Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

760Li - Am I mad?

• Registered Users Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Tazio

Well at ~18mpg your call really.... :)

Great car all the same... if you do it enjoy....

• Registered Users Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭jimmynokia

Vey nice whats the import duty on top of the price and whats the tax?

• Registered Users Posts: 26,281 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

doooo it :D

lovely machine for no money i preffer the older 7er but still, that beast of an engine is worth it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Stevie Dakota

With cars like that you always risk loosing the farm if it all goes south, but if you go in with your eyes open, do your homework AND have a good deal of luck, what a car!

• Registered Users Posts: 65,318 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Have it checked over by an independent BMW specialist. If you get the green light, go for it :D

The £5k in your pocket from not buying a MPV / SUV will go a long way towards the extra maintenance that will might come with a high end BMW :)

BTW, I owned the previous model 7-series for a long time and I had no expensive maintenance or nasty surprises...

• Registered Users Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Ninap

With cars like that you always risk loosing the farm if it all goes south, but if you go in with your eyes open, do your homework AND have a good deal of luck, what a car!

Well, the most you can lose I suppose is the purchase price, which is less than 8k in Euros, and that would be if it was worth absolutely nothing (which is unlikely) after some major mishap.

I should be here long enough not to have to pay any VRT on return to Ireland, if I did want to bring it back. (Would be fun driving around various places back home in it :))

I reckon you could spend more keeping various 'classics' on the road.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

You'll get 250k out of a Carina - my old man wrung 300k out of his - so you should get another 100k+ out of something like that, and a lot more if it's been looked after and you look after it. And in my experience while servicing a BM isn't cheap, it isn't as expensive as I'd expected. Just make sure you get it thoroughly checked over, preferably by a specialist; early E65's were a bit troublesome apparently.

I'd prefer an F01 meself, but I'm about 8 years away from being able to afford one. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Thats some bombshell of a first post in motors!!!!. Last newest poster purchased a 05 S class last week!!!:)

Go for it. Voodoomelon will love you.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

• Registered Users Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

That happened to the first/second owner, at this point its like what, £6k investment for a £100k car that still could pass as a new car in the UK (on private plates). Kinda mental not to do it really..

At 177k suspension would have already been done. The V12 engines care not for such miles, drop in the ocean.. :pac:
    OSI wrote: »
    I can imagine that getting very expensive very quickly.
    I should put up the price list of the parts Ive changed on a 1998, 175k mile Audi S8. I dont consider it expensive, dunno bout the rest of ye and your penny pinching Toyota driven consumerism. :p

-Corkie- wrote: »
    Thats some bombshell of a first post in motors!!!!. Last newest poster purchased a 05 S class last week!!!:)

Go for it. Voodoomelon will love you.:D

Well, my first thread, but not quite my first post....(but I am a newbie round here.........)

I reckoned there'd be a bit of enthusiasm for the car though....

Confab wrote: »
    That's horrifically expensive for an E38.

And for a 728 too. You'd get one for €1-2k over here, max. My 740 came it at (well) less than that, with less mileage and near-immaculate bodywork.

Not going against the concensus for the sake of it :pac:

but......

- guts of £7000
    - loads and loads of miles on it
    - lwb

Considering the fuel consumption etc isn't an issue I think you could do an awful lot better. That's the sort of yoke I reckon a chauffure is for.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭homer90

• Registered Users Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

You're not living in Ireland....so you don't have to bend over and get screwed on a yearly basis for it. Go for it.

RoverJames wrote: »
    Not going against the concensus for the sake of it :pac:

but......

- guts of £7000
    - loads and loads of miles on it
    - lwb

Considering the fuel consumption etc isn't an issue I think you could do an awful lot better. That's the sort of yoke I reckon a chauffure is for.

The one downside is you do look like a chauffeur driving it. Will have to avoid wearing a peaked cap. And not let the wife sit in the back

dahamsta wrote: »
    And for a 728 too. You'd get one for €1-2k over here, max. My 740 came it at (well) less than that, with less mileage and near-immaculate bodywork.

728s ARE RANGING FROM 1500 TO 3 GRAND not 1k to 2k(you might get a dirty one for that that needs alot of tlc)

Ninap wrote: »
    The one downside is you do look like a chauffeur driving it. Will have to avoid wearing a peaked cap. And not let the wife sit in the back

The upside is he could do it and pay the car off in a year:D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

I would rather it were it not a Li model.
    I can't see the point of having all that space if I'm not sitting in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Stevie Dakota

RobAMerc wrote: »

Bit like a Superb then?:D

jimmynokia wrote: »
    728s ARE RANGING FROM 1500 TO 3 GRAND not 1k to 2k(you might get a dirty one for that that needs alot of tlc)

http://www.carzone.ie/search/BMW/7-Series/728-728I/201118202259680/advert?channel=CARS

Anyone that pays more than 2k for a 728 in this market needs their head seeing to; unless it's voodoomelon's of course.

Asking Price != Selling Price

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,538 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

V12 6 litre uber luxobarge....whats not to like. Do it....do it now

I don't need much convincing. Now just need to work on the missus..

• Registered Users Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

It's mad alright but if you have the money aside for possible problems then fire ahead!

• Registered Users Posts: 26,281 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

RobAMerc wrote: »
    I would rather it were it not a Li model.

but the LWB model looks better from the outside anyway , and if you ever have to sleep in your car youll be glad of it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭The High King

To answer your question, yes, you are most definitely mad. But that's fine. Embrace your madness. Driving that bus, you will be crazy, comfortable & cool all at the same time.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭rabbitinlights

What are you coming from?

Have you owned anything previously which would have similar running costs?

S.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭maddness

If you have a chance to own a car like this DO IT MAN.
    We all dream about a V12 or whatever else does it for us but few of us will ever own one.
    Yes it may end up costing you a few quid but think about it this way, how much has your house cost you in depreciation in the last five years?
    Life is too short not to buy this car.:D