Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

You are bang on about the continued under representation form strong city clubs in the development squads, What appears to be happening is that the U14 development squads are picked on the inter divisional competition and Imokilly are way more organised and win it with ease most yrs and city sides are a total mess. Most yrs the city club teams are more often than not at the business end of the championships with tiny representation on the development squads. Add in big amount of Imokilly involvement in the management of the development squads and the thing is a bit of a mess.

Valid points

The dean ryan cup starts wedneday three weeks the 24th of september.

Rochestown v youghal
    Charville v clonmel
    Midelton the holders v nenagh

If charville win they make it a cork quater final as they play rochestown or youghal so we could be guaranteed a all quater final

If midelton beat nenagh,they play flannans or de la salle in a quater final and would possibly meet youghal or rochestown or charville in a semi final should they get through
    Four cork teams on one side of the draw make it likely of getting a team to the final but it be better if we had other team on the other side
    Colmans are there but the bye wont do them any favours as they will be coming in cold against probaly ard scoil,with a game under their belt ,and its a huge ask.
    Five cork teams , four fron tippereary ,two each from clare and waterford and limerck.

Draw
    Ist round 24th of september

A Rice v blackwater
    B Templemore v kilmallock
    C Ard scoil v thurles
    D Rochestown v youghal
    E Charville v clonmel
    F Midelton v nenagh
    G st flannans v dls waterford

Quater final 8th october
    1 A v b
    2 C v st colmans fermoy got a buy
    3 d v e
    4 F v g

Semi final 22nd october

1 v 2
    3 v 4

Final 8th of november

For a successful Dean ryan cup,all cork teams must be competive,i wouldnt be too harsh on colmans as its a tough draw,with no ist round game,we should have be wanting an all cork semi,and a team in the final for the second year in a row at least for constant upward dean ryan progression imo.

Harty cup starts October ist

Its Hughely Imperative all cork teams be competive and we get at least a finalist,badly need a winner.
    Time for charville,midelton,rochestown to step up and use their expierence from last year .
    Hamilton,not as huge a pick like the other cork teams  but with horgan,cahalane among others gone, huge losses,but luke meade and chris o leary are i think eligble,two huge huge players for them,two real leaders.Id expect them to be very competive.

GROUP ONE: Ardscoil Ris, Blackwater CS, St Flannans, Thurles CBS, West Limerick Colleges.
    GROUP TWO: Scoil na Trionoide Naofa Doon, St Colmans Fermoy, Gaelcolaiste Mhuire AG, De La Salle, Castletroy College.
    GROUP THREE: Rochestown, Charleville CBS, Our Ladys Templemore, youghal, St Caimins Shannon.
    GROUP FOUR: Hamilton High School Bandon, Nenagh CBS, Dungarvan CBS, High School Clonmel, Midleton CBS.

Round 1      1/10/14
    Ard ScoilRis  v Blackwater C.S
    StFlannan’s  vThurles CBS
    Scoil na Trionóid Doon v St Colman’s
    Gael Coláiste Mhuire AG  vDe La Salle     
    St Franciochestown v   Charleville
    Our Lady’s Templemore  v Youghal
    Hamilton High Bandon v nenagh
    Dungarvan CBS v High School Clonmel

Round 2       15/10/14
    Blackwater CS v St. Flannan’s
    Thurles CBS  v  West Limerick Colleges
    St Colman’s v Gael Coláiste Mhuire AG
    De La Salle  v Castletroy CC
    Charleville CBS  v  Templemore
    Youghal  v St Caimin’s Shannon
    Nenagh CBS  vDungarvan CBS
    High School Clonmel v Midleton

Round 3      5/11/14
    Ardscoil Ris  vThurles CBS
    St Flannan’s  v West Limerick
    Doon v De La Salle
    Coláiste MhuireAG  v Castletroy
    St Francis - Rochestown v  Youghal
    Templemore v  St Caimin’s
    Hamilton High Bandon v  Clonmel
    Dungarvan CBS v Midleton CBS

Round 4    19/11/14
    Ardscoil Ris v West Limerick
    Blackwater CS  v Thurles CBS
    Doon  v Castletroy CC
    St Colman’s Fermoy  v De La Salle
    Rochestown v  St Caimhins
    Charleville CBS  v Youghal
    Hamilton High Bandon v Midleton
    Nenagh CBS v.High School Clonmel

Round 5    03/12/14
    Ardscoil Ris v St Flannan’s    
    Blackwater CS v.West Limerick
    Doon  v Gael Coláiste Mhuire AG
    St Colman’s Fermoy v Castletroy CC
    Rochestown vTemplemore
    Charleville CBS  v St Caimin’s
    Hamilton  Bandon v  Dungarvan
    Nenagh CBS  v Midleton CBS

Quarter Finals 14/01/2015
    Semi Finals       31/1/2015
    Final                   21/2/2015
    All-Ireland Quarter Finals     15/3/2015
    All-Ireland Semi Finals           22/3/2015
    All-Ireland Final                     5/4/2015

We should get a cork group winner from group 3,possibly a runner up,midelton should come out of group four,with Hamilton a fighting chance,in group two its hard to see a cork team make it,as a winner as its a tough group but ag mhuire may have run second close.

Colmans ,unfortunately imo are not the force of old,sad to see,denis ring  is now.working hes magic with Blackwater cbs.
    West limerick almagate next year,dromcollger,newcastlewest and rathkeale,great idea,as if limerick hurling at schools wasnt strong enough the board show tremendous innovation,courage,not to rest on their laurels,but continually strive for perfection in one weak aera of limerick,if it happened last year diarmuid buckley hazlewood be playing harty cup hurling,where hes skillset deserves.

Cork could learn from limerick.West limerick has some good hurling talent,current minor seamus flangan is from their playing with diarmuid buckley last year at hazlewood colledge.

Cork u 17s win is being played down just naively over a false misconception imo,the minors failed since 2008,that had nothing to do with talent,more so a complete balls up of the inital development squad launch,and then poor manager,wouldnt imo win a title if he had the clare u 21s.
    Cork beat dublin,to be fair dublin were not great ,but they beat limerick who had a lot of full strength squad,and hammered a poor poor clare.
    Its vital like u 15,cork beating limerick as they have been our bogey team at schools,and underage since 2008.
    Cork had seven key lads out of the panel in Mallow,limerick had noel hartigan coaching them,doing great work,that was a good limerick side,and a lot will be with around seven of the current panel from sundays final be their team next year.
    Limerick will be strong,but id fancy cork next year.
    When the draw is done in around six weeks,i want cork to get clare,it would be in ennis,tipp ,or waterford away,as its a test,loose and your still in the competiton,but should you meet them again,cork have home adavantage.
    Limerick i would respect but not fear them,would be a nightmare in a ist round,as we could win in cork but we would then if we met them again in a semi final have to play them in the gaelic grounds as we play them in cork if we draw them in a ist game scenario.
    Limerick unlike last year in a semi final is fine ,once we havent played them already,as we crucially have home advanatage,our better again would be to avoid them up to a possible munster final as unlike a semi final you have the comfort of a back door.
    Cork lads need to be getting to croke park at the very least in Minor Hurling.

On a slightly less postive note for cork i expexcted cork to dominate kerry u 21 next year,not as confident,donie buckley,one of the.best coaches around joining up with darragh and seamus.
    Huge boost to kerry,o se  had no ego ,to bring in buckley,realise he needed help after two failed years,and done whats right for kerry football.
    It remains to be seen will Cuthbhert bring in someone at senior.
    Kerry didnt wait long to get Donie.back,cork should get ed coughlan involved ,hes now free,a cork man and gene also.
    Imo unlikely to happen as both are very much their own men.

Kerry now have Jack at minor,Buckley at u21,the Mercuial Fitzmaurice at senior,and the great Jack at minor,with tomas o se at ucc learning the ropes.
    Christ above bar u 21 and ucc ,with morgan ,we at minor and senior management miles off the required standard,and kerry are going to dominate for a few years cork at those grades,to compliment their excellence school structure and success,Corks schools football is not that bad to be fair,an all ireland b and c Title this year.
    Daly left dublin hurling a year too late imo.
    Cusack,cunningham linked to it.
    Cunningham definetly wont take it.

2015 Corn ui Mhuiri
    CORN UI MHUIRI
    GROUP ONE: Macroom, Tralee CBS, Clonakilty, Ballincollig.
    GROUP TWO: St Brendan Killarney, Mercy Mount Hawk Tralle, St Flannans, Colaiste na Scelige.
    GROUP THREE: Skibereen, Rochestown, Clonmel High School, West Limerick Colleges.
    GROUP FOUR: Pobail Scoil Chorca Dhuibhne, Colaiste Chriost Ri, Killorglin.

Looking at the football next year,if we had a good manager,at the least an all ireland final is up for grabs.
    Dublin will be back,stronger,reenergised .
    Kerry will be there as they continually evolve.
    Donegal if they win in three weeks,wont be as strong as they will be a tired team,hunger not quite the same,intensity slightly off like last year.
    Mayo,no matter who joins,are in dire need of forwards,with buckey and horan gone,huge voids to fill and wont be as strong.
    Galway are in transiton,depends who is manager.
    Armagh no way near a top four team now macgeeny is in charge.
    When i see the overhyped conor macgregor praising him,i have to wonder,the apple never falls from the tree ,in one overhyped sportsman lauds another.
    Meath if they have a full panel,could be top four.
    Kildare.,will be busy,but lack guile.,creativity but with jason ryan would beat cork.
    Tyrone,if harte stays could be there.
    Monaghan have a good manager but a lot of mileage,and no real forwards.
    Bar kerry and dublin,cork have a huge opportunity,and kerry arent great,but unfortunateäy we will do well to compete as a top six team imo.
    Everbody will improve bar cork.
    Even westmeath dont accept mediocrity,sacked after a dismal year one paul bealin as they knew it wasnt working.

• Registered Users Posts: 28 havent got a kalou

The dean ryan cup starts wedneday three weeks the 24th of september.

Rochestown v youghal
    Charville v clonmel
    Midelton the holders v nenagh

If charville win they make it a cork quater final as they play rochestown or youghal so we could be guaranteed a all quater final

If midelton beat nenagh,they play flannans or de la salle in a quater final and would possibly meet youghal or rochestown or charville in a semi final should they get through
    Four cork teams on one side of the draw make it likely of getting a team to the final but it be better if we had other team on the other side
    Colmans are there but the bye wont do them any favours as they will be coming in cold against probaly ard scoil,with a game under their belt ,and its a huge ask.
    Five cork teams , four fron tippereary ,two each from clare and waterford and limerck.

Draw
    Ist round 24th of september

A Rice v blackwater
    B Templemore v kilmallock
    C Ard scoil v thurles
    D Rochestown v youghal
    E Charville v clonmel
    F Midelton v nenagh
    G st flannans v dls waterford

Quater final 8th october
    1 A v b
    2 C v st colmans fermoy got a buy
    3 d v e
    4 F v g

Semi final 22nd october

1 v 2
    3 v 4

Final 8th of november

For a successful Dean ryan cup,all cork teams must be competive,i wouldnt be too harsh on colmans as its a tough draw,with no ist round game,we should have be wanting an all cork semi,and a team in the final for the second year in a row at least for constant upward dean ryan progression imo.

Harty cup starts October ist

Its Hughely Imperative all cork teams be competive and we get at least a finalist,badly need a winner.
    Time for charville,midelton,rochestown to step up and use their expierence from last year .
    Hamilton,not as huge a pick like the other cork teams  but with horgan,cahalane among others gone, huge losses,but luke meade and chris o leary are i think eligble,two huge huge players for them,two real leaders.Id expect them to be very competive.

GROUP ONE: Ardscoil Ris, Blackwater CS, St Flannans, Thurles CBS, West Limerick Colleges.
    GROUP TWO: Scoil na Trionoide Naofa Doon, St Colmans Fermoy, Gaelcolaiste Mhuire AG, De La Salle, Castletroy College.
    GROUP THREE: Rochestown, Charleville CBS, Our Ladys Templemore, youghal, St Caimins Shannon.
    GROUP FOUR: Hamilton High School Bandon, Nenagh CBS, Dungarvan CBS, High School Clonmel, Midleton CBS.

Round 1      1/10/14
    Ard ScoilRis  v Blackwater C.S
    StFlannan’s  vThurles CBS
    Scoil na Trionóid Doon v St Colman’s
    Gael Coláiste Mhuire AG  vDe La Salle     
    St Franciochestown v   Charleville
    Our Lady’s Templemore  v Youghal
    Hamilton High Bandon v nenagh
    Dungarvan CBS v High School Clonmel

Round 2       15/10/14
    Blackwater CS v St. Flannan’s
    Thurles CBS  v  West Limerick Colleges
    St Colman’s v Gael Coláiste Mhuire AG
    De La Salle  v Castletroy CC
    Charleville CBS  v  Templemore
    Youghal  v St Caimin’s Shannon
    Nenagh CBS  vDungarvan CBS
    High School Clonmel v Midleton

Round 3      5/11/14
    Ardscoil Ris  vThurles CBS
    St Flannan’s  v West Limerick
    Doon v De La Salle
    Coláiste MhuireAG  v Castletroy
    St Francis - Rochestown v  Youghal
    Templemore v  St Caimin’s
    Hamilton High Bandon v  Clonmel
    Dungarvan CBS v Midleton CBS

Round 4    19/11/14
    Ardscoil Ris v West Limerick
    Blackwater CS  v Thurles CBS
    Doon  v Castletroy CC
    St Colman’s Fermoy  v De La Salle
    Rochestown v  St Caimhins
    Charleville CBS  v Youghal
    Hamilton High Bandon v Midleton
    Nenagh CBS v.High School Clonmel

Round 5    03/12/14
    Ardscoil Ris v St Flannan’s    
    Blackwater CS v.West Limerick
    Doon  v Gael Coláiste Mhuire AG
    St Colman’s Fermoy v Castletroy CC
    Rochestown vTemplemore
    Charleville CBS  v St Caimin’s
    Hamilton  Bandon v  Dungarvan
    Nenagh CBS  v Midleton CBS

Quarter Finals 14/01/2015
    Semi Finals       31/1/2015
    Final                   21/2/2015
    All-Ireland Quarter Finals     15/3/2015
    All-Ireland Semi Finals           22/3/2015
    All-Ireland Final                     5/4/2015

We should get a cork group winner from group 3,possibly a runner up,midelton should come out of group four,with Hamilton a fighting chance,in group two its hard to see a cork team make it,as a winner as its a tough group but ag mhuire may have run second close.

Colmans ,unfortunately imo are not the force of old,sad to see,denis ring  is now.working hes magic with Blackwater cbs.
    West limerick almagate next year,dromcollger,newcastlewest and rathkeale,great idea,as if limerick hurling at schools wasnt strong enough the board show tremendous innovation,courage,not to rest on their laurels,but continually strive for perfection in one weak aera of limerick,if it happened last year diarmuid buckley hazlewood be playing harty cup hurling,where hes skillset deserves.

Cork could learn from limerick.West limerick has some good hurling talent,current minor seamus flangan is from their playing with diarmuid buckley last year at hazlewood colledge.

Cork u 17s win is being played down just naively over a false misconception imo,the minors failed since 2008,that had nothing to do with talent,more so a complete balls up of the inital development squad launch,and then poor manager,wouldnt imo win a title if he had the clare u 21s.
    Cork beat dublin,to be fair dublin were not great ,but they beat limerick who had a lot of full strength squad,and hammered a poor poor clare.
    Its vital like u 15,cork beating limerick as they have been our bogey team at schools,and underage since 2008.
    Cork had seven key lads out of the panel in Mallow,limerick had noel hartigan coaching them,doing great work,that was a good limerick side,and a lot will be with around seven of the current panel from sundays final be their team next year.
    Limerick will be strong,but id fancy cork next year.
    When the draw is done in around six weeks,i want cork to get clare,it would be in ennis,tipp ,or waterford away,as its a test,loose and your still in the competiton,but should you meet them again,cork have home adavantage.
    Limerick i would respect but not fear them,would be a nightmare in a ist round,as we could win in cork but we would then if we met them again in a semi final have to play them in the gaelic grounds as we play them in cork if we draw them in a ist game scenario.
    Limerick unlike last year in a semi final is fine ,once we havent played them already,as we crucially have home advanatage,our better again would be to avoid them up to a possible munster final as unlike a semi final you have the comfort of a back door.
    Cork lads need to be getting to croke park at the very least in Minor Hurling.

For me in the Harty Midleton will win it the 2 years in a row hands down

I hope your right.
    One would be a start,a huge improvement.

Ard scoil will always be their abouts,and have gillane,fitzgerald,casey from limerick minors,dean ryan cup team last year was very good just lost by a point,have proven coaches,so they wont be far away.

• Registered Users Posts: 303 ✭✭Smith614

I went to see Charleville v Fermoy u21 game in mallow tonight. Charleville won 1-13 to 0-14. Good tough game with Charleville holding on well in the end. No program so didn't know a lot of the players but Alan Dennehy had a super game for Charleville at no.6. Fermoy seemed shell shocked after this match as they have a lot of their intermediate team starting u.21.

I hope your right.
    One would be a start,a huge improvement.

Ard scoil will always be their abouts,and have gillane,fitzgerald,casey from limerick minors,dean ryan cup team last year was very good just lost by a point,have proven coaches,so they wont be far away.

Well in think Niall McCarthy is now in with Ronan Dwane as trainers

• Registered Users Posts: 355 ✭✭sean mac

Has had a lot of teams and keeps getting coaching gigs, yet to see a team with him in charge actually win anything - carrigtwohill, cork minors, cork u16s.
    Maybe the fella is good and he is certainly liked down the pairc but has he had success somewhere else?

sean mac wrote: »
    Has had a lot of teams and keeps getting coaching gigs, yet to see a team with him in charge actually win anything - carrigtwohill, cork minors, cork u16s.
    Maybe the fella is good and he is certainly liked down the pairc but has he had success somewhere else?

I don't think he ever had cork minors , and won a lot with Midleton C.B.S

sean mac wrote: »

Was in charge of dean ryan cup wiing team but sean hurley deserves a lot of credit too for that

I hope it works for niall
    Some.player
    Went abroad for summer back played junior,then senior champ this year,in a loss.was their best player despite little hurling.done
    What a player,warrior

That a suprise,tonights result.
    newtown beat charville in the ist round 3-16 to 10 four weeks ago,a repeat rematch in thefinal it will be.and hopefully will be close,but newtown to win imo but a tough county quater final v duhallow awaits on the 20th of september in milford. Duhallow got to five out of the last six county finals ,won the county u 14 title doing great work in underage hurling.

Mallow got them by suprise in the quater final in milford last year ,they will be ready this time and with ian walsh , possibly sean howard ,browne would be a test for newtown or chareville on any day.

Dennehy has had a superb season at cit,cork intermediates and at club both in u 21 and intermediate this year.
    Fermoy won't have long to dwell on tonight,they have a huge game this weekend in the replay match in intermediate hurling with last year beaten finalst eire og coached by teddy maccarthy.I hope Fermoy win that game.

Sean is right,Ronan Dwayne was a cork minor selector in 2011,that had seanie mcgrath also involved in the team beaten handily by limerick.

• Registered Users Posts: 163 ✭✭North Cork Star

Regarding the North Cork Final, Dromina ere too strong altogether. It looked as if Newtown were actually scared of them. Dromina's experience and physicality shun through in the end. They were well able to get in the vital flicks and find their men too. Andrew O'Shaughnessy scored 0-8, mostly from frees was involved in the 1992 Final between the sides and got Man of the Match in the drawn final believe it or not. Young Diarmuid Buckley got the award last Sunday with some lovely points. Michael Naughton was awesome in the half back line also sweeping up everything within his radar. Meanwhile Newtown just seemed to be in a state of shock to Dromina's early intensity. Jamie C Coughlan has the natural ability to score as seen all year but when things get tough, his contribrution is very little and when substituted, he walked all the way up to the dressing room straight after. They were depending on Donagh Stack in the end to win aerial ball and even he was snuffed out on the day. Well done to Dromina to keep the club going strong after a tough few years!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

For me in the Harty Midleton will win it the 2 years in a row hands down

If the Harty was based on talent alone, Midleton CBS would have double or triple the amount of Harty's won. Unfortunately at Harty level we often flatter to deceive.

Ironic enough that the last time we won a Harty, the same group struggled badly at the earlier ages. The players on the age were very weak that year.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,307 ✭✭✭Horse84

Cork GAA chief insists Rebel hurling in good health in face of criticism at heated meeting
    http://jrnl.ie/1651515

• Registered Users Posts: 5,119 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Happy anniversary!! Almost:(

Duffy praises retiring Murphy - Hoganstand.com http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=117253

Fair play to the delegate ,for asking the hard questions.
    Tpyical response,by Bob.
    Cork u 21 hammered,no u 21 in 16 years,no senior in nine,minor in 13 years in terms of an all ireland yet were not in crisis,our biggest hurling defeat over twenty years,jbm doing best he can with no underage glory,yet we cant speak truths,but he labels it as rubbish,lets move forward,unbelievable county board response.
    Seanie mcgrath gave  a report  no second guessing what mcgrath said,listening to that radio interview that a poster posted ,id say mcgrath report was,one of those days,we are cork,we have hurlers etc etc,lets be postive.Fair play Seanie,Just what Cork Hurling needs.They fool no one but themselves  with its not that bad in.cork hurling imo.

It will be the same next year,any failures wont be questioned, those that fail will get a new term whatever happens if they want it if the board approve.In cork you cant say unpopular views, you can not even  have a debate,your seen as the enemy within.What a joke in this day and age.

Its time for people to be postitve regards cork hurling bob says.
    Realism ,is what its called.
    Half the country are astounded at cork,a bit like roy keane said irish soccer players were  similary viewed at our so called professional standards by players of other countries in england,as they were travelling in planes as middle class ,while others had ist class and ireland at times had poor training etc.

But nothing changes in cork.When michael maguire asked why cuthbhert was given the job they refused to answer in the football last year.

http://www.thesundaytimes.co.uk/sto/sport/rugby_union/Heineken_Cup/article1329417.ece

Dualism now has five players,of course dualism had a part to play as mentioned by eammon macsweeney last week in cuthbhert getting the job.
    Nothing regards our worst defeat to kerry since the seventies,sure look just another bad day at the office,we just got unlucky ,we must think.Cork football wont be down for long.
    Its bad enough were not winning,but what truly is imo sickening is the county boards reaction once agin to it.
    The usal suspects support the board.Good man Mick.
    The cork minor footbaers,u 21 hurlers were poor yet well done maagement.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/dubs-set-to-name-new-boss-quickly-as-star-names-in-the-frame-284648.html

The part on offaly having a debate,Cork would never do such a thing,unfortunately.
    Its no exxagerstion cork are having similar hurling problems to.them,but offaly at least accept they have one and debate it.

Shamrocks were brave and courageous to question the untouchables.A small club,with real values,no self conflicting interests,nothing to loose,done what every delagate in cork should but wont do.

But fair play to them,cork gaa must be demoratic,they are entitled to their voice.
    The glen or bishoptown,two huge hurling and football clubs not a whisper of discontent.
    The outcome of their match brawl should be very interesting to say the least.

• Registered Users Posts: 98 ✭✭seventh7

Drills magic, very detailed and organised. Motivation skills in question, blinkered when looking at potential, Cork U16 A'S A prime example.

http://www.gaacork.ie/news/304497/Updated_County_Hurling_Football_Championship_Programme

Newtown na piarsaigh game changed to double heade ,in the pairc the 14th.
    Im not going to say well done cork county board,as its logic and fair its that day,it should never have been initally scheduled for a friday to begin with.
    So no thanks for just them doing their job.
    Roy keane doesnt thank the postman for delivering hes post.
    Newtown have a real chance now,they love the open space of the pairc,love city teams,won three in a row u 21 county beating na piarsaigh twice,the glen,at senior beat blackrock in county final.
    I know beating cloyne.,wasnt the same for them,as cloyne are like.them,but beating blackrock,and sarsdfields,looked on by some in corks top table as the golden boys of cork hurling was immense satisfaction to Corks Team of the decade in 2000.
    It was mentioned last week if sars win this county,it compares to newtwons great run.

With respect sars couldnt tie the shoelaces of newtown,as yes they would have four titles like newtown in six years,but unlike sars who were awful in munster,newtown won three munster club titles,two all ireland finals,winning one.
    To put sarsfields achiecements along side newtown imo is an insult to Cork last All ireland winning club team,a truly great club.
    Sarsfields are very good club and done well but are not up their imo as greats,as never won even a munster club title.

Seventh.congrats last week how do you feel regards youghal,tough game imo

• Registered Users Posts: 303 ✭✭Smith614

Charleville V Newtown u21 final at weekend should be good game. A lot of talent on Both teams.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,113 ✭✭✭Boom__Boom

Horse84 wrote: »
    Cork GAA chief insists Rebel hurling in good health in face of criticism at heated meeting
    http://jrnl.ie/1651515

Interesting to look at the comments and likes/dislikes under the article.

Seems to be a more general awareness even among the general public and those with very little in the way of GAA connections of how poor the established Cork GAA order are doing.

I had heard recently that the Cork manager's job was offered to another candidate even before it came down to Cuthbert and Cleary but he turned it down as he wasn't going to be allowed select his own selectors and he had no interest whatsoever in even considering allowing dual players. Also heard that the vibe in the footballers camp was seriously poor and that it is no way near a united camp with the issue of dualism causing massive problems in terms of team unity. The performance in the Mayo game was largely driven by the players as opposed to anything management did.

The Latin phrase "cui bono" comes to mind as regards the whole PUC issue.
    €70m (€30m of it tax payers money) ending up in the pockets of some lads for moving the deck chairs on the titanic around. Not denying that PUC is in a state but from what I have read of the planned development I can really see a lot of people turning up the first day the new stadium is opened and saying "WTF how the hell was €70m spent on this?"

Some people seem to think that the day when Frank goes all will be well but even when he goes there will be a lot of his supporters still lingering around in county board positions who share his mindset and approach. It will take a bit of time/effort to clear out/move out some of these dinosaurs and set up proper democratic structures get a proper/decent culture going. The fact that a serious chunk of clubs simply dont bother appointing their more able members as county board delegates as there is simply no point says a huge amount. Will take a fair while to rectify this approach to county affairs in clubs.

There was even some people saying that it was almost tragic that it was due to the poor performance of the Cork hurlers that caused any sort of backlash against the county board as it really showed what the status of hurling v football in the county is when you consider that the result in the Kerry game was pretty much the worst Cork football performance in 50 years. Same people were saying that the Cork lady footballers should do whatever it takes to stop any integration between the GAA and the LFAA as things are bound to disimprove for them once the CCB have any sort of say over the ladies game (they were half joking but only half joking)

It will be fierce interesting to see if there is any more criticism of the established order in Cork in the next few months or whether things will die down.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,119 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Don't know what's worse, Bobs smart ass attitude or that no delegates backed up the one who dared to challenge the top table.

http://www.eveningecho.ie/2014/09/03/glen-rovers-bishopstown/

Absoultely unbelievable regards the punishment for bishoptown and glen ,regards their match brawl at senior hurling.A small fine for both teams.Bishoptstown whether they instigated it or not is no excuse for  the Glen retaliating and thats their second offence since 2010.
    Huge fines should have sufficed for both teams imo.

I said it earlier the outcome be interesting to say the least.Im not suprised to honest.
    Cork county board is an open book at this stage,so so predictable,as night follows day imo in their dealing with things.
    Two city clubs  with a huge power of influence get different sanctions , but two small clubs get worse fines for their u 16 scenario.
    One rule for some,another for the rest  it seems.
    http://www.eveningecho.ie/2014/09/01/96-week-touchline-ban-u16-mentor/
    The u 16 match sanctions.

Boom boom, that was a good post.

Its clear as day cork hurling needs a radical overhaul.It wont happen til some current board members are not  running  cork gaa.
    There are three current board members id leave,their good delegates but their hands are tied to an extent what they can do with the others controlling things.
    The clubs last year with kenneally and cuthbhert appointments,last night hush say nothing approach when shamrock needed the big clubs support,glen,barrs,rockies,etc to support them,like in the cork strikes  some clubs have a vested interested in their own self worth,so when push comes to shove wont rock the boat.
    Imo corks only hope is if the GAA get involved,its in  the national games interest cork hurling is a force,when duffy goes who has supported frank in the past with public praise of him,also supported club draw last week,the next gaa general  must demand cork hurling at board level,all down to gassroots gets a radical overhaul.Cork gaa needs a new voice,director in hurling.
    Donal og cusack is the voice cork hurling craves for.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭citykat

Imo corks only hope is if the GAA get involved

Good luck with that! Former Prez N Brennan was scathing of Donal Og in his column in the local rag after his outburst on the Sun Game. I'd say the suits in Croke Park would share Nickey's opinion of Donal Og. Those guys haven't forgotten his role/stance in the strike I'd say.

Smith614 wrote: »
    Charleville V Newtown u21 final at weekend should be good game. A lot of talent on Both teams.

That will be a cracker I was talking to a lad from Newtown and he said they will be missing Jamie c coughlan

Birds of a feather flock together.
    Im sure cusack looses no sleep over it.
    Another stone age view man regarding hurling imo.
    He knows well about mediocrity and shamboluic management to agree cork isnt in crisis,sure he had a woeful woeful term as senior kilkenny manager had no concepts around tactics.
    Some man to travel all around the world and fair play liked business class
    .Hes reply was over safery risks of the danger on long all flights,yet many thousands fly every day but just take precautions.
    andy comeford in particular ive huge time for in hes support of cork in the strikes,said he be ashamed if kilkenny were treated the same.A man of principle i admire greatly.
    Shefflin i have great time for as a player but spoke in support of cork last year,sure thats easy to do.He did not say too much in support when it was on .
    As for others the less said the better.

Birds of a feather flock together.
    Im sure cusack looses no sleep over it.
    Another stone age view man regarding hurling imo.
    He knows well about mediocrity and shamboluic management to agree cork isnt in crisis,sure he had a woeful woeful term as senior kilkenny manager had no concepts around tactics.
    Some man to travel all around the world and fair play liked business class
    .Hes reply was over safery risks of the danger on long all flights,yet many thousands fly every day but just take precautions.
    andy comeford in particular ive huge time for in hes support of cork in the strikes,said he be ashamed if kilkenny were treated the same.A man of principle i admire greatly.
    Shefflin i have great time for as a player but spoke in support of cork last year,sure thats easy to do.He did not say too much in support when it was on .
    As for others the less said the better.

Could never understand why Cork players wanted to drag KK into their fight with Cork CB? I remember a token gesture of KK not pulling up socks in a league final/semi final which resulted in a fine for KK CB. Whatever beef Cork had with their CB was no business of the KK players. KK players are well looked after by KK CB from U-14 up. The relationship has always been good in my memory. To start pissing/moaning a la Cork would've been an uncalled for slap in the face of the CB.

Its called unity.,a self respect among other players to help them in their strike as some day ye could be in the boat,frank murphy is actually a kilkenny man,not a cork man.

Fergal hartley supported cork in.the strikes.
    Like a workers strike non employess of that complany wont cross the picket line.
    A lot of people have principle,know right from wrong,stand up for their beliefs.
    You would tend listen if brennan was actually good,but he was actually woeful as manager,lets be honest,and not sugar coat it.
    Wexford beat them,yes he beat dublin in 97 but wexford again beat them,he struggled past a poor galway,clare beat them.
    Kilkenny couldnt get wait to get rid of him then.

That will be a cracker I was talking to a lad from Newtown and he said they will be missing Jamie c coughlan

Could be a good game but even without.jc coughlan,tim mahony ,conor twomey olaying as a firward,michael maguire,jp maloney ,dromina and corjs diarmuid buckley newtiwb have forwards to still win

Eric.o connor duel with jack barry if he plays at midfield should be epic

Its called unity.,a self respect among other players to help them in their strike as some day ye could be in the boat,frank murphy is actually a kilkenny man,not a cork man.

Fergal hartley supported cork in.the strikes.
    Like a workers strike non employess of that complany wont cross the picket line.
    A lot of people have principle,know right from wrong,stand up for their beliefs.
    You would tend listen if brennan was actually good,but he was actually woeful as manager,lets be honest,and not sugar coat it.
    Wexford beat them,yes he beat dublin in 97 but wexford again beat them,he struggled past a poor galway,clare beat them.
    Kilkenny couldnt get wait to get rid of him then.

Ah would ye get over yourself. We're not talking about people being denied a livelihood here. I didn't know the ins and outs of the strike and to be honest I couldn't care less. Neither I'd say did most of the country. The media lapped it up as usual and blew it all out of proportion.
    As for Nickey. I don't know what his managerial record has to do with the strike issue. At least he put on a track suit and gave it a go not like some who like to talk the talk but don't necessarily walk the walk.