Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Learning to make an iPhone app: My Story so far.

Options
  • 22-06-2011 8:18pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,281 ✭✭✭

Hello all,

So I decided to make a thread/post that will first act as reference for me and secondly help out members who are planning to try and learn objective-C with a bit of programming knowledge.

I'm a second year student in a CS degree and have done 2 years of programming, my second was using Java and my first year doing OO.

I'm learning from some PDF's I found on the web, thenewbostons iPhone lectures and CS193p lectures from Stanford. So far I've watched 8 lectures, I'm pretty familiar with the Xcode program, and the interface builder.

I noticed today that although I was watching the lectures I wasn't doing the homework assignments so today I fully did assignment one, and will be continuing on two tomorrow.

Hopefully this will spark some other members to learn themselves. It's pretty cool to see an app after just a few hours of works. :)

A screen of the first assignment, Design done myself :pac:

Screen%20shot%202011-06-22%20at%2013.26.51%201.png

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 981 ✭✭✭fasty

Nice one! Those Stanford lectures are excellent!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,886 ✭✭✭cgarvey

Good on ya, keep it up!

• Registered Users Posts: 215 ✭✭Woody_FX

Fair play! If you ever get stuck do a search on StackOverFlow. It pretty much has an answer for every iPhone related question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,281 ✭✭✭Ricky91t