Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you like my "bits"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

That moron is probably very very rich and successful if he/she can advertise a client so effectively. Moron, I think not.

Meh. I'm sticking to my guns here. Marketing by morons for morons.
    steve06 wrote: »
    Aimed to get people talking, this includes people that think it's thrash, which includes you.

It's not aimed at me. I'm gay and I'm allergic to oranges.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭HellFireClub

It's just another new floor that is being set for the standard of advertising. We've had the downright fúcking annoying, (courtesy of Harvey Norman), now we have the absolutely cringeworthy courtesy of this ad.

You know what??? This ad reminds me of those rare enough occasions for me anyway on a stags weekend, when you end up in a Lap Dancing Club and the idiot dopes that work in there come up to you and give you the eyes and all the cringy sexy talk to try to get you in for a private dance. You tell them you're not there for a private dance, you are just there with the stags gang, but she will just assume that because you have a cóck, that you just can't say no to her...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

AnonoBoy wrote: »

Maybe they'll do a club lemon one with lads in boxers squeezing lemons...

You know what??? This ad reminds me of those rare enough occasions for me anyway on a stags weekend, when you end up in a Lap Dancing Club and the idiot dopes that work in there come up to you and give you the eyes and all the cringy sexy talk to try to get you in for a private dance. You tell them you're not there for a private dance, you are just there with the stags gang, but she will just assume that because you have a cóck, that you just can't say no to her...
    You sound like a bag of fun :D

Maybe they'll do a club lemon one with lads in boxers squeezing lemons....

It'll still be 'by morons for morons' advertising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

The commenters on YouTube aren't too bothered by sexism... :D
    Why would they use manual orange squeezers? That's ridiculously inefficient! See, this is why you don't let woman run a business. You can take the woman out of the kitchen, but you can't take the kitchen out of the woman.

Ah I'm great craic, just nobody's fool!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

Bit of a s hit ad really...

Edit: Sorry if anyone is offended that s hit sounds a bit like tit. I really am. Sorry that you exist that is!

It'll still be 'by morons for morons' advertising.
    Maybe read up about how marketing works.

My only issue with the ad is that the main chick can't act, and could be a lot hotter.

Maybe read up about how marketing works

I'm perfectly aware of how it works thanks there Steve. I used to work in marketing in my younger days.

But anyone who thinks bits sounding like tits is funny or in anyway a great marketing idea is a moron. Hence it's marketing aimed at morons.

If someone changes their soft drink preference because they saw some jiggling titties on television then they're a moron.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

I'm perfectly aware of how it works thanks there Steve. I used to work in marketing in my younger days.

But anyone who thinks bits sounding like tits is funny or in anyway a great marketing idea is a moron. Hence it's marketing aimed at morons.

If someone changes their soft drink preference because they saw some jiggling titties on television then they're a moron.

Yet here you are discussing it with great vigour.

What does that make you?

Yet here you are discussing it with great vigour.

What does that make you?

Obviously I'm someone who likes to point out that other people are morons. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

To be honest, unless they're aiming solely for the male market, it's bad business. They're potentially alienating 50% of their client base for the sake of raising their profile with one small demographic (younger men who will be amused and titillated (:D) for a short time). It raises their profile overall, but at what cost to them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

I like her bits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Millicent wrote: »
    To be honest, unless they're aiming solely for the male market, it's bad business. They're potentially alienating 50% of their client base for the sake of raising their profile with one small demographic (younger men who will be amused and titillated (:D) for a short time). It raises their profile overall, but at what cost to them?

I suggest they start another campaign with naked men with strategically-placed bottles that they shake and then open, spraying everywhere.

The slogan could be: "CLUB ORANGE: BLAST THEM WITH BITS!"

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Do you reckon you can say with any authority that all women will object to this ad and stop buying their product? I'd credit women with a bit more sense than that. Who has ever really stopped buying a product they liked because of an ad anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

That's a small demographic for any advertisement to target :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

Maybe they'll do a club lemon one with lads in boxers squeezing lemons...

Any bi-sexuals out there just get a sudden irrational craving for a Rock Shandy?

Do you reckon you can say with any authority that all women will object to this ad and stop buying their product? I'd credit women with a bit more sense than that. Who has ever really stopped buying a product they liked because of an ad anyway?

No, I never assumed to say that all women would. That's not my point at all. My point is that some women who might have been on the fence may be alienated because of it. I think it's faulty reasoning to assume that because a campaign prompts a dialogue that it's effective.

And it may not be an ad that does it, but I've known plenty of people who have stopped buying a product because some element of its image or the company's ethics don't sit well with their own personal ethics.

How times have changed.

That's not the idea behind the advertisement. It's clear to see the ad was created to go viral. And it's worked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

I've known plenty of people who have stopped buying a product because some element of its image or the company's ethics don't sit well with their own personal ethics.

It's not blood diamonds we're talking about here - just a bit of skin. Sex sells, it's in a lot of ads to one extent or another.

My point is that some women who might have been on the fence may be alienated because of it.
    Ugly ones? :D
    And it may not be an ad that does it, but I've known plenty of people who have stopped buying a product because some element of its image or the company's ethics don't sit well with their own personal ethics.
    This isn't a Benetton ad showing dying kids or dead soldiers, it's a light hearted tongue in cheek ad and if it's taken so seriously that someone will stop buying the product then maybe that consumer needs to look at their ethics rather than look at the ad.

How times have changed.

That's not the idea behind the advertisement. It's clear to see the ad was created to go viral. And it's worked.

The idea behind every ad is to sell the product.

It was created to go viral to sell the product.

It still comes down to the fact for me that if someone sees jiggling titties and that's enough to sell them a soft drink then they're a moron.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Hmmmm, and what about those Coke ads with the girls drooling over the shirtless guy washing the window (or whatever it was)? I doubt it did their business any harm. I don't know any guys that were offended by it either

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    It's not blood diamonds we're talking about here - just a bit of skin. Sex sells, it's in a lot of ads to one extent or another.

You'd be surprised at what can turn a person off though, whether consciously or subconsciously.

It's just not especially effective.

--Kaiser-- wrote: »
    Hmmmm, and what about those Coke ads with the girls drooling over the shirtless guy washing the window (or whatever it was)? I doubt it did their business any harm. I don't know any guys that were offended by it either

It needed some balls references to put it at the level of this ad.

To be honest most advertising aimed at women annoys me more than the ones aimed at men. I enjoy giving out loudly at the television though so I hope they continue to lower their standards.

They were shit too, tbh. As Anonoboy said, it's marketing for morons.

There were men offended by it by the Coke ad, just not as many as women who will get offended by these ads. The fact of the matter is that gender issues tend to be more loaded on the female side. Women are much more conscious of blatant sex-selling and are sensitive to it. I'm not even saying that I find it offensive, just that I know a multitude of women who would.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I dunno, that ad is about 20 years old though and you still hear some men complaining about it. Guess they just need to get over themselves at this stage.

The idea behind every ad is to sell the product.

It was created to go viral to sell the product.

It still comes down to the fact for me that if someone sees jiggling titties and that's enough to sell them a soft drink then they're a moron.

Actually the idea is brand awareness, leading to sales. Has this produced brand awareness? Yes. Will it lead to increased sales? Probably not, but the fact is still that the brand awareness has worked.

Bottom line = sales.

Always and forever.

Brand awareness is worth f*ck all unless people are handing over their money.

An advertising exec who tells a client that their ad campaign will raise brand awareness but that won't translate into sales will find themselves out of a job pretty sharpish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭Morag

What a shít ad.

The last one was much better.

the last one of the Club Orange production line was more fun and not as off putting.

Seriously they need to fire what ever advertising agency they are now using.

Bottom line = sales.

Always and forever.

Brand awareness is worth f*ck all unless people are handing over their money.

An advertising exec who tells a client that their ad campaign will raise brand awareness but that won't translate into sales will find themselves out of a job pretty sharpish.

And do you think this ad will in any way decrease sales?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Whatever about it objectifying women or being an insult to men's intelligence, it's pretty unoriginal, lowest common denominator stuff. Good marketing? Well I suppose if your idea of marketing is to get people discussing the ad rather than the product then it's at least effective in that regard.

And do you think this ad will in any way decrease sales?

I'm not sure.

Whether it does or not doesn't change the fact that it's aimed at morons though. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭mstan

Marketing by morons aimed at morons.

Anonoboy, I like this ad. I was also on a break half an hour ago and I bought a bottle of Club Orange (something I normally dont buy). So are you saying I'm a moron?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

WindSock wrote: »
    I dunno, that ad is about 20 years old though and you still hear some men complaining about it. Guess they just need to get over themselves at this stage.

Men are not "complaining" about that ad, well not in sense that you are implying anyway. The ad is usual brought up in an effort to point out the obvious hypocrisy of some women and also to show that advertising uses images of "male perfection", just as much as they use images of "female perfection". The level of "complaining" between the two are incomparable.

Whether it does or not doesn't change the fact that it's aimed at morons though. :)

Come on, you're talking about it a lot.

mstan wrote: »
    Anonoboy, I like this ad. I was also on a break half an hour ago and I bought a bottle of Club Orange (something I normally dont buy). So are you saying I'm a moron?

Now now, stop trying to get me infracted.

Come on, you're talking about it a lot.

It's a very slow day in the office steve.

Kick back and have a club orange!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Let's face it, if you're going to have to suffer through an ad it might as well have some bits thrown in. I think it's great.

Kick back and have a club orange!

Can't. Allergic.

I might go get a can of diet cock coke though.

The new ad is like looking at an ad for bras, it's for a soft drink, it's a cheap ploy
    and will put certain demographics of buying the drink, so I think they have scored an own goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭greenybaby

whatever ye say about the ad, good or bad, it has served it's purpose, it got people talking and the views on it are rising rapidly, and low and behold look at the stats

Audiences
    This video is most popular with:
    Gender Age
    Male 35-44
    Male 45-54
    Male 25-34

go to the pic of where it is most popular in the world,i will give ye 2 guesses who tops the list, ok i won't i'll just tell ye! ireland is top of the list, so well done marketing :p

Yes but how often will men of that age range go and buy club orange?
    They can target it as an untapped demographic and even with the recent pairing a certain type of rum, let's face it club orange is a fizzy drink which kids/teens are more likely to drink. Any club orange was what my kids would ask for and would drink and now they won't want to cos it's been assocated with boobs which makes them feel uncomfortable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭greenybaby

Sharrow wrote: »
    Yes but how often will men of that age range go and buy club orange?
    They can target it as an untapped demographic and even with the recent pairing a certain type of rum, let's face it club orange is a fizzy drink which kids/teens are more likely to drink. Any club orange was what my kids would ask for and would drink and now they dont' want to cos it's been assocated with boobs which makes them feel uncomfortable.

why are you showing your kids the vid then, it's not even on tv yet :rolleyes:

greenybaby wrote: »
    why are you showing your kids the vid then, it's not even on tv yet :rolleyes:

Haven't show it to them, that should have said won't want to.
    They didn't want to eat hunkydorys after those ads.

Sharrow wrote: »
    Haven't show it to them, that should have said won't want to.
    They didn't want to eat hunkydorys after those ads.
    Why? It's not like the flavour has changed or there's pics of girls on the packaging. Sounds like you made the decision for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

Mod Edit: Take it to feedback if you want to complain about another forum.Please don't do it here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

I preferred the birds in the Hunky Dorys ads TBH

Can't I have both? :P

Hunky dory girls to work up the thirst, then club orange girls to cool me off!

*Day dreams pleasantly*