Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 34,145 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

How much will it cost for on Saturday night to watch the game?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,307 ✭✭✭Horse84

I'd imagine Walsh would move out to half forward with Lehane moving in.

Lehane is lost inside though. I dunno I suppose guys need a chance and jbm said he'd rotate a lot but we know what Ellis can do and it ain't much. I would've liked to see how a fella like haughney would've coped with starting in front a big crowd just to see how he'd manage it.
    I just don't really see with the starting 15 what's to learnt from them as they start. We're fortunate in a way that limerick are light enough up front at the minute.
    Pointless to be over analysing it quite just yet however.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,121 ✭✭✭zetecescort

How much will it cost for on Saturday night to watch the game?

€10 if you buy tickets beforehand, €15 at the turnstiles

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

The Limerick game Saturday is a huge game,no matter how people try and dress it up ,there is no way offaly or wexford ,let alone Laois Or antrim are at the stage to seriously threaten Cork or Limerick as division winners.

Wexford may cause a shock,in that Limerick in wexford ,in a wet day,they could rattle them.Cork in Cork,they won't have a chance,and Offaly have a few hurlers but its tranisiton time,and it reamins to be seen If Whelanan is a good manager.Offaly style of footloose and fancy free,will suit Cork,Cork are a team that love and thrive on space ,and Offaly will give them that.

If limerick had downes ,Breen who can play centre back,Dowling and Downes they would be a huge threat,but without them and Hannon,they go in to battle without any heavy artillery and have a weak bench unlike the Munster final.

There front 9 is likely to be ,Quaid,walsh,riche mac,condon,,o brien,wayne mac,and gavin o mahony,browne and o grady,that team lined out in Mallow after the Ard scoil v hamilton game ,in such brutal weather.

They had plenty gutso,and no real weakness in 1 to 9 that day but its up front they dwdddwere poor ,and missed a load ,and in conditions that suited them ,they had no punch.

I dont think tom ryan is a half forward but they may start him.Hes pacey,fast and lots of hurling.
    Jim bob ryan,mulchay,tobin ,and quaid are likey to start .Mulchay is the main danger and to a lesser extent Tobin.Two threats,Cork have cornes corner backs without connor sull even well up to curtailing them.

The weather is going to have a huge bearing ,in even if its dry ,the ground with all the rain is like a bog ,and even sunday in the pairc,you could see it had surface water in the end ,and such testing heavy conditions,that fitness will prove important ,and a bench is crucial.

Fitness will be a factor ,but unlike Gaelic grounds ,in a scorcher of July,mobilty wont be ,in that in that the likes Of Cian Mac could very well do a job for an hour ,but in a hot dry day,the pace of the game like against Limerick in the Munster final and against Clare he was way of it.Cian is very much an enigma,in he has the attuide brave,good hand,can score ,has hurling,but for some reason hes mobilty is poor,and its like hes stuck to the ground
    .You could start him and he would do a job Saturday,but hes unlikely to be a real option in the summer.As a sub maybe,but i think we have better options .He is a better sub than 3 forwards we had last year though.

My team would be Nash,o neill,Keane/spillane,Brian Murphy if avalible or mcdonnell,mcloughlin,joyce ,,spillane(if keane starts at 3)

Hauhney,kearney

Lehane,sullivan,Walsh,moylan,Horgan,Cadogan

Nash is fine ,and im sure with Riche Mac at full ,he will get a few chances from 20m free.

Keane is a tank of a man and full back would suit him .There is zero benfit playing him at centre back when he realistically despite what some barrs say he is far too slow on the turn,and immobile for the wide open spaces of croke park or thurles.Yes in a wet pairc rinn he looks good against jim bob ryan,in may in thurles,shanahan take him all over the field.

An option at full back.spillane is very much a contender,strong,and aggressive ,and has hurling and more mobile than keane.The only full back that held cussen in the county,as he didnt believe in hes overhyped reputation and tore in to him.For such a big man,cussen hates physicality.keane or spillane fine for quaid,as long as its not Murphy,o neill,cadogan or Murphy.

O neill and whethers it brian or killan murphy or mcdonnell well able for tobin.Shane o neill for mulchay.

Christy o connor said that Mcloughlin is a real option at centre back.I have said for the last year ,when i posted here in jan first,its hes position,a greater reader ,great to sweep up,good in the air ,and commanding and fast .Hes light but gets away with it at half back,at midfield way too inconsistent,a great game,average game etc,as hes too alike kearney and hasnt the strength in midfield .

Joyce, o connor is a big fan of and said he could be centre back if he improved by 20 per cent .You see he has the hurling,but swtiched between a midfielder and a centre back ,means he cant be a prescence,as to be that you must have confidence in your own abiltity,but you cant when the manager doesnt have confidence in you.Cadogan i say will start.He shouldnt.Joyce is good under the high ball,and while not slow like keane he hasnt the pace for midfield.He has the hurling.

Egan has the hurling,far too inconsistent,and temperament questionable,as a man in hes 4 th year ,should be a real prescence but far too inconsistent ,and in ucd u ul,he way below the standard i expected.Drop him,and it could be good for him,he needs a wake up call.

Kearney-played a half forward for Munster got two points,and has it all for a modern midfielder,pace,stamina,grit,fast hands and can score and a great engine and link man.Should be match for browne.

Haughney give him a chance.Hes has the hurling,fast hands but im hughely reserved with hes attuide,and tempermanent in a wet heavy night,and against o grady,who will be physical and ideal test for him.I have seen him dominate at minor,go missing in games and also u21.Yes he had a fine club season,but Naughton had fine club seasonst,very fast hands,lacked that grit and edge.Look at the lads that he faced,roche,murray,for example are fine club players that are loose hurlers,but wouldnt be known for having an edge or aggression he will face in lester ryan,padraig walsh,buckley,fennelly,colin ryan,o grady ,maher ,moran etc.He has yet to face a lad with a bit of ege and steel.
    Macgregor of Na piarsaigh would of been a real test of steel ,but he was injured and couldnt start the semifinal.

Thats my worry is he just a talent with unfilled potential or an Intercounty player..He deserves the chance.An ideal game to test hes attuide.At this level attuide is a Must.It comes from within.

Lehane,be fine,on fire and is stronger and is a complety different player that was taken of against them in july.He was a boy,then,hes a man now.Could be a real danger for o brien or o mahony who cronin had in real trouble in the munster final,but if we isolate him on wayne mac,he could do real damage.

Michael sul is ideal to man up,throw the body around,make the hits,win ball and track back and help midfield.A real potent force at the breakdown.Remeber hes goal in the fitygibbon against ucc in the final pouring rain he got the equalisng goal,as he threw the body and head in where many wouldnt dream of.

Has the stamina to last a full game in heavy going but the mobilty to move around the park and interchane with walsh and a target man for Nash and takes the workload off walsh.He should be told to concentrate on breaking tackles with direct forceful running and making space for lehane and co.He tends to shoot on sight and hes accuracy isnt great.He doesnt need to ,with walsh and lehane and horgan,moylan we have plenty to score.Needs to be given a defined role that suits hes strengths..

Walsh may take time to settle but he will win ball and can score and has abilty to break the tackles and run at the heart of limerick will create space for the full forward line.Has a good delievery also.

Moylan had a poor game against Clare in munster and never got much chances,but was super when used as a sub against clare in the all ireland final with a peach of a goal,and simalir to paudie sul in hes robust,strong and creative ,and can score goals.

Horgan needs to keep moving and drag riche mac out from goal at every opportunity and create space for moylan,cadogan and lehane to run in to .He became a real leader last year,continue and he will be fine.Riche mac would love nothing more than cian mac ,a heavyweight duael on the edge of the squre.With 20 to go maybe,but not to start with as ,he would suit riche and is mobile enough to roam and drag him all over the field.

A bit of a risk,but i would start cads,as he new to limerick and o farell has had a mixed bag last year and like egan must fight for hes place.
    He is tough,abrasive,great touch and can get goals and points and a man for the big occasion and goes looking for the ball and a super work rate off the ball.Coughlan isnt a corner forward so not an option here.

Coughlan ,o farell and cian mac,and Michael Cahalane (needs time ) are viable options as subs and limerick dont have the same bench.Even if the league is changed next year,Cork must win this game ,as its a league final in reality and cork for confidence must start winning finals as they have lost a league,munster and all ireland final.That loosing habit must be broken ,and no better place to start than saturday,and such is limerick are weak up front and on the bench its not great for confidence if we loose to at home to an understrength Limerick team

That team i would like to start,id say it wont.I can't wait for the team to be announced tommorrow eveining.

Cadogan,o farell,cian mac could all start,hard to know who the exact team would be .

I agree, the winner here wins the league and I'm afraid Cork will do a number on us. Must check the odds for this one, but Cork should be 1/3 or thereabouts.

Cork 4/9. Handicap 3 points. Looks good value.

Weather could be something to watch for though.

Rightwing wrote: »
    I agree, the winner here wins the league and I'm afraid Cork will do a number on us. Must check the odds for this one, but Cork should be 1/3 or thereabouts.

4/9 with Paddy Powers today. Limerick were 2/1

• Registered Users Posts: 355 ✭✭sean mac

I would be confident of winning this one especially with limerick missing so many , mainly forwards. While the half back line selected is only average we have more then enough in that forward line to rack up a big score.
    Interesting to see the big man on the edge of the square, aldo going on last year he will rotate with the other forwards. If limerick had everyone this would be a 50;50 game, however with the losses and corks relatively strong bench cork by 4/5 points

• Registered Users Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

Everbody knows im a huge fan of jbm,huge fan,and johnny crowley,matthews,and kingston,but i have always judged everything on its own merits and dont let loyalty,life long admiration and adoration or emotion blind what i cleary see in front of me with any team.

Peolpe have this view im on a particular witch hunt with Cuthbhert for example,no i judge purely on team selection and fact ,and will criticise even a mans of jbms stature if its fair to do so.In that team ,i think it is fair to criticse some calls.

Have we not learned nothing from the last two years,mcdonell a fine hurler,was never or will ever be a full back.If so why wasnt he peristed with last year.He may do a job against an average quaid,but its a fruitless move and huge huge error of judgement.There going to ruin him confidence wish.Has no presence for there to command an aera.Most top teams have,we have a hurler.Ard scoil and doon in the harty have fitzpatrick and hayes,formiddable natural full back.Were an senior inter county team with ambitions to win the all ireland and we dont have a natural,formiddable full back.

Murphy is fine in the corner,solid fast and tight.

Ellis isnt a intercounty hurler,lacks real pace,anyone care to debate with me ,look at u21 final 2011 against limerick,destroyed by dowling in the air and for pace.Matthews said today him,joyce and white were physical unit, thats all well and good but bar joyce ,the rest lack the speed of mind and hurling for this level ,and ellis too slow for a half back.Jim bob could cause him problems in the air.Hasnt stood out,in challenge games,club games or colledge games in the past against tough oppoisition.I have seen him struggle with duhallow,love nothing more than a milstreet man win an all ireland hurling medal,but you got to be realistic.Ellis unlikely to be that man.

I love the outdoors and running trails.Still i was realistic not to go running around milstreet forest park ,in gusts of 160 tuesday.Why,id be bown away and exposed to the elements.Ellis will be blown away by pace and hurling against top teams in the wide open ,thurles or croke park.I would love nothing more than to be proven wrong.

Mark ellis starting,jesus mick walsh who davy rated very much and jamie nagle club hurler and aside of lehane man of the match in the county final can feel justifabbly aggrieved.

Joyce is fine but in real danger of being held to blame when ellis and white dont give him any cover and he has a big job to nail down hes own aera,now he has to look over he shoulder.And wait for it ,he will get moved to midfield and lorchan to 6 if were in trouble.

White is poor,headless with the ball,and uncontrolled aggression,two slow clearing the sliothar,and poor deliveries.He brings bite ,but thats all,and since 2008 been around and failed to make a mark.Not at this level. I would be very worried bout hes discipline in a game that tensions be high and physicality be there in spades.

Kearney superb.

Oh sweet jesus ,how many games does it take to realise lorchan isnt a midfelder since 2011 has been too inconsistent ,and lorchan isnt a midfielder.A super and certain starter at half back.

Haughney will get a game against offaly,antrim,bang over two or 3 points and we learn f**ck all regarding hes temarment and attuide.A blind man on the street knows he has hurling.Wasted chance,and cant judge him til the league quater final.golden chance wasted.

Lehane fine once people will wake up and realise as shown in munster u21 final,last year against limerick,this year for ucc in the fitygibbon he aint a lad suited to the confines of a full forward line and is better running from deep in to there than inside waiting.Hes too much a free spirit.A bit like taking a greyhound for walks around a park,lead on,he looes hes identity.Has to stay here at ten,i have a fear he could switch with walsh at some point.

Cian mac,what can he do,we dont know.Yes he wins ball ,uses timber on wayne mac,scores a few,worth a fiddlers f**ck,and pissing against the wind ,in that he is not up to it as a halforward in the summer.

I hope he is the one that swtiches with walsh,better than what it is currently is ,but it suits riche to the ground,probably eating raw steaks now,senses blood,loves those players.Unlike harnedy two flat footed,immobile,like an artic trying to turn,does it eventully ,that wont drag riche out of hes comfort zone.

Game was crying out for sullivan.A woeful call.Sullivan has everything bar the smoothness of hurling,could be worked on,but has more mobility,pace,athleticism a crying shame he isnt starting.

O shea super hurler,touch,bite,coo head,tore in to a tipp team on a beaten cork side with real puropose and intent,can score but played out of poisition i think in we dont need him as a 12,walsh,lawton etc,cadogan if they want that style ,and better as a midfielder.

Last year we got ate alive without a ball winning half forward line for age,we now have a hurler there.wont do in championship,as it means like saturday ,cian mac,harnedy if there is the primarly sole ball winner back to the dark days of cronin with 3 on him ,and the balance is all wrong,hurling,but no power or athleticsm.

Midfield was hes aera has the pace and long distance scoring for it.

Moylan fine,may not get  great ball with whites hail marys or a half forward line may struggle,ultimately hes judged on what he does even though blameless if he gets poor ball.

Horgan fine,no bother,should be 14 on riche though.

Walsh is going to be unfairy crticised if he has a bad game by some,when he isnt a 14.

Jesus chr*st ,our most powerful,athletic,dymanic,fast,aerial ball winner ,that has the accuray of a sniper with a rifle,we do what ger fity did in 2011 put our best forward 8 points,anythere within 60 metres in a caged aera and bomb balls after balls where begley just broke away and savages like wolves ,in top corner backs swarmed in and cleared.

Condon and walsh are two super corner backs that will thrive of rich batting away ball after ball and disrupting walsh at every opportunity.If walsh and he will win ball,wont have the space to turn or the momemtum with real pace to drive on goal,and is ineffictive.

He is lethal at roving wing role winning ball,and then space to run hard fast,like a train unstoppable force at pace and could go for goals or when he draws defenders make space for horgan or mnylan.

They will be too busy scraping for dirty breaks wont have the space,as defenders wont be drawn to him,as riche just stands up and straight,and pushes him out towards goal .

Walsh in a roving full forward role would work,but horgan could do that ,and walsh do what he does best.Bombing balls down on him wont work at 14.Wasnt happy in there at football.Needs freedon.

I said all week cadogan missing last week football was bad.I said ,i have enough .Move on.

Now its worse,he missed a crucial,crucial game,without a reconised 3,compound that we had no cover,and the man doesnt even start the hurling.A joke,complete farce wasnt even on the bench ,yet he warms hes arse saturday night.Dub and kerry are laughing at us.
    They must have not much faith in not starting him ,yet they wanted him 100 per cent free.

What does that tell other footballers who bust there balls yet cant get a game,yet cadogan misses a huge just so he sits bench,and gets a bit of a game in the hurling.

At least walsh started.I said walsh shouldnt start ,but thought with him out last week he would,and now he didnt.

Cork should beat limerck,with some weak aeras ,but thank themselves lucky dowling,breen,downes ,hannon are absent as if they were,that team would be exposed and in a league game as much as i want us to win and get promoted,at least it be exposed now rather than against waterford in may,loose the battle but win the war.

Saturday we may win the battle and i hope we do win but could very easily loose the war if that teams starts many games ,and have lost crucial time solving,3 and 9 that we have no tough games week after week in this div,and must hope who we meet in the q final is well up for that game,as its not inconcievable that opponent after 5 hard games may have zilch interest in that ther safe from relegation,and tailor there needs to the fast approaching championship and we get no test like the cork v tipp ist league game last year.

Limerick would at least have provided us with intensity in most positions despite lacking quailty at 11,12and 14.

Very dissapointed with that team,and the fact it mas made by such shrewd and astute management i have great time for.

Subs are good,great to see alan cadogan there,spillane and keane.

Spillane and keane would have been a much better option at full back.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Sully was hardly fast in 2008 or 2010 and wasnt cleaned for pace in the semifinal.

...oh you mean in the twilight of his career?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

I'd imagine Walsh would move out to half forward with Lehane moving in.

I hope not, I've yet to see Lehane play well inside. He is a half forward or nothing.

Surprisingly strong team, I'd expect us to win pretty handy.

Rock was never blistering fast,it was always said a fast nippy forward was hes nemisis?

Who would you like to see at 3?
    We should win,more on limerick being undertrength
    Enlighten me please if you would where we are strong at?

Totally agree regards lehane.
    Oh hardly the 1960s that you need to go back to like i used examples of that full backs without pace for centre backs survived and in some were great

Any update on the state of pairc ui rinn at the moment?

Horse84 wrote: »
    Any update on the state of pairc ui rinn at the moment?

If that rain keeps up,Id worry bout the game.It has good drainage ,but there has been so much rain and more is expected,it be hard to hold all that.

Its like putting a sponge in to the Lee and asking it soak it all up.Not possible.

Saw Mallow Racecourse during tie week,still badly covered in pools of water,and there drainge facilty i7 state of the Art ,and had major revamp years ago but there is so much water there is no where for it to go.

Yea I'd be thinking the same. Hopefully to Christ it'll improve tonight and 2moro

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/dual-day-a-thing-of-the-past-258799.html#

A great read,like i said  Dualism is never good for morale.Absoultely laughable to think it can work for Cahalane,Cadogan,when Gavin,Baker,now Griffin,Davy said it wont,and le Chin a player also tried but failed,and not many  Cork ex players or some of the media in Cork said it was a waste of time,in fact some had welcomed and advocated for it for some time.
    Sarah O  Donovan ,in the Echo in fairness one of the very few to come out against it and talk sense and logic,and did not go with the popular status quo,and fair play to Eoin Keane for recognising he couldnt do both,realised never like i said 6 weeks ago,him realisically was  going to make it as a footballer.He never tried both,yet knew,Cadogan  has tried it once and failed,and now trys again when the demands are higher again.JBM said today he didnt start ,as he needs more hurling.Sure thats a no brainer-i like many said that for months on end,he had little hurling even at club done.To get to the level he needs to he would have to give up football,and play numerous club games etc to get to that level.He is a terrific full back in football,he should stick to that.

Not good enough to a start a league ,game,how in the name of God is he going to be ready for May.
    Playing secound rate,sub standard teams after tommorrow wont sharpen hes touch,or give him the edge he needs.He will survive against Laois,Wexford,Offay ,as he can afford to be sloppy ,take that extra second in striking,that extra touch or two ,and survives mainly due to the weakness of he's opponent rather than any great percieved strength of hes own game.There was a huge uncertainty,from JBM,we will give it a go and see at the end of the league.Not much good to the player's place he took on the panel when he doesn't make the championship cut.It sets the one rule for me,another rule for the rest.

I see Tippereary named there panel.Delighted Darragh Egan made it.A top top keeper,if he got a run,All Star potential outside of Nash.It is a strong squad to a point,but it is good to see where not the only teams carrying passengers who had more than enough chances at this level and failed in Consistenty,namely Seamus Callinan.As against Limerick last year proved when the heat is on and the Need is greatest he is not the man for the big occasion.

Tippearey starting him against Cork if met,would not bother me in the slightest,id love him to start against us , it would be like playing a team with 14 men.John O' Brien who has a much better attuide,got dropped.Id have him any day of the week over Callilan who does not compliment he's skills with the correct temparament.

A big Echo special on Cork hurling tonight  ,should be a good read,an interview with Kilshannig man Kevin O Callaghan re -development quuads,and an article with Aidan Walsh is among those in it.

I hope the rest of the piece is articulate.interesting,and wows the reader like many of its great past friday features.I hope it is not just lazy journalism to fill a few pages just cause the League starts tommorrow night.We shall see.

If its  even half as good as the fantastic supplement on Midelton Hurling a while back afer they won the County,were in for some read.
    I hope it is.

I would love for some one to look at the u21 set up and ask how two woeful managers the last 4 years were and now with another 2 year term,making it 6 in total   in charge of the Cork teams and how guys like Sean O Brien,Eddie Murphy,Peter Cody ,are not  with them.

Theres no benfit in focusing on development squad ,its structures,vison for the future,talent avaialble,urbanistion,GDOS,schools,strength and conditiong ,fiancial rescoures etc,it means jack s**t if no body mentions or alludes to the fact young proven coaches or expierenced coaches must be put in charge of any intercounty team at the four grades,minor,intermediate,u21,senior once  they have some proven record and are not even considered for any role with the team,unless they have met and accquired a mininum standard of coaching that shows potential as coaches to be developed.

That issue has yet to be forensically addressed.For Cork hurling to truly Evolve it is a Must that happens.I wish someone in the Cork media or a former great would have at least question the last two appointments.It is not a personal agenda if some one questions them or far from a dislike of two former great Hurlers,(Ger fit was that ,some goal machine),its merley for the Good of Cork hurling,that those questions should be asked.

If it was any other top County it would be expected or any other sport.As much as the Great Sir Alex is loved,adored and worshipped by United fans,and hes legacey at united is for ever set in stone,hes pleas for loyalty,patience and time for Moyles willh fall on deaf ears if United don't quailfy for the Champions league,as United have too many key stake holders that will loose a lot if that happens and the fans won't allow that happen,and if Crowds go down at matches United will react.

Fergusson in all likeyhood is so ruthless and always sees the bigger picture at Man United,he would probably advocate Moyles departure himself.Yes hes about time and patience,but there is and always will be a Mininum Standard expected of any manager,even in transition,and thats what thems so great ,they wont tolerate,accept failure for any prolonged length of time.

Limerick team  is named tonight.
    O grady is no fool.He knows the club scence inside out,was with Ballymartle doing some work there.
    He must look at that Cork team and see it is weak in some aeras.People say it would be a 50/50 game if Limerick were full strength.

If Limerick had a full strength team they would have no doubt beat that Cork team by a few points.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭lukin

Will this game even go ahead? The pitch must be fairly wet after all the rain today (and all week).

There is no point in making that call no,ptich inspection at 3 should be done.

Due conisderation and appreiation must be given to Limerick fans with in such weather a 2 hr each way journey.At 3 if in any doubt with the game ,it must be postponed as it would be grossly unfair to all fans bvt particulary limerick to travel down,then at 6 for examples its abandoned,that happened ith a cancellation very close to the proximity of the starting time regards rochestown v doon in the harty cup already.

• Registered Users Posts: 355 ✭✭sean mac

Pitch is in very good nick at the moment (as in today), hopefully with no rain tomorrow as forecast the game will go ahead and the pitch should hold up well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭closeline

Pairc Ui Rinn will be fine no doubt.

• Registered Users Posts: 325 ✭✭mr bungle.

Connor cusack on the late late show if anyone is interested,

Very strong team,not a desparate call but a very shrewd,and wise  call to start Dowling at 14,attack Corks weakest link in the spine of the team,full back,and that move should be applauded.

I was right on two accounts tom ryan would start at 10 and O grady looked at Cork team,and said thats a beatable team,have dowling at 14, if no change on mcdonnell,put jim bob in at 14i i think and dowling on ellis,he destroyed him in 2011 u21 or even white.

Tom ryan,lads im normally a good judge most days of a player,hes a gem,not best positilon at 10,, but he can drop back to midfield,can scorn,hurl both sides and real real pace,great in the air.

Allis is fine,fast,speed of hands,intelligent,and will cause white problems.

Ryan has too much pace for ellis.

That unlike Cork unit has balance,and pace and power ,jim bob graft all night long and win ball.Joyce will relish it,problem is the two wing man.

A bit like trying to fly a jumbo jet in to a storm,with one engine,you may get there,but your in for a lot of turblence,with a lot of risk,thats corks half back line.
    A lovely full forward line,mulchay,tobin,pace,hurling,can score but the key is 14,,dowling could clean mcdonnell in the air ,and is a big threat to cork.Hes out to prove a point over allens woeful treatment last year.A huge ask for mcdonnell.

Real scoring in limerick now,5 out of the 6 can score .Paddy that 1/6 was a bit too too short for cork a few weeks ago you thought:-o

Unlike Cork,ye have a spine,at 3,,riche,Wayne mac or o grady needs be,a balanced midfield ,o grady defends browne attacks,11 that win ball,and a 14 than can do a job.Weak on the bench but that team will cause us problems.

Now Cork have a full back that has been exposed too many time.Not hes fault tommorrow if he is roasted,the lad is blameless,management to blame for picking him and asking a lad do a job he cant ,and they have seen him at 3 many times and moved him from pillar to post.

Limerick have a solid have back line and should break even.Cork should have walsh on wayne mac, as hes strong and mobile ,and would have real pace for wayne mac,Cian wins ball ,lays it of,not the same threat.Lehane would cause wayne mac problems but cian mac,wouldnt have the pace for paudie o brien.

Rob o shea is a fine hurler but isnt a ball winner ,i hope he goes to midfield as Ryan will go there,Cork have to counter attack that move.

Moylan,lehane ,horgan ,walsh have scoring in them.Problem is walsh isnt suited to there .If we put lehane in there,its a woeful call.

We have a bench and if we act fast we could finish with a strong team.If we do that we will win.If were not ruthless and act too late we could be beaten.

Our intensity must be spot on ,as limericks will be.It was said in the paper ,we just made 52 tackles in that munster final,11 by the forwards.

We must do more than tommorrow as Limerick intensity and tackle account from 2 to 9 wont be a problem,and have trained for an exrta month,were just back since the 16th

Who ever hits the ground running has huge momentum.With both teams named-im not that confident as i was during the weeks.

Great interview with Conor cusack on the late late .A great man,from the inside out,and so honest and geuine,a real inspiration.

Just a tip for any limerick lads from here travelling from here,go handy through buttevant i mean very handy,town is littered with huge pot holes,much much worse now with the brutal weather.Take it handy and take car lads going through,and give yerselfs time ,as munster match is in cork also.

Id expect a big North Cork at the match and Duhallow Crowd also ,and Mallow to Cork could be busy.

• Registered Users Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Archer3083

Is everyone looking forward to the match tonight. What's the general feeling? I think it could go either way. It'll be impossible to know if either team suffers a hangover from their losses in the championship last year, although Limerick's non-performance and exit to Clare in the semi-final stages is bound to be on their minds tonight.

Archer3083 wrote: »
    Is everyone looking forward to the match tonight. What's the general feeling? I think it could go either way. It'll be impossible to know if either team suffers a hangover from their losses in the championship last year, although Limerick's non-performance and exit to Clare in the semi-final stages is bound to be on their minds tonight.

I dont think limerick have any reason to regard that game as an indicator as i said it then in the lead up ,they were a beaten team ,as there were a one trick pony with a much over hyped manager that got lucky and was exposed again like in the past who was too conservatve,old style and hasnt got a clue when it came to tactics.

Once tj,doesnt try and take over ,O grady gives them a huge advantage from last year.

Very worried with that cork team.As john horgan said yesterday its a decent team.

Decent i agree,its not a strong team.If we act fast with the bench,winnable.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,882 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

This should be a handy enough win for Cork. First game can be hard to call but I would expect a win by 6 or more points. Hopefully the team play a nice fast brand of hurling and a few of the subs get a look in aswell. Conditions might hamper a good game but am looking forward to it.

We really don't have anything to go by, Cork didn't take part in the Waterford Crystal this year and played one game against UCC, not much of an indicator. I do think that game against Clare can have an impact on the Limerick psyche. This is Limerick's first really big game since then. It would make anyone question if Limerick have the bottle for big games. Limerick has a reputation of being a team that flatters to deceive, and they do have a reputation of being bottlers. It's a bit like the Cork football team.

Paddy Powers have Cork at 4/9 now low as 1/3.

From a -3 to -4 points in handicap now.

So, who are you tempted to put your money on? I wouldn't be backing Cork at that price, but if you expected a Limerick win, you'll get a good price about them

Archer3083 wrote: »
    So, who are you tempted to put your money on? I wouldn't be backing Cork at that price, but if you expected a Limerick win, you'll get a good price about them

No. Leaving it well alone. If I had gun to my head I would take Limerick +4 points, but think Cork will edge close affair.

I agree. I think it's just as well to enjoy the game and cheer for Cork and not secretly want Limerick to win to make money :-)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,882 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Cork ht/ft at 5/6 on bet365 proving very tempting.