom Ince today.

I think hed suit our front three, but I wouldnt have him ahead of Gabby or Andy on the wings

Starting XI: Steer, Vlaar, Okore, Bennett, Bacuna, El Ahmadi, Westwood, Agbonlahor, Delph, Benteke, Weimann
    Subs: Guzan, Clark, Helenius, Herd, Sylla, Tonev, Lowton

Very strong starting lineup there. Disappointed not to see Sylla in the starting lineup if he's fit. We really could do with him starting games again. Likewise, disappointed we've not rested Gabby and gone with Tonev, but the rest I'm relatively happy with

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,357 ✭✭✭OneColdHand

Starting XI: Steer, Vlaar, Okore, Bennett, Bacuna, El Ahmadi, Westwood, Agbonlahor, Delph, Benteke, Weimann

Very strong starting lineup there. Disappointed not to see Sylla in the starting lineup if he's fit. We really could do with him starting games again. Likewise, disappointed we've not rested Gabby and gone with Tonev, but the rest I'm relatively happy with

I'm glad Okore is getting a game. Thought he looked really good at the weekend. I'm excited about him!

Also, we might as well throw out a strong team, we have no game at the weekend and then there's the international break.

astonaidan wrote: »
    I think hed suit our front three, but I wouldnt have him ahead of Gabby or Andy on the wings

I'm thinking if we're after him it'd be as a link up man, the AM we've been saying we're looking for. Not entirely proven there, but could be a decent shout if the price is right. Additionally, Blackpool have Fonz on loan and are in talks with Bannan, so we might be able to offload both of them to Blackpool as part of any transfer, which would be super given that they're highly unlikely to contribute any more under Lambert

I'm glad Okore is getting a game. Thought he looked really good at the weekend. I'm excited about him!

He really does look a fine defender. I'm hoping with a settled partnership, he and Vlaar can do well. I'm equally excited by the prospect of him partnering Baker - now that's a CB pairing for the years ahead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,357 ✭✭✭OneColdHand

He really does look a fine defender. I'm hoping with a settled partnership, he and Vlaar can do well. I'm equally excited by the prospect of him partnering Baker - now that's a CB pairing for the years ahead

Yeah, I think Vlaar has looked a little dodgy at times, but that may have had something to cover the likes of Clark as a partner. If Okore turns out to be solid then Vlaar can just focus on his own game!

Agree, would have liked to see Sylla, Tonev and Helenius starting tonight to give them all some game time

Also, we might as well throw out a strong team, we have no game at the weekend and then there's the international break.

Good point and I'm sure Lambert is still hurting from getting knocked out by Bradford.