Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 5,119 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Thats not correct unfortunately,they both now.have 13,overtook downey,but kathleen millis dubllin has 15 senior all irelands camoige,but win the football they go to 14,and corkery wont retire for another few years so she imo will break it,just a matter of time.

Kieran Shannon said it in yesterdays paper. Fantastic achievement either way and like you say, hopefully more to come in two weeks

• Registered Users Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

Kieran Shannon said it in yesterdays paper. Fantastic achievement either way and like you say, hopefully more to come in two weeks

http://www.scoreboardmemories.com/sports-index/hall-of-fame/item/97-kathleen-mills-dublin.html
    Wikopedia has it.also

Im huge fan shannon but he it seems is wrong and millis has the record

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

SeaFields wrote: »
    I wonder will rebel girl be sober in time for it?! :D:pac:

I will - clear head tonight unfortunately cos I'm at work at 7.30am tomorrow morning.

Watching the game, it looked like the occasion got to the girls in the first half, but the defensive game plan worked well. Kilkenny hit 4-12 in the semi final, and it was a big thing to stop them getting goals. 4-12 they hit v Galway, so it was important to limit them.

Played out similar to the semi final, Cork really dominating in the second half of the game. Referee was poor at times, gave a free against Rena when she took 5 steps and the KK girl holding her hand - and it was a stonewall penalty for Kilkenny as well in the last few minutes, think it was Murray who rugby tackled her to the ground!

Corkery was quiet by her own standards, got motoring at times in the second half, did get a lovely point. Lot of overhit passes at times from Cork, which was a little frustrating. Geary had some battle with Power, did well enough without being spectacular. Half back line were superb, Gemma O Connor a real settler, and any one of them could have been player of the match. Jen O Leary came into it when needed

Corkery herself said it in an interview on Saturday, this year the commitment was 100% there in the camogie as well as the football, its the little little things that they have started doing which has gotten them back to where they are. Becoming friends off the pitch and coming together as a group more has really helped. Unlike the ladies football, who have a huge track record at underage, the teams coming through are being left down by poor coaching and choosing of players, which is something that needs to be addressed. Anybody questioning the commitment of the girls in comparision to the men, especially the dual players, is shocking. They have to put in as much work as the men do, for less reward and publicity. Corkery made a very valid point about the likes of Aidan Walsh and Cadogen who were the focus of Cork's losses - herself and Rena have been doing it since they were 14, playing both and it takes huge time to adapt to that.

When Cork ran at Kilkenny, they got rewards, but an overhit pass would halt the moves. It wasn't a classic final, but it was a case of getting the job done for Cork - doesn't matter how you win it. The intensity shown in the second half was much better, when they went out and hurled rather than having to stick to a game plan. Kilkenny were unbeaten all year in league and championship and this defeat will hurt them hugely. Croke Park experience cannot be underestimated and a lot of Cork players have been there and done it.

Flying home in two weeks time for the game, nerves already starting. Senior championship semi finals are down for Tuesday, Inch v Mournabbey and St Vals v St Marys, so hopefully all the players will come through unscathed.

Rena Buckley actually holds 15 All Ireland medals, five camogie inter county, 8 football and 2 club football, along with co football and camogie medals. Briege has a co football but not sure if she has co camogie, think Cloughduv won in 2005 but not sure if she was playing. Rena only missing an All Ireland camogie club all Ireland medal but has a runners up one, to complete the set of Co, Munster and All Ireland club and county medals - some achievement.

Managed to watch it on the RTE player in the UK, which was brilliant, happened to be in a pub with a Spanish friend and an English one, got them both to watch with me then went home for the second half!

Some year for Anna Geary - All Ireland club title with Milford, Rose of Tralee and now All Ireland title with Cork. Disgraceful of RTE to pull away from her speech, if it was the men's one it wouldn't have happened - they didn't need to go to an ad break. I was very very disappointed with them over that.

Think there was quite a few Cork hurlers up there supporting the girls, know Donal Og was there alright

No info re homecoming yet - Cork camogie on twitter is your best bet

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

http://www.scoreboardmemories.com/sports-index/hall-of-fame/item/97-kathleen-mills-dublin.html
    Wikopedia has it.also

Im huge fan shannon but he it seems is wrong and millis has the record

Is it just intercounty or club as well?? Rena has 15 by my count if including club All Irelands, 5 camogie, 8 football and 2 club

Rg delighted for you ,fair play ,some dedication flying home in two weeks for the football.

I think the 15 were all intercounty at senior as downeys 12 were for kk and they mean senior intercounty all irelands.
    I thought the briege interview was a supberb read,rarely you get a brillant writer and sportsperson togther,not one of them a bluffer or spoofer,both winners.
    Unfortunateåy brieges brother lost the.mid cork junior with aginagh.
    Cusack some man for one man,i presume annas cousin lorchan.mcghloughin,and denise cronin brother pa were there.
    Seamus harnedys mother kathy landers won all ireland with cork and captained cork.

I have no doubt donal og grady was there or if not be at the homecoming,i saw him at a few in the past .

Thanks,i will check on twitter

Will many of the team retire Rg 15,linda mellerick said in the sunday times today,half a dozen could retire,she worries for cork at senior,and when kk win,floodgates could open,and they could dominate as there team is younger.
    They willhardly catch cork on 26 titles do.

i thought rte were a disgrace moving away from geary speech,reminded me of the stories when cork man noel cantwell lifted fa cup for man utd,the anti soccer pro gaa rte,cut the coverage then .

http://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/sport/brilliant-rebels-make-it-back-to-the-mountain-top-641978.html

I find it fasinating,as mentioned here it was a tactical game.It was.Newtown.v na piarsaigh was also,both had,sweepers.
    I hope jbm learns tactics hughely important in the modern game at all levels,both men and women,and hes off the cuff hurling may win an odd game or two,to win an all ireland you need tactics.
    Cuthbhert should do like wise.
    Paudie murray got the tactics right credit due.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/columnists/derval-orourke/minority-report-why-does-womens-sport-have-to-play-second-fiddle-256798.html

I would agree with lot of what derval said,womens sport deserves more coverage,gearys speech a prime example
    Since that article,irish rubgy women did recive excellent media coverage in the national and local medias,and it imo was great to see but we need more if it.

http://www.eveningecho.ie/2014/09/09/dual-stars/

a great article by mary white regards briege im a huge fan of briege ,cork ladies gaa,and mary white so i geuinely hand on heart mean no offence to them,but dualism in the ladies game and mens is very different.I take it she wasnt just refering to the womens game when saying dualism is going well.

Training is up there in relation to cork ladies football to the mens game,in fact what i saw in ul watching both train during the summer,our ladies imo were better organised,far more tempo overall than our men ,their training is superb to be honest,who bar mccarthy with the men,a lot of the other coaching imo left a lot to be desired but that was just with cork,but the competivness isnt the same imo in that realistically in most of the games bar a few ,the intensity is not the same in the level of opponent ,in mens football you have,mayo,dublins,donegals,kerry,tyrones,monaghans,armaghs,all soley focused one code ,cork have to match there prepartion if they met them.Hughely physical,intense games if we play them.
    In hurling,kilkenny,clare,wexford,tipp,limerick ,all bring huge intensity to the games.Its impossible to play a football game on a saturday against any of those teams,then play a hurling game the day after in the mens code,or even a week after,and perform to the best of your ability in both codes imo.

I saw dublin ladies train in football ,it was very good but imo,i said it then not at corks standard at all imo as cork ladies actually train better than some mens teams.Yes that good.
    Cork raised the bar so high ,winning 8 of the last 9,no other county can compete.In the mens game in that period far more competive with five different winners of the mens senior football.
    Corks domination in one code makes it easier for dualism in the ladies.
    In the mens game,Cork arent dominating in either code,at present were fighting for survival struggling to compete against the.big fish .

I have no doubt kilkenny and cork in the camoige final be savage intensity with superb skills to rival some men games but thats just one game.
    The football final be intense ,in ladies,but the overall intensity in mens and womens championship overall in both codes is imo higher than the ladies, and is played at a much higher tempo and pace in not all but most games.
    i geuinely dont want to take from the ladies at all at all,but to say dualism works for ladies ,means it can work for men ,when wexford,dublin,clare,cork this year clearly proved otherwise imo is incorrect
    and way off the mark.
    If she meant dualism can work in the ladies game she is correct and very hard to debate the splendid article but if she means it in relation to the mens game also,i would totally disagree.
    My orignal views regards comparing dualusm with men and women this week.

I dont for one second doubt commitment of women to men at all at all,and am not trying to devalue womens sport,im a huge huge fan , i always adovate women gaa here but in gaa in football as i said the competiton as a whole in the overall picture imo is more competive than women as shown by the winner in the last ten years,in men theres been different winners.

Thats my point.look at this year,gavin,horan,fitzmaurice,mcguinness are four top top coaches of equal standard imo, so you have four very competive teams

In women,no one comes close to ryan,every team not as well prepared as cork
    Cork dominate in the football,were struggling to compete in both mans game,impossible for dualism to work imo

Cadogan isnt new to it,he tried and failed in 2012.
    The women proved dualism can be done in their game,i concede,and immense credit due to them
    Le chin,podge,cadogan,cahalane ,even walsh in football proved it cant be done in the mans game

I dont for one second think corkery commitment is less to walsh ,its equal absoultey,but walsh could end up playing a tough qualifer away to monaghan for example and a hurling game against clare the day after,unlikely the women have two games in 24 hours against teams of that quality back to back.
    Cadogan had wexford, a poor team back in 2012 unlike.now a coming force,on a saturday, then a munster final v a poor clare the day after,he had to opt out of the hurling.
    He couldnt do it then,he has no chance against top teams imo doing it,and that could happen when the new seeding in munster footba imo next year.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,113 ✭✭✭Boom__Boom

Thats my point.look at this year,gavin,horan,fitzmaurice,mcguinness are four top top coaches of equal standard imo, so you have four very competive teams

In women,no one comes close to ryan,every team not as well prepared as cork
    Cork dominate in the football,were struggling to compete in both mans game,impossible for dualism to work imo

The level of a lot of the coaching/managing in the women's game in football can be very poor, sometimes shockingly poor even at the higher level - I know some lads who have been over ladies teams and I wouldnt have put them over an U8s team.

However I expect that to change before too long as more and more of the current generation retire from playing and start to take over management roles.

Hold on a second, Cork are hardly dominating - yes they come good at the end of the championship, but have been given big scares by Kerry, Dublin and Monaghan in recent years. Last years game v Armagh scraped through, 9 points down v Dublin in the QF and I was the only officer who at half time thought Cork would win! It has been far from total domination - but with regards the dualism, Rena and Briege have been doing it since they were 14 and have been able to work it out. It does take a while - even worse for the ladies when they could have games on both days of the weekend or even two games on one day. The challenges faced are different to the mens in the physicality state, but they are more than made up for with the scheduling of the games

The cork u 17 footballers team that won the keirns tournament in kerry, our hopes for minor success in  2015.
    They had some success along the way,fine talent,some of last years panel will remain next year,but imo kerry with 8 or so this year panel,will be very strong.again next year,under jack o connor and tipp who beat us at u 15,and u 16 would test us tactically .
    Its interesting to look at how the core of next year minor team fared the last four years

The alan keirns 2017 tournament in kerry
    Cork 4-17 Mayo 1-5
    Galway 2-11 Kerry 1-13

Final
    Cork 2-23 Galway 2-3
    Management:
    Gerry Dineen
    Inniscarra Declan O'Connell Glanmire,Gearoid Condon
    Kinsale,Tim Buckley Dohenys
    ,Mark Byrne glanmire.

A good win,but cork didnt play kerry or tipp.

In 2013 that group,then u 16 in the rathkeale tournament in limerick ,
    Corks set up was Manager  Diarmuid O'Donovan St. Nicks
    Paul Holland Argideen Rangers, Podsie O'Mahony Ballincollig, Joe Hanlon Buttevant, Gerry Dineen Inniscarra

First round: Tipperary 2-13 Cork 1-7, Kerry South 3-12 Corcaigh 2-8,

Shield semi-finals: Cork 4-10 Limerick 2-8, Corcaigh 8-17 Waterford 1-3
    Cup final: Kerry South won the main competition.In the shield final: Corcaigh 1-14 Cork 4-2

At 2012 in u 15 the Humprey kelleher tournament in cork there were that same group.

Joe O’Hanlon Buttevant, Brian Lotty, Glanmire; Paul Holland, Timoleague,Diarmoid donovan. Stephen Quinn (Clondrohid), Gerry Dineen (Inniscarra) and Ronan McCarthy (Douglas) were the management.

Two cork teams took part ‘Rebel Óg’, the other Cork team was ‘Corcaigh’.
    Rebel og beat Waterford won 1-12 to 1-2. Corcaigh beat Limerick 1-12 to 2-0.

Luke Hackett, got a late goal the sarsfields,cork hurler,cork.
    with alate comeback,Rebel og winning by a point over clare who beat north kerry.Corcaigh lost to Tipperary by two points.
    Tippeary in the Humprey Kelleher tournament beat Rebel og in the final

The cork group in 2011 at u 14 level in waterford lost to kerry and tipp teams,but won the plate final.
    The 2011 selectors were Joe O’Hanlon from Buttevant, Brian Lotty, Glanmire; Paul Holland, Timoleague,Diarmoid donovan.

Some mixed results over the years in development, but some fine wins at times and at times they had good management,other times imo not as good as kerry and tippeary.
    The talent is their imo but i dont expect them to win an all ireland,munster or even get to an all ireland semi final at minor next year ,unless the current management learn from the mistakes of this year.
    Donegal minor team in sundays final have worked with declan bonnar since u 16 and been successful and most clare u 21 history winning hurling team have been successful since u 14 up along the grades,as they built continuty up to minor.

Well done to killeagh and sars ,sn epic draw,st itas,super game in the county minor final v sarsfields,smiddy got a nice goal, o.brien the time he played before injury,Dan landers and Eoghan kinery had good games ,where o connor,.english,healy and murphy had good games for sarsfields.
    Healy,o connor, got two goals for sars,and delaney,smiddy and leahy got the killeagh goals.
    Killeagh were up by two points with around two minutes left,but sarsfields show tremendous fight,composure and courage to get two late points to draw,with the replay next week.
    A super game,again showing the wonderful talent in cork.
    Carbery won premier 2 minor,hammering aghabolluge,i didnt make that game.

http://m.limerickleader.ie/sport/limerick-sport/brian-ryan-overlooked-for-limerick-minor-and-u-21-manager-roles-1-6301001

Huge signifance to cork hurling in ,that wallace will remain with limerick no coincedce he is the only one remaining from this years set up,and brian ryan is gone not even u 21 manager.Wallace is not availble to jbm now if jbm does bring in a new selector.

Fair play to limerick county board,credit where due,they finally learned,and it shows that shock result last week had little to do with wallis,the poor changes in team selection he had no big influence,limerick realised wallace.,has been the main man behind the success and i would think,just my opinion,he had huge input in to minor manager,and would have left if he didnt.
    Leo o connor would not be great tactically,but is a superb player management coach,and will work with wallis very well,done well with ard scoil younger teams, and was manager in 2011 in the u 21 munster win.
    I was sure ryan would get the u 21 job ,but the board made a wise call imo going for other options.
    Limerick u 21s with kiely be strong,but they should of got rid of tom ryan also.
    Huge importance to cork,as i do believe limerick minors be strong next year again,but beatable.
    The minor draw i think is around the start of november this year for 2015.
    Credit due limerick made suprising changes at minor and u 21,Cork must follow suit and freshen up the u 21 set up as with limericks changes where now behind them imo now at that grade.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,259 ✭✭✭slingerz

Hold on a second, Cork are hardly dominating - yes they come good at the end of the championship, but have been given big scares by Kerry, Dublin and Monaghan in recent years. Last years game v Armagh scraped through, 9 points down v Dublin in the QF and I was the only officer who at half time thought Cork would win! It has been far from total domination - but with regards the dualism, Rena and Briege have been doing it since they were 14 and have been able to work it out. It does take a while - even worse for the ladies when they could have games on both days of the weekend or even two games on one day. The challenges faced are different to the mens in the physicality state, but they are more than made up for with the scheduling of the games

to be fair all irelands is where its at and the ladies footballers have dominated that even if they have been pushed in various games they have always had the answers

slingerz wrote: »
    to be fair all irelands is where its at and the ladies footballers have dominated that even if they have been pushed in various games they have always had the answers

Yeah, I do get that point, but to say Dublin, Monaghan, Galway, Kerry and Armagh are miles behind isn't correct. Dublin are dominating Leinster, whereas in Munster Kerry won it last year, which shows Cork are beatable, but just early in the championship only.

Again dualism means it only worked if your successful in both.
    Not this fabricated myth i wore both jerseys.
    Just wearing a wet suit doesnt make you a swimmer.To do that yöu must swim the length of the pool and stay afloat.

http://www.thescore.ie/cadogan-set-to-face-rebels-fixture-clash-499648-Jun2012/
    A quick reminder.,it caused problems then.
    Imagine next year,cadogan chooses one game,a fringe player starts instead of him,but he knows once cadogan is free to play hes back in,yet your man bust hes balls all year with one code devotion.
    Hardly good for morale.
    Here kingston acknowledged they had a difficulty with the two games.
    So what happens with four more duals next year
    We toss a coin????

• Registered Users Posts: 303 ✭✭Smith614

I think the speech could have gone on and on. When I heard the Camogie association being thanked I kinda thought oh no here we go with a mr eastwood job.

http://m.donegaldemocrat.ie/sport/gaelic-games/declan-bonner-s-donegal-minor-assignment-continues-to-reap-major-rewards-1-6277726

A terrific read,again donegal minors was not luck,or an accident,it was a long term project.
    I just love the piece where bonnar calls it as it was,donegals past failures,lazy excuses that it was more of derry ,tyrones were good we should accept that.
    He changed that philspohsy.
    We must demand better and not settle for failure,hes mindset.

In cork we fail to take ownership of our failures and a willingness to.change in,the old myth,kerry always mostly beat us,we have no right to expect more.

The size of the county,yet there in two finals unreal stuff.
    Hes attuide I love it,I respect it,were their in a final but im not happy with the underage structure fully,he strives for perfection.
    Its like i never see the job that done,i just see the job that remains to be done.

The level of prepartion taking in croke park before they played their,top top class.
    In donegal they have three things cork football must strive for

1 is talent at underage is developed in a winning culture
    2 they have a mastermind in charge at senior,yet another potenial successor in bonnar being groomed for the job.
    3 a real identity and style of play in both teams thats effective and coeherent.,in their style is the System which it is known as ,that is extremely succesful and suits the talents avaible to both teams.

http://www.gaa.ie/gaa-news-and-videos/daily-news/1/1609141534-jubilee-team-cork-1989/

Wonderful cork team ,the talent on the field complimented by a truly wonderful Cork manager,Mr Cork Football Billy Morgan.
    Jesus if he was with the current cork team,they would be flying.

http://gaacork.ie/news/304497/county_hurling&football_championship_programme

Some great games
    It would be great if cloyne got the final ,The Rock and Cusack,two iconic figures cork gaa getting  a final big day out.
    ,Ballyhea i would like normally to win but ill be going for cloyne ,better for cork hurling in the likes of Paudie sullivan gets a big day,Ian cahill a real talent at minor next year(needs to give up the football.much better hurler)better options for cork,big day expirence good for them.

Pa callaghan ,superb all year,id love to see him win a cup,but if true what i heard,very unlikely to rejoin the u21 set up next year again.What a supberb talent.
    I slightly hope cloyne win as cusack in a county final would ruffle some feathers after what he said a few weeks ago.
    Outstanding in goal for cloyne the weekenend,in peak physical condition at around 36 or 37 years of age.
    Ballyhea have some good club men,i respect diarmuid o.flynn the journalist from there but they have one or two total pro county board man down there.A fine club though,Club of Neil Ronan.

Newestown v kanturk.
    Its going to be tough for both teams,newcstown in senior football ,u 21 hurling were dogged in defeats,against better teams,they have huge resilence,and the fact michael mcsweeney,luke meade ,etc had suffered two defeats already there are bound a bit of luck.
    Kanturk playing football,12 or so dual players will distract them,and if Trevor horgan was fit,a huge,huge loss to them,id say they would win.
    Kanturk may if hes out but a tough one to call

Ballicollig v muskerry should be a real test for muskerry.
    Bancollig play as a team,kelly,jennings,miskella,sean,cian kiely,galvin etc have a real chance against muskerry,that im far from convinced about.
    Gould terribly inconistent,they will.need him.
    Muskerry flatter to decieve,if they win a county immense credit will be due but im unconvinced.

Clyda and bishostown.
    The country small club against the golden boys of cork football,that has far too much power of infulence in cork gaa imo.
    The town ,their fans think they just got to turn up.
    Unlike the barrs they will face a far far better coach in English.
    On paper they should be only be one winner.
    Clyda,that real family club ,with thr careys,mullanes,royanes,hanlons etc,the club that allowed cork hurlers on strike train there,when others wouldnt are a club with real values and principles on and off the field are very hard to beat.
    English managing,Kissane involved in coaching drills with advice etc.,right them of at your peril.
    Win or loose for them it has been some year,safety status retained.
    Bishopstown with goal merchant sam oakes,he is a fine player,came back from a bad injury training with the u 21s,Denis crowley under the high ball will cause ray carey problems,dorman,lester are good players and may shade it,but i give clyda a real real chance.

Their neighbours over the road kilshshanning take on the Barrs in the junior grade.

Mtichestown v eire og,id fancy the town,compelety different team under morgan rather than the one dimenshoal team they were under tompkins.
    Two huge games for Dan Goulding with eire og and Muskerry in two days.
    Mallow should in truth be beating na piarsaigh,im not sure the hunger,intensity desire will be there with sean og,gardiner,gould,buckley etc,now they are in their a hurling semi final  with a chance of a county.
    But this is.mallow were talking about,you cant be sure with them.
    If they had the dogness,spirit,steel,courage,resilence of their neighbours,clyda,with the talent they have they would walk the county.
    They simply wont win a county this year as there are other teams,not as much talent but better resolve and better coaches out there left imo.
    They may beat na piarsagh,more so down to what na piarsaigh dont do than what they actually do but imo A dogged,resilent Bantry ,led by Canty will beat them and quite easily at that.
    I cant understand the logic how mallow were among the favourites for the compeitons.
    Teams win cups,not indivuals that play of the cuff football,some days it works,other day it fails.
    You must play as a team in unity,with cohesion,defined purpose,organsistion,structure something mallow has not done constantly.
    Its a shame as they have some wonderful talent down there and it would be good for them to win a county but they have a lot of work to do.

As for the last four teams in the hurling ,possible cork lads that should get a league run,and we should enter a waterford crystal cup team this year imo ,Padraig gould,Moyinhan ,na piarsaigh stand out.

Gould if he stays injury free has it all.,pace,strength,great attiude,had a run but injury held him back a few years ago.
    A much better option than lawton who has hurling but lacks steel imo or mark collins who has steel but not the hurling imo for top intercounty.At football,a definite starter.

.Dayne lee will be u 21 next year be no harm to have him training with the winter panel.Just out og minor,i wouldnt rush him,but training be fine and a good confidence boost.

Douglas imo ,alan cadogan is the only one with moylan that should make it.
    O.connor,ward,kingston,be underage players.

The glen ,cunningham worth a look .
    Kennifick and dooling should be u.21 next year.
    Sarsfields have conor sullivan ,daniel kearney,but thats it.
    Cian mccarthy is not up to what is needed.Will be a fine club player though.
    A lot of other players ray ryan,
    Tadhg o.murphy,roche,fraggie all had their time with various cork teams and for one reason or another not viable options for the current cork team.

What is hughely concerning is none of any of the four teams left have a top intercounty senior full back,indicatment of one of the real problem in the current cork senior team,which has been a majior problem in cork hurling the last six years.
    Darren mannix is one but unfotunately too old for senior intercounty now.
    Colm spillane is an option,but castlelyons played him like cork as a forward.
    Got to be sole priority next year,a full back our were wasting our time.

Of all the hurling and football played,we should spare a thought for that great man,truly great conor cusack,on and off the field,got another bad injury in the had the weekend,out for the rest of the year,Trevor horgan recovering from a serious injury a few weeks ago,and the kilmurry player that broke hes leg sunday in the mid cork junior a.
    I wish them all a speedy recovery
    Any news of the cork ladies footballers,Did they come through their club games last night okay????

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,880 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Barrs beat Nemo 3-11 v 2-11 in the junior hurling final. A fine junior double for the Barr's.

• Registered Users Posts: 355 ✭✭sean mac

Any word on the replacement for ronan McCarthy lads? I hear his first job will be to persuade a significant number of seasoned campaigners to commit for 2015, apparently being treated like children doesn't cut the mustard for adults!
    TTM - is that david Cunningham your talking about? tried a few years ago and cleaned out as a full back in the league, don't think he is the man for this level.

sean mac wrote: »
    Any word on the replacement for ronan McCarthy lads? I hear his first job will be to persuade a significant number of seasoned campaigners to commit for 2015, apparently being treated like children doesn't cut the mustard for adults!
    TTM - is that david Cunningham your talking about? tried a few years ago and cleaned out as a full back in the league, don't think he is the man for this level.

Have agree.regards cunningham as a.full.back.but.hes playing centre forward now

Half forward id try him
    Having a fine season at centre forward
    When i look at kerry,donegal managent cork are miles off the standard

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,880 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

When i look at kerry,donegal managent cork are miles off the standard

That's it in a nutshell. We have players that are capable but we'll get no where with a management team that are clueless. When the pressure is on management make the tough decisions at the right time, ours are incapable in the extreme regarding this.

Sean any full back options for cork??your a poster well up on the cork scence

Who do you think will win the county???in hurling and football or push for it.Very hard to call imo.

What do make of the club football
    Are muskerry being overhyped
    What do make of clyda v town,amd carbery rangers v clonakilty

• Registered Users Posts: 355 ✭✭sean mac

Who do you think will win the county???in hurling and football or push for it.Very hard to call imo.

Well my tuppence worth ttm in no particular order:

I saw town vs barrs and while the barrs under mick slocum were a joke town looked decent. Hhowever it is some indictment of the current cork senior manager if town were to go onto better things once he has left the scene?? town are a nice team and clyda will dig in for the entire game but I think town have enough there, sam oakes looked the class player he was the last day out.
    Also saw clon the same night and thought they were decent considering the weather but not enough up front. However a half back line with Clancy and white will be strong and perhaps clon fancy themselves over ross, but surely after beating the county champions ross will win.
    Muskerry are overhyped - nicks weren't interested and their sole goal every year is survival. This year collig are strong and seem well managed so would give them a tentative nod, but without doubt my favourites for the county are NEMO, as always plenty of footballers, plenty of intelligence and will to win.
    As for a cork full back, unfortunately no, a few years ago I thought colm spillane but he has gone back, before him daragh Rodgers of dillons but injury killed him, cahalane - only if he plays hurling, but perhaps his ego says he can do both, the proverbial jack of all trades, master of none. However I have no doubt if a player was identified by management and helped, coached, mentored etc we could easily develop a fullback, but this is a huge problem with jbm et al, we once again ended up this year with the nonsense of shane oneill at 3 -crazy stuff and has set shane back big time, Ii know his confidence is gone.
    As for the hurling - NO offence to a great club (and a great passage man cian mac) but anyone except Sars, it would be great for city hurling if 1 of the other 3 won it out. Douglas on paper are the best of the 3, however I would love to see bob ryans face having to hand over the trophy to the great john gardiner and sean og!!!!!!
    We're in bog trouble at senior football at intercounty however

• Registered Users Posts: 140 ✭✭Rebel norrie

Best club full back this year in cork was Brendan Walsh from Bride Rovers.Dont know his age but has been very good this year.

I was in suprised tonight.
    Rte in the lead up to the greatest tactical game we will ever see sunday asked cuthbhert hes views -hardly a great.tactian imo,a man that waited til half time thinking cork may hold out v kerry yet after ten minutes we were wide open and  glaringly went a whole season without sorting midfield.

What has cuthbhert done to be such an expert?as a player or manager on the field.Hes a lovely fella,committed,passionate regards the game ,but he must be judged in hes managerial skillset.

Rte should have asked billy morgan imo who had some of the kerry lads at ucc,or mickey harte ,jim gavin,or sean boylan etc,shrewd proven football men

Im,sorry now but how can cuthbherts words on the game be taken as astute how to beat kerry etc when cork sufferred the worst munster final home defeat in over thirty years to kerry with him in charge.
    It would be like if Sky Sports asked Alan Pardew views on Bayern v man city.Would you be confident in them.

He has a lot of important things to do imo like Sort dualism like the wonderful davy fitzgerald did.
    Get us a top coach for example

It will be like a game of chess he says.
    Well  fitzmaurice checkmated him ruthlessy like the Great Bobby fischer exposed novice players ruthlessy and ended the game before it even started down the Pairc imo

Its on the RTE PLAYER not the centre piece with the picture of Cuthbhert but down below the picture of Donegal v Kerry with the heading
    Some big names of the gaelic football world give their verdicts on Kerry v Donegal

• Registered Users Posts: 5,119 ✭✭✭zetecescort

More detailed write up on the Jubilee team from the Cork GAA website

The 1989 Cork Senior Football team which defeated Mayo to win Cork's first All-Ireland title since 1973 will be honoured at Sunday's All-Ireland Final.

1. John Kerins (St Finbarr’s): Took over as goalkeeper from Michael Creedon at the start of the 1984 season and missed just one championship game until his retirement at the end of 1994. A dual Cork minor goalkeeper, he won six Munster medals and two All-Stars, in 1987 and ’90 and helped St Finbarr’s to an All-Ireland club title. Kerins, a member of An Garda Síochána, sadly passed away after a battle with cancer in 2001, aged just 39. He will be represented by his son John on Sunday.

2. Niall Cahalane (Castlehaven): A minor and U21 All-Ireland medallist, Cahalane made his debut for the senior team in 1984 and played in almost every position in defence over the course of his career. He won All-Star awards in 1987 and ’88 as well as county titles with Castlehaven in 1989, ’94 and 2003. In addition, he was a selector on the Haven sides which won the championship in 2012 and ’13. Today he is the joint-owner of Cahalane Skuse Auctioneers & Valuers.

3. Stephen O’Brien (Nemo Rangers): The youngest member of the 1989 side, O’Brien had made his debut only the year before but settled into the side quickly. Aside from his success with Cork – which included six Munster titles, two All-Irelands and All-Stars in 1990, ’94 and ’95, he was also part of an all-conquering Nemo Rangers side, winning six Cork and Munster championships and three All-Irelands. Now runs his own chemical distribution business.

4. Jimmy Kerrigan (Nemo Rangers): Was unfortunate to make his debut in 1978, at just 19, when Kerry were rampant, but soon proved himself to be one of the top defenders in the country and won an All-Star when Cork claimed the Munster title in 1983. Generally a left half-back, he also played occasionally at midfield and was also used by Billy Morgan in the half-forward line but was at left corner-back for 1989. The winner of five All-Ireland club titles with Nemo, he works as an estimator with Kiernan Electrical.

5. Michael Slocum (St Finbarr’s): A panellist in 1987 and ’88, Slocum appeared as a sub in the 1989 Munster final win over Kerry and was selected at right half-back for the semi-final against Dublin before retaining his place for the final against Mayo. Was ever-present the following year as back-to-back wins were achieved and received an All-Star award. Currently manager of the St Finbarr’s football team and has also been in charge of the Cork minor team, he works as a courier.

6. Conor Counihan (Aghada): Despite making his debut in the championship in 1981, it was ’86 before Counihan managed to hold down a regular spot at centre-back. Once established though, the All-Ireland U21 and junior medallist went from strength to strength and won All-Stars in both of the All-Ireland years. After his retirement, Counihan – who won two county titles with Imokilly – was a selector for both Billy Morgan and Larry Tompkins before becoming Cork manager in 2008. He led the team to three Munster titles, four leagues and the All-Ireland in 2010. Holds the role of CEO of St Joseph’s Foundation.

7. Tony Davis (O’Donovan Rossa): The only player to have won All-Ireland medals at senior, junior, U21, minor and club level, Davis made his senior debut as a wing-forward in 1995 but soon settled in defence, equally effective as either a corner-back or wing-back, where he was honoured with an All-Star in 1989. Helped O’Donovan Rossa to All-Ireland club glory in 1993 but retired from intercounty football at the relatively young age of 29 in 1994. Subsequently managed the Cork U21 side and was a regular analyst on The Sunday Game. Works as a Garda crime prevention officer in Anglesea St.

8. Teddy McCarthy (Glanmire): Will always hold a place in GAA history as the first (and so far only) man to win All-Ireland senior medals in the same year. Made his debut for the football side in 1985 after helping Imokilly to county glory in 1984 – he would do so again in ’86 – and became a regular, generally at midfield but often at wing-forward too. Won his first All-Ireland with the 1986 hurling triumph and was one of six Cork All-Stars in 1989 as well as being crowned Footballer of the Year. Retired from playing for Cork in 1996 but has since enjoyed plenty of success as a coach to various teams.

9. Shea Fahy (Nemo Rangers): Originally from Kildare, Army officer Fahy moved to Cork when stationed at Collins Barracks and joined Nemo Rangers. He made his debut in red and white against Limerick in 1987 and became an ever-present at midfield, winning All-Stars in 1988 and ’90 and also taking the Footballer of the Year award in the latter year. Was a central figure as Nemo Rangers won the 1993 county title and went on to win the All-Ireland club title the following March. Since retiring from the Army, he has worked with IBEC and is now a HR Director with the Musgrave Group.

10. Dave Barry (St Finbarr’s): Barry holds the distinction of holding a League of Ireland medal with Cork City from 1992-93 as well as two All-Irelands. Having missed out on the 1987 season, his reintroduction in 1988 gave the team an extra dimension and he was capable of lining out in either the half-forward or full-forward lines. Another of those to be honoured with an All-Star in 1989, he retired after the 1990 double win to concentrate on soccer. Managed Cork City to an FAI Cup win in 1998.

11. Larry Tompkins (Castlehaven): Like Fahy, Tompkins hailed from Kildare and had played for the county but emigrated to the US in the early 1980s. While there, he became friendly with workmates from Castlehaven and was encouraged to settle in Cork when he moved back to Ireland. The decision reaped benefits for club and county, with Tompkins winning All-Stars as Cork reached the 1987 and ’88 finals, and he was similarly honoured in ’89. The same year, Castlehaven won the county SFC so he was Cork captain in the double year of 1990. Succeeded Billy Morgan as Cork manager in 1997 and led the county to the ’99 final. Runs the famous pub named after him in Cork City.

12. Barry Coffey (Bishopstown): Cork’s successes of the late 80s and early 90s were backboned by the three-in-a-row All-Ireland U21 sides from 1984-96 and Coffey appeared at left half-forward on all three. While he was at number 12 for the ’89 final win over Mayo, he had played the rest of the year at left half-back. He again alternated between the two spots for the 1990 campaign, playing at 7 in the final against Meath, though he was back at wing-forward as Cork reached the 1993 All-Ireland final against Derry. Now operates as a self-employed business consultant.

13. Paul McGrath (Bishopstown): Having made his championship debut in the 1988 Munster final win over Kerry, McGrath held his place as Cork reached the All-Ireland final, losing after a replay to Meath. In 1989, he scored in each game and was an automatic All-Star at right corner-forward. The following year, the two-time All-Ireland U21 winner added a second All-Ireland medal and another All-Star. While he missed the 1993 season through injury he returned to the starting line-up in ’94, retiring after the All-Ireland semi-final loss to Down. Works with PJ Hegarty & Sons as a civil engineer.

14. Dinny Allen (Nemo Rangers - Captain): While he made his senior debut with the Cork football side at the age of 19 in 1972, Allen missed the ’73 All-Ireland win as he was playing soccer with Cork Hibernians, with whom he won the FAI Cup. While he returned to the fold in ‘75, Kerry were dominant and he wouldn’t win a Munster medal until 1983. He also featured for Cork in hurling in ’75 but they were beaten by Galway in the All-Ireland semi-final. While he left the Cork football panel after 1985, he was coaxed back for the ’88 season and was captain in ’89, finally winning that coveted All-Ireland medal at the age aged 37. A winner of an All-Ireland U21 as well, he also helped Nemo to four club All-Irelands and eight Cork titles. A keen golfer, he is now a self-employed financial consultant.

15. John Cleary (Castlehaven): In the 1989 All-Ireland semi-final against Dublin, the game looked to be getting away from Cork in the first half before Cleary converted two penalties to provide a big momentum swing. Having made his debut in 1983, he averaged more than two points a game despite Cork often being in Kerry’s shadow. While he didn’t feature in ’88 due to injury, he was back for ’89 and played at left corner-forward in every game. Though he wasn’t a regular starter in 1990, he still played a big role off the bench and remained part of the panel until the end of 1993. Won county titles with Castlehaven in 1989 and ’94 before guiding the Cork U21 side the 2009 All-Ireland. Works as an agent for New Ireland Assurance.

Substitutes
    John O’Driscoll (Béal Áthan Ghaorthaidh): Starred for Ireland in the 1986 Compromise Rules series in Australia despite having only played two championship games for Cork by then. An All-Ireland U21 winner in ’86 as well, he was an important part of the Cork forward division for the rest of the decade though he didn’t start either the ’89 or ’90 finals. He shone during the run to the 1993 All-Ireland final against Derry and remained in the squad until the end of 1997. Works with Bank of Ireland.

Michael McCarthy (O’Donovan Rossa): A member of the three-in-a-row U21 sides, the Skibbereen man made his senior debut in 1988. While he didn’t start any of the games in 1989, his three points from the bench against Mayo were of huge importance and the following year he scored 1-8 across the four games as Cork retained the Sam Maguire Cup. Having led O’Donovan Rossa to Cork, Munster and All-Ireland glory in 1992/93, he was Cork captain for ’93 but unfortunately Derry beat them in the All-Ireland final. Tragically, he died in a road accident in 1998, at the age of just 32. He will be represented by his son Stephen on Sunday.

Danny Culloty (Newmarket): Born in San Francisco, Culloty made huge strides on the Gaelic football field after his immigration and won All-Ireland medals at junior and U21 level before he was called up to the senior team. Though he was limited to an appearance off the bench in the ’89 final, he was a starter at midfield alongside Fahy in 1990 and captained Cork in both 1991 and ’92 after he helped Duhallow to win the county. A selector on the Cork junior football team now, he works for Shreelawn Oil.

Michael Maguire (Castlehaven): Suffered from being behind such a top-class goalkeeper in John Kerins, but he showed his worth when filling in in the 1988 All-Ireland semi-final against Monaghan, keeping a clean sheet. After Kerins’ retirement, Kevin O’Dwyer took over in goal but Maguire was first-choice for the 1998 campaign. At club level, the county council employee won county titles with Castlehaven in 1989 and ’94.

Colm O’Neill (Midleton): Made his senior debut when just 20 in 1984 and won All-Ireland U21 medals in both that year and ’85. Was in and out of the side during the 80s and didn’t feature in the championship in ’89 such was the competition for places, but he was at full-forward in 1990, putting in a virtuoso display in the Munster final against Kerry. He was perhaps harshly sent off in that year’s final against Meath and retired after the 1991 loss to Kerry. Now lives in Boulder, Colorado, where he runs a chain of pubs. One son, Shane, plays for Colorado Rapids in the MLS and has played for the US soccer team at U20 level, while another, Darragh, has played American football at college level.

Niall Creedon (Nemo Rangers): Having been a part of the panel in 1987 and ’88, Creedon was selected at full-back for the game against Tipperary but, though Cork only conceded six points, he didn’t feature again in the red shirt. Helped Nemo to three county titles as well as All-Ireland club championship wins in 1988 and ’94. He now works for MSD in Brinny.

Tony Nation (Nemo Rangers): Like Tony Davis, Nation first appeared as a half-forward, in 1984, but soon found a home closer to goal. Captained Cork in 1988 following Nemo’s county win in ’87, but the Munster semi-final win over Tipperary was the only game he played in ’89. A winner of four county titles with Nemo and three All-Irelands, he started at corner-back for the 1990 All-Ireland final and retired in 1992. Works as a maintenance manager at Whitegate Refinery.

Eoin O’Mahony (Clonakilty): He made his debut for Cork in 1982 – having won an All-Ireland minor medal the previous year – and won a Munster championship medal at centre-forward in ’83. While he featured in 1984, his next appearance would not be until the Tipperary game in ’89, when he scored a point. This was only time that the retired Garda played during the campaign.

Denis Walsh (St Catherine’s): The dual star made his Cork football debut in 1986, having won All-Ireland U21 medals in 1985 and ’86. He also featured on the successful Imokilly sides of ’84 and ’86. In ’89, he played at full-back in the Munster final win over Kerry and was also part of the panel in the 1990 campaign. Later managed Waterford footballers and was appointed as Cork hurling manager in 2009, taking the county to a Munster final, where they lost a replay to Waterford after extra time, and an All-Ireland semi-final. Is employed by New Ireland Assurance.

Michael Burns (Castlehaven): A sub on the successful 1980 All-Ireland U21-winning side, he was at centre-back as the title was retained the following year. He scored two points from midfield in his senior debut, the drawn Munster final against Kerry in 1982, and also lined out at centre-forward for the county Was recalled in 1988 after a few years off the panel and appeared as sub against Tipp in ’89. Works with eircom.

Colman Corrigan (Macroom): While he didn’t feature at all in the championship, Corrigan would surely have been part of the Cork defence but for an injury sustained in the league final against New York. Also part of the 1980 and ’81 U21 sides, he had received All-Stars for his performances during 1987 and ’88. Now working in the Department of Social Protection, he was also part of the panel in 1990.

Denis Hurley

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/fitzgerald-reshuffles-banner-backroom-line-up-for-2015-287285.html

Thats what you call a ruthless but professsional manager.
    All issues superbly dealt with.
    Thats how cuthbhert should dea with dualism.
    He loves the media,,good communictior,it should be easy to do up a similar statment.
    For me a real statement of intent by clare hurling ,here we are ,end of,season,and already most of clares issues sorted and ready to start training in a month or so.
    Already planning for next year,clare couldnt do it any faster as.the u 21 was on.

Yet cork still havent addressed dualism and will probaly drag out the issue and no if any at all coached is added.
    See the difference in winning set ups.
    Browne who was added to Clare is a terrific addition,meticous in hes prepartion,worked for davy at matches before being hes eye in the stand.You see hes not just another name added,he has real value.
    Cork football must follow suit.

Our manager would probably do a interview with rte or sky sports if he can get it ,giving an post match assesment of the final sunday making out to be a real astute tactican.To me water off a ducks s back.
    Credit where its due,hes some manager to talk the talk in fairness.
    The media may be smitten with him,but real,i mean the real,real grasstroots gaa fan,expect a manager to actually win something on the field of play and i dont mean a mickey mouse mcgrath cup against poor colledge team with no interest and a,kerry that didnt give flying duck regards the result.
    He wants to win over fans,its not that hard to do it.All hes got to do is show ruthless conviction,make hard brave calls for the better of cork football and the football crowd would back him .

The board cant sack him now for going against dualism ,they dont need another controvrtesy with the the pairc a priority.

If he says next  its not working ,and isnt allowing it,the players would back him,so would the fans,theres not a thing the board can do.
    Yes he may upset them,and may not get a new term next year,but at least he is doing what is right for cork football,and the majiority of fans are geuine,honest bunch,they would be won over ,by him and appointing a top coach,he would win a lot support.
    He needs to do what is right for Cork Football.

http://m.hoganstand.com/Home/Details/224567?county=National

Now the serious stuff starts,very very tough fixtures like i predicted two weeks ago.Im delighted ,truly delighted with it,kerry in round four,have to take it seriously and unlike last year not one soft game ,no false.dawns now.Brillant draw imo.Four away trips to the North,sorts the men from the boys.
    Relegation could be a real possiblty.I hope we stay up,if were relegated,were in a shambles for the championship.

Mayo at home is the only one at home ,im confident with.
    Dublin will take the league seriously and will want to win,monaghan and donegal ,very tough.
    A real possibilty we could be going in to kerry ,after three defeats.
    Tyrone away tough game.
    Mayo at home,but derry the last day of the season ,to get a win, a huge ask.

Now four northern trips means further difficulties for dual players.
    This league will bring realism,badly needeed to cork football at last.
    A good league will justify hype,unlike last year.

A superb draw in we need a top coach,fully committed players and an abiliry to beat four blanket defences plus a team of hard footballers not just nice footballers ,so this league is a blessing in disguise and will make
    or break cork

I dont expect cork to win every game,what i expect as a mininum fair achievable target for a well coached team with our talent would be ,beat dublin,kerry,mayo at home,win two away trips in no particular order ,out of the four and be competive in the other two.

Do that ,have a system of play ,and we dont have to win or make the final i would be very happy with the league and say job well done.
    We dont have to win the league.

To do that next year ,is a good barometer as cork will have to sort midfield,that simple as all nor just one opponents have top midfields

http://www.gaacork.ie/news/339165/Provisional_Allianz_League_Fixtures_2015

The hurlers got a great draw, in the chance to stay up clare kilkenny,tipp at home,galway away,and dublin in croke park.

I would have preffered clare oe kilkenny away,as knowlan park,ennis is great place to test new players

Our away trips galway and dublin wont test us really imo like clare or kilkenny.
    Dissapointing in that sense,but well capable of getting three wins to stay up.