Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The "Today I did something to my car" thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

One thing you could do is use 2000 wet and dry sandpaper on the panels with bad scratching then use the D/A to get rid of the sanding scratches.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Whodve thought breaking the 100bhp barrier would knacker a clutch?

I'm guessing an original clutch... Twas so-so, I wasn't happy with it anyway. I am in my arse taking the box on it's own out, engine and box out job! Clean the whole lot up :D

So onto todays activity... Short, sweet and damned effective :cool:
    Image2108.jpg

"Why are you neglecting me, why did you kill my clutch???" Pah! :rolleyes:
    Image2109.jpg

Fiddled with the camber :cool:
    Image2112.jpg

Image2113.jpg

Lensos to be refitted and rears to be done later this week :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

I hope that CAI is insulated, otherwise it'd pretty useless. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

CianRyan wrote: »
    I hope that CAI is insulated, otherwise it'd pretty useless. ;)

Theres nice ducting and shielding hidden from view behind the wheel arch :) I can't have it fully insulated anyway, think of it in the rain! Much better than a standard airbox thats for sure :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

I think this stuff is insulated? They do bigger diameter tubing too.
    redlinemaxed.co.uk

50mm-pipercross-cold-air-feed-kit-1381-p%5Bekm%5D288x288%5Bekm%5D.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭gollywog

Hey heres a few pictures of the car after being clayed, two coats of blacklight and sealed with hybrid v7....

IMAG0230.jpg

IMAG0229.jpg

IMAG0227.jpg

What i noticed yesterday is that my paint needs ALOT of correction work, will have to invest in a DA sometime in the future to really get it all shiny!! :D

How easy are those days to use actually??
    Could I mess up the paint? And how long roughly would I have to spend polishing the entire car?? Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Washed the car with fairy liquid 2BM, gave the boot/bonnet a clay and gave the car a coat of AG HD wax just before drizzle started :D Loving HD wax so far..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

gollywog wrote: »
    Hey heres a few pictures of the car after being clayed, two coats of blacklight and sealed with hybrid v7....

What i noticed yesterday is that my paint needs ALOT of correction work, will have to invest in a DA sometime in the future to really get it all shiny!! :D

Could I mess up the paint? And how long roughly would I have to spend polishing the entire car?? Cheers

Nice work :), But im disapointed as I see no beading. :(

Im a whore for the beading. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

franksm wrote: »
    On Friday, I paid a visit to the doctor, the NissanDoctor.

I had replaced the tierods on the sister's MX5, so it needed an alignment afterwards. Car felt VERY itchy driving over to Drumcondra but fair dues to the Doctor, one hour late I was driving out and the car felt like new. No doding off at random angles according to bumps and potholes. Pure pleasure to drive.

Getting a 4-wheel alignment done must be one of the best ways to spend money on a car.

Thanks to NissanDoctor, nice setup you have there in Drumcondra and I witnessed how well other customers were being dealt with too while I was in the waiting area.

BTW here are the old balljoints removed from the car - just one year and 4,000 miles on them !! And another balljoint from the same supplier that was sat in the shed over the year. Even it has gone to pot. Lesson learned, buy OEM parts where possible

PS. On Saturday the car passed its MOT up North with flying colours. Love it.

That is a very cool sleeper MX5 I have to say;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭franksm

heh heh - yeah, if it weren't for the noise, you wouldn't imagine it was 200+ HP/turbo

Grabbed this earlier, as I said, loving the HD :D

IOT5J.jpg

Nice work :), But im disapointed as I see no beading. :(

Im a whore for the beading. :o

Don't worry man, as soonbas it rains, i wont disappoint you! ;)

Added another coat of HD to the boot/roof/bonnet fe good measure while they're clean, as there's already a load of muck on the car

9hjfC.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

Added another coat of HD to the boot/roof/bonnet fe good measure while they're clean, as there's already a load of muck on the car

9hjfC.jpg

Moses himself couldn't part water that well...:pac:

Truely biblical...Well Done :cool:

Gollywog better post some beading pics soon or I'll kick his biblical ass!!! :D

It hasn't really rained since except once while I was in work! Soon MM, very soon! ;)

Garden hose....be grand!

No bother, will post a pic tommorrow before my car goes for surgery :(

I'm only joking, you don't have to! (but not really) :P

What's it going in for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭barura

De-knackered my exhaust with dgt earlier. It was a silly scorpian exhaust and now its just a stock Polo one. Oh its so pleasant to drive now. Next Monday its getting proper springs put back in it, since its currently on lowering springs. It'll be stock then more or less! And might be getting a Mk3 Golf as well on Wednesday next... Fun fun!

barura wrote: »
    De-knackered my exhaust with dgt earlier. It was a silly scorpian exhaust and now its just a stock Polo one. Oh its so pleasant to drive now. Next Monday its getting proper springs put back in it, since its currently on lowering springs. It'll be stock then more or less! And might be getting a Mk3 Golf as well on Wednesday next... Fun fun!

Dont forget the pics! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭barura

Dont forget the pics! ;)
    If only you saw the Polo before that! The Golf may just be broken into parts at any rate, but alas, we'll see when the time comes!

I'm only joking, you don't have to! (but not really) :P

What's it going in for?

I will if I have time/don't forget lol!
    Well you know I have the 2.0 tdi a4?
    It's going to george Dalton to have the oil pump/balancer shaft kit fitted, have some extra money and decided to get that sorted so i can have peace of mind. I wasn't going to bother only I rang a head mechanic in an audi dealership to enquire about it (not gonna say who or which one) and he said its not a matter of if it happens, its when.... So that made my mind up. Cheaper this way than failure, and turbo going aswell etc ya know?

barura wrote: »
    If only you saw the Polo before that! The Golf may just be broken into parts at any rate, but alas, we'll see when the time comes!

Well Il have to use my imagination. lol I see...

• Registered Users Posts: 441 ✭✭Rich11

today i made a few changes to my car, i like them but they are not to everyones taste, also its not quiet finished yet,(couldnt stand the rain any longer:rolleyes:)

Changed the back of the dials, and painted the needles

From this:
    7372663022_119b82b302_n.jpg

To this:
    7187432723_a0c4ae1f0e_m.jpg7372663450_f0c7c75752_m.jpg

and now the controversial one.... carbon vinyl wrap:P, mate was doing his 3-series(must get some pics), and had some left over so i got it.... for free:D, i know there is a few rough edges,that i will get around to fixing, but was sick of the rain(i have a shed out the back, but no garage to put my car in:()

i know, i know state of the gaiters:o, i really should get them replaced

7187433799_19eec129d4_m.jpg
    7372663948_2732c9dc03_m.jpg
    7187433141_9cc1053db5_m.jpg

i want to get the rest of the centre console done aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,478 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Just spent €392 on 3 months tax :(

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Just spent €392 on 3 months tax :(

Sure that's not even two months depreciation on a modern Golf or Focus :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

RoverJames wrote: »
    Sure that's not even two months depreciation on a modern Golf or Focus :)

Damn straight - and I know where I would rather be! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,631 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Rich11 wrote: »
    today i made a few changes to my car, i like them but they are not to everyones taste, also its not quiet finished yet,(couldnt stand the rain any longer:rolleyes:)

Changed the back of the dials, and painted the needles

From this:
    7372663022_119b82b302_n.jpg

To this:
    7187432723_a0c4ae1f0e_m.jpg7372663450_f0c7c75752_m.jpg

and now the controversial one.... carbon vinyl wrap:P, mate was doing his 3-series(must get some pics), and had some left over so i got it.... for free:D, i know there is a few rough edges,that i will get around to fixing, but was sick of the rain(i have a shed out the back, but no garage to put my car in:()

i know, i know state of the gaiters:o, i really should get them replaced

i want to get the rest of the centre console done aswell

Wont that be an nct fail as warning lights are not visible?

Ignition on position 2, car not running

Edit, oops, I misread, indeed it will.

RoverJames wrote: »
    Ignition on position 2, car not running

Edit, oops, I misread, indeed it will.

No, u can still see them through it;), I checked that before i screwed everything together, but before i checked i was worried:o, just took this pic now
    7373122168_614dee7d3b.jpg

No, u can still see them through it;), I checked that before i screwed everything together, but before i checked i was worried:o, just took this pic now

I think thats class, fair play to you pal. :)

Just testing the water here. But I did it, so I might as well post it... :)

Photo0128.jpg?t=1339763507

Did what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,590 ✭✭✭✭vectra

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Did what?

Fyffes stickers on the Banana :D

vectra wrote: »

EXACTLY.... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

Banna's like these don't grow on tree's :pac:.

Hal1 wrote: »
    Banna's like these don't grow on tree's :pac:.

"If its not Fyffes, Its not worth having..." ;)

Just make sure it's not a lemon you've got there ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭fanadman1

its rally weekend so there was alot of work done :P
    first the car was washd then clayed then washed polished with super resin polish and then waxed with hd wax :D i must say its unbeliveable will post pics of the full process next week

Just make sure it's not a lemon you've got there ;)

A lemon? Ah not atall, Tis a banana.. Ive the stickers to prove it! :pac:

If you can seriously get a decent amount of banana stickers on there that could look pretty cool. It's unique if nothing else. Haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

Sticker bomb the fuel lid with the banana stickers ;)

If you can seriously get a decent amount of banana stickers on there that could look pretty cool. It's unique if nothing else. Haha
    Sticker bomb the fuel lid with the banana stickers ;)

Lads, There are only so many bananas someone can eat. :pac:

Myself and my mates tested this one day, the most one person could get down consecutively was 9. You're going to need some help with this one. :pac:

Seriously though, every time you have a banana just throw it on and they'll build up for time. :)

Myself and my mates tested this one day, the most one person could get down consecutively was 9. You're going to need some help with this one. :pac:

Seriously though, every time you have a banana just throw it on and they'll build up for time. :)

Il go into the supermarkets and swipe afew, while asking the boss for a job of course! ;)

There is one sticker on like every buch of bananas, which usaly is 6 oor 7 bananas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

Snap...:)

DSCF3611.jpg

DSCF3610.jpg

Great minds think alike. :)

haha, yep mine should be, i said, should be:rolleyes:, like that next week some time,
    you have any problems getting your centre console off....had a quick look at my haynes manual and that was it so far:pac:

vectra wrote: »
    EXACTLY.... ;)

I thought it was an attempt at a bit of beading! :o

Here's my attempt:
    543180_10150959707383221_1703424589_n.jpg
    547299_10150959707868221_78336567_n.jpg