Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 1,296 ✭✭✭Martin567

Amprodude wrote: »
    ??

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,880 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Thread really has gone to shít - bring on some games, quick!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,119 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Ladies football fixed for Thurles on sat 7th at 4pm. handy for people heading up for the hurling on sat to drop in on their way

• Registered Users Posts: 162 ✭✭Mouth of the South

Martin567 wrote: »
    Am I missing something here? My reference to "Cork's Barry Kelly" was a simple response to another poster's reference to "Kilkenny's Brian Gavin". Surely that was completely obvious. Do you not have anything to say to the original Cork poster? Just like a lot of Cork people, banter and a sense of humour are very much a one way street.

The point you are missing is that you are a CATatonically boring dullard. Actually, is there a Kilkenny man born yet who has a sense of humour? I haven't met any. There is no place in Ireland with more boring, dull people. Or bitter, sore losers. Now go away to wherever all you bitter sore losers from Kilkenny whinge about referees ( except the compliant lapdog refs like Gavin and Kirwan et al) and the conspiracies that the GAA/refs/Cork/whoever are cooking up against you and fester there instead.

Archer3083 wrote: »
    Fair enough. Even I think that Cork would never go with an outsider manager, but I don't think in principle that it's ludicrous to suggest the possibility of an outsider manger. In principle, if you get the right manager, the results will justify the appointment.

Cork must be the only county in Ireland who have never had an outside manager in either code (along with Kilkenny, as doubt anyone would want to manage their football team in the All Britain junior championship). As long as Frank is there it will stay that way, unfortunately. If Cuthbert is the heir anointed, it doesn't say a lot for the managerial talent in the county in general. I'd hope at least that he would look beyond the county bounds for a coach to assist him the way James Horan did with Donie Buckley for instance.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,002 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

Cork must be the only county in Ireland who have never had an outside manager in either code (along with Kilkenny, as doubt anyone would want to manage their football team in the All Britain junior championship). As long as Frank is there it will stay that way, unfortunately. If Cuthbert is the heir anointed, it doesn't say a lot for the managerial talent in the county in general. I'd hope at least that he would look beyond the county bounds for a coach to assist him the way James Horan did with Donie Buckley for instance.

Ye have no problem with outside players though.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

BPKS wrote: »
    Top notch stuff right here

• Registered Users Posts: 260 ✭✭Indie.

D'Agger wrote: »
    Top notch stuff right here

He's obviously referring to Sean Og!!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,880 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Indie. wrote: »

Would have thought Shea and Larry.

Where are you from, buddy? Have you ever had them?

It wouldn't be Kerry , per chance, would it ? The Kerry of Dan O'Keefe , winner of 7 All Ireland medals and a member of the GAA team of the millennium.

Of course, it couldn't really be the Kerry of Dan O'Keefe, considering Dan O'Keefe was a Corkman from Fermoy.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Indie. wrote: »
    ShamoBuc wrote: »
    Would have thought Shea and Larry.

What county would Sean Og or he's brothers have played for only Cork :confused:

James Loughrey is from the very very very north of mallow aswell :D

What county would Sean Og or he's brothers have played for only Cork :confused:

James Loughrey is from the very very very north of mallow aswell :D

Never thought of him as an 'outsider'.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Never thought of him as an 'outsider'.

Absolutely, its a redicilous example tbh, he's as Cork as Murphy's :D

Where are you from, buddy? Have you ever had them?

It wouldn't be Kerry , per chance, would it ? The Kerry of Dan O'Keefe , winner of 7 All Ireland medals and a member of the GAA team of the millennium.

Of course, it couldn't really be the Kerry of Dan O'Keefe, considering Dan O'Keefe was a Corkman from Fermoy.

I'd say put the stones down before assuming something in this glasshouse

D'Agger wrote: »
    I'd say put the stones down before assuming something in this glasshouse

I never made any claims or taunts about players coming from other counties , but yer man (who appears to be from Kerry) did.

I was on about assuming somebody who makes a petty remark hails from Kerry before responding with an equally petty remark tbh

• Registered Users Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭Paz-CCFC

If anyone who's going up to Dublin for the weekend is looking for a bit more sport on Saturday night, Cork City play away to Shamrock Rovers in Tallaght at 7pm. You can make it out there from the city centre by Luas or by bus, which will drop you in sight of the ground. It'd be good to get a big away crowd supporting the Rebel Army ahead of the hurling match on Sunday. We'll probably be wearing our red away jersey, since our home green one clashes with Rovers' green and white hoops, so any Cork GAA jersey would blend in nicely. ;)

1230015_660785653933130_1154642519_n.jpg

PS, in case anyone thinks I'm trying to drag this thread off topic, a mod ok'd it.

Still waiting on a ticket - going Sat if I get one because I want to combine 'the trip to Tallaght' with 'the trip to croker' - just need the ticket now!!

The point you are missing is that you are a CATatonically boring dullard. Actually, is there a Kilkenny man born yet who has a sense of humour? I haven't met any. There is no place in Ireland with more boring, dull people. Or bitter, sore losers. Now go away to wherever all you bitter sore losers from Kilkenny whinge about referees ( except the compliant lapdog refs like Gavin and Kirwan et al) and the conspiracies that the GAA/refs/Cork/whoever are cooking up against you and fester there instead.

Nice bit of writing there. All you need to do is replace the word 'Kilkenny' with 'Cork' and you've just perfectly described yourself and any other Cork supporter who's spent the last seven years whinging about Kilkenny. Some of your supporters are completely insufferable, utterly humourless, foulmouthed begrudgers.

To the many thousands of decent Cork supporters, that's not directed at you. Enjoy the week ahead.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,119 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Still waiting on a ticket - going Sat if I get one because I want to combine 'the trip to Tallaght' with 'the trip to croker' - just need the ticket now!!

Will be combining a trip to Thurles for the ladies on sat if I get a ticket

• Registered Users Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Archer3083

If you have to appoint a coach to back up Cuthbert then you'd already be admitting defeat. We all remember what happened with Steve Staunton (Bobby Robson was initially appointed his assistant). In any case, we don't know if Cuthbert will be appointed although it's highly likely that either Cuthbert, Cleary or Fitzgerald will be appointed. Billy Morgan has ruled himself out already so he's not an option either.

After watching the Kerry v Dublin game on Sunday I was shocked by how good a performance that Kerry put in given that alot of players are either old or have alot of miles on the clock. Fitzmaurice is a young manager is taking over Kerry at the worst time possible. Alot of players are likely to retire now and the young players coming in aren't up to the level of the older players. It got me thinking though. If a manager had a choice and could manage any county team in Ireland, what team would he pick? The obvious choice would be Dublin of course, but I really believe that Cork are the next dream option. Cork would appear to have the second best pool of players after Dublin. The forward line of Sheehan, O'Neill, Hurley, Goulding, Kelly, Kerrigan and Aidan Welsh in midfield are as good a front 7 as you could possibly wish for. Donnchadh O'Connor, Fintan Gould or Pearse O'Neill are excellent subs to add to that front 7. I think the next Cork manger will look at the Cork team and think if I can get a partner for Aidan Walsh in midfield and get a good back line then I can easily compete with Dublin.

Nice bit of writing there. All you need to do is replace the word 'Kilkenny' with 'Cork' and you've just perfectly described yourself and any other Cork supporter who's spent the last seven years whinging about Kilkenny. Some of your supporters are completely insufferable, utterly humourless, foulmouthed begrudgers.

To the many thousands of decent Cork supporters, that's not directed at you. Enjoy the week ahead.

Are you stalking me ? And are you incapable of making a retort other than 'no , you are'. Imitation is indeed the most sincere form of flattery.

If you have to appoint a coach to back up Cuthbert then you'd already be admitting defeat. We all remember what happened with Steve Staunton (Bobby Robson was initially appointed his assistant). In any case, we don't know if Cuthbert will be appointed although it's highly likely that either Cuthbert, Cleary or Fitzgerald will be appointed. Billy Morgan has ruled himself out already so he's not an option either.

After watching the Kerry v Dublin game on Sunday I was shocked by how good a performance that Kerry put in given that alot of players are either old or have alot of miles on the clock. Fitzmaurice is a young manager is taking over Kerry at the worst time possible. Alot of players are likely to retire now and the young players coming in aren't up to the level of the older players. It got me thinking though. If a manager had a choice and could manage any county team in Ireland, what team would he pick? The obvious choice would be Dublin of course, but I really believe that Cork are the next dream option. Cork would appear to have the second best pool of players after Dublin. The forward line of Sheehan, O'Neill, Hurley, Goulding, Kelly, Kerrigan and Aidan Welsh in midfield are as good a front 7 as you could possibly wish for. Donnchadh O'Connor, Fintan Gould or Pearse O'Neill are excellent subs to add to that front 7. I think the next Cork manger will look at the Cork team and think if I can get a partner for Aidan Walsh in midfield and get a good back line then I can easily compete with Dublin.

Galway would be an attractive option too. Cuthbert will be the next manager anyway, pretty much a fait accompli I'd reckon. His record with the minors and B'town isn't all that great when you stand back and look at it and don't know how much he is going to bring to the table.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,142 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Feck me im getting nervous.

• Registered Users Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Archer3083

Galway would be an attractive option too. Cuthbert will be the next manager anyway, pretty much a fait accompli I'd reckon. His record with the minors and B'town isn't all that great when you stand back and look at it and don't know how much he is going to bring to the table.
    Galway have great prospects when you consider their U21 success but it remains to be seen if that can be brought through to senior level. Realistically players aren't at their best til they are 23 or 24.

I think it's strange that in the gaa it has to be a local man, it can't be an outside manager. It just seems to be arrogance on the part of certain big counties like Cork. They'd rather put a local man in no matter what rather than admit that they can't find managerial talent in their own county. If it was soccer, the very same Cork supporters would have a different tune and demand the best manager. Having said all that, Cuthbert could turn out to be a fantastic manager, but with the amount of talent Cork has in the team, they deserve a manger that has proven success at senior inter county level. I'm not saying that Jason Ryan or Keiran McGeeney or Jack O'Connor would be the answer but if James Horan offered to take over the Cork footballers next year, would anyone complain too much

Feck me im getting nervous.
    As a Kerryman I'm totes jelly

Are you stalking me ? And are you incapable of making a retort other than 'no , you are'. Imitation is indeed the most sincere form of flattery.

As I said to you before, you are one very strange person. The unintended irony in your comment above and in several earlier posts is really very funny.

"As I said to you before" - yep, that's right, nothing from you is original Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz!

You're clearly obsessed. And as equally boring as every other KK person who ever lived. Now toddle off and be boring somewhere else and stop clogging up this thread.

Galway have great prospects when you consider their U21 success but it remains to be seen if that can be brought through to senior level. Realistically players aren't at their best til they are 23 or 24.

I think it's strange that in the gaa it has to be a local man, it can't be an outside manager. It just seems to be arrogance on the part of certain big counties like Cork. They'd rather put a local man in no matter what rather than admit that they can't find managerial talent in their own county. If it was soccer, the very same Cork supporters would have a different tune and demand the best manager. Having said all that, Cuthbert could turn out to be a fantastic manager, but with the amount of talent Cork has in the team, they deserve a manger that has proven success at senior inter county level. I'm not saying that Jason Ryan or Keiran McGeeney or Jack O'Connor would be the answer but if James Horan offered to take over the Cork footballers next year, would anyone complain too much

I'd say a fella like Keith Ricken would be worth a shot considering his record with CIT and St. Vincents, but I don't think his face fits with Frank. I wouldn't want Geezer, but I'd be open to an outside manager taking the reins. At the end of the day, I wouldn't care two hoots whether a manager is from Tralee or Timbuktu as long as he could make the most of the undoubted playing talent that is there and sadly it appears the managerial talent isn't there to exploit it. Did Galway people care two hoots that it took a Mayoman like John O'Mahony to deliver them an All Ireland? I doubt it.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

Mouth of the South and Martin567, any more bickering and attacking each other on the thread, and both of you will be banned until the end of the month. Attack the post, not the poster