Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 5,119 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Any word on whether JBM is staying on? Clare and Kilkenny under lights should be good games alright.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

Zetescourt jbm ,i think will indefinetly stay on.
    If he was going to go,he would not hang on and waste time imo.
    He simply must,stay on,if he goes cork hurling is really and truly facing hard times as The next manager is ready and waiting imo.I hope im wrong,but ger cunningham ,o grady wont get it.So who is left.

Dont be suprised a Pat kenneally,Teddy mac combination some day in senior hurling and Bob ryan trying to convince us we have a dream ticket ,the best managament team we could have.
    Bob ryan is a huge huge fan of both.Hes being groomed for the job the way cuthbhert was.
    He has coached cork at three different levels.This is the one he wants.
    People say he wont get it the clubs wont allow it,the clubs simply wont have any say whatsoever in it.

There will be maybee two if were lucky in the board that would oppose it but they would loose the majority.
    I think jbm will add a new selector next year.

As a manager after hes superb playing career in both codes , teddys record when you look at it with a winning,mentality is not great imo.
    Thats not an opinion,just look at the results.

Bandon won an intermediate hurling final credit due but lost the premier final a year later.
    Sarsfields got to a final,couldnt win with him,dropped him,as the main man,won a county then with the proven cork u 21 manager bertie og murphy,teddy was a selector.

He had newcastlewest west in senior football and intermediate hurling recently,was unsuccessful in a short spell there.He had tallow i think in hurling in waterforfd he was unsuccessful.
    Had laois,caused controversy there laois players in the sunday paper told the story.
    Was with cork u 21 hurlers with ger fitzgerald.,had a huge influence,woeful two years in fairness.
    Had eire og and kilworth this year ,did not win anything.

He has wide range of coaching absoultely but to say hes been successful imo is debatable.
    I define true success as actually winning,he hasnt done that or in most cases or come close to it with good talent availble in most cases.
    Teddy mac isnt a successful coach imo,a Great wonderful player though.
    He was brought in by the board as a senior footballer selector,but he did not get the chance with holland ,over a strike.
    Was rewarded by the board then with a role in hurling,never materalisred with the strike.

Wanted the u 21 job last year,apparently but kennally got it.
    Destined to be rewarded with a managerial role in hurling or football down the line as he suppported the board in two strikes imo.
    For the possibilty of Pat and teddy in the hot seat imo,its imperative and i hope jbm stays as we could be in dire trouble with replacements for it.
    He will i think stay.

http://m.limerickleader.ie/sport/limerick-sport/limerick-gaa-official-urges-clubs-to-vote-against-manager-changes-1-6306065
    The internal poltics in limerick is beyond believe.
    They never ceaze to amaze me
    Just when i thought they were turning a corner.Same as last year.
    Wallace be very interesting to see what he does if ryan is reinstated.

Heffaranan similar to bob ryan in cork said the limerick u 21 team this year were the best ever prepared management teams,with carey and tom ryan.
    Yet they got hammered by clare,that shouldnt happen if they prepared well,tipp and wexford can testify to that.

Limericks golden talent of hurlers will be lost by poor coaching at u
    21 ,and ten years down the line they will wonder what happened the great minors.
    Old school coaching never developed them like the u 21 footballers in cork.
    Huge signifiance to cork hurling imo,as we will know if they are a threat at minor and u21 to cork.

The clare and kk games in the league will be great games.
    Mininum target,win three games safety maintaned.
    A dissaster if we get relegated no cherry picking needed,a dissaster if we get relegated.

Realistically treat the league more importantly than a munster,in try and win the league but get to a munster final but dont win it.
    The league,every game is competive but in munster this is not the case.
    Winning a league is harder in that every game counts imo.

Galway,dublin away,tipp at home are winnable providing we have a full back.
    Realistically we should aim to beat clare or kilkenny to have high hopes come june.

Dublin are a team imo on a downward curve as it doesnt look
    they will have a top manager we should beat them in croker easily
    Galway if its kenny in charge wont do much,cunningham if hes reinststed has outgrown that team.
    Tipp hard to know how they will treat the game
    Kilkenny and clare be huge tests.

At least any fralites at full back be ruthlessy exposed by callilan,canning,donnell or honan,or by any kilkenny forward.
    We will know if we have a full back that truly can stand the test of championship after the league.
    This league will stand cork much better than last years jokeshop of div two if were going to be honest.
    Div two is more competive to be fair this year but not at the elite,elite ,level just yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 66 ✭✭pluszap

Anyone know the fullback for kilmichael in mid cork hurling final James o Leary Played very well

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/columnists/donal-og-cusack/donal-og-cusack-winning-is-great-but-the-journey-is-about-excellence-287576.html

What an outstanding piece
    What a man,immense credit for giving a talk to the ladies,and supporting them in dublin.
    Christ above what a man always unselfishing giving to cork gaa.
    The voice cork hurling craves for.
    A legend on and off the field.

Immense credit to ,paudie murray ,for bringing him in.Again top management always know what there doing.
    Not the ist time he done similar a few years ago brininging in The brillant Caroline currid sports pyscologist with tipp,tyrone etc to work with the cork camoige team a few years,ago.

Im not sure walsh age profile of bride rovers,hes okay to be fair.
    Imo the best full backs in club hurling are Darren mannix and killian Cronin ,two players would have played intercounty but for the excellence of the Rock.
    What are corks chances next year??

Waterford,galway,dublin are in transition.
    Limerick will be busy and around thats it.Imo noisy neighbours as Alex Fergusson one said of Man City.To be fair,City started to win real silverware,a feat still alien to limerick hurling bar the camoige team ,the wonderful joe quaid all ireland winners.
    In a way they had two Captains,as Anna Geary is born in Limerick.

Paul Kinnerk was offered to join the limerick set up ,he declined even after hes break he will rejoin clare.
    That imo shows the real value this limerick set up is held by shrewd men imo.
    Imo you would be unwise to join it with Tj ryan in charge.
    He isnt the first top class man to refuse to work with,tj ,he wont be the last.
    Ger cunningham of cork,didnt get the job,he refused to work with tj,wanted a top top man,Cusack instead.
    There a team in decline under tj,their fans are too naive to see it .
    Martin kiely said it this year ,Tj u 21s were a shambles,couldnt even organise training sessions properly.

Kilkenny ,clare,tipp are ahead of us
    Top four we will be,but that shouldnt define Cork Hurling.
    The level has got greater in the top three,its a bit behind in the chasing pack,Cork are in my opinion way ahead of Galway,Dublin,Limerick,in they all need majior restructuring of their teams.
    Im not convinced either has or will have the men in charge to do it.
    wexford have a shrewd manager in dunne and with liam griffin there are closing the gap and a far greater threat.
    Waterford,a bit of an unknown,but have the talent and i do think while doubts remain,have better management than limerick for example.
    Laois are doing huge work,Ger cunningham and cheddar will have a a serious team in 3 years.

Tipp are not that far ahead as kilkenny and clare are with us and if we half a shrewd selector next year could beat them.
    Clare ,renenergised possesion game will cause us problems with more talent coming through while.kilkenny with cody always evolve.
    The key for cork is to find a full back,add a shrewd tactical selector.I think jbm will add one,he immense credit due doesnt hold an ego to be fair,so imo will do it.We must cut six or so players of the panel,add ten new faces or so to the panel,and stop picking dual players when there is in some cases much better hurlers availble.

http://www.eveningecho.ie/2014/09/19/always-ready-stand-tall/

What a wonderful.,wonderful amzazing ,stunning article by Eammon Murphy imo.

Just read the bit in bold combining players with talented management. Well said Eammon.Imo every team must have a top manager to bring shape to the rest of the managerial set up and player panel.

Eammon Murphy said:
    "Cork learned their lessons from the 2012 All-Ireland final loss. Combine  a professional management structure and determined, talented players, it was inevitable they’d deliver this season," explains Éamonn Murphy.
    "

Professional management structure are the key words imo.
    I said it here last friday i believed in cork camoige,simply i believed in paduie murray.He is a top top modern astute,tactical coach.

I belive in cork ladies football,i believe in eammon ryan.
    I believe in cork minors hurlers ,i belive in ring and landers.
    I believe in cork u 21 football,i.believe in gene,and sean hayes
    I believed in cork intermeriate hurling,i believed in liam hayes
    I belive in clyda most games i believe in Ned english.
    I believe in Mtichelstown having a chance tonight,the underdog like i believed in ucc as i believe in King Billy.
    I believed in Ucc hurling.,as i belive in Ger cunningham or any team lucky to have him.

When i opened the 2013 u 21 hurling thread here,i lavished jj doyle with praise,i believed in him.
    I believed in Castlehaven and Cork u 21 as i believed in John cleary.
    I believe in clare,kilkenny,donegal,dublin,clare footballers i said in november,as i believed in cody,davy fitz,jim mcguinnes,Eammon Fitzmaurice,and Pauide Kissane.

I said i believed in these set up many months ago,didnt just wait for hindsight,as its a no brainer,its easy to believe in every single one of them,as there PROVEN RECORDS GAVE ME every single reason to TRULY BELIEVE and as Murphy said Proffesional management and talented players mean success is inevitable.
    Imo if have great talent but poor management.,it simply will not work ,as Like Oil and Water as much as you try,the Combination simply wont mix well.

And also to use Murphys words all the managers i named had a "Proffessional Management structure".
    Hes right cork can learn lessons from the camoige set up ,in my opinion particicuary the county board by apppointing proffessional management which credit due they do sometimes but unfortunately not in every grade and not consistently imo,such that Cork GAA can become A Superpower in GAA at ALL levels.

• Registered Users Posts: 9 Paudiepodge

Yawn....Cork thread for Cork gaa. Aul rubbish about 'noisy neighbours' and at least city won silverware is hilarious...you must have some issues with limerick cos any post that mentions them has some bitter comment....id say your living near the border or over the border beside a limerick crank....if they're so bad why always comment on them...kerry boys don't spend time looking at what the clare footballers are up to next year.....they only look at threats...you keep your best comments bout the aul limerick lads. By mentioning them you either have some personal problem with them or are trying to convince yourself they're no good. Tis a strange relationship anyway. Personally I think theyre no better or worse than most teams...will win a few lose a few but no world beaters...we could do without the aul guff though.

I simply give my opinion regards limerick,as it has a lot of cork links to it,we supplied numerous managers past and present,and you do know Cork is in Munster,that means what limerick like any other county in there does will affect cork if we play them at any level.

I rated every county to be fair,i.ratekerry,football,clare many times.Im no fan of kerry,but i laud fitzmaurice with praise like cody in kilkenny as they earned it.

If you actually had knowledge of my posts i credited limerick many.times,ard scoil in particular for the work they done in the harty cup.thread,praised the minor team hugehly and still rate them and i mention them as wallace a cork.man is involved.

You come from the dare old limerick school of thought at times,fair play,dare not crticise even though things are not right at times, on cork we have at times also,it hasnt served either counties well at times now has it.

Im not at all bitter towards limerick,i criticise and praise any.team where imo i feel its right.
    It like cusack criticsed cork,but some say he had an agenda,he was bitter.
    He wasnt he just gave an opinion.
    I dont have an agenda and am not.bitter towards limerick i just gave my opinion.
    I crtiticise certain in cork things too.
    I said many times id love limerick to win an all ireland in hurling
    Limerick hurling in some cases dont take critisim well,but munster rubgy ,limerick imo the home of rugby,take critisim on the chin,and like the controversy of a few weeks ago with the players in the media but moved on.

Ye could learn a lot from Munster rubgy,and i said it many times before.
    In fairness with the controversy all over the media regards yere underage appointments the last week there is the usal off the field noise any many limerick people have even not been happy with it in fairness.

Ah my good man I'm not from limerick at all...just noticed that when you mention limerick seniors you throw in the old snide comment like the noisy neighbours....i read the cork thread for cork gas talk......you assumed i was from limerick I couldn't give a damn about them....

Wonderful insights,thank you.
    Unlike you that couldnt give a damn about them,i geuinley have a like of the talented hurlers on the field, and they have huge talent coming up,and like cork would like them to win all irelands and i like limerick in general but its hindered like cork due to off the field polticis as said by Martin kiely recently when he a limerick,good journalist criticsed that in limerick also and has called a spade a apde in the past.You see its normally like roy keanes,cusacks,ger loughaness,etc.harsh criticis like are the one that actually care bout hurling or soccer in those aeras so much as truths are spoken than just simply ignore things and live in fantasy land.
    I care bout limerick hurling and cork so much i believe in honest assements,as i dont believe in saying a team will win an all ireland just cause it pleases people like you,non limerick fans even , just to keep you happy.

,You conviently ignored my point i have complimented limerick hurling many times just cause i critisice a management purely on results doesnt mean i critise all teams limerick.You see what you want to.

I rate Shane fitgibbon,joe quaid,stephen mcdonagh as top coaches,just in case you dont know they are limerick men.

The noisy neighbours comment was as history proven,are often in the news over off the field controvies like this year underage appointments ,etc,the list goes on.
    when they dont win all irelands.
    Thats what i meant,more noise is sometimes made off the field than on it,like winning.

The limerick minors i feel sorry for,they werent to blame this year.
    I said it many times,a superb panel.of players.The underage set up at schools and minor is wonderful,cork should aspire to it.

The limerick thread,you should have a look,they and many others criticised management for the final loss
    Cork have been similar in the past but we are better at senior than them.Sorry sure you dont give a damn about limerick,how could you posibbly be aware of what the limerick journalist said.
    Have the last word if it makes you happy though.thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 303 ✭✭Smith614

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/columnists/donal-og-cusack/donal-og-cusack-winning-is-great-but-the-journey-is-about-excellence-287576.html

What an outstanding piece
    What a man,immense credit for giving a talk to the ladies,and supporting them in dublin.
    Christ above what a man always unselfishing giving to cork gaa.
    The voice cork hurling craves for.
    A legend on and off the field.

Immense credit to ,paudie murray ,for bringing him in.Again top management always know what there doing.
    Not the ist time he done similar a few years ago brininging in The brillant Caroline currid sports pyscologist with tipp,tyrone etc to work with the cork camoige team a few years,ago.

Can u inform us what is so fantastic about this article or Cusack speaking with the camogie team.

Ah jaysus...i must apologise for my ignorance of limerick hurling.....there might be a night class down rossa avenue that I can do to catch up..if not ill immediately subscribe to the limerick leader. I ll use your lecture as a starting point though. Over and out.

Pluszap ,I have seen James o leary a few times in the last year.Hes good ,brave,strong and solid in the air to be fair,a fine half forward at junior level in football.
    I belive he plays soccer in goal also if im thinking of the same lad.

He was good in the semi final as the final also for kilmichael against ballinora ,i heard he held patrick fitton to just a point from play
    Is he going to colledge etc??for a higher level of hurling.

I have nothing against junior players,ellis,egan,harnedy etc proved a point but they were playing at colledge with ucc,ucd,cit etc,james must do that, as a club full forward at junior is miles of senior intercounty with respect to junior players unless its seamus harnedy you face.

Even if not at colledge,he needs to be playing at least intermediate,as The alternatives are ahead of him in that regard imo like
    Spillane,keane,jack sheehan at ul etc play at a higher level of hurling than junior level.
    Younger prospects like ian cahill,michael macsweenney,eddie gunning all play at a higher level in the club.
    I would hope in one way cloyne got promoted,ian cahill is groomed at full back for club next year and with cusack,cronin,the rock he has three shrewd mentors on what makes a full back,and would be worth developing down the road.

Sean mac made a splendid reference to brian dillions ,ex cork underage star,Darragh rodgers,he had it all,but unfortunately injury he suffered.
    As far,as im aware involved in coaching or was with the club junior team .
    A terrific player he was.

I said before Smith ,Cusack was still playing, he is playing in a county semi final tommorrow in fact and training four times a week at times.
    He is also always coaching teams,groups etc,giving free support and advice to Cork Camoige team etc.

In reply to the question you asked me Smith ,The splendid article  he wrote was articlate ,interesting,had real direction,a moral to the story, and,the article painted a wonderful image of Camoige,and indeed womens sport as a whole imo.
    Derval o rourke had a simliar ariticle in January,I posted just a week ago regarding women sport.

Cusacks article,taking nothing away from Derval,had more significance purely to Ladies GAA imo as this was an ex cork man who won 3 all ireland senior medals,played in five,won minor,u21 etc,huge role in the GPA , promoting and supporting  Cork Camoige ,it was a real real bonus to camoige imo and many more male stars should do the same.
    Cody has done a bit with kilkenny camoige,Joe Quaid profile helps limerick and he is a fine manager.for them,JJ Doyle done wonders with Wexford etc but Cusack raises the profile hugehly.
    A supberb article imo by cusack.

As regards your opinion regards last weeks  victory speech being long that you posted a week ago ,if so i dont see any problem at all with that ,all the training all year ,sacfrices made by players,they have their moment,they deserve it,and so what if the speeches are long,its an emotional time ,Connolly of Galway in 1980 and Sean Og Halpin in 2005 had long speeches.
    I see no problem at all with it.
    The camoige doesnt get many coverage on rte,you can hardly blame them for getting every second out of the victory.
    Theres a few that that may retire who knows so enjoy it while it lasts

Any indications if Paudie Murray is staying,theres talk its uncertain what he does.A top top coach,brought unreal proffessionalsim to the set up,if he chooses to leave,he would be ideal for clubs looking for quailty.
    Hes interviews,are top notch,i heard one last saturday on the radio before the game,and the confidence and bellief in it was superb,not like some you would hear.You could only but belief cork would win.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/columnists/kieran-shannon/still-calling-the-shots-207664.html

A great read it on Gemms O Connor,and also it shows the confidence in the set up in even year one under Paudie Murray in 2012 and the difference she said.in the set up that year to the previous year.Bringing in Caroline Currid in 2012 showed the astute proffessionalsim Murray has in,he brings in top top proven people in sport.
    Again that part illustrates how much real key difference a change in management can make as by o connors accounts things were not as good the year before.

Two all irelands in 3 years under Murray,winning one ,is a good return to be fair considering in both finals,Cork were given no chance to win by many pundits yet in 2012 regarded as one of the best finals ever  ,six goals in it,with about ten minnutes left cork were within two points of wexford ,and an unlucky goal gave them the game they pulled away then.
    That wexford team was one of the greatest ever ,cork pushed them all the way.
    Interesting to note how in both 2012  and this year Paudie Murray the Cork coach was Highely rated.
    I say it again,Cork gaa at all levels has top top coaches,young modern coaches with real potenial,all they simply need is a chance to be developed and picked on potential rather than others picked on who they are,rather than what their skillset can actually bring to the managerial table.

Just had a more foresenic look at the league fixtures,between hurling and football,from the ist of febuary up to the 5th of april,dual stars will be involved every, yes every single week for ten consequctives weeks without one break.

How is that going to work?cant do two week on ,two week off program with either team
    Add in weekend training camps it.poses huge diffculites.

Corks gaa ist three games are absoultey vital in getting momentum,and couldnt get any.tougher,Dublin at home in football,Kilkenny in hurling,Monaghan up north in football.
    Cadogan in football and collins and walsh are absoultely.,absoultely vital to cork football whatevever their weak aereas in the game no one currently comes close to replacing them at present.
    So they must start for the football,but Their prepartion for the hurling is going to be deeply hindered.
    Cork have no choice ,simply no choice unlike last year when we got lucky v limerick in the ist game in hurling,saved by offaly beating limetick, must hit the ground running.,to do that will have to play a,challenge match the weekend the seventh or 8th in hurling,but wont have dual players as there playing monaghan away.
    There absoultely vital against monaghan as not just for their skillset but their leadership roles,absoultley vital,in walsh,cadogan,collins,three central positons on the field to cork having Any chance of getting anything against a dogged,resilent,hard,brave,robust well coached,blanket style monaghan where the one weakness they have in lack of real pace,or a key key forward wont be exposed as the conditons in winter will make it a slow,war of attrition,dogfight type of game.

You see again when you actually break it down,anyalse it at face value five if it happens.,five dual players will cause huge,huge problems next year in febuary but even as early as january when the real training begins,as cork football and hurling has simply no.choice but to treat every game seriously as the way cookie crumbled there both in very very tough leagues,that if they dont treat them seriously they will be relegated and in truth that would be a dissaster for either hurling or football imo.
    The irish rubgy team ,there proffessions wouldnt allow there players play ten straight games ,as they have player management .

Newestown fair play to them drawing with the favoirites castlematyr.
    Whether they win the next day,hard to have real faith in castlymatyr ,to win a county as as usal they are a team not good in taken out of the comfort zones,some nice hurlers,but as a team,lack resolve,spirit,a bit flaky when the real pressure comes on imo.
    Necewstown in any code dogged to the last.

Mallow lost to na piarsaigh what a shocking result for them to loose to a team that is mainly focused on hurling.Wasnt at but the scoreline tells it owm story.
    I said it during the week ,mallow should be winning it,but you just dont know with mallow.
    They really need to shake things up,a fine complex,but no successful teams.
    Awful result but doesnt suprise me in the slighest,yet ballycloughs,clyda,kilshannigs,their neighbours with limited rescources win more.

Well done ballyhea,immense win ,superb,there in a county final.Well done to all but I feel for cloyne,cusack ,rock etc but went down fighting .Pa callaghan was excellent,a shame he wouldnt play in the cork u 21 set up last year.
    I cant blame the lad.
    What a player,may not play u 21 next year either for cork.He wont miss much,its going to be a short season imo unfortunately.

The best til last.The story yet again of this years cork club scence at senior stand up and take a bow clyda rovers.Against all the odds,the small team,fighting every single day for survival,again stood up on the field of play,the Big fish  of cork football,and what a superb result.
    To take town to a replay whatever happens,they deserve immense credit.
    Cork football management should look at clyda ,the way they set up,with rescources and no marquee forward punch above their weight.
    They play to their strengths.
    Ned english is a genuis.
    Christ above if cork had any sense they would thank cuthbhert for hes effort,commitment,passion,and hes power point presenation, but get in cleary instead,apolgoise to him first,and allow cleary who would bring in English.
    Then we would win.The more I look at our set up,currently imo we havent a hope next year.

Clyda had oakes well covered,no goals conceded.
    Carey had a blinder,suprised me on High ball against crowley.
    Murphy,niall o.mullane,sullivans,were immense with paudie kisssane.Flangan and ronayne had great games.Three points up,they looked on to win,but they were out on there feet with the level of commitment  they gave on the field.

What a club,Small complex big.heart.
    Down the road Mallow,big complex,nothing else in truth in success in cant even compete at a level below clyda as clyda play senior football.
    Bantry will beat na piarsaigh easily.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

TTM1, you harp on about the facilities that Mallow have, when Clyda have a superb pitch out there, Ballyclough the same - its easier for those sort of communities to come together as opposed to a big town like Mallow. Just because Mallow have a complex like that doesn't mean anything. I'd argue that Clyda's main pitch is better than Mallow's sod at the moment! Very hard for the town the size of Mallow to get together - especially when the schools are so mixed. Clyda have two pitches, two fine pitches and superb floodlights. A nucleas of a team that has grown up together, playing together which helps.

The ptich your right but in terms of overall complex ,and rescources mallow have way more than clyda or ballyclough put together.
    Im sorry but this too big a club escuse,doesnt sway me ,imo its a lazy excuse for no success.just like cork hurling say were too big to have 50 gdos like dublins model.

There is hughely talented players in mallow,no excuse that at hurling or football ,a team cant be unised,built together to be successful.

Ballincollig suffered as john o dwyer once said in a paper interview big town syndrome,hes words,but they got there act together.
    Douglas likewise.
    Mtichelstown,got beaten last night but are heading in the right direction,and won a county last year,a big town.
    Fermoy imo a big town are flying football and hurling,they won tonight I think.
    Mallow are not just not winning cups,but loosing games they shouldnt be in both codes.
    Lets be honest ,na piarsgh in football shouldnt be beating them,a lot of their lads played hurling last week,mallow had total focus on this game.
    Bantry will show na piarsagh in football are not great.

Facilites are all well and good but winning defines a team.
    Cork with the Pairc could be similar,big complex,little success.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,880 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

TTM1, you harp on about the facilities that Mallow have, when Clyda have a superb pitch out there, Ballyclough the same - its easier for those sort of communities to come together as opposed to a big town like Mallow. Just because Mallow have a complex like that doesn't mean anything. I'd argue that Clyda's main pitch is better than Mallow's sod at the moment! Very hard for the town the size of Mallow to get together - especially when the schools are so mixed. Clyda have two pitches, two fine pitches and superb floodlights. A nucleas of a team that has grown up together, playing together which helps.

I see your point but the sheer numbers readily available to Mallow Should make a huge difference IF managed correctly. Doesn't matter if you have lots of different schools in an area. If they live in Mallow a good majority of the kids should be playing for Mallow. Those that travel to Mallow to go to school obviously would lean towards a more local club. The schools resource has obviously not been managed correctly. The players are there in abundance and a proper schools linked coaching scheme would reap huge rewards. Years ago Carrigtwohill had coaches in the schools which really reaped rewards and Cobh have had a great set up in recent years, coming into the primary schools and coaching the various classes. This has already seen a serious increase in the number of gaa players in Cobh.
    I don't know what set up they have in Malloiw - but it is not working! Super facilities but that's not enough. ' If you build it they will come' does not work in gaa terms. Grass roots...schools...if the work is not done there...it shows at adult level!

http://www.eveningecho.ie/2013/07/01/dwyer-is-nurturing-love-of-the-game-in-ballincollig/

A good read,it.highlights,Rg point yes its difficult to get the spirit together for a big club etc and its a valid point to a degree,but at the same time imo as dwyer said ballincollig underachieved,its not a total excuse to justify poor results being a big town.
    Good coaching etc,will get that collective unity together.

The clydas,newtowns in hurling yes can have more collective spirit etc but they have huge diffculites in terms of playing numbers,the.big towns dont have.

Shambouc points id agree with .

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/duhallow-boss-reaping-his-rewards-212154.html

Everything you need to know about Ned English.
    I remembered reading it then.Couldnt find it for ages,did now.
    Reading this,no suprise he rates Eammon ryan hughely.Great minds think alike.
    And he learned from top coaches.°c
    No suprise English got Dromcollogher broadford Munster titl,Clyda wiinning a county and doing well at senior.

No suprise he likes donegals style.
    Imo clyda are the donegal of cork club football in a way.

He said it then hed love to coach cork but never will.Unfortunately hes right .

http://www.scoreboardmemories.com/sports-index/champion-volunteers/item/88-eamon-ryan.html

http://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/cork-keep-ryan-young-on-fantastic-journey-28817640.html

I am not a glenville man ,or watergrashill,just like im not a clyda man or nemo rangers club man,as i said many times before ,i just admire and am a huge fan of great coaching no matter what club,north,south,east or west they come from.
    On a day when the all ireland finals today has two excellent managers

It is fitting for cork to know cork with Eammon Ryan,and ned English have two great managers,and add in john cleary and bily morgan four great men,imo all under used by the cork county board.
    The two articles show how great Eammon ryan is ,hughy successful he was,and a week before the ladies final ,id have huge confindence cork will win in ladies.it is easy to see why in the ned english interview he rates eammon eyan so highely
    If they loose it wont be for poor management or lack of talent,just beaten by a better team,theres no shame in that.Todays all irelands has four excellent coaches,bonnar,o connor,fitzmaurice,mcguinness,show  how the game imo has imo become infulenced mire so by coaching.

Ryans record is just success all the way even at just 25 years of age as a coach.

My cork team to play kilkenny in the ist league in game hurling would be 
    Nash,
    O neill
    Spillane,
    Mcdonnell,or if not Burke

Joyce,Ellis,Cormac murphy
    Lorchan Kearney

Lehane ,cooper,Walsh
    Cadogan horgan harnedy

Got to ,simply got to go full possision,sweeper style,as this freestyle jbm loves off the cuff hurling is out of date, that style is like sour milk imo,beginning to stink imo and its shame as like milk if kept fresh could be a vital commodity ,instead our talents could be wasted,as like sour  milk the the old system has well out grown its shelf life .The game is dominated by tactics now.

Mcloughlin doesnt start midfield,he plays a sweeper in the team I picked.
    Cooper goes to midfield,uses hes running game there.
    Walsh stay around half forward ,with lehane,and harndey.

A two man full forward line of horgan and cadogan.
    Harnedy captain next year.
    This is a team purely picked on getting a result v kilkenny,once the tactics are right have a chance.
    We will need to expierment more in the league but Dublin in croker,Galway,tipp give us that chance to a point.

Murphy is the only one with spillane id be throwing in v kilkenny.
    Spillane,simply cant be as bad as o neill at full back and will be a whole lot better.
    Murphy with ,lorchan sweeping,joyce and ellis beside him should be fine.

If I see a team with joyce at corner back, neill at full back,lorchan at midfield,cronin at half forward with ,lehane at 14 ,i will simply loose all faith in the set up and will shake my head in disbelief.

A win is vital in kilkenny,simply pick the right team forget romantic ideas as cody wants to beat jbm cork and if any team will kill romance of cork on valenties day,kilkenny ruthlessly will.
    Hopefully we will have a new selector.
    If we dont we are going no where next year,harsh and I get no joy in saying it but its true.The set up needs one new voice with tactical acumen,and jbm must,simply must stay on for cork hurling to have any hope of an all ireland.

In the football it is very hard picking a team,as it hard to know exactly what will be with that ,as so much uncertainy remains regards selectors etc.

We must have a mininum standard no teams gets relegated,whatever happens,it should be said by both,relegation is not an option,if any team is relegated, no cherry picking and saying its not as bad it seems would be just utter rubbish and complete nonense and would be a dissaster for either team.
    We must have mininum standards.

My football team

Hahahran
    Shields,
    Cadogan
    Galvin
    Clancy,cahalane Crowley
    Maguire ,walsh
    O rourke,collins,Loughrey
    Hurley colm,vaughan

A sweeper with collins playing that role in link man and defence and o rourke over colm o driscoll as he can score,create, sonething colm cant do but can track back and help defence and cover ground very well.He has real resolve within.Look at donegal,macloone,breatry,murphy,macfadden,mchugh can all score

Kerrigan should be the choice at 15  playing as a tweleve,fast,direct,link man suited to running but im seriously unconvinced bout hes big match day temparment so
    Vaughan is strong,atheltic,brave,can score,fast ,id start him v dublin.Give him hes chance as he can create.Could play centre forward.

Colm and hurley ,a two man full forward line with lots of space to work with would do real damage,and they have a scoring half forward line

This is a team blanket defence ,who can counter at pace,and a team mixed with expierence,wise old heads,compousure,youthful exurbence,and all forwards that will score but not just graft,theres craft,creativity,natural intelligent footballers in they know to do the right thing at the right time in a game

Im a huge fan of loughrey pace,athletism etc but I think after seen him in two club games since,for mallow,hes defending is poor one v one and sean mac was right by saying that many times before.
    Mallow dont see him as a half back as hes now playing midfield even.
    Against mayo he showed both hes weakness and strengths.
    He drove forward ,made two goals,showed a real drive ,hunger to stand up.He has pace,can be an auxillury forward,back tracking midfielder type defender,good on breaking ball.

Id give him a chance ,there in other games as I do think he has a lot.to offer but you cant put him in at half back with cahalne,two attack minded.
    Hes not or never will be a out,out forward to score proflic,hes role is to play to a system,defined role.
    Cork have enough forwards to score.At the same time he is well able to take and create a score when the need arises imo.

Subs be hanahran
    Jamie sullivan
    Clancy
    Dinneen
    Sean kiely
    Goulding
    Kelly
    Donnacha be ist sub in the forwards
    Hodnett
    Id have kevin flahive added to the training panel,as a future full back,he needs to be developed in time as cadogan and shields are getting older.We cant be like the hurling ,get to a stage where three years down the line we have no full back.

Hayes,barry o driscoll,gould id drop them from the panel,too many chances and kerrigan just about surviving.

After watching donegal,and kerry and now clyda in paricular playing to their own system,getting every inch from there team im convinced cork with the right system would win an all ireland.

On a final note mayo appointed joint managers,has signifance to cork in imo mayo wont be as strong next year,so there is a weaking in the top four.
    As much as homes is good,joint managers imo is a recipe for dissaster,ten minutes to go,crucial sub needs to be made,Who makes the call????
    Imo its a cop out by the county boards that do it,it means no real faith in either candidate or else trying to facilate their own man.
    I geuinely hope it works for mayo,but i cant see it working.

Tj ryan and donal o grady,joint managers didnt work.The last joint managers at intercounty.
    That mayo news is good for cork if we get our act together we can move ahead of them.
    Id be fully expecting cork beat mayo in the league,imo both teams that could be in a relegation battle.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    I see your point but the sheer numbers readily available to Mallow Should make a huge difference IF managed correctly. Doesn't matter if you have lots of different schools in an area. If they live in Mallow a good majority of the kids should be playing for Mallow. Those that travel to Mallow to go to school obviously would lean towards a more local club. The schools resource has obviously not been managed correctly. The players are there in abundance and a proper schools linked coaching scheme would reap huge rewards. Years ago Carrigtwohill had coaches in the schools which really reaped rewards and Cobh have had a great set up in recent years, coming into the primary schools and coaching the various classes. This has already seen a serious increase in the number of gaa players in Cobh.
    I don't know what set up they have in Malloiw - but it is not working! Super facilities but that's not enough. ' If you build it they will come' does not work in gaa terms. Grass roots...schools...if the work is not done there...it shows at adult level!

There was some coaching in schools, but the point I was making that good facilities and large playing numbers doesn't mean that they should be successful. There is no coaching in the secondary schools, primary schools have some but in no way enough. The GDA for North Cork isn't doing anything, I've spoken to a few lads who coach in schools and there is no contact from them, no proper support in place

I find this interesring.
    The very last part,he mentions sports men or teams he doesnt like.

http://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/hold-the-back-page-theres-no-joy-without-some-pain-30603047.html

Im not a paticular fan of Sweeney stance on the players strike but at times he has good stuff,above all i respect hes ethos whether i agree with hes points or not,the fact hes bold,open,honest to call it as he sees it,despite gaining unpopularity in doing so.
    Not afraid to write the tough stuff.
    Always a sign of a great writer.

I agree with lot of what you say Rg just some parts i dont.

Youre right regards the North cork schools.
    As far as im aware,what im told clyda go in to Rahan or raheen,not quite sure how you spell it,and coach in there.
    Obivously down the line ,it will reap the benfits for them at all levels.

You would like to think when you the cork Games manager being a north cork man with a teaching background ,the schools in hes aera would be more of a focus.
    Aidan walsh was meant to be doing coaching in the patrican academey and kanturk this year where i think pat hefferaen limerick hurling board vice chairman teaches for a bit,not sure if still doing it.
    Walsh is meant to back in cit next year,will help him,rather than in dublin.

Who will replace Eammon ryan ,when he goes?Will he stay longer
    Will it be hes son,John Cleary or Juliet Murphy
    Is paudie murray staying on RG15?

Fair play to kerry,i said they would win the minor all ireland at the start of the year.
    Kerry this year compared to last year are miles apart,thats because.jack o connor is a modern coach,where mickey ned as great a gaa man as he was old school coaching.
    Whether you like kerry or jack is irrelvant,you can only but respect them for getting their house in order.Congratuations to both,they havent earned my affection,but they earned my respect.
    In kerry jack ruffled feathers but they had the grace to give him the minor job,simply it was the right thing to do for kerry football.
    Donegal,couldnt be faulted never gave up,superbly coached,beaten by just a better team.
    Like todays senior,win or loose mcguinness and fitzmaurice are top top managers,and one will loose as there can only be one team that eventually wins the all ireland.

That kerry minor team ,around seven of the panel eligble next year will get better and better and cork wont come close to them next year despite having the talent to do so,tipp could be their biggest threat.

• Registered Users Posts: 163 ✭✭North Cork Star

I went to three good games yesterday.

Firstly, I went to Grenagh and Kildorrery Intermediate Hurling game. I have to say it was Grenagh's tigerness, physicality and bite won it for them. Their Centre Back, Russell got sent off early as did a Kildorrery sub in handbags I thought really. This didn't help the game after and it evenb didn't suit Kildorrery even up a ma, it was Grenagh who kicked on. Sean Bourke scored 2 goals and Tom Kenny was showing his experience in the 2nd Half with some nice points. Peter O'Brien leading the charge for Kildorrery scoring 1-10 and being pulled and dragged all day too and nearly had a chance to level it with a goal but got half blocked. Still in my opinion should be some way involved in the Cork Senior set up. Fair dues to Grenagh though. Great credit to their trainer Johnny Keane, what a record he has, with Ballyclough winning the Junior B County last week. Grenagh 2-18 Kildorrery 1-17.

Then I went to Pairc Ui Rinn to see Ballyhea and Cloyne in the Premier Intermediate Hurling Semi Final. Fair dues to Ballyhea for showing up in style. Neil Ronan winding back the years with a superb performance scoring 0-12, with a memorable point from 80 metres near the sideline in the 2nd half. Pa O'Callaghan also had a brilliant performance showing his gift of pace and stick work, and got 3 wonderful points. He should be involved in some Cork set up next year whether it is Senior or Under 21. For Cloyne, the Rock is still holding his own at this level and got a goal. Paudie was quite alright and missed a vital score near the end. Donal Og and Killian Cronin were solid once again. But the Ballyhea defence were on top and the likes of Maurice O'Sullivan were energetic around the middle of the field. Jimmy Quilty another trainer doing well after guiding Kildorrery to Junior Success 2 years ago. Ballyhea now play the winners of Kanturk and Newcestown in the final. Ballyhea 0-18 Cloyne 2-10.

Then after the hurling game was Clyda Rovers and Bishopstown in the Senior Football Championship. I don't like having football on after hurling but by God it did live up to the game beforehand. It was edge of the seat stuff in the end in fairness. Bishopstown were going into this as hot favourites but with Ned English over Clyda, they came with an effective system and very nearly pulled off a huge shock. I agree with TTM, would love to see Ned involved with Cork as a selector or coach. I have to give huge credit to Paudie Kissane. What a performance by him. He was the engine room to the whole Clyda system. He is as fit as I have ever seen. He covered some ground and played the ball around very well. We now see what a loss he is to the Cork Half Back Line. For Bishoptown, Denis Crowley was dangerous up front but with little reward. I was also impressed with Mike Power, attacking corner back, Conor Dorman and Fiachra O Deasunaigh. For Clyda Rovers, I thought the goalkeeper Cian Conway was great, making important saves. I also thought Ray Carey was brilliant showing his class and leadership from the back, still should be in the Cork panel, in my opinion. I was also hugely impressed with Conor O'Sullivan at wing back. A real attacking wing back. He is a great carrier of the ball and can lay off nice ball too. I am looking forward to the replay. Clyda Rovers 0-10 Bishopstown 0-10.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,119 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Carbery Rangers 1-13 Clonakilty 1-8

Ballincollig 0-20 Muskerry 1-9

Congrats to kerry ,Huge respect for them and fitzmaurice ,before today,massive now  they have won by maximising every ounce of talent they have in the panel.

Loosing the gooch,and being an old team with a lot of milage ,some of the younger brigidae good but not brillant,hammered by cork at u 21 in 2011,they went against the traditions of their past,to evolve,adapt,find a way to overcome adversity.
    Like paul galvin cork ,cork dont have to like them,but got respect them and envy what they have done .
    In kerry they do whats right for kerry football,no egos.Wait for the cork media to anayalse now how we can compare to kerry,ill give them advice,start by comparing and contrasting both teams management,it tells the story imo .

All the talk about kerry cynsaim,dirty play,puke football,what a load of bollo#.Ulster teams live on the edge ,against kerry teams in the past,and kerry were far too nice,today they had to get tough,up to the referee to control a game,and kerry were correctly so accused of a lack of steel but today they manned up,played a system to beat a system,and adapted the  northern style that they could not beat in the past,they decided to join that style.

You see kerry found a way against all the odds to win the all ireland,thats what all ireland champions must do to win.Credit due.
    That kerry team ,Michael foley said in the indo,had five on the ucc fitzgibbon winning team,cork had nine,yet kerry win an all ireland.
    Ucc had morgan as coach.
    O se will strengthen kerry links at ucc when he becomes the main coach some day and he will be a fine fine coach.
    Kerry with a poorer team to previous team won an all ireland without the gooch,will be stronger with the minors,U 21 with donie buckley,the ucc influence,and fitzmaurice set to stay for a long long time will dominate cork for the next few years ,espiceally with our set up

Paul murphy was good,but imo in a blanket defence,with two sweepers it is very hard to single out any indivuadal defensive display,when Systematic Cohesion won the day.

I wouldnt be suprised if,i hope they do The sunday game gave Eammon fitzmaurice man of the match,where no individual really stood out,as tactical mastermind genuis won kerry this all ireland and they gave brian cody the award in 2008.
    Donegal lost,but mcguninness can not be blamed,done everything he could,and hes team overachieved all year imo.

Muskerry were beaten by Ballincollig by 8 points ,same old muskerry as i said,overhyped,mainly by there own supporters,but shrewd astute football men were totally unconvinced by them,not a suprise result at all at all in my mind.They were poor.

There great men to win a fancy footloose game of football v st nicks,gave them a battle they cant win them most of the time.
    Noel o leary is a warrior and a few more but not the rest.He got sent off ,two yellows,ist one imo was a bit harsh i felt.

Gould was good ,nice goal but again talent was never hes problem.
    He has talent in abundance.

John miskella,jennings,galvin, kelly,kiely ,,were immense.
    Goulding got little ball to work with but tried hard to be fair.
    Ballincollig had real steel,desire,team cohesion worths that you would not imo assiocate with Muskerry.They just faded away.Duhallow would have beaten them ,bar having no game played,over imokilly giving a walk over,and being stone cold in terms of competive games in the lead up to the game.Congrats to Ballincollig,a fine win,could have won it by way more in truth imo, as for Muskerry they are farther off a Senior County Title than ever before imo.

As for ray carey,I agree North cork star he was immense,and handled denis crowley better than i thought he could but crowley got a goal chance ,other top inter county forwards like michael murphy,donaghy would take,so for that reason carey is not good under the high ball to be an intercounty full back and kiltane of mayo in the club semi final proved that also.
    Carey is not imo good enough for corner back for cork even imo ,maybee in a blanket style yes but i do feel we have better than him.
    Carey if he was asked ,i severly doubt ,just my opinion would play under the current cork set up.

As for paudie kisaane,he was superb,supberb v o donovan,rossa ,newestown twice and now that game,but again as much as I admire clyda,truth and honesty for cork football must come out,he is simply not good enough for intercounty,too lateral,cant kick fast ball,even in a blanket too slow for the like of paul flynn, sean o brien,mcnnemaon,mchugh,mac breaty etc and as proved v dublin last year in an open goal he had an awful wide, he missed an awful penalty v kilteragh in the club semi final,so no he is not up to intercounty now,and we must develop brian o driscoll,crowley,dorman,clancy boys,sean white ,maybee colm tucker o brien and yes o sullivan of clyda worth a look over paudie.

Its a waste of time bringing paudie back as a player but he will make a top top coach,saw and watched around 6 training sessions he had with clare ,and i was blown away,blown away by hes intenisty,skillset,drive,organsiton,communication,innovation something our current management have not showed.

I said in december clare be very good,a super league ,ran a good tipp team that pushed us all the way ,close in the league final,and were competive and honourable in defeat to kerry,something cork were not with better playing talent .
    With kissane gone,watch clare drop considerably from last year in terms of perferomance.
    We must use people in scenarios that utiluse their strenght not expose their weaknessess.

As In that wonderful Ned English interview i posted,Ned said Good management is a completely a different skillset than being great players and likewise poor or average players can and have done in the past in the gaa made great managers imo.Paudie can be that scenario imo.