Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 5,259 ✭✭✭slingerz

slingerz wrote: »
    Amazing to see Sean White at centre back. He was excellent for Clonakilty U21s last year in their campaign. He didnt make the starting line up for the minors last season though!
    Sorry now Sean white did play with the Cork minors against Tipp and kerry last year,he started both games.
    Please look at corks last two games ,the replay and the the tipp game.
    White played.
    Did i not say two games he played,so that means lhpke i said.

Thanks for posting the 1st game.

I alreadly know tha .Post the other two games.

You said he didnt play with cork at all.

Firstly, I said he didnt start, which i've proved he didnt. Please try reading what is written

Secondly, to go from not being a first choice starter for the minors last year to centre back for the 21's the following year is a massive jump.

i believe he is plenty good enough though and would be a big fan of the lad. The critiscism is aimed at the minor selectors from last year that didnt fully believe in the boy. I know that for a fact from the interaction i had with them last year.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

Hey,

I have read what you wrote,thats the reason i had to clarify ,you said "he didnt make the starting line up for the minors last season though"

This is simple.He didnt start the 1st game.He started two games after it ,the replay and the munster Semi final.Thats not my opinion,that is fact.
    Contary to what you said,he did make the starting 15 twice.

You claim the minors had not much in faith him.Im sorry why bring him in the ist game,and start him in two if that was the case.He was highely rated in that set up .

He did-started two games.Therefore to say he didnt start with the minors,i think you will come to realise is incorrect ,as cork played 3 games at that grade,he started two ,the majortiy ,the Replay and the Munster final.Thats the point ,plain and simple.I could quite easily post the two teams,replay and tipp game ,to prove that,i dont think there is a need to as people know he started them,or go to munster gaa and it shows he did

So no ,its no suprise he started.And like martin this year,and maguire anmong many others down the years made the leap from minor to u21 in year 1.A lot of minors over the years tend to do that.

Didnt kevin crowley play senior wi hout having a start at u21,,shows the jump isnt that supriring even at senior nowg

I do agree with one point ,the only valid point you made,yes sean white is a top ,top defender .
    I wouldnt be too worried re vaughan,while as you say ,he is suited to a central role,he can do a job other aeras.kiely ,is there to do a specfic job.

That team was picked to do a job,and there will be poisitonal changes to it ,as you will come to realise if you do make the game to watch it.

If you dont lhke others that cant make it kerry radio are doing it live.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,147 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

• Registered Users Posts: 2,307 ✭✭✭Horse84

That's bloody terrible news. I almost get sick in the stomach when I see that about any player, no matter where they hail from.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,883 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Shocking news. Way too many players getting serious injuries nowadays - seems to happen way too often. Just bad luck I guess.

Lot of Cruciate's though isnt there?

I mean you could make a Cork 15 that has had them, sadly.

Would not wish it on any player from any county.

Devasting blow for Cork football,but more importantly the man himself.

I wish him the best and my thoughts are with the lad.
    He joins the list of Ciaran sheehan,Colm o neill,David Gould,Rory O Sullivan,etc that had that injury.We get Colm back and loose another to it .Awful.Seriousy it is a major issue that needs to be looked at in Cork and the Gaa.

As for Cork he is a huge loss,in that there was a glimmer ofhope that cuthbert would give him game time eventually at some stage,now that hope is gone ,we are in Dire,dire trouble ,with the Butcher and Gould as walsh main partner.

One guy doesnt work hard enough ,blessed with natural talent ,yet he cant or wont put two games back to back of a high standard.He goes in the blink of eye to good at best to medicore.
    You wont win an all ireland with him or the butcher at 9.

Butccher has an attuide ,hunger and desire ,and superb work ethic,but cant kick (i mean not one kick to make a point v dublin ,for hes fan club),i mean hes converison rate of rate of around 10 kicks,and he gets 3 right isnt what we need.Has no guile or poise,pure workhorse ,ideal for counihan era,a comple e hindrance and the rock we will perish on ,as our fast free flowing football,goes flat as a pancake when he has to make a fast defence splitting pass.He's handpassing is behind rather than ahead of the reciptaent .He takes too much time on the ball,before he knows what he is going to do with it.Doesnt have an attacking intstinct.

The Ireland rubgy team of 1994 ,had eddie sullivan backs coach,remember that double scissors move ,for that famous simon Gheoghan try in twickenham in the corner.Ireland had attacking backs down the years,bradley,mullin,staples ,o shea(when he went to england was a potent counter attacketr)riche wallace ,a super winger(two super tries v australia ,and scotland beating at least 3 defenders )to play a fast open game .

Crucially ,it never happened constantly ,as we had Eric Elwood,among other one dimenshoal out halfs as the conductor in chief at 10.He,like many before and after him,for years, couldnt pass as he hadnt the skills or the vision to see when and when not to pass.He made the odd break and ireland got the spectular try,once in 6 or 7 games if lucky,but too often our attack never got going and you had one of our greatest ever wingers,simon gheogan ,having such a low strike rate,as he never got the ball.Back then for years Mullins held the record number of trys at 14 ,before he came out of retirment .We had a top class outside centre and wingers,yet we had no conductor.

Cork football could suffer the same fate as that ireland rubgy team ,in the mid 90,s.
    Elwood was a fine club player in hes own right ,in that he got the penalites and drop goal in 93 to rubber stamp ,gallimhs famous try ,in our 17-3,in a wet landsowne road.That game and style ,he was fine.

Elwood was fine in a comfort zone-like another out half,one game wonder ,Derek Mclesse 12 points in hes debut v france in the par de prince ,yet he couldnt buy a pass,and thats why despite scoring all our 12 points that day ,when we got roasted by france,he never become a regular.
    Ireland at that time craved for a Ralph Keyes,remember he dummy try in twickenham,and hes drop goals but wonderful hand in irelands counter attack from deep in w cup q finak 91 v australia that set up that try for Gordon Hamilton.

Sullivan is the gaelic football model of Elwood,suited to a slow ,one style type game,but for all the effort ,he lacks the subltey,guile and grace at the top level,and the skill set,and ideal in a comfort zone of a small ptich,slow methodical game.

People today say bring back Alan o connor.Not a chance,has zero pace,watch him in that he was miles of the pace 2013 v dublin.

Cork need ,a man to partner walsh,and two subs to cover that aera.
    Laoire is one option .Maguire may need time to grow in to that role.

I would bring in paul flynn
    Ballyclough,never fancied by the Messiah Counihan,that i would take in favour of flynn,as counihan was a woeful judge of a player.

Flynn is fast,mobile ,strong,savage reader of the game,a super engine,and great at winning breaking ball,superb kick passer ,and also can play at 10 also or at half back ,and has a great understanding of the game,superb when cit won the fitzgibbon ,and with cork u21 .

Should get a call up ,and cuthbhert coached ballyclough,8 years ago aprox,should have contacts in the club,that would make him aware of hes potential.He is ony 25 aprox.

Cuthbert woefully ignored Deane for too long.He can't do the same with others.

Midfield is the achilles heal of this team .
    Every other aera is fine in the team.

Cork had 3 games in the Minor 2013 season ,

Kerry,drawn game,replay,and then Tippereary.

Scource is Munster gaa.ie for both teams Cork v Kerry Replay(NOT DRAWN GAME)

Replay 2013 Cork v kerry Minor football
    Munster GAA Web : Electric Ireland Munster MFC Q-F Replay –
    CORK: A Casey; M McSweeney, K Flahive, D Quinn; SEAN WHITE S Cronin, K O’Neill; R Harkin, K O’Connor; J Bushe, C Kingston, R O’Sullivan; M Cahalane, A Moynihan, R O’Sullivan.
    Subs: D O’Driscoll for O’Sullivan, K Histon for Quinn (both 36), R Cahalane for Moynihan (43), P O’Brien for O’Neill (51), C O’Driscoll for Cahalane (60).
    KERRY: S Ryan; ST Dillon, C Ó Lúing, P Ó Conchúir; M Flaherty, G Horan, B Sugrue; É Ó Conchúir, K Shanahan; T Ó Sé, J Savage, D Foran; C Keane, C Jordan, K Spillane.
    Subs: M Burns for Spillane, F Clifford for Dillon (half-time), P Carroll for Foran (50), S O’Connor for Ó Conchúir (54).
    Referee: D Grogan (Tipperary)

Cork v tippereary 2013 minor football-

http://munster.gaa.ie/2013/05/15/munster-minor-football-championship-semi-final-cork-v-tipperary-2/

CORK: A Casey; M McSweeney, K Flahive, D Quinn; SEAN WHITE, S Cronin (c), K O’Neill; K O’Connor, P Kelleher; J Bushe, R Harkin, K Cremin; R O’Sullivan, M Cahalane, M Hurley.
    Subs: A Moynihan (Cronin 30); P O’Neill (Kelleher 30); R Cahalane (O’Sullivan 37); D O’Driscoll (Harkin 41); C O’Driscoll (O’Neill 52).
    Referee: S Joy (Kerry)

To prove it is the same and only SEAN WHITE,hes club is down below further in that page

Team News
    CORK (MF v Tipperary): A Casey (Kiskeam); M McSweeney (Newcestown), D Quinn (St Finbarr’s), K Flahive (Douglas); S WHITE(Clonakilty), S Cronin (Nemo Rangers), K O’Neill (Glenville); C Kingston (Douglas), R Harkin (Mallow); J Bushe (Ilen Rovers), K O’Connor (Mallow), K Cremin (Boherbue); R O’Sullivan (Kilmacabea), M Cahalane (Bandon), M Hurley (Castlehaven). Subs: Colm O’Driscoll (Castlehaven), P Kelleher (Western Gaels), K Histon (Cobh), R Cahalane (Sliabh Rua), J Moynihan (Canovee), P O’Neill (Ballincollig), A Moynihan (Canovee), D O’Driscoll (Clann na nGael), Conor O’Driscoll (Mizen Rovers).

These two games also INDEFINETLY show how highely rated he was,as noticed,he was not even subbed in the last two games,and i have it on good authority he would have started the Munster final should we won

And also he was used in the drawn game,when they needed stability etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 260 ✭✭Indie.

Cholaiste Cholm Balincollig won the Munster B tonight in Cloughduv.

• Registered Users Posts: 52 ✭✭mcgyvor

Devasting blow for Cork football,but more importantly the man himself.

I wish him the best and my thoughts are with the lad.
    He joins the list of Ciaran sheehan,Colm o neill,David Gould,Rory O Sullivan,etc that had that injury.We get Colm back and loose another to it .Awful.Seriousy it is a major issue that needs to be looked at in Cork and the Gaa.

As for Cork he is a huge loss,in that there was a glimmer ofhope that cuthbert would give him game time eventually at some stage,now that hope is gone ,we are in Dire,dire trouble ,with the Butcher and Gould as walsh main partner.

One guy doesnt work hard enough ,blessed with natural talent ,yet he cant or wont put two games back to back of a high standard.He goes in the blink of eye to good at best to medicore.
    You wont win an all ireland with him or the butcher at 9.

Butccher has an attuide ,hunger and desire ,and superb work ethic,but cant kick (i mean not one kick to make a point v dublin ,for hes fan club),i mean hes converison rate of rate of around 10 kicks,and he gets 3 right isnt what we need.Has no guile or poise,pure workhorse ,ideal for counihan era,a comple e hindrance and the rock we will perish on ,as our fast free flowing football,goes flat as a pancake when he has to make a fast defence splitting pass.He's handpassing is behind rather than ahead of the reciptaent .He takes too much time on the ball,before he knows what he is going to do with it.Doesnt have an attacking intstinct.

The Ireland rubgy team of 1994 ,had eddie sullivan backs coach,remember that double scissors move ,for that famous simon Gheoghan try in twickenham in the corner.Ireland had attacking backs down the years,bradley,mullin,staples ,o shea(when he went to england was a potent counter attacketr)riche wallace ,a super winger(two super tries v australia ,and scotland beating at least 3 defenders )to play a fast open game .

Crucially ,it never happened constantly ,as we had Eric Elwood,among other one dimenshoal out halfs as the conductor in chief at 10.He,like many before and after him,for years, couldnt pass as he hadnt the skills or the vision to see when and when not to pass.He made the odd break and ireland got the spectular try,once in 6 or 7 games if lucky,but too often our attack never got going and you had one of our greatest ever wingers,simon gheogan ,having such a low strike rate,as he never got the ball.Back then for years Mullins held the record number of trys at 14 ,before he came out of retirment .We had a top class outside centre and wingers,yet we had no conductor.

Cork football could suffer the same fate as that ireland rubgy team ,in the mid 90,s.
    Elwood was a fine club player in hes own right ,in that he got the penalites and drop goal in 93 to rubber stamp ,gallimhs famous try ,in our 17-3,in a wet landsowne road.That game and style ,he was fine.

Elwood was fine in a comfort zone-like another out half,one game wonder ,Derek Mclesse 12 points in hes debut v france in the par de prince ,yet he couldnt buy a pass,and thats why despite scoring all our 12 points that day ,when we got roasted by france,he never become a regular.
    Ireland at that time craved for a Ralph Keyes,remember he dummy try in twickenham,and hes drop goals but wonderful hand in irelands counter attack from deep in w cup q finak 91 v australia that set up that try for Gordon Hamilton.

Sullivan is the gaelic football model of Elwood,suited to a slow ,one style type game,but for all the effort ,he lacks the subltey,guile and grace at the top level,and the skill set,and ideal in a comfort zone of a small ptich,slow methodical game.

People today say bring back Alan o connor.Not a chance,has zero pace,watch him in that he was miles of the pace 2013 v dublin.

Cork need ,a man to partner walsh,and two subs to cover that aera.
    Laoire is one option .Maguire may need time to grow in to that role.

I would bring in paul flynn
    Ballyclough,never fancied by the Messiah Counihan,that i would take in favour of flynn,as counihan was a woeful judge of a player.

Flynn is fast,mobile ,strong,savage reader of the game,a super engine,and great at winning breaking ball,superb kick passer ,and also can play at 10 also or at half back ,and has a great understanding of the game,superb when cit won the fitzgibbon ,and with cork u21 .

Should get a call up ,and cuthbhert coached ballyclough,8 years ago aprox,should have contacts in the club,that would make him aware of hes potential.He is ony 25 aprox.

Cuthbert woefully ignored Deane for too long.He can't do the same with others.

Midfield is the achilles heal of this team .
    Every other aera is fine in the team.
    could michael shields be an option as he wont be full back and we have enough for full back line

• Registered Users Posts: 5,121 ✭✭✭zetecescort

somebody really needs to look at the amount of knee injuries in GAA. I wouldnt be following them closely but I cant recall hearing rugby or soccer players getting injured as much, certainly not at the highest levels.

best of luck in your recovery Ruairi.

Absoulelty,indefinely No,caterogally a disaster if shields is even considered ,yes he played one game in the sigerson this year ,but we have a Major problem in the middle,dont rob the rich to give the poor,and end up with two problems.

We have depth in the full back line ,but thats with shields there.A lot of complete and utter bo***x,is spoken of ,re with have clancy as a corner backt in some quaters.He isnt one.

We have shields who can play 2 or 3,cads,and cronin .

Galvin and crowley and jamie sul are viable options ,but you take shields out ,and you with the black card and injury you dont have much cover.Shields took time to be converted ,from half back to corner,we cant piss that time and effort down the drain as were short at midfield,and id rather be weak at midfield then move the lad out and be poor there also.

I dont think he is suited at 9,as tends to ,fine at corner back ,run and carry the ball a bit too much.
    He gives the full back line pace,and expierence,i was the only one here in november ,that advocated he stays at 2,but i would say many would support moving to midfied is a non runner.

Options are

Laoire-present option
    Paul flynn -present option
    Maguire-in time
    Darragh murphy-in time
    Kiely-in time

Non starters
    Alan o connor-retired,modern game not suited to hes style.

Sean dinnen,superb potential,a young farmer,young family barely has time for club game

Cahalane-huge road get back to hes standard,maybee in july ,could be,superb v galway minor harry houidhna comeback 2010,and v tyrone 2nd half final,cleary saw potential he had to start him last year at there for u21,then had move him back v fast as he was needed eleswhere.

June is before we can expect hes fitness to back but we cant risk waiting til then ,to c can he do it,we must find a partner for walsh now and let them grow,bond ,and deveolp,cohdmsion,symetary ,telephaty ,natural understanding.That takes time.

Cahalane should get games at half back ,as he doesmt make it,we have 5 other options for one spot.

The margin for error is minute,due to limited rescources in comparison to an abundanace of riches at half back,we got to be Pracial,logical ,and Astute and not a happy clappy ,try a lad for the sake of it.

Visualistion davys methods-lads turn out the lights,ask the wife or girlfriend ,to give you a moment.CLOSE YOur eyes,close the door.,go to a dark quiet room, and imagine Shields.,gould or Butcher v Mayo ,all ireland semifinal against the two o sheas or gibbons.

My heart i could feel pounding ,my lips go dry,my palms hand sweaty,my breaths going from calm,rythmic calmimg breaths,to fast shallow gulps of air,and my whole body drennched in sweat ,right through to my Cork underpants(there is such a thing,i wear them),all due to a Nightmaric vision of fear of any of those 3 lads being dominated ,and a great ,great player in shields being made look poor.And the pre match talk is,if had a midfield we could have won,fu**kit anyway.TOO late to cry wolf then.We must plan for the Future Now.

Collins or kelly aint options either.
    If all else fails John o rourke is an option better than collins.

• Registered Users Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Connorzee

Offaly team has been named, dont think there's any need to post it as bar Dooley and Bergin they have nothing and shouldn't cause us much trouble hopefully.

At midelton all ireland semi in clauian

Porst teams at h time

Midelton against a gael force wine
    1-3 to 1-8 h time just conceded goal close h time

Looney showed why he is a cork minor a superb goal

Smith and looney and mcarthy and martin great gamer

Have wind 2nd half hope it is a strong

Dingle 2-10 Macroom 2-6 a few mins into 2nd half in Corn Ui Mhuiri

Dingle win 3-14 to 3-9

Dingle won.Better team.

Macrooms tactics didnt help them though.

Hard luck to De Le Salle, gave it their all and a fine achievement from such a small school. Final score 3-14 to 3-9

Midelon beat athenry 2-7 to 1-9

superb game hurling
    Supercome back

In all ireland final march 29th v kilkenny cbs

Manley 2nd goal and stand up take bow take bow killan tracey injury time match winning point

Super game of hurling

Great day cork underage hurlinp

Seadna smitih man of the match at centre back

Post teamsheets ,do repost later.

Tried up load photos earlier,wdnt upload.

Midelton panel victourius all ireland semifinal

Maloney and paudie o brien subs for parker and harrington

Lads how much in for double header tomorrow?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,307 ✭✭✭Horse84

Lads how much in for double header tomorrow?

15 at the gate I think 10 if u can go to participating Supervalu stores

Horse84 wrote: »
    15 at the gate I think 10 if u can go to participating Supervalu stores

Thats great value. Cheers will be heading along.

Are tickets been sold in Supervalu is that what you mean?

Thats great value. Cheers will be heading along.

Are tickets been sold in Supervalu is that what you mean?

Ya not all supervalus tho

MIDelton cbs 2-7 to Athenry .1-91

A dry claughan ,but jesus twas windy ,extremely.A shame as two great teams.
    Midelton were down1-8 to 1-3 at half time ,but were against a huge wind,and couldnt get out there own half.

Athenry are a big strong team,and captain fantaisc Adrian greaney,at 3,patrick foley in the corner ,the majestic centre back jack fitzpatrick, shane bannon at 9,hardirman at centre foward supported by Cian salmon and loftus got great points and should of been more ahead but for Hegarty at 3, the awesome martin at 4,and the superb half back line of Seadna smith(u17 cork this year unlucky not to make the cork minor)and sean o connor of fr o neills awesome.

That unit was stablilesd when o brien came on.They got a super goal by cork minor john looney,getting goals in most games,got the ball at pace ,the far corner ,and drifted away from goal,but hit a bullet of a goal,like luke o farrell 2012 league v tipp in thurles.

Awesome goal,and that settled them,as was a shaky 1st twenty minutes.Beausang got a gem of a point,but them athenry got a peach of a goal,i think it was salmon to lead by 5 at h time.

Butty mccarthy at midfield had a stormer(guaranteed minor next year)tore in the game in the second half with maloney having a super game.
    Seadna smyith christ what a game.I counted 8 yes 8 clean catches at centre back,and he hurled left and right,and covered the full back line against the wind time an again with martin.

When the need was greatest he lead,A born leader ,i always said ,he pushed up with the wind in the second half half,and superb,crisp deliverys to hes forwasds,who after a quite 1st half with no ball ,thundered in to the second half.

Garan manley got lovely points and a crucial goal,a chip of the old man,Ex cork player goal in 92 senior final v kilkenny ,had a great end to the game.

Jack mcdonnell ,josh beausang,looney all had a blinding last ten against a 12 man athenry defence that hung on ,gamely as they could,but Killan tracey with a superb ,awerome match winner.

It was awful on athenry,my heart went to them,none of the teams deserved to be beaten,it was epic,top class,a high standard of hurling,and extra time doomed.
    There can be only one winner,and thank god it was the magpies,and roll on the all ireland final ,march 29th,venue to be decided against a team they have beaten in challenge matches ,kilkenny cbs.

I will go,i wnt miss that for the world.I was going to go the corn mhuiri,but when realised this was on ,had to go as its an all ireland hurling semifinal.

They came back against ard scoil 9 down,had to miss that game ,as at clyda game in the Munster club,but again today showed when behind ,they are never beaten ,and hat courage,bravery ,and determination ,blessed with supesrb skill of
    Martin,smyth,o connor,mccarthy,looney and manley ,that they were a joy to watch.

All 15 men and the two subs ase a credit to there clubs,to the school and to the County of cork ,and Ronane Dwane and Sean hurley deserve immense credit for today.
    Thank ye lads.

Roll on the 29th of march .

On a side note as i have said for months,watch limerick minor hurling team.Okay wexford ,are a bit behind in trainhng but still limerick with the lynches,nash,cosgave etc,i heard in ul grass ptich beat wexford 5-12 to wexford 0-6 in a minor hurling challege today in ul.

Indie. wrote: »
    Dingle won.Better team.

Macrooms tactics didnt help them though.

Who got the goals for Macroom?

You have macroom team?

Who got the goals for Macroom?

You have macroom team?

Joe Ryan,John Murphy and think James Moynihan scored the other.Dingle scored a goal after both of Macrooms first two.A real killer just before half time..

Thanks indie

How did Peter kellihr do?anything impress you from intercounty perspective