Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 184 ✭✭FrasierCrane

Hi folks,
    Driving from Dublin on Sunday for the game and intend to come through the tunnel and hopefully park somewhere near Cork Con's rugby ground. I know it is fairly residential around there so I was wondering what the parking situation is like?

Cork Con themselves had parking (paid I presume) at the football last week so they will probably do the same again this week.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,307 ✭✭✭Horse84

Cork unchanged for Sunday. Cahalane and surprisingly Ellis marked fit.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,882 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

I wonder which one will have to come off first.
    Not a good sign that we have to start 2 players in pivotal positions that are not 100%

How long they last could have a big bearing on the outcome.

• Registered Users Posts: 34 btownboy

I have to say I am unbelievably excited about the match. I just cannot wait. I am living in Limerick and will be travelling down early Sunday morning to pick up the father and then go into town and meet all the lads. Going to walk down Pana, stop along the way maybe long valley or cantys onto parnell place and then the bars across the river. It is going to be amazing.

I've been to sports all across the world - baseball in texas, Celtics in Boston, premiership, bundesliga, lions and AFL and nothing compares to this type of sports event.

I really hope Cork can win. I really hope they can show what Cork is all about.

I am expecting a HUGE atmosphere in the Pairc and the Limerick folk will play their part too.

I bought 2 new jerseys for this match and all! I am demented with anticipation.

Up the Rebels!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Figsy32

How do people see it going?

Judging by the Limerick team they're going to play just 2 in the full forward line which suits us down to the ground I think. I'd expect our backs to line out the same as against Clare with Cahalane coming out to wing back and Ellis in more of a sweeping role.

Matchups as always are key. I'd like to see Joyce take Hannon and Cahalane on Downes, leaving Lorcan with Breen. Lorcan would be at a bit of a height disadvantage but he did well enough in similar circumstances against Conlan.

I'd probably go Maccy on Dowling as he's a bit better in the air than O'Neill. Limerick seem to hit a lot of aimless ball when they play two inside so I'd be confident enough we'll be pretty tight. The big danger is Limerick running at us like Gleeson did for Waterford.

Midfield will be a massive battle but if the two lads with Cooper helping can play close to how they did the last day we should scrape it.

I've a feeling the pace in our forward line could do damage. It's the perfect day and the perfect matchup for Lehane to have a real stand out performance like he does so often for Middleton.

We badly need to become more clinical and bury any goal chances that come around.

It'll be an absolute battle and close the whole way but I'd predict us tagging a few on in the end and winning by 4. Here's hoping anyway.

Less than 24 hours to go!

Clarke out - have to say have a certain respect for them. They were hard to knock out taking it all the way.

Hope we can win timorous. Will be some occasion.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,121 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Cork ladies with a great win today in Rathmore 6-14 to 2-11. great to see a Cork team not scared witless by Kerry

• Registered Users Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭bennyl10

slightly OT but travelling from limerick on sunday,
    any advice on a route to take which would avoid buttevant?

• Registered Users Posts: 823 ✭✭✭pajoguy

bennyl10 wrote: »
    slightly OT but travelling from limerick on sunday,
    any advice on a route to take which would avoid buttevant?

See match thread. Just posted bit of info.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

Cork ladies with a great win today in Rathmore 6-14 to 2-11. great to see a Cork team not scared witless by Kerry

Their second win of the year over Kerry - its played on a round robin basis!! Delighted, because those Kerry management are not nice!

Two Munster titles in a weekend - not bad at all :D:D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 888 ✭✭✭skaface

Well done to Cork today

Magic.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Fantastic result. Delighted. Rebels abu :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,882 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Oh yes!!!!!!!

Great second half!!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

Just looking at the World Cup final there.Is there any way we can get a Christ the Redeemer type statue of Frank Murphy overlooking the new Pairc ui Chaoimh from Montenotte.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Obviously dualism is destroying aiden walshs hurling

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

Just looking at the World Cup final there.Is there any way we can get a Christ the Redeemer type statue of Frank Murphy overlooking the new Pairc ui Chaoimh from Montenotte.:D

Frank??? Seriously???

If there was any sort of statue it should be of JBM!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Figsy32 wrote: »
    Magic.

That is just a great picture.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,599 ✭✭✭eigrod

Tickets for the semi finals are on sale on gaa.ie and tickets.ie. Cork's semi final is on 17th August.

• Registered Users Posts: 175 ✭✭Freejin

Missed the sunday game last night, who got motm?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,771 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Freejin wrote: »
    Missed the sunday game last night, who got motm?

Harnedy.

What a great day and a great match. I thought Limerick played great stuff. They looked like they were getting into a real stride in the opening quarter but Cork were great to pull them back and the 3rd quarter was great stuff with Cork really motoring.

Great to see Cork score goals from open play. Both very well taken.

Was up the club last night and SON and Pa Cronin got a great reception.

btownboy wrote: »
    What a great day and a great match. I thought Limerick played great stuff. They looked like they were getting into a real stride in the opening quarter but Cork were great to pull them back and the 3rd quarter was great stuff with Cork really motoring.

Great to see Cork score goals from open play. Both very well taken.

Was up the club last night and SON and Pa Cronin got a great reception.

Thought Limerick were poor enough. I expect they can and will play a lot better the next day. Some of their shooting, with the breeze in the first half, was poor. They also took way too much out of the ball. They didn't get too many goal scoring opportunities which was great to see though. hey should have been 6 or 7 points up in the first half and they ended up drawing at ht with 3 late points.

We were economical when we had the ball. But some of our marking was píss poor. I remember a puckout and then another pass that lead to a limerick point in the first half and there wasn't a Cork player within 15 yards of either man, shocking.
    Not sure why we didn't start with 15 in the second half, surely Pa knew he couldn't play at ht.
    Great to see paudie get a good half under his belt. Having someone of his calibre to call on from the bench is a wonderful advantage.
    That bunch of players certainly deserved their Munster medal!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

Well done lads, fair play to ye're lot for getting the win. Can't say ye didn't deserve it on the day. Both sides had chances to win it, and Cork took theirs and that was the difference.

It's been a while for ye, enjoy it!

The Cork U21 Hurling team to play Waterford in the Munster Semi-Final on Wednesday at 7.30pm in Walsh Park will line out as follows:

1. Patrick Collins (Ballinhassig)
    2. Stephen Murphy (Blackrock)
    3. Colm Barry (Castlelyons)
    4. Cian Buckley (Na Piarsaigh)
    5. Kevin Kavanagh (Carrigaline)
    6. Killian Burke (Midleton – Captain)
    7. Cormac Murphy (Mallow)
    8. Darragh Brosnan (Brian Dillon's)
    9. Rickard Cahalane (Ballymartle)
    10. Shane O Keeffe (Blackrock)
    11. Colm Spillane (Castlelyons)
    12. Michael Collins (Ballinhassig)
    13. Alan Cadogan (Douglas)
    14. Anthony Spillane (Castlelyons)
    15. Rob O’Shea (Carrigaline)

Cormac Murphy, Rob O'Shea and captain Killian Burke were all members of the Cork Senior Hurling panel that won the Munster Final on Sunday, while Alan Cadogan played in that game. The latter was also on the U21 Football team that won the Munster title earlier this year, along with Kevin Kavanagh. Goalkeeper Patrick Collins captained the Cork Minor Hurlers this year, and his brother Michael is wing-forward.

Subs
    16. Mikey Brown (Ballyhea)
    17. Colm Coleman (Ballymartle)
    18. Paul Fitzgerald (Douglas)
    19. Mark Sugrue (Bandon)
    20. Killian O Connor (Mallow)
    21. Mark O Connor (Douglas)
    22. Killian McIntyre (Carrigaline)
    23. Alan Dennehy (Charleville)
    24. Eoin Smith (Blackrock)

Additional Panel Members
    Cormac Walsh (Midleton)
    Pa White (Midleton)
    Pa Herlihy (Mallow)
    Kevin O’ Keeffe (Blackrock)

Selectors: Alan Browne, John Hodgins, Damien Irwin, Pat Kenneally and Ger O’ Halloran.
    Logistics: Derek Connolly
    Physical: trainers: Richard O’ Leary and Niall McIntyre
    Medical: Dr. Paddy Burke and John O’ Meara.
    Statistics: Liam Duncliffe

• Registered Users Posts: 969 ✭✭✭cul beag

The Cork U21 Hurling team to play Waterford in the Munster Semi-Final on Wednesday at 7.30pm in Walsh Park will line out as follows:

Cormac Murphy, Rob O'Shea and captain Killian Burke were all members of the Cork Senior Hurling panel that won the Munster Final on Sunday, while Alan Cadogan played in that game. The latter was also on the U21 Football team that won the Munster title earlier this year, along with Kevin Kavanagh. Goalkeeper Patrick Collins captained the Cork Minor Hurlers this year, and his brother Michael is wing-forward.

Subs
    19. Mark Sugrue (Bandon)

Additional Panel Members
    Cormac Walsh (Midleton)
    Pa White (Midleton)
    Pa Herlihy (Mallow)

Selectors: Alan Browne, John Hodgins, Damien Irwin, Pat Kenneally and Ger O’ Halloran.

Are the Spillanes and Collins named brothers? Strong looking side.

cul beag wrote: »
    Are the Spillanes and Collins named brothers? Strong looking side.

The Spillanes are. Nearly 100% the Collins' are but not certain.

Probably the best we have but think we'll be lacking scores.

Subs
    19. Mark Sugrue (Bandon)

Additional Panel Members
    Cormac Walsh (Midleton)
    Pa White (Midleton)
    Pa Herlihy (Mallow)

• Registered Users Posts: 28 havent got a kalou

Subs
    19. Mark Sugrue (Bandon)

Additional Panel Members
    Cormac Walsh (Midleton)
    Pa White (Midleton)
    Pa Herlihy (Mallow)

pa callaghan (Ballyhea) and Conor twomey (newtownshandrum) not even on the panel !

• Registered Users Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Pa O'Callaghan opted out. Twomey still very young. Surprised Kelleher isn't involved.

That team is missing O'Callaghan, Micheal Cahalane, Sweetnam, Kieran Histon and I assume Walsh, Dennehy and Kevin O'Keeffe are all injured as well or surely they would be starting.

Mind you even with all of them I'd expect them to lose. Rickard Cahalane is the best prospect on the panel outside of the lads on the senior squad. Cian Buckley is also supposed to be in fine form.