Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 7,599 ✭✭✭eigrod

glanlea wrote: »
    hows de match going

0-10 to 0-02 to Cork after 30 mins. McCarthy saved a penalty (radio had no idea why it was given). Cork have strong wind behind them.

Commentary on C103 http://www.c103.ie/Home

0-11 to 0-03 at HT. Cork had 11 wides. Horgan's got a few nice scores.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,882 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

UCC win 0-10 v -009

What a finish !!
    UUJ scored a super equalizing point but the UCC center back scored a great point at the death to win - looked a point but looked wide aswell - but it was given !!

Billy Morgan - had them well tuned !

• Registered Users Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    UCC win 0-10 v -009

What a finish !!
    UUJ scored a super equalizing point but the UCC center back scored a great point at the death to win - looked a point but looked wide aswell - but it was given !!

Billy Morgan - had them well tuned !

Cracking finish. Thought UUJ once they starting coming back. Thought it was wide myself!

Laois 0-07 Cork 0-13 with 2 minutes to go. Wind is having a huge effect - Laois keeper put 2 puckouts wide.

Cork 0-14 Laois 0-07 Full Time. Job done in poor conditions without a lot of 1st choice starting.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

No excuses with that performance-woeful absloutey woeful.

People with dress this up ,but people need to be honest

Not acceptable.Report to come later.

Not a happy man.Huge concerns with two awful games.

Only one cork man happy tonight thats o grady with limerick

eigrod wrote: »
    Cork 0-14 Laois 0-07 Full Time. Job done in poor conditions without a lot of 1st choice starting.

Lad laois were missing 4.Dont make poor excuses.That was against an average laois in tranisition ,the poorest display in a long time.

Ten times worse than last week.Management cant coounter a sweeper.Huge worries.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,546 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

If laois had scored that pen toward the end of first half it could have been a lot different. Agree with thinks to much although its gard to read too much into hurling in February, especially night time hurling under lights

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,882 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

It will be interesting to see how Limerick get on against them. Cork should have won by more but such is life. A good win the next day should put us in a good position, which to me is all that matters after 2 games in February. If we were on fire now I'd be happier but I'd prefer it in the summer. I expect totally different performances from a full 15 on a summers day.
    Management aren't setting themselves in glory but I'd prefer they make the mistakes now and learn from them - they will need to.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

It will be interesting to see how Limerick get on against them. Cork should have won by more but such is life. A good win the next day should put us in a good position, which to me is all that matters after 2 games in February. If we were on fire now I'd be happier but I'd prefer it in the summer. I expect totally different performances from a full 15 on a summers day.
    Management aren't setting themselves in glory but I'd prefer they make the mistakes now and learn from them - they will need to.

Didn't get to see ye're match tonight, but I'm not overly surprised at the margin of difference. Laois really aren't a bad team at all... maybe ye should have won by more, I didn't see it, but from a Limerick pov, I'd be satisfied with the kind of margin against them in Portlaoise.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,145 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Bet lost:o

Ah well.

Least Cork won. Pity about conditions. Mate and father were at it. Said it runied the game.

Would not read too much into it lads.

Bet lost:o

Ah well.

Least Cork won. Pity about conditions. Mate and father were at it. Said it runied the game.

Would not read too much into it lads.

True, but I Think somebody will;)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,121 ✭✭✭zetecescort

great to see Darren Mc wasn't killed saving the penalty.

Congrats to UCC, Billy got a great dig in saying they had 30 genuine students on the panel.

I chuckled when he said - always liked him. Had him as manager for Corn Uí Mhuirí - pure honesty of effort and a little cuteness was all he asked of us.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,307 ✭✭✭Horse84

I dunno what to say anymore. All I'm praying for is they're hoping to peak for championship but that performance tonight was absolutely terrible again. Just woeful. Laois fought like dogs and won an amount of dirty ball.
    There are problems lads, serious problems. I dunno where things are going wrong but all I'll say about tonight is it was an illustration of why we should be fighting like hell to get out of 1b as fast as possible.
    Sickened.

who was the dig aimed at?

sorry if its obvious:o, not as in touch with College GAA

who was the dig aimed at?

sorry if its obvious:o, not as in touch with College GAA

'Some' colleges are known for having high profile inter county players playing for them......they may have a student id for that college but not necessarily a student there....'phantom' students is what they were call years ago, I'm sure there are better names for them these days.

Ah I see.

Good man Billy:D

This is going to be painful to write?why write it then,? Well i simply love Cork too much ,and am not going to stay quiet,or brush it up as okay victory ,and two points gained,when we gained  nothing in truth bar 2 points but lost a huge chance to get a winning margin,and this rubbish,as its early,were just back,we will see better days,blame the weather,blame the ptich,blame the players we had missing,are Myths that must be exposed and told why ,and this display was Unacceptable,and Nothing will change unless it is widely accepted ,that tonight were was awful to watch.

The weather yes was poor,but it was poor for Laois also,and it did not affect there 80 per cent crisp passing,spatial awaraness,there domination .of posesion for long periods,and most crucially there ability to win most 50/50 balls and there appreciation of space.They created at least three good goal chances,the penalty was one,and two more ,and for a team with 6 goals in two all ireland finals,Not One goal chance was created or ever looked likely to be.

You can only blame the weather if both teams had the same problems,they didnt.
    Yes it was wet,and windy and mucky ,but jesus lads it was no wear like hamilton v dngarvan,or hamilton v ard scoil in gale force winds in awful rain yet both teams played much better than cork.

11 points with the wind ,an average wind,in the 1st half and 3 in the second is just  horrendous.If laois had one fit forward like hyland for 70 minutes or one cork forward as they dominated us on the field,we were beaten.Dont kid ourselves,we do it will bite us in the arse before we have time to sit downg

The best excuse we were missing lehane,o farell etc.Dont make me  laugh.Be realistic,laois had zane keenan,cahir healy,walsh and more all missing,had no way near any forwards of our quailty to replace them*50 minutes before they got ANY SCORE From play tells how poor they were.

I said today i wouldnt be suprised if ,Hyand didnt start,as i had heard from my reliable scource,he had a broken thumb and wouldnt last a game.

Ah but ,laois are training for 8 weeks or more and were just back a month ,Complete unjustified rubbish.Im sorry lads that noneonese must be exposed as that.

Its our fourth game in ,and there is No excuse for such a lack of direction ,or Intensity and such an awful awful touch.
    Those that believe in the nonenese  that  we were raw yet blah blah etc,i say go down to clare training next tuesday ,ul north campus,astro turf 7 to 9.
    Now they play 15 or 2o minute games ,in 3 intervals.No disrespect to laois,but clare training(go down and watch and i gurantee you you will know its fact and not me spouting rubbish in what i say.)There passes are crisp,very few misplaced balls,about 7 in total in most sessions,and an intensity and touch way way above us,and they are just training the same as us with only games aginst,tipp in the waterford crystal,,galway in a challenge and Kilkenny.We had 3 games.Tipp in a challenge,limerick and tonight.

I discarded the ucc games,as they were meaningless for both teams.By the time they finish against dublin they have Just one more game ,we had.Yet our touch is awful,and you cant blame early season for a lack of Desire,intensity attuide,raw Unquenchable hunger.That doesnt come from games,it comes from within.

Also Do Not Forget ,Egan,Mccarthy,ellis,coughlan,sullivan,cadogan are all hurling with ucd,ucc and cit the last few weeks at elite college level.

Our problems had nothing to do with early season,as it had more to do with a complete lack of focus,no game plan,A Zero abilty as management now in five games(clare 4 last year)limerick and laois to beat a blanket defence.
    We are so predictable and aimeless long soul destroying ball after ball(look at the disgust of horgan and i dont blame him when taken of)to him and the rest of the forwards that were swamped and had no space by a pack of laois players ,and themx had a plan ,LIKE EVERY TEAM IN IRELAND NOW KNOWS,PLAY 8 IN DEFENCE,FOUR IN MIDFIED zone up to there half forward aera ,and a two man full forward line,and cork crumble,and are stale and one dimenshoal.

Only for 6 goals last year clare had us beaten out the gate.Teams no now ,dont concede goals,dont foul in the full back line if you have a top 3,and Cork are in trouble as the midfield and halforwards dont get enough ball to give the full forward line enough quailty ball to score.

Every team cork face will now play a sweeper ,bar offaly i would think as they want to be free and swashbucking ,and Cork will love that.Wexford,antrim ,have no doubt will do the same.Wexford at home should get us over the line,and we should beat antrim,but it wont just be a long ardous journey go to casement park(frank will hardy justify flying,now the White elephant has to be paid for)it unless we adapt to the sweeper we are in for a long ardous game.

I saw the lit v ucc wednesday and the harty cup final today ,and as i said at college and school it is no all about systems than off the cuff hurling,Jbm is Hell bent on playing our traditonal15 v 15 hurling.

Jbm cant conrol that as opponents wont set up that way.

Lit beat a star studded ul,6 to 1 shock winners as unlike ul with indivaudal talents they had a system,one marquee player in tony kelly ,yet they play to limit there strengths and minimize there weak aeras.

Doon played with a sweeper today and Ard scoil unlike Ul and Cork in that they had better players than there opponents ,doon,lit and laois ,they played a sweeper and beat them at there own game,and when doon couldnt counterattack as ard scoil had a sweeper ,but better men to score long distance points,Doon 6 down with ten to go had to play orthdox,take away the sweeper ,ard scoil got two goals in ten minutes as the space becametavailble.

But you must earn that ,and Cork have to play a possesion game ,and sweeper to draw teams out eventually.??then space is availble
    Hitting aimeless balls dowm on a half back line with 7 men is Lunacey,complete madness.

Cork have shrewd intelligent men ,but i am getting very worried ,that sheer,defiance and bullsh you can win an all ireland like 99 move the ball at pace,teams seek the sliothar everywhere,but can find it nowere is fine against kilkenny and tipp that play 15 v 15,but is worth a fiddlers fu**k against other teams that play with a sweeper

And have no doubt cody will play a sweeper if we meet again as he knows cork have too much pace for them and like 2006,he will crowd and swamp the middle third the same way he stopped ben and jerry in 2006.

Tactics win you all irelands more so than ever,as tradition and old status quo means ja**k ****,as teams are better prepared ,better coached ,and new coaces like davy,ger cunnighan ul laois tonight ,are embracing new ways and Evoultion ,and i admire and worship the ground jbm walks on,but i feel he is old style ,and against new way of style and fighting it,than if we embraced the possesion game we would be much better.

People say dont worry ,its just february.A Wake Up call in that were in to march nearly and JUST 11 weeks til Waterford in thurles.Not like last year we had til june.We are behind others like waterford who are training since decemeber,we got to Step it up.The honey moon attuide and lets not read much in to it,has got to be buried,we should be beating that laois team,severly limited by Much more and at least a goal.Laois are tenacious,work hard,but lads there just out of div 3,a young team ,and in development,we are Meant to be Serious all irelandtstandards.

Come on,be like Munster  rubgy have a truth and dare session,say what needs to be said for the good of the team.Jbm if i was him,i would summon them to an Emergency meeting ist thing in the morning,and have a serious serious meeting and lay on the line,you represent Cork,that red white jersey means something,and that perferomance would have been accepted against better team in the league last year within reason ,but with a stronger team and panel that have meant to Turned a corner,the poor displays against limerick and tonight,Wont be accepted,and management must share some of the blame also.

Tommorrow with a poor 6 forwards and no bench ,o grady will have a ,purpose,plan ,possesion game and intensity that they will win by four or 5 points ,and stay within range of us.If antrim dont show up,could be a bigger margin.

I said it last week in my posts,that the post match reports were far too generous to Cork and failed to acknowlege the serious defiences in an abject display with No game plan,no direction,or cohesion,poor lazy attuide ,and made excueses.

No excuses can be made for that display,and that is a very young laois team in development mode,just out of div 3.If clare,kilkenny,or limerick ,had them ,they would have beaten them handier as clare and limerick play a possetrion game.
    Laois dominated possesion in there half back line and midfield,and worked short,criser,accurate ball,had a better 1st touch,and a real intent and a puprose to there team,and we as a top two team in the country ,were clueless,lethartgic,stale and cumbersome in movement ,and thought and Laois were the better team ,and if they had Hyland fully fit or another forward would have been us.Thats two back to back poor displays by cork now.In New Zealand they "say once is an accident.,twice is a trend".A very worringly trend for Cork ,after two games,truth be told.

Cork cant beat that style .So as the saying goes you cant beat them,join them.Every training session cork must deploy a sweeper,and short,crisp passing,amongst each other must be the focal of every session.
    Also ,please please dont blame Lehanes absence.He would have made No Impact as as great as he is a forward Cannot score unless he has the ball.A pretty basic but fundamental aspect of Hurling,often forgotten.

I was told the cork team and i posted it here thursday afternoon.
    The original team i said was correct.Ellis at 8,and lorchan at 5.
    The team that was offically announced with ellis at 5 and lorchan at 8,did not start.
    Great to see lorchan at 5,but cork never played with a sweeper.
    I'M sickened after that game,gutted.Our main problems we couldnt counter the sweeper.And managemement knew laois were going to deploy it.

My Ratings:
    Mccarthy-everything i said he would be,i had no fear and was fully justfied 3 super saves ,and not at fault for puckouts ,he varied them well.
    O neill man of the match for me.Majestic,sweeped oceans of ball,showed great leadership and loved the freedom of 2.If he stays there ,an all star two.

Mcdnollel majestic,awesome but didnt play as a 3,laois had a two man full forward line like i said would have,and mcdonnell pushed way up as far as midfield,carried an amount of ball,broke the tackle and hungry for the ball.Wasnt tested at the back.A real option at midfield,said it in august last year ,has pace and touch,for there,started there in the club and in 2007 as a minor for cork.Worth a look.Savage pace.

Spillane,good ,abrasive.tenacouis,3 super hooks and went he went in to 3 in the secood half won aerial ball and showed a bullish aspect to hes game.Leave him there,give the lad games.Much better option than cadogan.

Mcloughlin,a poor start but majestic overall,hurled oceans of ball,real presence ,and everybody can see why i pleaded for that move the last year.Leave him there.

Joyce was excellent,won a load of aerial ball,and covered a lot of ground,much better with lorcham with him.Good deliveres and a great point.

Egan-same old.Inconsistent.Awful clearances,clumsy yellow,drop him for the next two games.I thought he turned a cornes,last week,no he hasnt.Bring in jamie nagle and give him a game.

Ellis better than last week ,but still miles of intercounty .Poor deliveries,awful wide,and in a wet night exposed for pace ,and an awful touch.Not good enough.Had hes two games ,some one else deserves a chance.How he lasted a full game is beyound me.

Haughney i said wouldnt play himself on the cork panel ,as wouldnt be tested ,and said a mininum two points.I saw enough tonight.My doubts unfortunately proven,another naughton,lovely wristy hurler,hand as fast as john wayne.
    Fine in the comfort of a sun kissed pairc,dry day ,free open huring.In a wet ptich,small and a battle of wills more than hurling abilty,he failed dismally.

He went missing,didnt show an attuide ,like cadogan ,and same failings as an u21 were there,lacks the temparment for intercounty,clare or kikenny would have a field day with him.He wont mix it.

O shea,must get a run there ,very brave,worked hard ,and mixed it and has the hurling.Must start with kearney the next day.

Harnedy-hes mininum scores is bar one league game,every other game got two goints,again got two tonight,and won a lot of broken ball and showed for it.Needs games.He will be fine.

Couglan too static-never moved around.Fought hard but didnt do much in truth.Heavily congested aera.I wouldnt discard him yet.Not a centre forward.

Sullivan,an awful wide,but he was brave,worked hard,covered a lot of ground.As i said rough around the edges but i would perist with him.

Cadogan i hear got man of the match.Between him and shane o neill.Super player-3 great points,wm two frees.won lots and showed for lots of ball and yes had two wides but i wdnuldnt fault him,hard shots.I always said he had it.

Super player,real contender for May.Gone with the u21 footballers now for the kerry game.Super two games-5 points from play.

Cronin very poor but i would play him at 14 again as i said cork had to play a two man full forward line ,but cork dhpdnt,just lobbed aimless ball down on him,laois had a defender on him and a spare man to clean up any ball campion broke away.Cronin wasnt ulised correctly.No wonder he was taken of.Not hes fault.He will have better games.

Horgan worked hard,showed for the ball,two great points,but never got enough quailty ball,and its understandable why he looked so frustrated coming off.

Kearney was super,won a lot of ball and moved it at pace when he came on.

Cahalane ,worked hard ,again a baptism of fire like last week ,as he was thrown up front with no ball in to him and a swarmped middle third.

Cian mac-waste of time bringing him on,we know what he can do and what he Cant do.

Horse84 wrote: »
    I dunno what to say anymore. All I'm praying for is they're hoping to peak for championship but that performance tonight was absolutely terrible again. Just woeful. Laois fought like dogs and won an amount of dirty ball.
    There are problems lads, serious problems. I dunno where things are going wrong but all I'll say about tonight is it was an illustration of why we should be fighting like hell to get out of 1b as fast as possible.
    Sickened.

Totally agree.

Thank f*** others can see what what clear as day to see.

• Registered Users Posts: 98 ✭✭corkrobinhood

First game ive missed all year,by the sounds of things I didnt miss much,heard the result and the stats,didnt make for pleasant thought.

Many going up to Dublin next Saturday night for the football?
    Hopefully i'll be free to make the trip,be interesting to see how fair on the wide open space of Croker against one of the best mobile teams around at the minute.

It's time to be asking now is there a big move away from the game plan we had been trying to implement the last 2 years to something else and if so what exactly is that game plan now and if so why? I just can't exactly make head nor tail of it.
    All I see is a defence doing well enough and then ball after ball horses aimlessly into a forward line with no attempt to creat space and absolutely zero goal chances being created (except moylan's against limerick) being created.
    The midfield now is a huge cause of concern where just cannot seem to win 70:30 ball not to mind 50:50.
    I'm just hugely concerned at the moment with this.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Jesus some of the posts on this thread are crazy. It's a ****ty saturday night in February lads. Relax a small bit. The relentless rants dripping with negativity are getting boring.

I don't post negative posts for the sake of it, in fact I'm usually the one saying the opposite and telling others off for being negative but there was nothing with the possible exception of the emergence of Alan cadogan to be taken from this league so far.
    We have to start getting real lads, I've been following this team a long time and rarely miss any sort of a match, if we're serious of winning anything not to mind an all Ireland we have to start showing intent and purpose in just those cold ****ty feb nights in portlaoise. We've won nothing lads absolutely nothing and I believe it's the mentality more than anything that has to change.

I agree-people must see there are a huge worries going forward.
    And when we need stabilty we bring in eoin cadgan for offaly and wexford.so joyce,spillane or lorchan loose??
    What absoulte horses**t like wise cahalane but noboddy has the good grace in Cork to go against the apple cart ,and say what a joke it is and we piss away time trying out Cadogan and Cahalane,not a chance of it working..In Cork a shouth mouth always prevails.We need a roy keane figure to come out in cork and said its a joke.One reporter ,a woman (knows more about the game than some who clain to )out there said it wouldnt work.She wont get credit she should for saying.
    Surley to jesus others in Cork see that.Course they do,but no ah all is rosy.Everbody apart from some in cork realise that.

The simple answer is corks style hasnt changed greatly from last year and the problems we have now,are the same as last year or 2012.

Give cork a game of hurling,like tipp in the league(no intensity in that game yet the snow whites,say we were awesome,course we were,we were allowed play),Dublin went 15 v 15 last year,and kilkenny went oruhdox.We are super in a game of hurling.

Sweet s**g all as changed,since 2012 we cant beat a sweeper,Galway played a two man full forward line 2012 semi,and swarmed the middle third we were suffocated.

Limerick last week had a sweeper,we were clueless.Clare twice in the league ,and then twice in the all ireland ,had a sweeper and we were exposed.Laois,no disrespect,had our measure,we have to play a possesion game ,and have plan a or b,or we are going nowhere.

Our style hasnt changed greatly,yes more aimeless balls,but teams have now seen play a sweeper and force us do that ,as cork wont do a short possesion game.

We have no choice but to play 2004 cork type,now advanced clare game that limerick are doing.
    Jbm has go against free flowing philophsy ,as teams know how to beat cork.

We have players suited to a possesion game,and possesion is 9/10 of the law.
    We cant win 50/50 ball as our half forwards are bunched and crowed out of it by a sheer weight of numbers.What do we do,instead of playing away from those cul de sacs,we play in to the.Deeply frustrating.

At ul v ucc,an intercounty manager with loads of expierence,when i asked bout cork this year ,shook hes head and said cork long first time hurling ,go long wont win anything,and we should be going with the cork 2004 style ,not the 1999 etc way ,as we would be some force.

Jbm is a great manager,shrewd ,but imagine if footballers had that display,cuthbhert would be criticised.
    That display deserves to be criticicsed.Truly Woeful.

Jbm can win cork an all ireland but only if he accepts against clare,galway,wexford,laois,limerick ,Orthdox games are meant nothing,and Cork MUST EVLOVE IN THE NEW GAME.
    WE HAVE THE PLAYERS IDEAL SUITED TO THAT STYLE!.
    If Lit played that cork team last night,they would have beaten us out the gate,and Ard scoil no Exaggeration would have also beat us with the sweeper game.

Jesus some of the posts on this thread are crazy. It's a ****ty saturday night in February lads. Relax a small bit. The relentless rants dripping with negativity are getting boring.

Wake up and the smell the cofee lad.

No need to worry.Don't make me laugh ffs.

• Registered Users Posts: 260 ✭✭Indie.

Ard scoil no Exaggeration would have also beat us with the sweeper game.

Thats a bit much no?

Cant really comment as I wasnt at the game but its a bit early in the year for all the negativity IMO. Just looking at Limerick's league performances last year where they had sub par performances against both Carlow and Laois at home, then going on to have a successful year.

• Registered Users Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Connorzee

Was at the match last night. Usually TTM1 you're on point with your assessment of players, and i agree with all of them except McLoughlin, he was awful last night. A lot of aimless balls down the line to the spare Laois man, a free near the end that he hit from one side of the field and put out over the sideline at the opposite side, against the wind i might add so it wasnt a factor. He also dropped 2 handy catches and ran the ball over the sideline twice. I agree he's better at half back, but last night was not one of his good nights.

McCarthy's puck outs were a throwback to the days of Cusack short puck outs. Grand against the wind, but the first half with the wind it was stupid. Whether he was told to or not i dont know, but would Nash have been hitting short pucks to the corner backs and letting them hit it down the field with the wind behind him?? I dont think so. Good saves though in fairness.

Our full forward line in the first half, regardless of the extra man, were way too far out. Cronin might as well have not been there, looked slow and clumsy.

Thought Micky Sull was harsly taken off at half time, worked tirelessly and tackled very well. The bad wide you speak of, Pa Cronin came racing out towards him from fullforward and almost blocked him down himself. No fault of sullivans.

It is February however, but they should still be hammering the **** out of the likes of Laois, no disrespect to them.

On a different note, as the Laois keeper hit two puckouts wide, with the fibreglass hurley, does anyone know if the goalkeeper can score (point/goal) directly from a puckout? For instance if the puckout was dropping into the goals without a touch from a forward could the cork goalie just let it land in the goals and take the free out or does he need to save it?

Would agree re mcloughlin, I'm a fan of his and believe 5 is his best position but he was embarrassingly bad last night esp in the first half. He'll never play as poor again.