Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farmers Journal Forestry Ad

• 20-06-2011 3:57pm
    Registered Users Posts: 157 ✭✭

Has anyone seen the ads for the forestry co in the Journal lately? They're in it every week, near the front.

They appear to be targeted at old, non-active farmers and use what can only be described as emotional blackmail to encourage the poor oul fellas to put land into forestry - "I never thought I'd get that land working so well for me" etc

My question: Do you think this is an appropriate ad for the Journal to be carrying? I am a young farmer trying desperately to increase my holding while working as well, all the while seeing more and more good land going into forestry. In the last few years about 300 acres within 3 miles of me have gone. All good Wexford land.

The Journal is owned by the Agricultural Trust which is supposed to help farmers. Is helping to lock up land forever from young farmers a part of this? What does anyone think?

Comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Dazzler88

I agree with you.They should not allow forestry companies to advertise in the journal.People who plant their land are ruining the industry for young farmers.

Just seen 100 acres of great land been planted near us.The old fella who had it was a bachelor,would he not have been better off sell it or give it to a young farmer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

6600 wrote: »
    Has anyone seen the ads for the forestry co in the Journal lately? They're in it every week, near the front.