Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭Thinkstoomuch

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    Kerry will be going or 3 in a row against Cork this year but this game should bring them on - looking forward to it.
    A huge ask for kerry.stop the playing at pace,they can win.

Lets do to them what the men done us to many a time,let them beat us,but turn the tables when it truly matters.

A great win,to start the journey to the gaelic grounds.Cum n cork,lets bring the first allireland back to leeside tonight.
    I wish i was a duck,with the rain tngt.If we win,it be worthwhile.

Cork won 13 to 1-7 but by jesus they made it hard at times.Too much slow,sloppy passing.

Credit to kildare,never gave up,and as usal if they had forwards,would have won.

Sum of the kicking at times was dire,from both teams.It baffles me,and i scratch my head when i see players kicking balls,balloing them up in the air.The higher it goes,the less accurate.At times the ball went so high,it could have gathered snow.

The best forward was cathal vaughan,a guy u21 next year,one for the future at midfield even.

Eoin o mahony,hes poor at times.harrinngton no pace.

Rory o sullivan was okay at times.
    Rory deane was very good,while cork faded at midfield,deane was like a durcell battery,never short on energy.

A great point at the end.

Colm o driscoll was good,deserves a run with cork at half back.

Fiactra lynch,will never be a potent scoring forward,but works hard.

Wouldnt mind him ,at midfield to check him out.

A bad eveining for a game,a win is a win.

Out of three games i saw today,the two best players do,were cora staunton and juilet murphy.Everyone was talking about juilet.

Christ she was awesome,always composed,intelligent,knows what todo and when to do it.

And cora staunton was unreal.Better than most men today.

We hear and righty so the praise on the Gooch,article after article,these players get huge benefits.

Staunton and murphy are in the same class,but never gets cars or benfits men get.

You would have to be blind not to be shaken,moved and stirred by,no exaggeration two of the greatest performances today by two veterans of the ladies game.
    Even on night when cork win an all ireland,and vaughan was good,staunton and murphy today stood out by a mile.

They will get an article in their local paper,but at national level deserve so much more.Fair play to Michael D for getting cork to An aurus this year,but these players should get more.
    In the winter,these ladies will have to fund raise for themselves again.Madness.

Juliet murphy ,one of corks greatest sports people,but today was another level.Reminded me of brian cocoran in 99 against offaly,single handley won cork the all ireland semifinal,in a classic,in a wet dour day.

The same type of performance.Staunton was just as good.Staunton would walk on the Mayo team tommorrow.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,105 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Congrats to the Juniors and what more can be said about the Ladies, incredible.

Juliet murphy ,like christy ring to the hurler.They should build a statue of her in Donoughmore.

• Registered Users, Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

I'm only home from the match now, celebrating that the under 16s won the All Ireland title as well.

I'll be lazy and post what I posted on another thread, and then I'll respond to comments above, bear in mind that hopefully in the morning I will be down from this high!!!

I still cannot fathom that there was no heart attacks in the crowd today between the Kerry game and the Cork game.

Shocking is the word to describe the first half, simple passes going astray, very little movement from the forwards. Wasn't a case of Dublin giving them very little space, it was a case of Cork being extremely poor - head in hands type of stuff. 1-3 or 1-4 of the half time scores came from Cork mistakes, ball being handed away, the goal came from Nollaig not catching the ball and a Dublin player taking it when it should have been a Cork ball. But I said at half time, despite Dublin playing well, and getting the scores much easier, that Cork had not played at all, putting balls into the Dublin players hands. There was going to be a period of time that Cork would get on top, and it was going to be up to Dublin to respond. I said it, that they would be there or thereabouts at least - even though I was absolutely sick before the game, I got up and walked around at one stage my stomach was so bad with nerves!!

The changes they made made a difference - Deirde O Reilly came out the field, Angela to full back, Orlagh Farmer coming on and running at Dublin, to go 9 points down, I remember looking at the clock with 21 to go, and thinking this is far from over.

The crucial period of time was when Val got a free, scored it, and then Cork won kickout after kickout from Dublin, O Connor made some very poor decisions and Cork got lucky with one or two breaks, but what people watching on TV wouldn't realised either is that Cork played against a light breeze in the first half, but in the second half, the breeze picked up quite significantly. At half time, there was five or six players that could have been hauled ashore. Sinead Aherne, who had been playing a super game in the first half, she made her runs in the second half but for no ball!

Juliet, what can be said that has not already been said before about that woman, f**king hell, she was amazing!! When Val got that point before the roll of scores, she was the one swinging her arms up urging the girls on. In the Armagh game, my aunt was at it, and she said to me, the number 29 who came on in that game was everywhere, she mightn't get the ball, but she was everywhere on the pitch today, now my aunt knows very little about football, but she saw that Juliet was fighting fit.

That point about 19 mins out, I don't know how I felt it, but I felt something about Dublin deflate, even though 8 points behind, I was confident Cork would win it. Then when they reeled off a number of points in a row, must watch the game back, cos I know I was on my feet after every flaming score!!! Valerie won no ball in the first 40 mins of the game, and should have had a few frees that were not given, but suddenly she was out in front winning ball.

I tell ya one thing, being there today was better than any drug!!! And the fact that they got Kerry in the next round, I was delighted about, avoid Monaghan who played a very poor Laois side.

What a team, what a bunch of players who never say die - I was there at the AI final when they did it to them, and reeled Dublin back in, I watched that quarter final when they reeled Dublin back in and I was there today - and today had to be the sweetest of the lot - written off by a number of Cork people even, it was superb, superb! 9 points down, Dublin feeling like they can coast, and Cork just snatched the momentum back

thankfully the under 16 final was a much calmer affair - Eimear Scally player of the match - what a player and sportswoman as well, Dublin player down injured and Scally goes 10 or 15 yards over to check on her. Super night celebrating with them!!!

Gutted I won't be able to get to the semi final, don't know will I even be able to watch it online :(

• Registered Users, Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

Cora played well, but not as well as Juliet! Cora floored the Kerry full back in the lead up to the first Mayo goal, left her on the ground.

Deidre O Reilly, what an underrated player - picked up a huge amount of ball in the second half.

Bit harsh on the Dublin goalkeeper, you couldn;t see the movement of the players, there were one or two poor kicks, that there was mixed messages in the movement of the Dublin players, but she was hjitting the halfway line with nearly every one, so saying she couldnt kick snow off a rope is very harsh. Cork picked up two lucky breaks in that period of time, the shower of rain made that pitch extremely greasy.

In the winter,these ladies will have to fund raise for themselves again.Madness.

Dunno where you got that from, but there is very little fundraising if any having to be done by the ladies players - they did a draw last year with the county board selling lines to fund a team holiday away, but everything else is covered!

The cuteness of Juliet winning the last free for Valerie, the ball came across the 21 yard line, and Juilet caught it and stood there, waiting for the contact!

Dunno where you got that from, but there is very little fundraising if any having to be done by the ladies players - they did a draw last year with the county board selling lines to fund a team holiday away, but everything else is covered!

The cuteness of Juliet winning the last free for Valerie, the ball came across the 21 yard line, and Juilet caught it and stood there, waiting for the contact!

My apologies RG, I thought they had a golf classic last year in castlematyr ,and were in reardens too fundrasing night.I may be wrong.

Good to c ,your back with a bang.

My bad, the golf classic was the holiday I think, but the thing in reardons was more camogie findraising than ladies football. I'm home nearly an hour, wrecked but all on a compete high!

Her reading,and composure and footballing intelligence is second to none.She c things,in a game,others cant even contemplate.

Fair enough,kicking snow of a rope was harsh.You know me,i dont mince my words though.

Her reading,and composure and footballing intelligence is second to none.She c things,in a game,others cant even contemplate.

Fair enough,kicking snow of a rope was harsh.You know me,i dont mince my words though.

Being a keeper you are dependant on the movement of the players on front of you, but if you were at the game you would have seen the lack of Dublin movement which forced Hey top fop long to a breaking ball situation

I'm going to head to bed and I'll have a look in the morning

My bad, the golf classic was the holiday I think, but the thing in reardons was more camogie findraising than ladies football. I'm home nearly an hour, wrecked but all on a compete high!
    no both...sum comeback up their and as gd as with the hurlers against galway in 08, and dublin twice 2010,and the league final .

I wrote cork off,at seven down,i tgt it was curtains!

Being a keeper you are dependant on the movement of the players on front of you, but if you were at the game you would have seen the lack of Dublin movement which forced Hey top fop long to a breaking ball situation

I'm going to head to bed and I'll have a look in the morning

Fair enough,and i agree you got to be at the game to c what the tv doesnt.

I wasnt.

• Registered Users Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Archer3083

They do and captained by Ruairi deane,a good driving force.Kildare have never won it,and the year it has been ,underdogs are a dangerous animal.

They should have beaten us in 2011 and took us to extra time.The kildare lads say bolton at full forward is very good.Their due to win this some day,and cork football teams dont do favourites tags well,in all ireland finals,and the gaelic grounds has been a grave yard for many a cork team in the past.

Full back,is where with omahony cork at weak.
    Yeah it was awful the lads stuff was taken.Diarmuid o donovan the new admin man,was there with them,so id say he got them sorted.Hes a football man to the core,that wasthe same day as the hurling.
    I dont doubt hes geuine.The problem with him is he wonbe radical,brave or bold enough when it comes to appointing managers,and more likely to go with guys that have a life time of service to cork and county board men,than actual talent.

Hes barometer of underage success would not inspire success.He was v poor when he was minor manager,but felt he done well as he produced players.
    Well I'd say we can rule Jack O'Connor out for the Cork senior job. It looks like he's going to go for the minor job in Kerry. Micky Ned O'Sullivan has been there for the last 2 years and done a good job but it looks like Jack will challenge for that role when it comes up for grabs. So, maybe that's an indication that he wouldn't take the Cork job anyway. And it looks like Jason Ryan will take the Laois job as well. So, that's 2 outside managers who won't be coming to Lee side.

Archer3083 wrote: »
    Well I'd say we can rule Jack O'Connor out for the Cork senior job. It looks like he's going to go for the minor job in Kerry. Micky Ned O'Sullivan has been there for the last 2 years and done a good job but it looks like Jack will challenge for that role when it comes up for grabs. So, maybe that's an indication that he wouldn't take the Cork job anyway. And it looks like Jason Ryan will take the Laois job as well. So, that's 2 outside managers who won't be coming to Lee side.
    Rule him out,he has to be in contention in the first place.He never was nor any outside man.
    The white elephant is the nail on the coffin.You don't seem to realise,the board wont part with money.

Take the homecoming on the Monday night for the cork hurlers,on the South Mall.Win ,could get 50 thousand.Even they loose,they will be a stage.

Who are responsible for cork gaa teams?the board.But they will pay nothing in the cost of staging that in the current climate,the city council have to take thdm cost.That could easily cost fifty thousand or more,with security,entertainment etc.

By right,it should be held in the Pairc,like kilkenny hold theirs in knowlan park.

At least the fans wouldnt be cramped on the south mall and would have comfort.

.But they wont,as if they did,they would have to pay the cost,and they wouldnt get any gate reciepts,as thats not something they can charge for.This isnt like the home coming for Rob hefferanean,where their was no other venue.Cork Gaa has one.

They do not want to spend money,its all the new stadium.They wont open the pairc for a home coming,but for Bruce,no bother,as he pays them money.

Seriously,this is rubbish,any talk of outside men.

Honesty ,trust me,there was never any hope they would come down.Their is no way cork will even think about an outsideman.The bookies are cute,ryan around 12 to 1, and tempted people for value put money on him.
    It was never going to happen.

Jason is overhyped,woudnt win with cork.Another media romantic story.A good manager but not great.

Its cuthbhert job,close run by cleary.
    A two horse race.any other names is just public spin,to make a race of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 325 ✭✭mr bungle.

i see that thinkstoomuch has closed his/her account,i for one enjoyed his/her posts,they were informative and interesting ( although sometimes too long. :) ) anyway good luck

• Registered Users Posts: 162 ✭✭Mouth of the South

It has been confirmed that the All Ireland senior hurling final between Clare and Cork on September 8th will be refereed by Kilkenny's Brian Gavin.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,296 ✭✭✭Martin567

It has been confirmed that the All Ireland senior hurling final between Clare and Cork on September 8th will be refereed by Kilkenny's Brian Gavin.

Unfortunately Cork's Barry Kelly was unavailable.

Martin567 wrote: »

You'd be much more at home with the other slack-jawed nutjobs on the stripeymen.com with those conspiracy theories.

I was only responding to your earlier post. Like with like, as they say. You're clearly here on vacation from PROC where your ludicrous views would be considered mainstream and reasonable posters get abused.

So you keep telling me. I don't post on the PROC, but I don't ever recall any concerted campaigns on it against named referees or crackpot conspiracy theories dominating it like that which dominates the thestripeymen.com. You'd fit in well.

I don't post on the PROC, but I don't ever recall any concerted campaigns on it against named referees or crackpot conspiracy theories dominating it like that which dominates the thestripeymen.com.

Really? You couldn't possibly be more wrong about that.

Yeah, really. Really with a cherry on top. It's a haven for paranoid yokels with some proper headcases dictating the tone. Some of the stuff n the link below is the craziest, bitterest and most delusional I have ever read on any fans forum . Some of it is unintentionally hilarious too, to be fair.

http://www.thestripeymen.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=5

Strange person.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

Logs onto Cork GAA forum. Expects to read something informative about Cork GAA. Instead i see a bitter Kilkenny man still hasn't got over their defeat. Shame really to the good Kilkenny fans out there who I do have respect for.

Read the post before the one you've just commented on and give me your opinion of that also.

• Registered Users Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Archer3083

Rule him out,he has to be in contention in the first place.He never was nor any outside man.
    The white elephant is the nail on the coffin.You don't seem to realise,the board wont part with money.

Take the homecoming on the Monday night for the cork hurlers,on the South Mall.Win ,could get 50 thousand.Even they loose,they will be a stage.

Who are responsible for cork gaa teams?the board.But they will pay nothing in the cost of staging that in the current climate,the city council have to take thdm cost.That could easily cost fifty thousand or more,with security,entertainment etc.

By right,it should be held in the Pairc,like kilkenny hold theirs in knowlan park.

At least the fans wouldnt be cramped on the south mall and would have comfort.

.But they wont,as if they did,they would have to pay the cost,and they wouldnt get any gate reciepts,as thats not something they can charge for.This isnt like the home coming for Rob hefferanean,where their was no other venue.Cork Gaa has one.

They do not want to spend money,its all the new stadium.They wont open the pairc for a home coming,but for Bruce,no bother,as he pays them money.

Seriously,this is rubbish,any talk of outside men.

Honesty ,trust me,there was never any hope they would come down.Their is no way cork will even think about an outsideman.The bookies are cute,ryan around 12 to 1, and tempted people for value put money on him.
    It was never going to happen.

Jason is overhyped,woudnt win with cork.Another media romantic story.A good manager but not great.

Its cuthbhert job,close run by cleary.
    A two horse race.any other names is just public spin,to make a race of it.
    Fair enough. Even I think that Cork would never go with an outsider manager, but I don't think in principle that it's ludicrous to suggest the possibility of an outsider manger. In principle, if you get the right manager, the results will justify the appointment.

• Registered Users Posts: 477 ✭✭ted2767

Read the post before the one you've just commented on and give me your opinion of that also.

You obviously have nothing better to do with yourself than come on here looking to annoy other people which is quite sad.
    You're also doing a disservice to the many fine KK supporters who can take their beatings.
    The history between KK and Cork is littered with close games which were often influenced by a controversial incident, those involved got on with their lives like men unlike someone like yourself who trolls online forums looking for a platform to moan and b***h.
    Take your defeat like a man or don't play the game.
    By the way were you this concerned about referees when ye got that penalty in 2009?
    Don't think so.

Am I missing something here? My reference to "Cork's Barry Kelly" was a simple response to another poster's reference to "Kilkenny's Brian Gavin". Surely that was completely obvious. Do you not have anything to say to the original Cork poster? Just like a lot of Cork people, banter and a sense of humour are very much a one way street.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

a sense of humour are very much a one way street.