Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 1,642 ✭✭✭Deco99

Rarely.am i lost for words but i am truly am with the current set up.

Donnacha is a great servant and it will be interesting what he decides.

He wont decide id imagine. Saw a quote once from a gaa programme "I didnt retire, they just stopped picking me". The injuries have been niggles, so nothing long term I would feel. Id be more afraid some of the younger fellas with a few miles up might walk if things go sour. The likes of cahillane parachuting in and takin the mick out of the dual thing cant help morale. Ill remain positive. The mayo forwards on paper at least are weak, I think they could flop. A mayo team as favourites is not something that we've seen thrive too often in croker. Remember tyrone in 2009. Caught cold. And its not like we dont have a team that could dominate a good spell of the game. We are underdogs, deservedly but we'll beat galway if we get through.

• Registered Users Posts: 388 ✭✭Gary Neville

sean mac wrote: »
    There is no morale in this camp and if mayo get a run on sunday they could run riot. Young kiely parachuted into the squad with dineen and tom clacny dropped altogether.
    John hayes who have never done anything whatsoever at this level parachuted back into the squad over the once again dropped cathal vaugh is an absolute disgrace.
    Two defenders and both poor in osullivan and cahalane. Maguire a fine prospect but not ready in anyway to start vs ayo.
    Cuthbert has destroyed this squad with his selection methods which are all over the place.
    Can anyone riddle me how sean dineen and tom Clancy who both came on vs Sligo on Saturday night can somehow be dropped from the SQUAD by Thursday?
    A management team who treat players like crap and will reap what they sow on sunday evening.

It might be a dummy team. D O Se said that Mayo horsed O Curraoin and Flynn out of in in the Conn Final - It would be reckless to start Maguire on Sun. Kiely was superb for the u21's but again, it'd be a huge risk to bring him on.

O Halloran is going to be under savage pressure - I don't know if Mayo will cut off the short kick option but it'd be very risky as they press so high. Cluxton ran Mayo around and we could pay a very high price for not picking a keeper that can kick accurately.

I thought after the Sligo game that management had begun to learn but this selection is so strange that I'm beginning to doubt them again.

Either the selection is a dummy or the manager is - we'll see on Sun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Really disappointed with the unchanged team and even more disappointed with the couple of guy out of the squad altogether. I can see dineen saying feck this for a game of soldiers and not bother with cork next year.
    My dad was at the cork vs Sligo game and was display with the tactics. I would say if we going with Collins & O'Driscoll between the fullback line and the half back line that we'll contain mayo (and thats all it will be, contain) untill 45 to 55 mins and then mayo will start to find holes once the legs tire.

5 to 7 point win for mayo.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

Id agree totally bar o connor mayo.could have forwards that may flop but with no midfield dominance cork will struggle for possesion thus our forwards will be starved of possesion and our team under serious pressure and we may turnover the ball way too much.

That tyrone game had clear evidence that cork in the early counihan years was making progress as kerry twice in croker in 2008 showed and we had a settled half back line and midfield in noelie,canty.,miskella,murphy,and alan o connor

We crucially had two natural specalised corner backs in carey and lynch.
    Sadly the team for mayo has none of the above to give me the same confidence.

• Registered Users Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Archer3083

To be fair to Cuthbert I can understand why he has gone with Colm O'Driscoll and Mark Collins instead of Goulding and Paddy Kelly. I don't think that either Goulding or Kelly can play a defensive system effectively. They're excellent forward players but for one reason or another, they lack that defensive streak, maybe it's ego, maybe it's laziness, maybe they're just too forward thinking, but the last day you could see O'Driscoll and Collins were absoutely selfless against Sligo. They both sacrificed their own games/performances for the sake of the team and did the job asked of them. On balance, I think Cuthbert is right to go with the team that played against Sligo because I think if Cork set up like they did against Mayo in the league or against Kerry in the Munster final, then they would be ripped to shreds. Mayo ran straight through that Cork defense in the league, at least on Sunday, you will have plenty of bodies back, and at least with players like O'Driscoll and Collins, players won't simply be back in their own half just to make up the numbers, they know how to defend, and they'll frustrate Mayo's forward play.

It will be interesting to see what happens when Donal Vaughan and Lee Keegan attack. Will they be frustrated by Cork's blanket defense. If Keegan and Vaughan cough up possession can Cork transition from defense to attack quickly enough to expose the space left by Keegan and Vaughan. That could be the winning and the losing of the game. Collins is certainly intelligent enough to carry the ball forwards by hand or with a foot pass and pick out our forward line, and Colm O'Neill, Hodnett and Hurley need very little space or time to convert chances. Kerrigan will have lots of space to run into the next day, and this should aid the transition from defense to attack. It should create overlaps and maybe goal scoring chances!

• Registered Users Posts: 20 Animal Bar

Did Kelly have a bust up with Cuthbert after the Kerry game or something. Why bring on subs like Dineen and Clancy ahead of him giving them game time and then leaving them off the panel a week later. Very Strange.

Cuthbherts team is a contradiction of thought in he sets up defensively yet he has just two defenders as subs.

Id agree goulding isnt defensive but kelly always has been a superb tackler and a man to turnover possesion like tyrone 09 showed.

He has not any real idea gaa wise what he is doing with the panel in terms of getting the balance in the team or panel right.Sorry if this sounds harsh but Cork football at least deserves Honesty and truth lets call a spade a spade.He has no direction with hes selections.
    Play kelly one game then drop him,same with collins.
    Kiely a terrific prospect gets a panel place ahead of dinnen.Pure panic.

If cork get blown away serious questions must be asked by the cork media in Cuthbherts future and why did the Board appoint him
    .The ex great friend of cuthbhert Mick slocum was fast enough to have a go at fans,in fairness fans had valid concerns as said by many gaa pundits.Mick choose to ignore the trouble with ANDREW sul,and the ommison of other players now though.

We need the media to simply do their job and not pick and choose also what they say.
    In the paul kimmage interview the other night he was complimented for being the ist to go against popularity and ask the hard questions with Armstrong.He replied I was doing my job that others simply wouldnt.

There has been a trail of consistent mess ups with this management and poor treatment of players,surely its feasible to say it.All you want is people to call it as is.Nothing more nothing less.All it simply is is soley and purely critising him as Cork senior football manager.If he doesnt want to criticised dont take the job.
    There has been far more proven managers in Cork that got critised.and just got on what it.its not that.mistakes were made that the SAME.MISTAKES ARE REPEATED AGAIN.AND AGAIN.

This nononese that cuthbhert has no choice but to play the same team as that played v sligo is just not true.He is simply taking a chance by starting that team.Christ above we have an unsettled half back line,midfield and half forward line.

This teams destiny should be decided by making logical choices not taking chance after chance which is what he is doing.I had serious concerns from day one but he suprised me in its actually worse than I thought.

Like the u21 hurling being a joke there wont be any review by the board in a week And Kettle said all dublin.hurling to be reviewed as they lost three final so far.
    It happens year on year in Cork but sure look leave it as it is.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,187 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

<SNIP>

Absolutely no relevance to this thread. Another week off - next time the ban is permanent.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,599 ✭✭✭eigrod

I hear the Tipp hurlers are flying it in training.

As are Cork, Kilkenny & Limerick, I'm sure.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

eigrod wrote: »
    As are Cork, Kilkenny & Limerick, I'm sure.

So are Cork. Should be a great encounter.

1. Anthony Kidney (Passage West)
    2. John Mullins (Eire Óg)
    3. Kevin Flahive (Douglas - Captain)
    4. Sean Powter (Douglas)
    5. Sean O’Donoghue (Inniscarra)
    6. Cian Kiely (Ballincollig)
    7. Maidhc Ó Duinnín (Naomh Abán)
    8. Brian Coakley (Carrigaline)
    9. Michael Ó Deasuna (Cill na Martra)
    10. Gary Murphy (Castletownbere)
    11. Daniel Ó Duinnín (Cill na Martra)
    12. David Lowney (Clonakilty)
    13. Seamus Ronayne (Clyda Rovers)
    14. Shane Kingston (Douglas)
    15. Michael Hurley (Castlehaven)
    Donal O’Sullivan and his selectors have made three changes to the team that lost out to Kerry in the Munster Final. Maidhc Ó Duinnín and Brian Coakley return from injury, having featured in the team earlier this year, while David Lowney also comes into the side. Cian O’Donovan, Tom Bushe and Seán O’Leary make way.
    Subs
    16. Colm O’Driscoll (Castlehaven)
    17. Cian O’Donovan (Clonakilty)
    18. Tom Bushe (Ilen Rovers)
    19. Alex Hassett (Ilen Rovers)
    20. Michael Cottrell (Newmarket)
    21. Eoin O’Sullivan (Douglas)
    22. Damien Buckley (Ballyclough)
    23. Seán O’Donovan (Ilen Rovers
    24. David O’Neill (Mayfield)
    Additional Panel Members
    Eoin Lavers (Sam Maguire’s)
    Michael Lordan (Ballinora)
    Luke Meade (Newcestown)
    Evan Ryle (Carrigaline)
    Chidozie Ogbene (Nemo Rangers)
    Sean O’Leary (Bantry Blues)
    Martin Collins (Kilmacabea)
    Daniel Meaney (St. Michael’s)Olan Murphy (St. Finbarr's)

The minor team to play dublin in thurles .
    Management just baffle me with that selection asvery good players could look average as their played out of position.
    Our keeper who had a fine season is dropped and unless he is injured it is a poor call.
    O donovan had a superb last game.yet he is dropped and lordan gets dropped from the match day panel.

We have 3 forwards at half back that cant defend as they are better going foward yet they are.the half back line.against a team with 9 goals in their last two games.Kiely a super forward is not a 6 that holds the centre

Sean o donouge imo would be better at midfield with desmond.
    Murphy who had a good game in near goal is not a half forwardæ
    Obegene cant even make the subs is beyond believe as he is the best half forward by a country mile at minor.

Kingston should be at 12 with buckley starting also.
    The talent is in cork but as proved.by the waterford and kerry game and now that team the manager is hardly convincing.He is simiår to Cuthbhert so in time he will be probably rewarded irrespective of results with the u21 job or senior job in the future.
    I cant understand when lads are played out of positon.

• Registered Users Posts: 388 ✭✭Gary Neville

Cuthbherts team is a contradiction of thought in he sets up defensively yet he has just two defenders as subs.

Id agree goulding isnt defensive but kelly always has been a superb tackler and a man to turnover possesion like tyrone 09 showed.

He has not any real idea gaa wise what he is doing with the panel in terms of getting the balance in the team or panel right.Sorry if this sounds harsh but Cork football at least deserves Honesty and truth lets call a spade a spade.He has no direction with hes selections.
    Play kelly one game then drop him,same with collins.
    Kiely a terrific prospect gets a panel place ahead of dinnen.Pure panic.

If cork get blown away serious questions must be asked by the cork media in Cuthbherts future and why did the Board appoint him
    .The ex great friend of cuthbhert Mick slocum was fast enough to have a go at fans,in fairness fans had valid concerns as said by many gaa pundits.Mick choose to ignore the trouble with ANDREW sul,and the ommison of other players now though.

We need the media to simply do their job and not pick and choose also what they say.
    In the paul kimmage interview the other night he was complimented for being the ist to go against popularity and ask the hard questions with Armstrong.He replied I was doing my job that others simply wouldnt.

There has been a trail of consistent mess ups with this management and poor treatment of players,surely its feasible to say it.All you want is people to call it as is.Nothing more nothing less.All it simply is is soley and purely critising him as Cork senior football manager.If he doesnt want to criticised dont take the job.
    There has been far more proven managers in Cork that got critised.and just got on what it.its not that.mistakes were made that the SAME.MISTAKES ARE REPEATED AGAIN.AND AGAIN.

This nononese that cuthbhert has no choice but to play the same team as that played v sligo is just not true.He is simply taking a chance by starting that team.Christ above we have an unsettled half back line,midfield and half forward line.

This teams destiny should be decided by making logical choices not taking chance after chance which is what he is doing.I had serious concerns from day one but he suprised me in its actually worse than I thought.

Like the u21 hurling being a joke there wont be any review by the board in a week And Kettle said all dublin.hurling to be reviewed as they lost three final so far.
    It happens year on year in Cork but sure look leave it as it is.

The media are not prepared to ask relevant questions or appropriate comment.

What's the logic of only picking 2 defenders on the bench, especiallly in the era of the black card. No one in the media has questioned how Clancy could be good enough to come on last Sat and not make the squad for Sun.

Why is Paddy Kelly marginalised after being subbed at HT v Kerry ?

What more did Gould need to earn a start ?

There seems to be no strategy or consistency in squad selection - this must be very confusing for players.

Mick Slocum cited the retirements as a mitigating factor but AFAIK most of the players were effectively told it was time to retire. P O Neill and Kissane should have been retained IMO. Pearse was let go before Cubby knew that AOC was retiring. Another example of naivety.

Look at what Kerry are still getting out of O Mahony and O Se - Geaney says it all in the Indo :-
    ''We knew we were only a kick of a ball last year from reaching the All-Ireland final. We know that we are not a bad side and some were throwing out things that some fellows were finished because they are 30 or over."Some of the older lads in our camp are the fittest. The way fellas look after themselves all year round now there are no problems with fitness or physical shape right up to 35 or 36, so pensioning fellows off at 31 or 32 is crazy."

I'm surprised that lads like Ciaran and Eoin Sexton aren't insisting on management looking to treat players a bit better. Counihan for all his faults, always treated the players well and got 100% effort from them.

Dropping players in an arbitrary manner and then telling them through the media that they'll have to park their egos - is not how to get the players respect.

What's the best place in Coke park to watch a game from, as in what's the best stand and what's the best level? Also will there be plenty of tickets available on the day on Sunday?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Hotfail.com

Archer3083 wrote: »
    What's the best place in Coke park to watch a game from, as in what's the best stand and what's the best level? Also will there be plenty of tickets available on the day on Sunday?

I LOVE the Cusack Stand upper tier, right in the corner and a few rows from the back. Great seats, been in that section 3 times now; In 2010 vs Dublin in football, 2012 vs Donegal in football, and last year's final replay.

Admittedly it wasn't as good for the hurling due to the size of the sliotar, I like the centre of the Davin Stand, upper tier, as well though.

Only been in the lower tier twice, not gonna judge it based on them though, they were two quiet enough matches; the 2010 (I think) League final in football vs Mayo, and the AI semi final (was it?) against Kilkenny in 2010 (There was a disgrace of a crowd that day of just 40000 I think, and we got absolutely slaughtered.)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,119 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Archer3083 wrote: »

Expecting 35,000 or so according to yesterdays paper, doubtful the upper tiers will be open so your choice of tickets may not be great

• Registered Users Posts: 5,119 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Cork will play Wexford in the All-Ireland Intermediate Hurling Final on Saturday, August 9th at 3pm in Nowlan Park, Kilkenny

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,881 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Cork will play Wexford in the All-Ireland Intermediate Hurling Final on Saturday, August 9th at 3pm in Nowlan Park, Kilkenny

Would be extra nice to win an all Ireland in kk !!

Mallow same old story,fine talent but play as individuals in a team sport,No cohesion, or real team spirit where Valley Rovers a smaller club but played with a hunger and work ethic,and were brillant and punched above their weight and beat them in the Intermediate Hurling .

Mallow have a fine complex but still havent got a real success.
    Mallow have fine footballers but they wont win the county either despite being among the favourites.If they got a real club spirit like Grenagh,Clyda etc they would be hugely successful.
    It is a shame as the talent is there.
    There a young team but are likely to loose one lad to rubgy Young Munster i believe.

CormacMurphy had a fine game, Sean Hayes also,but they got no support.They deserve to be playing in finals there that good.
    Valleys Chris O Leary a good prospect and Harty cup this year with Eoin reilly with hammies had fine games.Hayes looks the real deal at a young age.Cork in two years i truly believe could have a team to win the All ireland once current management are gone.

I saw the interviews of both u21 managers from wednesday on tg4 player.I would recommend any one watch it and its easy see why cork wont be good under this set up.
    Minutes before the game the Clare manager said Cork would play with a sweeper correctly said it would be Michael Collins and said cork would hit puckouts down to our no ten which was shane o keoffe.All that happened exactly.
    Clare had studied Cork inside out and said while 80 years of tradition were against them,it did not mean much ,they believed they done all they had to to beat Cork.The ruthless convicton and belief was awesome to hear.

Our Manager ,twas a pale shadow.
    He spoke of the weather that it would be good if it rained to stop them etc.Clare are an all weather team in fairness.

Clare had controlled the controllabes while Cork hoped things they could not control went their way.Easy see Cork were Destroyed .

Best of luck to Barry kenneally u16 goaile with cork in the u16 All Ireland poc fada in Cooley today.
    A fine keeper certain to be minor and u21 for Cork.I said it here in.february in a game v limerick he was outstanding.

With Nash,Mccarthy,Collins,Dalton either there or likely to be their its unlikely its a cert he would be a senior player some day with the ferocious compeition ahead of him.

I Saw RTE 2 and TG4  sport as I recorded both.Dinny Alllen , and Larry Tompkins only as a footballer not a manager and Niall Cahalane are all time greats imo but they were talking bout dualism.Three them were more or less for it.
    They said it wasnt a long term option though.

Tompkins seemed to be against O grady stamping out dual players at during he's reign.
    O grady was bang on the money thats why cork Contested 4 in a row winning two All Irellands as O Grady built a team as he was ruthless.Tompkins in he's seven years were poor bar one ,he could have done well if he had that same ruthless conviction.

Dualism should have been a forefront topic months ago but it closed the door when the horse is bolted.

Ger Canninge feels loughey is the man to mark o connor.
    Shields is the only man for O connor imo.Why would we put our weakest defender on their best forward .

Paul Galvin i felt anaylis was good.He was right it takes a certain type of player with a certain mindset to.play a blanket defence.
    I don't feel imo cuthbhert has picked the right players in certain positions with the mindset  for such a style of play.

Cork intermediates play Wexford in the All Ireland intermediate final next saturday in Knowlan Park at 3.They unfortunately wont get a huge crowd and thats sad as there a Real team with a Real manager.
    Some fans wont go to it yet if cork.get to a senior final they will be crying for tickets.
    This is a Cork team in all ireland final and they deserve huge support.

Next friday Aishling Thompson is on RTE a great person that overcame advertsity.
    Her clubmate the great but often more in the media Anna Geary normally takes the spotlight and she is reperesenting Cork in the Rose of Tralee in a few weeks time but its good another cork lady gets the spotlight.

http://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/camogie/some-people-write-it-down-or-keep-journals-i-write-it-on-myself-30391959.html
    A good read that gives a good story about Aishling Thompson.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭citykat

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    Would be extra nice to win an all Ireland in kk !!

The webels are always welcome in KK. We haven't seen ye in NP due to your recent league status.

Mallow same old story,fine talent but play as individuals in a team sport,No cohesion, or real team spirit where Valley Rovers a smaller club but played with a hunger and work ethic,and were brillant and punched above their weight and beat them in the Intermediate Hurling .

Mallow have a fine complex but still havent got a real success.
    Mallow have fine footballers but they wont win the county either despite being among the favourites.If they got a real club spirit like Grenagh,Clyda etc they would be hugely successful.
    It is a shame as the talent is there.
    There a young team but are likely to loose one lad to rubgy Young Munster i believe.

CormacMurphy had a fine game, Sean Hayes also,but they got no support.They deserve to be playing in finals there that good.
    Valleys Chris O Leary a good prospect and Harty cup this year with Eoin reilly with hammies had fine games.Hayes looks the real deal at a young age.Cork in two years i truly believe could have a team to win the All ireland once current management are gone.

I saw the interviews of both u21 managers from wednesday on tg4 player.I would recommend any one watch it and its easy see why cork wont be good under this set up.
    Minutes before the game the Clare manager said Cork would play with a sweeper correctly said it would be Michael Collins and said cork would hit puckouts down to our no ten which was shane o keoffe.All that happened exactly.
    Clare had studied Cork inside out and said while 80 years of tradition were against them,it did not mean much ,they believed they done all they had to to beat Cork.The ruthless convicton and belief was awesome to hear.

Our Manager ,twas a pale shadow.
    He spoke of the weather that it would be good if it rained to stop them etc.Clare are an all weather team in fairness.

Clare had controlled the controllabes while Cork hoped things they could not control went their way.Easy see Cork were Destroyed .

Best of luck to Barry kenneally u16 goaile with cork in the u16 All Ireland poc fada in Cooley today.
    A fine keeper certain to be minor and u21 for Cork.I said it here in.february in a game v limerick he was outstanding.

With Nash,Mccarthy,Collins,Dalton either there or likely to be their its unlikely its a cert he would be a senior player some day with the ferocious compeition ahead of him.

I Saw RTE 2 and TG4  sport as I recorded both.Dinny Alllen , and Larry Tompkins only as a footballer not a manager and Niall Cahalane are all time greats imo but they were talking bout dualism.Three them were more or less for it.
    They said it wasnt a long term option though.

Tompkins seemed to be against O grady stamping out dual players at during he's reign.
    O grady was bang on the money thats why cork Contested 4 in a row winning two All Irellands as O Grady built a team as he was ruthless.Tompkins in he's seven years were poor bar one ,he could have done well if he had that same ruthless conviction.

Dualism should have been a forefront topic months ago but it closed the door when the horse is bolted.

Ger Canninge feels loughey is the man to mark o connor.
    Shields is the only man for O connor imo.Why would we put our weakest defender on their best forward .

Paul Galvin i felt anaylis was good.He was right it takes a certain type of player with a certain mindset to.play a blanket defence.
    I don't feel imo cuthbhert has picked the right players in certain positions with the mindset  for such a style of play.

Cork intermediates play Wexford in the All Ireland intermediate final next saturday in Knowlan Park at 3.They unfortunately wont get a huge crowd and thats sad as there a Real team with a Real manager.
    Some fans wont go to it yet if cork.get to a senior final they will be crying for tickets.
    This is a Cork team in all ireland final and they deserve huge support.

Next friday Aishling Thompson is on RTE a great person that overcame advertsity.
    Her clubmate the great but often more in the media Anna Geary normally takes the spotlight and she is reperesenting Cork in the Rose of Tralee in a few weeks time but its good another cork lady gets the spotlight.

http://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/camogie/some-people-write-it-down-or-keep-journals-i-write-it-on-myself-30391959.html
    A good read that gives a good story about Aishling Thompson.

Cork ladies footballers play Galway minor all ireland final at 5.45 Monday live on TG4.

Tremendous credit to them for doing the game and their commited excellence in raising the PROFILE OF LADIES FOOTBALL the last number of years.

A good read by Derek Daly in todays Echo where he asked how our midfield woes got to this stage.despite clear warnings in the League and said Corks Perisisentence with Andrew Sullivan over Deane ,Maguire and Dinnen in the league but now out in the cold is Peculiar and they could have got game time.
    Michael laoire he did not mention but imo should have got games as he was on the panel.

He also was 100 per cent right when he said it is not a lack of talent if Cork don't win tommorrow.

He stopped short on blaming management but if the talent is there and your not a success it is imo clear as day the Manager is responsible as he picks the team and YOU SIMPLY MUST have a balanced team with structure and organasition in not just ONE aera of the ptich but All areas of the field if he's team are to be truly successful on the field of play against the TOP Teams in the Championship.

Cork ladies footballers play Galway minor all ireland final at 5.45 Monday live on TG4.

Tremendous credit to them for doing the game and their commited excellence in raising the PROFILE OF LADIES FOOTBALL the last number of years.

A good read by Derek Daly in todays Echo where he asked how our midfield woes got to this stage.despite clear warnings in the League and said Corks Perisisentence with Andrew Sullivan over Deane ,Maguire and Dinnen in the league but now out in the cold is Peculiar and they could have got game time.
    Michael laoire he did not mention but imo should have got games as he was on the panel.

He also was 100 per cent right when he said it is not a lack of talent if Cork don't win tommorrow.

He stopped short on blaming management but if the talent is there and your not a success it is imo clear as day the Manager is responsible as he picks the team and YOU SIMPLY MUST have a balanced team with structure and organasition in not just ONE aera of the ptich but All areas of the field if he's team are to be truly successful on the field of play against the TOP Teams in the Championship.
    Dara Ó Cinnéide has made the point too that Cork have missed Pearse O'Neill and Alan O'Connor hugely this year. He reasons that both players are a big loss in training or A versus B games. Essentially the likes of Aidan Walsh, Ian Maguire, Fintan Goold etc have lacked serious intensity and competition in training. This is especially true of Aidan Walsh who missed alot of competitive league games, the first half of the Tipp game and alot of training sessions this year. I've heard Dara Ó Sé say recently that he got an awful horsing around the place from William Kirby in training when he started out first and it not only prepared him for championship intensity, it also improved his overall game and toughened him up!

Is there Anybody  here who is good on the intricate nature of Rules and Suspensions , do they please know if Cormac Murphy is  eligble for the All Ireland.Intermediate Hurling Final Saturday week as he got a two match ban in the u21 game with Wateford 2 weeks ago.

He missed one game but is not u21 next year so apparrenly the talk is it is carried to this Intermediate Intercounty game as it is the next Intercounty game that he plays in.

Surely that cant be or can it ?

Imo he has been the teams player of the year and it would be a travesty if he missed he's ist All Ireland Final as he is not a dirty player and would be a huge loss to Cork but one they are still capable of overcoming such is the Fantasic Spirit,unity ,togetherness within and also the Amazing Characther that is in this Entire Group.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Hotfail.com

Is there Anybody  here who is good on the intricate nature of Rules and Suspensions , do they please know if Cormac Murphy is  eligble for the All Ireland.Intermediate Hurling Final Saturday week as he got a two match ban in the u21 game with Wateford 2 weeks ago.

He missed one game but is not u21 next year so apparrenly the talk is it is carried to this Intermediate Intercounty game as it is the next Intercounty game that he plays in.

Surely that cant be or can it ?

Imo he has been the teams player of the year and it would be a travesty if he missed he's ist All Ireland Final as he is not a dirty player and would be a huge loss to Cork but one they are still capable of overcoming such is the Fantasic Spirit,unity ,togetherness within and also the Amazing Characther that is in this Entire Group.

I'll go digging for some info there in a second, I found this rule in relation to club games though, not sure if it's the same for inter-county:
    In the case of a player exiting a Level (e.g. Second Level Schools, Third Level Colleges), the Committee-in-Charge shall refer the case to the relevant Competitions Control Committee at County Committee, Provincial Council or Central Council levels for adjudication . A two weeks Suspension for each non-applicable Match Suspension shall be proposed/imposed at Club level.

EDIT: That's all I can find.

I'll go digging for some info there in a second, I found this rule in relation to club games though, not sure if it's the same for inter-county:

EDIT: That's all I can find.

Thanks very much

DUBLIN (MFC v Cork): Eiven Whelan (Trinity Gaels); Cian Murphy (Thomas Davis), Jack Mullins(St Brigid's), Eoin Murchan (Na Fianna); Aodhán Fee (Nh Mearnóg), Shane Clayton (Ballyboden St Enda's), Glen O'Reilly (Na Fianna); Andrew Foley (Clontarf), Eoghan McHugh (Na Fianna); Warren Egan (Ballyboden St Enda's), Colm Basquel (Ballyboden St Enda's), Jack Burke (Nh Maur); Aaron Byrne (Na Fianna), Con O'Callaghan (Cuala), Chris Sallier (Thomas Davis).

That looks a strong team,their half back line Fee and O'Reilly could dominate our half forward line.

Con Callaghan is lethal but Kevin Flahive is a fine player that held Spillane a savage talent for the Kingdom that will make it to the.top imo but our weak half back line gives him no protection.

Basquel is good ,but I really hope he does not give Kiely a run around as kiely is  terrific player but i won't judge him when centre back is not he's best position imo.

Kerry expösed us in the Munster Final, and again in a challenge at the start of last week when it was not their full team yet no lessons are learned.

The Dublin full back line is there for the taking but Our line could be starved of possesion as their half forward and half back line could dominate possesion.
    The Poc Fada in Cooley was postponed over the Weather orange alert in Leinster.

Necewstown had a huge win in the intermediate hurling  and now set up a mouth watering West Cork derby in the quater final.
    Kildorrey beat Milford also.

The rain today in Dublin is unreal worse than the 2008 monsoon that hit the classic kerry galway game.

Its going to be a slow war of arittion today.Mayo are physically stronger than Cork.
    It is not too late for Cork if they make changes prior to throw in.
    Put loughrey to 5,Jamie sul at 4,drop Brian o driscoll.We need expierence to keep it close in the ist half,then the youthful fresh legs,full of energy when bodies tire.

Im not a fan of shields at half back but such is the slow weather type of game id leave him there.

Id start Dinnen so powerful and built for this weather but mobile and a strong runner with Walsh .

Id start Kelly also.
    Id drop hodnett and start Doc.
    The game is made for him.

My subs would Maguire,Goudling,O Rourke,o driscoll around the 50 minute mark.

The key is to keep this ugly,and low scoring.Keep it tight that at half time were close to them as the longer we stay in the game the seed of doubt creeps in and they may panic as they unlike us dont have forwards on the team or bench that are at ease with long distance scoring bar Killan o Connor.

The heavens are certainly with Cuthbhert as the weather puts Cork in an advanatage as the blanket is ideal today.
    However this team is too light for the physiality mayo have in this weather.If changes arent made i worry.

If cuthbhert makes changes we Could win.

The problem is i don't have the confidenсe that he will make the necessary changes before or during the game and it would be a a shame as the way the weather is we can win it as we have Scoring forwards as they struggle to score from distance anywhere from 40m out particulary in Croke Park.
    The very best of luck to Cork today.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭davegrohl48

Both sides may make changes given the conditions. It's a day for big 6 footers. Wont be any space out there n hard to not end up in collisions when its so slippery/wet. Probably too late now but 6'2" Freeman makes more sense than Dillon today.

Goulding and gould are meant to.be late changes for hodnett and maguire

I wanted more but at least its a start.

Correct and good changes in they have expierence

I wouldnt have gould as hes hot.and cold but better than start a rookie.If gould is on form is fine.
    Must be told today is hes last chance.Doesnt perform he doesnt play again.No excuse.

Goulding brings physicality and scoring.A bit more hopeful.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

I hope we give Mayo a good test.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭The White Feather

Goulding and gould are meant to.be late changes for hodnett and maguire

I wanted more but at least its a start.

Correct and good changes in they have expierence

I wouldnt have gould as hes hot.and cold but better than start a rookie.If gould is on form is fine.
    Must be told today is hes last chance.Doesnt perform he doesnt play again.No excuse.

Goulding brings physicality and scoring.A bit more hopeful.

Thinkstoomuch, give me and Cork supporters some optimism. Can we win today at all in your opinion?