Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rangers FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2012/2013

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭lubo_moravcik

big week for you lot isnt it?
    It is that ;)

How so? Who yous playing??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

How so? Who yous playing??

Sheepshaggers at Ibrox.

However i think bluefkngblue is alluding to the tax hearing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

Some of the reviews on for Ally McCoists new computer game :pac:
    ''To be honest with you, I was disappointed, to be fair.''

''I found the tactics menu a complete joke....All it allowed you to do was play bounce games.I also really struggled on the finances section of the game.Couldn’t for the life of me call a board meeting or get my accounts audited''

''Bargain,even though they are asking a tenner for this game I have it on good authority they will take a single golden pound coin'' Reviewed by: David Murray from Scotland

''Completely unrealistic....in my first season I was already pumped out of three competitions by the middle of September. Nonsense''

They are funny tbf

http://www.gameseek.co.uk/customerreviews.php?pid=PChx88tuabhwpmuhaf&ofs=0

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,871 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

tommyhaas wrote: »
    Some of the reviews on for Ally McCoists new computer game :pac:

They are funny tbf

http://www.gameseek.co.uk/customerreviews.php?pid=PChx88tuabhwpmuhaf&ofs=0

There's a few KDS'ers loose on that one lol! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,216 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

What kind of comings and goings transfer wise are you guys hearing?

Nothing seems to be moving on the Jelavic rumours, Edu and Sochaux seems to have gone quiet, hearing a couple of rumours about McGregor but again nothing concrete... anything else?

You've some Moldovan right back and Honduran midfielder as well on trial I think...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

What kind of comings and goings transfer wise are you guys hearing?

Nothing seems to be moving on the Jelavic rumours, Edu and Sochaux seems to have gone quiet, hearing a couple of rumours about McGregor but again nothing concrete... anything else?

You've some Moldovan right back and Honduran midfielder as well on trial I think...

Sochaux have dropped their interest in Edu, No bids for Jelavic according to McCoist.

Honduran midfielder, and an Estonian full back on trial.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭Broxi_Bear_Eire

Interesting

http://www.rangers.co.uk/news/football-news/article/2579969

RANGERS Football Club today announced the opening of its first London office with the view to expanding its international brand in overseas markets.

Misha Sher, currently Business Development Director with global football business company Soccerex, will head up the new London office from next week.

The newly created post is part of the club's global strategy to maximise the Rangers brand in overseas markets and provides the club with a dedicated presence in the UK capital for the first time in its 140 year history.

Born in Ukraine and educated in the USA, former youth footballer Misha has spent the last 12 years working in football in the UK, initially as a journalist on football magazine 'The League' before moving into football business with Soccerex.

In his role as Global Partnerships Director, Misha will be responsible for growing the Rangers brand internationally and the development of new commercial opportunities and strategic partnerships overseas.

Ali Russell, Chief Operations Officer at Rangers, said: "We are delighted to open Rangers' first London office and welcome Misha to the Rangers family.

"Rangers is an international brand and we are focused on maximising all opportunities to build our brand in overseas markets.

"As part of that strategy, we identified the benefits a London office would bring so we set out to find the right person for the job.

"Misha brings a wealth of international experience to Rangers and we are confident he will help the club deliver its global ambitions.

"We are excited about the global opportunities that lie ahead."

Speaking about his appointment, Misha Sher said: "Rangers Football Club is a world-renowned brand with tremendous history and ambition for the future and I am delighted to be joining such a great institution.

"The club has existing supporters all around the world who are passionate about Rangers and I want to build on that - both in the regions where there is already significant brand presence such as North America and Australasia, as well as targeting regions with high growth potential such as Asia.

"Being based in London will allow me more flexibility when it comes to meeting with potential partners but the ethos of Rangers will be at the core of everything I do."

Duncan Revie, CEO of Soccerex said: "Although sorry to be losing Misha I'm delighted he is moving to such a prestigious position with one of the great football clubs of the world.

"As he has been with Soccerex, Misha will be an invaluable addition to an already existing Rangers culture, tradition, and history."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

We going to win the tax case! The Rangers are coming back! ;)

Interesting

http://www.rangers.co.uk/news/football-news/article/2579969

RANGERS Football Club today announced the opening of its first London office with the view to expanding its international brand in overseas markets.

Misha Sher, currently Business Development Director with global football business company Soccerex, will head up the new London office from next week.

The newly created post is part of the club's global strategy to maximise the Rangers brand in overseas markets and provides the club with a dedicated presence in the UK capital for the first time in its 140 year history.

Born in Ukraine and educated in the USA, former youth footballer Misha has spent the last 12 years working in football in the UK, initially as a journalist on football magazine 'The League' before moving into football business with Soccerex.

In his role as Global Partnerships Director, Misha will be responsible for growing the Rangers brand internationally and the development of new commercial opportunities and strategic partnerships overseas.

Ali Russell, Chief Operations Officer at Rangers, said: "We are delighted to open Rangers' first London office and welcome Misha to the Rangers family.

"Rangers is an international brand and we are focused on maximising all opportunities to build our brand in overseas markets.

"As part of that strategy, we identified the benefits a London office would bring so we set out to find the right person for the job.

"Misha brings a wealth of international experience to Rangers and we are confident he will help the club deliver its global ambitions.

"We are excited about the global opportunities that lie ahead."

Speaking about his appointment, Misha Sher said: "Rangers Football Club is a world-renowned brand with tremendous history and ambition for the future and I am delighted to be joining such a great institution.

"The club has existing supporters all around the world who are passionate about Rangers and I want to build on that - both in the regions where there is already significant brand presence such as North America and Australasia, as well as targeting regions with high growth potential such as Asia.

"Being based in London will allow me more flexibility when it comes to meeting with potential partners but the ethos of Rangers will be at the core of everything I do."

Duncan Revie, CEO of Soccerex said: "Although sorry to be losing Misha I'm delighted he is moving to such a prestigious position with one of the great football clubs of the world.

"As he has been with Soccerex, Misha will be an invaluable addition to an already existing Rangers culture, tradition, and history."

Excellent! RFC wasting even MORE money!;)

In your expert opinion Bobby ;)

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,871 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Misha Sher (or Kerr - the website doesn't know which it is) should spend his first pay packet on a shirt that fits! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Seems Rangers are roughly 4 years behind Celtic on that front

PauloMN wrote: »
    Misha Sher (or Kerr - the website doesn't know which it is) should spend his first pay packet on a shirt that fits! :D

Oh right you and Bobby should go and give advice to the club you on fashion ;) and Bobby on IT FFs :rolleyes:

Don't be so tetchy ffs, it's a joke. You don't need to be Gok Wan to know a shirt that's 2 sizes to small! :)

Seriously though, is his name Sher or Kerr? The website has both.

Don't be so tetchy ffs, it's a joke. You don't need to be Gok Wan to know a shirt that's 2 sizes to small! :)

Seriously though, is his name Sher or Kerr? The website has both.

I wasn't being tetchy mate I was joking after Bobbys fascination with the website :p

I honestly have no idea the first I heard of him was when I read that article Paul

I wasn't being tetchy mate I was joking after Bobbys fascination with the website :p

I honestly have no idea the first I heard of him was when I read that article Paul

Fair enough BBE.

I see he's played as well, I reckon is a two-for-the-price-of-one appointment. Down in London doing his thing and on the subs bench come the weekend. ;)

Fair enough BBE.

I see he's played as well, I reckon is a two-for-the-price-of-one appointment. Down in London doing his thing and on the subs bench come the weekend. ;)

HAHA the way things are with us just now nothing would surprise me

What do yous think of the chef who had his photos on facebook? Has he been sacked/released/lost his job???

He has been suspended by the company who employ him while they look into it Personally I don't think anything will happen he may be moved to one of there other outlets but that will be that

Being investigated. Which is only right. Not acceptable to be posing with such pictures.

KeithAFC wrote: »
    Being investigated. Which is only right. Not acceptable to be posing with such pictures.

What was he doing in the photos?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

Posing at Murals of Bobby Sands, the Starry Plough,...

Davie Weir has announced this is his last week at Rangers.
    Hope he gets the goodbye he deserves and an introduction into the Hall of Fame.

Jelle1880 wrote: »
    Posing at Murals of Bobby Sands, the Starry Plough,...

I hope that employee takes ye to they cleaners

Dempsey wrote: »
    I hope that employee takes ye to they cleaners

Once again it will have nothing to do with Rangers but the company that employs him also he hasn't been sacked he was suspended and I don't believe he will be sacked he will be moved to one of the company's other outlets

Note: Once more for good measure this has nothing to do with Rangers yes he works at Murray Park but Rangers don't employ him

Once again it will have nothing to do with Rangers but the company that employs him also he hasn't been sacked he was suspended and I don't believe he will be sacked he will be moved to one of the company's other outlets

Note: Once more for good measure this has nothing to do with Rangers yes he works at Murray Park but Rangers don't employ him

Ah yes, forgot that.

Another part of the Murray legacy. Does Murray still own the company that he outsourced the catering to?

Us ?

It's Azure who have put him on suspension.
    A CHEF has been suspended by Rangers after posting photos of himself at IRA shrines on Facebook.
    Jamie McGinness was sent home from the club’s training ground when pictures of him beside a mural of Republican Bobby Sands and at an IRA garden of remembrance appeared on his profile page.
    Grinning McGinness is pictured giving the thumbs-up next to another large mural in Belfast depicting the Starry Plough – a symbol of the Irish Republican movement – which says “Support Republican Socialist Political Prisoners”.
    Catering chiefs at Murray Park, near Glasgow, have suspended McGinness pending a probe.
    In a series of photos, McGinness can be seen standing next to a memorial in Belfast’s Falls Road, a Republican stronghold.
    The black shrine commemorates killed members of IRA’s Belfast Brigade “D” Company.

Five pictures on McGinness’s personal page show a gable end mural to IRA hunger strike leader Bobby Sands, who died in the Maze Prison near Lisburn in 1981.
    It is emblazoned with the Republican slogan: “Our revenge will be the laughter of our children” and hails Sands as a “poet, revolutionary, IRA volunteer”.
    The photos led Rangers fans to flood supporters’ websites with calls for McGinness to be sacked immediately.
    Steven Smith of the Rangers Supporters’ Trust, told the Record: “I have seen the pictures and find them abhorrent. It raises questions about how someone who follows that kind of terrorist agenda can work for Rangers.
    “It is terrible that a man who supports any proscribed terrorist organisation can end up with a job at a football club.
    “People fail to realise that their activities online can be clearly and easily tracked.
    “This shows that people should use social networking sites responsibly and not as a vehicle to propagate their repulsive views.”
    Last night, a spokeswoman for Rangers’ catering firm Azure said: “We take speculation of this nature very seriously and have suspended this employee pending a full investigation.”

The Record.

Ah yes, forgot that.

Another part of the Murray legacy. Does Murray still own the company that he outsourced the catering to?

Nah his son does :p

I wasn't being tetchy mate I was joking after Bobbys fascination with our utterly ****e website :p

Fixed that! ;)

In your opinion which on anything Rangers doesn't count for much lets face it mate ;)

Former Rangers chief executive Martin Bain has dropped a move to secure further details of the club's tax debts.

Lawyers acting for the ex-director had brought forward the attempt to secure more information ahead of Mr Bain's £900,000 compensation claim against the Ibrox club scheduled to be heard this summer.

At the Court of Session on Tuesday, Nicholas Ellis QC, for Mr Bain, said he was seeking to explore the club's financial position on two specific issues, but following debate before Lord Hodge he indicated that the motion, which was opposed by Rangers, would be withdrawn.

Mr Bain has already secured a warrant of arrestment to freeze £480,000 assets at Ibrox after the judge ruled that there was a real risk of insolvency if an outstanding £49m tax case goes against the club.

The former Ibrox director is suing the firm, alleging breach of contract following the takeover at Rangers FC by venture capitalist Craig Whyte from the former owner Sir David Murray.

In the action, Mr Bain claims that his salary from December 2009 to December 2012 was agreed at £400,000 per year, while he was also in line to receive bonuses. He maintains the remuneration was not excessive for the position.

The former chief executive maintains the committee had "a difficult relationship" with Mr Whyte in the run up to the take over and after the shares changed hands he "took steps to remove those who he considered were not wholly committed to him personally".

Mr Bain states in court papers that he was suspended at a board meeting when in America on business on May 23, 2011, and did not return to work. He denies the Rangers counter-claim that he was in breach of contract or of fiduciary duty. He resigned from his post in June 2011.

The former chief executive claims that the takeover of the club was concluded in the full knowledge of the extremely substantial potential tax liability faced by Rangers in its case against HM Revenue and Customs. In the summons lodged with the court, Mr Bain claims the takeover was structured so that it has the effect that Mr Whyte will enjoy priority over other creditors, particularly HMRC, in the event of insolvency.

Rangers are contesting the case, which is due to be heard in August.

They also maintain that if they are liable to pay compensation for breach of contract, which they deny, the amount sought is excessive. The Ibrox club contends that Mr Bain used his position with Rangers to secure "excessive and unwarranted financial benefits" for himself at a time when Rangers were not in a secure financial position.

At the Court of Session on Tuesday, a timetable was set out between lawyers for Mr Bain and Rangers FC Plc for the lodgings of productions and witness statements in the case.

Former finance director at Ibrox Donald McIntyre settled a £300,000 damages claim out of court with Rangers in December.

Mr McIntyre had also had £300,000 of Rangers’ assets frozen through a court order in the action suing the club for damage to his reputation.

In his first TV interview since taking over the club, Mr Whyte told STV News the club suspended Mr McIntyre and Mr Bain as they were being "investigated".

He added: "We will fight the court cases. These are people who have taken a lot of money out of Rangers over the years and maybe haven’t done the best of jobs in running the business. And I think they have a cheek in saying some of the things they say, in suing Rangers for even more money."

The latest round of hearings in the £49m tax case are taking place at the first tier tribunal in Edinburgh this week and are expected to conclude on Wednesday.

Further hearing dates could be fixed in the tax case, or a judgment on it released in between four to six weeks' time.

http://news.stv.tv/scotland/west-cen...ubs-tax-debts/

Huh???

If I went to loyalist areas in the 06 I'd probably get a few pics taken by such murals.

This is ridiculous vindictive crap from his employer whom I note is not Rangers but a catering firm.

If he had photos taken by loyalist murals do you think he'd have been suspended?

In your opinion which on anything Rangers doesn't count for much lets face it mate ;)

Don't think that putting by a ;) at the end of a post slating me it makes it ok mate. ;)

Huh???

If I went to loyalist areas in the 06 I'd probably get a few pics taken by such murals.

This is ridiculous vindictive crap from his employer whom I note is not Rangers but a catering firm.

If he had photos taken by loyalist murals do you think he'd have been suspended?

I would imagine in today's environment he would have been

Nah his son does :p

He did a right number on yer revenue streams before he decided to sell the club

Don't think that putting by a ;) at the end of a post slating me it makes it ok mate. ;)

Suit yerself ;)

:D:D

Huh???

If Celtic fans would have sent mails to Azure ?
    Probably ;)

Huh???

The key point is he is working at Ibrox which has a huge support in Northern Ireland and a decent number of players from N.I. The last thing the club needs is people working at Ibrox who revel in that sort of thing.

Theres many a person had there pics taken at these murals for a purely innocent tourist purpose so unless he was making gun like poses or anything like that he won't be sacke he will be moved

Revel in what exactly? Standing?

Seriously, the world (or maybe just Scotland) is gone barking mad. :eek: I hope he brings his employers to court over this, because they are the only ones doing something wrong there.

He will if Brewster is there! ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭blahfckingblah

aye I was just thinkin hes getting near retiring age

As in pension age? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭blahfckingblah

seriously though this whole political correctness is getting out of hand, he posed at one of the things that belfast is known worldwide for, its political murals. He shouldn't be sacked its art ffs.

oh and that article irritates me with its sensationalist stance
    It is emblazoned with the Republican slogan: “Our revenge will be the laughter of our children”
    nothing wrong with "emblazoning" that on a mural of the man who said it.

Revel in what exactly? Standing?

Seriously, the world (or maybe just Scotland) is gone barking mad. :eek: I hope he brings his employers to court over this, because they are the only ones doing something wrong there.
    PIRA death squads.

Huh???

You have players and a large support from the 06, the photos were taken in the 06, what's the problem?

Players from a Unionist background mate. They won't like it. That is all.

What the problem? I was in Auschwitz, and like most people had my picture taken under the famous sign, Work will set you free. Its on my facebook, along with alot of other pictures of my weekend in Krakow. That doesn't given my employer the right to sack me for it though

The lad has done nothing wrong, and there's certainly not grounds for sacking him on the basis of that picture. As for moving him to another site, unless its in his contract that he has to be available to work on the companies other sites, I don't see how they could force him to move on that basis

It seems to me to be a blatant campaign to remove a man from his job on the basis of his political affiliation. You can't do that **** anymore

Players from a Unionist background mate. They won't like it. That is all.

They wont like it because they are bigots, you mean.

Well, if they are anti PIRA, then they are in the right in my opinion.

I don't think not liking it necessarily infers the person is a bigot. I don't like the mural in Mount Vernon, Belfast however me not liking it doesn't make me a bigot.

If anyone at Rangers doesn't like the mural he posed with, I don't really see a problem with that. When they don't tolerate it, and actively seek to remove him from his job as a result of it, then I would say its becomes bigotry