Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

I was influencing no one.
    I gave opinion.
    Please if you copy and cut my post,leave qotaations marks there as the last post has my name but you edited it,and its hard to see what i said and you
    Keep it clear what i said and didnt and what you said.

Lets.be.CRYSTAL CLEAR ,I NEVER.MENTIONED BRIAN.O DRISCOLL OR ANY OTHER player as i didnt see them actually do it.You said o driscoll.Others named o se.

Gould is via the mirror only one i saw with my eyes.If i saw other cork lads do it with my own eyes id.say the same.I geuinely dont do gossip

I have no problem letting sleeping dogs lie,just please dont paint me the villan when the topic was already in the news.
    I see your point,please see mine.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,642 ✭✭✭Deco99

I was influencing no one.
    I gave opinion.
    Please if you copy and cut my post,leave qotaations marks there as the last post has my name but you edited it,and its hard to see what i said and you
    Keep it clear what i said and didnt and what you said.

Lets.be.CRYSTAL CLEAR ,I NEVER.MENTIONED BRIAN.O DRISCOLL OR ANY OTHER player as i didnt see them actually do it.You said o driscoll.Others named o se.

Gould is via the mirror only one i saw with my eyes.If i saw other cork lads do it with my own eyes id.say the same.I geuinely dont do gossip

I have no problem letting sleeping dogs lie,just please dont paint me the villan when the topic was already in the news.
    I see your point,please see mine.

I clearly identified my comments in blue, do you have a black and white monitor or maybe it doesnt format on whatever device you use, the distinction is quiet clear.

WHY DO YOU HAVE TO SHOUT. I mentioned O'Driscoll quite clearly, but you admit you dont know the facts yet give an opinion? thats close on bigotry right there. Topic in the media, as i've stated to call it news is a fallacy. Thats the end of it now so.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,141 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

Deco99 wrote: »
    Its a convenient little distraction to scandal surrounding the referee though isnt it? Plus its a sad situation that our nations journalism is being influenced by British and Amercian short term outrage, in other news watch this funny video of a dog kicking a baby....

there should be no scandal about the ref either IMO. Cork arsing around kicking 2 frees deep in injury time was their own fault. 2 mins injury time was to be played, 2 min 52 seconds were played. Individual incidents during the game go in waves, as a neutral I thought both had bad calls against them, none really influencing the game. The only one I am unsure of was when O Neill went down when going through on goal, very hard to see how he went down, but the ref was adamant there was no contact and he was close to it.

bruschi wrote: »
    there should be no scandal about the ref either IMO. Cork arsing around kicking 2 frees deep in injury time was their own fault. 2 mins injury time was to be played, 2 min 52 seconds were played. Individual incidents during the game go in waves, as a neutral I thought both had bad calls against them, none really influencing the game. The only one I am unsure of was when O Neill went down when going through on goal, very hard to see how he went down, but the ref was adamant there was no contact and he was close to it.

I agree with you that Cork shouldnt use the time at the end as an excuse, but i do feel the discussion about timekeeping should be kept on the agenda.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,141 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

I agree with you that Cork shouldnt use the time at the end as an excuse, but i do feel the discussion about timekeeping should be kept on the agenda.

absolutely it should. I think everyone is in agreement that it should be taken out of the referees hands and kept on the sidelines. It should give a more accurate amount of injury time and none of the 'playing for a draw' refs.

Fair enough Deco i do have a black and white screen ,as i couldnt see what was highlighted and what was not.My error.
    Twas a topic that happened by evidence,i just gave an opinion.

I have said my views,ill leave it at that.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭citykat

Now I know why the grass is always greener with you Cork boys!

citykat wrote: »
    Now I know why the grass is always greener with you Cork boys!

I see what you did there,you took a well known cliche and added Cork to the end of it in order to make a pun. Clever. Off again with you now.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭The White Feather

That ladies game was one of the best games of open attacking fluent football i have seen in any code.

Superb tg4 showing it.A great final to showcase the fine sport it is.
    No shame in that display by Cork to loose to a fine Galway team that were favourites.
    Great to see Briege Corkery in the crowd there.
    Moore who got two and scally got fine goals, and Casey who worked hard, and Ambrose from the senior team looked good imo,but i thought Maeve o sullivan the keeper had a fine game,saved two certain goals.
    Looney looks a fine player also,unlucky not to get a goal.
    Cork ladies football is alive and well and the future looks bright.

I thought for Galway Divilly who recovered after a knock was superb,as was tg4 best player the superb ward and Hynes their corner back who made a superb goal saving block but was terrfic driving forward and linking well with Divilly and Ward I throught.

I really enjoyed the game,both teams deserve immense credit for a high quality game.
    Congratualations to Galway.

Just a note on the ladies minor final. That was some game to watch. Great scores all round from both teams. It had goals flying in as well as goal mouth scrambles.Both teams were a credit to their counties.

Wouldnt it be great if every game gave that entertainment?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,881 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

I see what you did there,you took a well known cliche and added Cork to the end of it in order to make a pun. Clever. Off again with you now.

Any chance people could stop quoting that fella. I have him on ignore for a reason. Sniping, acting the fool and generally cutting posts regarding Cork are not worth reading on a constant basis.

• Registered Users Posts: 388 ✭✭Gary Neville

I've been reading that you don't see Cork win an AI under the present football management TTM1.

Most people agree that management made some bad mistakes especially in the Kerry game and the lack of experience and apparent tactical naivety was obviously a big disadvantage.

However, I saw some encouraging signs in the Sligo and Mayo games, We conceded 10 clear goal chances in the league game in Castlebar so management had to ensure defensive solidity especially after the hari kari defensive set-up emplyed v Kerry. I think the Sligo game was a dry run for Mayo and we would ahve been more attacking but for that so I don't rate that as a bad performance.

We were better than Mayo in the first half but the lack of practice of the new system led to a few scores conceded. Mayo hit a purple patch in the first 15 mins of the 2nd half and we made a few mistakes too and missed a few chances. But after that we much the better side and might well have won but for the 2 uncharacteristic turn-overs by Paddy Kelly.
    I'd be hopeful that our management has learned a lot but must stop being critical of players - Cuthbert should not have said that players were told not to take ball into contact - this post match discussion must be done in-house IMO.

I don't know whether some players are still unhappy with management - I can't see guys like Goold, Goulding, O Rourke, Kelly and Tomas Clancy being very happy with the way they were treated but I'd hope that they just fight harder as Goold did to prove management wrong. I'm hoping it will work out next year.

I know you're a big admirer of Ken O Halloran and I really admire the way he responded under pressure - he's got real character. However, we'll need to get closer to the level of Cluxton, Durcan and Morgan - it's easier for Henneally with such big targets. I think his kicking technique affects his accuracy and things went really pear shaped v Tipp.
    I'm not as sure as you that Ken can get to the required level. I certainly hope so as he's a top keeper.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭almostover

bruschi wrote: »

Just like to add that when the amount of injury time is announced it is the minimum that is to be played. The actual amount of injury time to be played is completely at the discretion of the referee. This rule was enacted in the 1st all-ireland hurling final last year allowing Domhnall O'Donovan to score his match levelling point!

The fact of the matter is there is a serious issue with time keeping in GAA. I cannot understand why a countdown and hooter system similar to that used in ladies football can be implemented in c'ship 2015.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,503 ✭✭✭shockframe

almostover wrote: »
    The fact of the matter is there is a serious issue with time keeping in GAA. I cannot understand why a countdown and hooter system similar to that used in ladies football can be implemented in c'ship 2015.

It would be a turkeys voting for Christmas type decision. If you had a buzzer in championship you greatly reduce the likelihood of a chance for an equalising score. Less replays means less revenue that they normally bring in.The hooter does exist in Ladies Football granted but its easier for that game to implement as they dont attract anything like their male counterparts so a replay wont contribute to the finances. Thats not a dig at ladies football as in fairness its quite a well run sport.Refs(and GAA offficials) will look for an oppurtunity where they can find it to bring a game to a replay.Think of what the last 2 huring replays have brought in.160,000 paying for match tickets, programmes,food etc.€€€€€€€

The hooter system works in US sports because they don't do replays.Everything is decided on the day.If there was such a thing as replays the hooter system would possibly not exist.

As regards Last Sunday's controversy this was where maybe Cork's dual dilemma became an overlooked reality.If Cork did indeed equalize when would you have played the replay.Next week-Football in Croke part Next Saturday and Hurling on Sunday, forget about Croke Park.Timing- Afternoon and evening football on tv with no obligatory live coverage-no chance.Only 1 week before Cork play a hurling semi final with 3 players on hurling panel-fraid not.Whilst Cork have a right to be annoyed with some decisions of Reilly if the game ended level he could have made a very powerful enemy in the Cork County Board where hurling is king.My guess is that he weighed it up beforehand and thought to himself no way can this end up level.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

I think the best possible solution would be a hooter, but the slight tweak of the game continues until the ball next goes dead. So if the winning team have it, they can kick it out, but if the losing team have it, they have the opportunity for one more attack.

• Registered Users Posts: 194 ✭✭Anonymou

Guys I'm assuming there will be a public sale of tickets in Pairc Ui Rinn next week? Holding off for it as the tickets available on Tickets.ie dont look great at the moment, all right in the corners. Been no mention of a public sale on the website yet, only that tickets are available through Centra/Supervalu and online.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,119 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Hooter coming in next year.

http://www.gaa.ie/gaa-news-and-videos/daily-news/1/2503140916-clockhooter-review-/

have little issue with the timekeeping last Sunday but the chickening out of awarding black cards is a joke. typical rule change, big fuss during the league but quietly forgotten about during the summer

Anonymou wrote: »
    Guys I'm assuming there will be a public sale of tickets in Pairc Ui Rinn next week? Holding off for it as the tickets available on Tickets.ie dont look great at the moment, all right in the corners. Been no mention of a public sale on the website yet, only that tickets are available through Centra/Supervalu and online.

dont know why they dont sell the upper tiers at the same time and let the johnny-come-latelys have the seats in the corners.

• Registered Users Posts: 194 ✭✭Anonymou

dont know why they dont sell the upper tiers at the same time and let the johnny-come-latelys have the seats in the corners.

Are they expecting enough demand to open up the upper tiers?

Anonymou wrote: »
    Are they expecting enough demand to open up the upper tiers?

expecting near 70k. 62k at the Cork-Dublin semi last year.

I dont think there is staticics or  so for cork players unforunately.
    That kerry link is fantastic,they rightly give great attention to detail in Kerry.

As for the minor  game i wish all games were even half as good we would be well served.
    What was great was most corners of cork had repersentaion,in
    Sullivan, is from mourneabbey in north cork

Casey ,kanturk i think she was from induhallow
    Looney of aghada is from east cork
    The girl that came on as sub,was injured in training,couldnt start got a point was from the city.At least one of the management was.from the city.
    Corkery was from mid cork.

I would think west cork had reperesentation.Im not sure.
    It was  a.superb game to see.Both teams had superb defensive and attacking skills at various moments of the game.

Gary,just in regards to winning an all ireland, my view is game after game their was repeated tactical errors,blaming player,trying to influence refs,no consitency in selection,cant act fast on sideline,the mayo game didnt erase my doubts.From this year ,i have not much to base next year on.

I posted it at half time,changes were made we could of won as like colm o rourke said that morning mayo werent at full intensity for this game,in this wasnt the game to peak
    We cried out for a midfield option off the bench but had none.Nearly 16 games in all competions,Not Once was Midfield truly rectified so im slow  forgive me,to believe he with the same selectors will win Cork a Senior All Ireleand,not a league or Mcgrath Cup.

We waited an age to bring on Donnacha,cahalane and kerrigan had poor games but lasted 70 minutes

There was no inspired tactical turnaround.He was forced to change style mid season,he did,but it took him 3 hammerimgs,dubs ,mayo,kerry,scraped home v tipp.4 games and he realises we must change.The sunday game anayslsts were not convinced with.Cork.

Look at dont.foul stats ,mayo dominated possesion but due to.bar o connor,no real firepower,beat us by a point.

Dublin or kerry would again beat cork and easily.Donegal would also,beat us.

Brolly i watched today,and he said mayo always concede goals and allow teams back in to it.Imo kerry can beat them for that reason.A one point loss doesnt convince me were fine.We lost key aeras of the field.

Australia beat ireland by a last minute try  in the 91 Rubgy World cup and won by a point.As George hamilton said when nick farr jones put the ball in to the scrum for the winning try"as you expect australia.have won it.They got the try.

Australia never expected to loose,had one eye on all blacks in the semi.Were ireland one point of the world champions,no,Ireland backs to the wall in fear of a hammering,and a off peak australlia,made it a close game and gave me and many others a false dawn.Mayo never expected to loose to us within themselves.Everbody is convinced ,if we had another minute,we would have equalised.There is every chance Mayo would have won the kickout

There was hope in the rubgy.But when you look beneath their wasnt real foundation for it.I clinged to that hope,hope springs etrtnal as a young fan etc

Ireland were so poor,beaten by nambia,twice two months before.
    They were so poor couldnt be so good so soon.I told myself we could.

They beaten by scotland,the only top team in their group.
    The 92 season was a wooden spoon  ,Reality dawned.But ireland up to then had up to that time ,one of irelands most talented backlines.As a naive young man,then,i lived off that Australia game,We can be that Ireland again.I kept telling my self that yet bar spordiac one of days,backs to the wall,england in 93,94 it was my hopes dashed the majiotity of the time in future years.

Only when we had Real Change from 1998 did ireland enter a golden age of constant sustained success that was built on Innovation and ruthless managers.
    As I grew up,and learned the harsh reality of sport one school of thought I hold true,is real success is buit on real reasons to believe in a set up.Management is the key.
    Poor teams play better and overachieve and vice versa depending on the quality of management,players are either lucky or unlucky to work with.

Cork have been similar,as I always said in the league we were never as good as some believed us to be,hammered by kerry,unconvincing v a poor sligo,and the same.v a young tipp team  in the championship And then we a got better performance  v mayo when our backs were to the wall.

Imo,i have huge concerns  for next year.Managers that are poor tactians,despite the best will in the world rarely become great,denis  walsh,ger fitzgerald,john allen,tompkins counihan etc imo are all examples.All those had other great strengths,superb cork gaa servants but as time showed tactically exposed in big games,despite the odd one of good perferomances.
    My judgement is purely as senior intercounty managers.

Imo like when the Real Change came in Irish Rubgy.the innovation ,ruthlessness it was built on imo is sadly lacking in this Cork management set up.I would dearly love to be proven wrong.

As for ken o halloran ,its not that I  think he is untouchable,its he is a fine keeper and was being made a scapegoat by some critics when it Wasnt all hes fault as the last two games clearly proved.I agree he has work to do but would be severly helped by having a stable ,reliable ,effective,midfield partnership to aim hes kick outs at.

• Registered Users Posts: 753 ✭✭✭denishurley

Have to pull you on one thing there TTM - Nick Farr-Jones had gone off injured and Peter Slattery was the scrum-half!

My apolgies denis ..is cormac murphy availbe for saturday

• Registered Users Posts: 68 ✭✭dring

On the cork Gaa website there is a good archive section but it seems to stop at 2009, I cannot post the url here for some crazy reason, you have to go to the history menu, then down and acros to results/teams archive

I see John Gardiner is manager of Na piarsaigh u21,beat douglas.Sean og is with him.Fair play to both and best of luck

Great to see.According to the echo ,he put Eddie Gunning to mark Alan Cadogan and it worked.

Early yet,but i watch gardiner coaching with interest.Has the raw potential to be a top coach.

Looks an inspired choice to put gunning on cadogan.
    Gunning unlucky with injury this.year ,a real talent and imo could be a top full back for club and county.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Hooter coming in next year.

http://www.gaa.ie/gaa-news-and-videos/daily-news/1/2503140916-clockhooter-review-/

have little issue with the timekeeping last Sunday but the chickening out of awarding black cards is a joke. typical rule change, big fuss during the league but quietly forgotten about during the summer

If it was in place last year, Cork would have been the 2013 All Ireland Hurling Champions.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Early yet,but i watch gardiner coaching with interest.Has the raw potential to be a top coach.

I reckon Gardiner's potential as a coach will be fairly limited, considering he was one of the chief protagonists during the Cork hurlers' strike. I doubt the likes of Frank Murphy et al will be recommending him for inter-county coaching duties......

• Registered Users Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

I see John Gardiner is manager of Na piarsaigh u21,beat douglas.Sean og is with him.Fair play to both and best of luck

Great to see.According to the echo ,he put Eddie Gunning to mark Alan Cadogan and it worked.

Looks an inspired choice to put gunning on cadogan.
    Gunning unlucky with injury this.year ,a real talent and imo could be a top full back for club and county.

Putting your best man marker on your opponent's star inside forward is inspired stuff alright.

• Registered Users Posts: 388 ✭✭Gary Neville

I reckon Gardiner's potential as a coach will be fairly limited, considering he was one of the chief protagonists during the Cork hurlers' strike. I doubt the likes of Frank Murphy et al will be recommending him for inter-county coaching duties......

Frank is over 70 - there's every chance that he'll retire within the next 30 years. He'll probably have given PUC another facelift at a cost of €3 billion, by then.

Gardiner would be around the same age that JBM is now so there's loads of time for him yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 49 menace404

Plenty of other ex-player coaches who are well into their development (with some notable proven records already) that would be way ahead of Gardiner and OHailpin in the pecking order. Just off the top of my head for example, you have Mark Landers doing great work at the the moment and Duirmuid O Sull coaching under-17s aswell.

• Registered Users Posts: 49 menace404

They are not on sale yet because clubs have not received their allocation yet, season ticket holders have yet to be given their seating allocation and the 'Bring A Friend' option will also be made available for this game for season ticket holders.....along with the 'Opt Out' option also, so it's nigh impossible to start selling tickets for the centre of the stands when sheer numbers are not nailed down and some of the upper tiers may be needed to meet demand. The game potentially bringing a full house aswell adds another layer of complexity unfortunately.