Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Manchester City Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2011/2012

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭ironbluedun

I fúcking hate Gary Cook

what did he do on ya?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,032 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

karma_ wrote: »
    Great signing and will give us plenty of options in midfield, we have an amazing squad now so can take the odd injury on the chin if need be and have quality ready and waiting. Like the others here I'm slightly worried about defence too, kind of surprised another top quality centre half was not a priority but to be honest I'm in the Kevin Keegan mould and will be happy as long as we score more than we concede. Such an exciting season to be a blue!

Pos Team Pl W D L F A GD Pts
    1. Manchester City 46 31 6 9 108 52 +56 99

This kind of thing

I'm in the Kevin Keegan mould and will be happy as long as we score more than we concede. Such an exciting season to be a blue!

mmmmm me not in the kk mold.... balance is what is needed and on the balance scale of things the defense is light. i do think nasri was needed for his creativity in midfield and now that's done and dusted i would love to see a good central defender arrive. But is doesn't seem to be on the radar at the moment. At it could cost in the long run.

on another note i dont think city have too much to fear from the cl draw, even though 3rd pot (probably one of the best teams ever in the third pot)....the teams in 1&2 would like to avoid city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭POKERKING

I'd take Barca, means we miss them in the second round if there in our group, apart from them and real dont fear anyone in CL, avoid the horrible Russian/Ukraine clubs and we should go through regardless if the team performs!

And lads trust me the defensive unit is fine, we will have no probs in that regard, yes you could take lescott and replace him with someone and prob have a better defence individually but its all about the unit and the current one has gelled pretty well.

And to whoever hoped Gareth Barry is dropped, hang your head in shame, one of the most underrated players at the club....

POKERKING wrote: »
    And to whoever hoped Gareth Barry is dropped, hang your head in shame, one of the most underrated players at the club....

i have not been a huge fan of his, although to be fair i have to admit that he has played well in the first two games this season. still he does seem the obvious one to loose out when nasri plays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭krustydoyle

Oh feck it bring on the big guns in the CL Draw...:D

I have a bad feeling we could end up in a group of death though..

'How are you brother?'

LOL

So can we get out of the group?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

Of course we can and as Mancini said it's the most balanced group there..... Seems to me that many people are genuinely talking about City being a proper force this year.......

All us fans need to do now is start to believe it ourselves :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Of course we can and as Mancini said it's the most balanced group there..... Seems to me that many people are genuinely talking about City being a proper force this year.......

All us fans need to do now is start to believe it ourselves :)

City were a force last season as well. Third in the league and the FA Cup in the bag shows that. They start this season with an even stronger squad than last season, and have had time to settle into how Mancini wants them to play, so expectations will be high.

Maybe the amount of past false dawns is tempering the belief of the City faithful somewhat, but I think that you guys are the real deal at present, in terms of being a genuine top three team, and should be for quite some time

yes i expect that city squad to get through that group, to be strong at home, and at least no poxy away visits to eastern europe, russia, romania etc etc all away matches geographically perfect, now to win a few of them is the thing;)

what are the chances of going back to munich in may?

It usually takes clubs a good few seasons to make any sort of impact in the CL but we have a great depth in the squad so hopefully we can progress to the latter stages of the competition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

It usually takes clubs a good few seasons to make any sort of impact in the CL but we have a great depth in the squad so hopefully we can progress to the latter stages of the competition

City should make the Quarter Final if they dont pull a big team in the 2nd round, but all depends, if City top their group they should avoid the big teams, coe 2nd in ye're group and it could be a game against Barca/Real.

All four English clubs should at the very least, get out of their groups.

in reality for any team being the first time ever in the cl anything after a quarter final place would be a real bonus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

It's a tricky enough group lads, there'll be nothing soft.

Bayern will be strong as always, Villareal are pretty decent and Napoli won't be a pushover either. I'd expect City to qualify though. 10 pts is enough and that should be achieveable. The two games against Villareal will be crucial though. Take 4 pts from those two games and you're as good as there.

United got the easiest draw of the 4 English teams.

EDIT: was just thinking, considering City have no pedigree at all in European football, are ye fortunate enough not to have been dumped into pot 4? Don't know how much difference it would have made but just wondering.

aidan24326 wrote: »
    It's a tricky enough group lads, there'll be nothing soft.

Bayern will be strong as always, Villareal are pretty decent and Napoli won't be a pushover either. I'd expect City to qualify though. 10 pts is enough and that should be achieveable. The two games against Villareal will be crucial though. Take 4 pts from those two games and you're as good as there.

United got the easiest draw of the 4 English teams.

EDIT: was just thinking, considering City have no pedigree at all in European football, are ye fortunate enough not to have been dumped into pot 4? Don't know how much difference it would have made but just wondering.

Are you saying we have never played and won a cup in Europe?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

Are you saying we have never played and won a cup in Europe?:confused:

Hes saying winning a single cup Winners cup over 40 years ago doesn't make a pedigree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,169 ✭✭✭JohnnyRyan99

Fuhrer wrote: »
    Hes saying winning a single cup Winners cup over 40 years ago doesn't make a pedigree

But we've been involved and got resonably far in the Uefa Cup/Europa League so we probably desrve a higher rank than the likes of Galati who wouldnt have gone anywhere in Europe before.

I know it's only the Uefa/Europa but it's still Europe which is what it's been graded on!

Well lads, just wondering if anyone has ordered the new home kit from the umbro website? I need it in a bigger size than whats available in the shops..
    Ive emailed them twice and they havent replied so i said id try here.. thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,308 ✭✭✭Pyjamarama

Just want to say quality performance from your lot today. There'll be the usual waffle of it buying the title and what not but i've a few City supporting mates and given the 20 odd years of pretty much constant heartbreak i'm actually delighted for them. You lot are gonna push United all the way this season and i hope you come out on top.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

Delighted with that performance, Spurs were one of our bogey teams and that result should firmly lock that demon away, blistering start to the season and so many positives to take from that game there are too many to list.

Mainly over the bluemoon for Edin, he took so much stick from our own fans last season and he's proving them all wrong, he was unplayable today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,922 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

t238885_south-park-i-just-came-500x375.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

Some performance from you lot today. Delighted for Dzeko, think he's a class act.
    I think City will be there or thereabouts at the end of the season.

Nasri enjoyed #5 as much as the rest of us:

vlcsnap2011082816h47m49.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭Cactus Colm

Great stuff!

randyhappy.jpg

Had to modify it slightly for full effect :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

You lot being linked with Di Rossi now.

How many centre mids can one squad have?

Seaneh wrote: »

Brian Marwood said 3 days ago that summer spending is done, so I doubt this will happen, it's an old rumour anyway that's been floating around all summer.

was it him or cook that said at the end of last season that there was to be no big signings this summer...........:rolleyes:

Seaneh wrote: »

trying to do well in four competitions so could play 60+ games this season, that's a big factor if players start picking up injuries around march, april, its a long season.
    i still feel a good central defender is needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Will Adam Johnson be sold now? Can't see him getting much game time with City.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭POKERKING

Johner wrote: »

Doubt if he will be let go especially with SWP going, we have over 60 games and we are one injury away from johnson being guaranteed a start(to a certain extent) so there's no chance we loan him out for the sake it, hes vital part of squad.

Johner wrote: »

no cant see that happening

Didn't Bobby Manc say only last week or so that AJ has been promised game time and that he would not be leaving? Had a quick look for the article but couldn't find it but I definitely remember reading it.

Great performance against spurs Silva is one of the greatest players ever to put on that shirt,he is the key for us in winning the title this year

I would give Mario and Tevez a start against Wigan

Great performance against spurs Silva is one of the greatest players ever to put on that shirt,he is the key for us in winning the title this year

I would give Mario and Tevez a start against Wigan

silva is a class act. nasri had a great debut, was very good too.......after that back heel show boating lark in the US mario is still serving his penance :D:D as for tevez well i suppose he should get a run.

Exits from City

http://www.independent.ie/breaking-news/sport/betis-move-for-santa-cruz-2860537.html
    Real Betis have confirmed the signing of Paraguay striker Roque Santa Cruz on a one-year loan from Manchester City.

http://www.independent.ie/breaking-news/sport/weiss-heading-to-espanyol-2860539.html
    Espanyol have reached an initial deal with Manchester City to take Vladimir Weiss on loan for the coming season, the Primera Division club announced on their website.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

Send us over Adam Johnson and we will send you's Joe Cole , 2 packets of Skips , a choc-ice and half a Capri Sun .

Deal ?

mixednuts wrote: »
    Send us over Adam Johnson and we will send you's Joe Cole , 2 packets of Skips , a choc-ice and half a Capri Sun .

Deal ?

No problem at all if ya throw in a Twix:D
    We paid £17.5 million for him:o

Well, hopefully he will do well out on loan and we'll make less of a loss on him the following year if he can be sold on:)

So its safe to say it'll only be departures at this stage...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,833 ✭✭✭Dr.Winston O'Boogie

Sick of all these loans, the players just become a problem again a year later! Bloody wage demands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

niallo24 wrote: »
    Sick of all these loans, the players just become a problem again a year later! Bloody wage demands.

It was a necessary part of the building process. Every time you brought a player in through higher wages than expected, you were able to make the squad better and better. Each time it gets better, better players are more willing to come. Aguero wouldn't have signed three years ago, even if you had CL football imo. Just like he wouldn't sign for Spurs. The squad had to be built up again and again, at huge wage costs. The real mistake was the length of the contracts :)

mixednuts wrote: »

Deal ?

i dont know which would be more useful joe cole or the two packets of skips?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

If you mean in a game of footy, then the skips win every time.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

Definitely the Skips

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭G.K.

for eating, definitely the skips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

Owen Hargreaves has supposedly had a medical at City today

amiable wrote: »

Just saw that :eek:

amiable wrote: »

what?????????? must be a joke..........:eek:

Would be a super signing really, and I said as much on another forum on July 8 -
    Well if he was fit he'd be a tidy replacement for Vieira on a one year or pay as you play deal deal, not like it'd be a risk for us financially.