Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Armed Standoff

• 21-06-2011 6:56pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭

goin on since 6pm man on the roof of the polish shop on penrose lane wavin what looks like a dirty harry size automatic handgun at the cops

• Closed Accounts Posts: 986 ✭✭✭Typhoon.

i know what they're thinking.....did he fire 5 shots or 6??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭dayshah

Hoffmans wrote: »
    goin on since 6pm some gangster up on the roof of the polish shop on penrose lane wavin what looks like a dirty harry size automatic handgun at the cops, seemingly he shot someone already downstairs....:eek:

Wow, a 6ft tall piece. That's a pretty big handgun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

Typhoon. wrote: »
    i know what they're thinking.....did he fire 5 shots or 6??

With his "automatic handgun". It's either a revolver or a semi auto pistol. I highly doubt it's an automatic of any kind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

The Beretta 93R is an automatic pistol in point of fact but I agree I'd be amazed if someone had one here.

Is anyone in the area? This is as random a thread as it gets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,136 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

If I was near the area I'd bring a bag of cans up and enjoy the nights entertainment :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭Mysterious&Shy

Yep! I'm right across from it! :eek:

Was wondering what was going on! Gardai stopped me and advised me to stay inside :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,295 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

It'll be a brave Garda that tries to talk down a Smith & Wesson 29 with an 8.5inch barrel.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭Hoffmans

some craic here cops are shi##in bricks tho with the size of his piece ,wouldnt blame them....

ps:not an add for dignity....lol

Yep! I'm right across from it! :eek:

Was wondering what was going on! Gardai stopped me and advised me to stay inside :eek:

And there bullet proof windows your looking through?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,468 ✭✭✭decies

Attention reporters where exactly is this???

A mate of mine lives on the roof level pretty much across the road. I'd say he's having a ball watch this. Anybody got a background?

M

decies wrote: »

Usual media blackout, can't have some looper with a gun getting live media attention or there would be one a week happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭Mysterious&Shy

And there bullet proof windows your looking through?

My apartment is on the other side so unless he can get me through bricks, I'd assume I'm okay :p

behind aldi...wlr just picked it up lol 2 hrs later

yea its somethin similar to this , unconfirmed report there was that is he unloaded 5 slugs into somone....
    4430792947_a657b4ede8.jpg

decies wrote: »

Just down from the showboat unless I'm mistaken.

M

Wonder is it a real gun or an airsoft type.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭funkyouup

Tenner says its an airsoft gun:D

ziedth wrote: »
    Just down from the showboat unless I'm mistaken.

If he gets shot rubber necking it's your fault!

deffo not airsoft proper handgun , yer on !

Hoffmans wrote: »
    deffo not airsoft proper handgun , yer on !

In fairness it's impossible to tell without an upclose look.

• Registered Users Posts: 4 LonBon

I don't think he shot anyone, was down there at 5:45 and the road had been cordoned off. No sign of ambulances and it looked like it had just kinda started. Still nothing much happening when I left at 6:10, quiet enough apart from the guards going in and out of the building.

• Registered Users Posts: 562 ✭✭✭deeks

Junction of O'Connell Street and Penrose Lane now fully cordoned off and an ambulance and a number of squad cars at the corner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Pics or it didn't happen.

• Registered Users Posts: 4 LonBon

No way! That's terrible. Really didn't think it would be anything that serious!

Any updates lads. Rang one of me mates living down that way. He running around top floor of his place trying to get a look

• Registered Users Posts: 827 ✭✭✭jimbojazz

Feckin' eejits, do they not realise it's the starter for the Tall ships practicing

hope no one left the dinner in the oven down that way place on lockdown:(

That big armed response unit jeep there and all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭jakedixon2004

seanybiker wrote: »
    That big armed response unit jeep there and all.

Is the partyvan already down there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,468 ✭✭✭decies

Mike get down there and find out what's happening?