Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The "Today I did something to my car" thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Today I strapped up the under tray below my radiator which collapsed on the M1. From what I can see the Toyota mechanic merely tucked it under the bumper when they last had it. No bolts threaded in at all. Pi$$ed doesn't even cover me right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭damo86

I know I know...should of listened,

if dension don't sort it, I'm throwing it back in there face! false advertising, not fit of purpose and all that!! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,590 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Fitted new Back discs and pads to the Toledo
    (Long overdue I'd say :P

24FDDB3765BE4F73BE14C3A29269F82A-0000326183-0002714829-00800L-A4E01A4A3B694B2582B53FCC0377E7DB.jpg

F84D9CBCB0B04EE39E00B5C2F5296621-0000326183-0002714828-00800L-7097532A122A4253B727B04847781A4B.jpg

E10D31B85BB0443BBDE4E7E34AD47E03-0000326183-0002714827-00800L-FE37EA7CEE0C47028196379738619924.jpg

22069E5DA52C41D9BD7493C1B468017F-0000326183-0002714826-00800L-71765BB720494785A943F009B60E06AD.jpg

E1A6C6D8768C43A0B372819142F74343-0000326183-0002714825-00800L-CFFB4C8BB9334D348CF81FCAFA4A41F2.jpg

130147BF63714E26BD3C0D95D2273D9E-0000326183-0002714824-00800L-A154643982C1493E9F520197F1E061CA.jpg

Forgot to get a shot before refitting the wheel :P
    Looking better now anyway
    3A57A20315134BF290F50F2273B0FE4E-0000326183-0002714821-00800L-CC36A981EA7C4D50BB7AE24F25FF3694.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Bravo back on 4 wheels once more :)
    Image1837.jpg

Treated it to a bigger rear arb :D
    Image1833.jpg

And new handbrake cables
    Image1836.jpg

Why I needed to change my trailing arm and why I'm not too pleased
    Image1838.jpg

Always check your tyres people :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,660 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Nothing like new discs, shiney shiney!

br3.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

now i want new brake discs :o

LOL :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Are blue calipers becoming the new red calipers....? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

Anyone try a pair of those black diamond brake discs? I think the look cool and shouldn't show up surface rust as quick as standard types.

black_diamond_combi.jpg

Coupled with some newly refurb and electro silver plated calipers of course :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Hal1 wrote: »
    Anyone try a pair of those black diamond brake discs? I think the look cool and shouldn't show up surface rust as quick as standard types.

black_diamond_combi.jpg

Coupled with some newly refurb and electro silver plated calipers of course :D.

The black on the friction area is only temporary, it wears off and becomes the normal silver colour after a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

The ventilated section on the rim of the disc should last a while longer, before any corrosion sets in though.

Hal1 wrote: »
    The ventilated section on the rim of the disc should last a while longer, before any corrosion sets in though.

True, It would last a lot longer than normal discs anyway.

I'm having the same problem on the 6 as I had on the rx8 whereby after washing the car, driving it causes rusty water to form a ring on the inside of the alloys.

Very annoying after spending a good 5 minutes scrubbing each wheel beforehand :mad:

dgt wrote: »
    Are blue calipers becoming the new red calipers....? :eek:

LOL
    My son liked the Blue on the Civic so insisted on these getting a coat
    By the way, Someone asked about Hammerite paint for the calipers?
    I used this stuff on the Civic and now on this.
    Very little prep work was done. Left the calipers intact and fitted, quick scrathc with a wire brush, ( It even rained when doing the Toledo ones. Pain is as hard as nails, slap it on with a brush and comes out quite good. Had the been done properly I'd say they would look damn good.
    Paint used is:

prd_8876630triflow.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭Wisesmurf

Not my car per-se but a gadget inside it.

Got a second hand Parrott MKI9200 recently and the screen was quite badly scratched. It seems like it's a pretty common problem so I went about trying to pretty it up a bit.

Found this stuff called Displex on the bay and Parrott actually recommend it so I stumped up the 4 quid and ordered it.

Tackled it last night and all I can say is WOW. If anyone wants any futher detail on what I did let me know (pics should be clickable)

Before

th_displexbefore.jpg

One complete coat

th_displexafter1.jpg

Finished article

th_Displexafter2.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

Wisesmurf wrote: »
    Not my car per-se but a gadget inside it.

Got a second hand Parrott MKI9200 recently and the screen was quite badly scratched. It seems like it's a pretty common problem so I went about trying to pretty it up a bit.

Found this stuff called Displex on the bay and Parrott actually recommend it so I stumped up the 4 quid and ordered it.

Tackled it last night and all I can say is WOW. If anyone wants any futher detail on what I did let me know (pics should be clickable)

Before

th_displexbefore.jpg

One complete coat

th_displexafter1.jpg

Finished article

th_Displexafter2.jpg

What is the stuff? Any more details on it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Might use some of that on my phone :D

Put a little over 500 miles on the car between saturday - monday.. All I can say is thank feck its daysul.

All I can say is thank feck its daysul.

Pfff......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Fiona

Collected new relay in Joe Duffy tonight and just
    fitted it there and the car started. Left it idling for
    about 10 mins and seems fine. The two times it
    cut out it was after 15 mins of driving so just
    going to drive around the estate for about half a
    hour to see how it goes.

BDJW wrote: »
    What is the stuff? Any more details on it?

It's called displex http://www.displex.com/. I got it on Ebay for about 5 euro delivered. Comes in a 5 mil tube but you only use a tiny amount so you get quite a few applications out of it. I know a guy who has done the face of his watch and his PSP. The stuff I used (red tube) can't be used on touch screen phones seemingly but they do stuff for phones also.

Word of warning. Use cotton swabs or make up remover pads when applying. I used a very fluffy microfiber and that introduced scrapes of it's own.

I basically attacked the most noticeable scratches individually first then gave the whole screen 2 applications displex. You apply a tiny amount and polish a small area quite hard for about 3 or 4 mins. By then end I was doing the length of the screen in small sections until I did the whole lot.

The stuff I used (red tube)

:pac: thanks for the tip :D

Can't change it now, it's been quoted :D

Last time I offer you feckers help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Can't change it now, it's been quoted :D

Last time I offer you feckers help

Course ya can, I'll just edit his post

Feck it, secrets out :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Feck it, secrets out :)

I wasn't going to really :pac:

mrs crilly wrote: »
    Collected new relay in Joe Duffy tonight and just
    fitted it there and the car started. Left it idling for
    about 10 mins and seems fine. The two times it
    cut out it was after 15 mins of driving so just
    going to drive around the estate for about half a
    hour to see how it goes.

And its dead again. Cut out after 10 mins. ****ing stupid heap of ****e car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

And its dead again. Cut out after 10 mins. ****ing stupid heap of ****e car.

Off to Nissan Doctor you go!

• Subscribers Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭conzy

Pfff......

I was wondering how he does it too MM, but the other day I found this in his CD changer along with a Rick Astley CD

9847a.png

Confab wrote: »

Does he have oxygen im ****ed after pushing the poxy heap of metal home with himself!

conzymaher wrote: »
    I was wondering how he does it too MM, but the other day I found this in his CD changer along with a Rick Astley CD

You getting confused, twas your 3er we (you) were in, not mine :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Does he have oxygen im ****ed after pushing the poxy heap of metal home with himself!

He has everything except the equipment to perform endoscopies. Does a nifty vasectomy too, or so I'm told.

Does a nifty vasectomy too, or so I'm told.

Ah thats already taken care of!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Gavman84

Hi I replaced a blown fog light bulb on the car. Had to take back the wrong ones I was given yesterday and get the correct H11 ones which are €28 each didn't think they cost that much! Fella in shop said Xenon ones for a A4 cost €105 a bulb!
    Gav

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,352 ✭✭✭Mar4ix

Gavman84 wrote: »
    Hi I replaced a blown fog light bulb on the car. Had to take back the wrong ones I was given yesterday and get the correct H11 ones which are €28 each didn't think they cost that much! Fella in shop said Xenon ones for a A4 cost €105 a bulb!
    Gav
    28 ??? .. I just bought h11 recently in popular petrol station for 4.99 ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Gavman84

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

He has everything except the equipment to perform endoscopies.

No, I can use my bore scope for that:P

Car being dumped on him today or tomorrow just need to get a date with the AA ;)

photo0097_001.jpg

On it's way, always a sorry sight to see your car in the back of a tow truck!

You getting confused, twas your 3er we (you) were in, not mine :p

I was in yours and I swiped that from the CD player while you were moving your cameras ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 27 joethatoom

Today i drove my car. It was touch and go for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭damo86

Got my Dension gateway five working, thanks to autowerks midleton!

Delighted with it, dension FTW (for EPM!!:D)

few pictures:

Phone integration on MFD
    189935.jpg
    music interface on MFD
    189936.jpg
    iPod display on the RCD310
    189937.jpg
    Ipod, USB and Aux in in the glovebox
    189939.jpg

photo0097_001.jpg

On it's way, always a sorry sight to see your car in the back of a tow truck!

Does anyone else see anything wrong with that? :eek:

• Subscribers Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭conzy

Poor gearbox :( Although the manual does say its fine for 50km at 50km/hr or something like that. I still wouldn't like it though

Christ what now! I wasnt there when it was being towed.

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    Yeah in the top of the photo you can just about see the A-10 about to start its strafing run.
    conzymaher wrote: »
    Poor gearbox :( Although the manual does say its fine for 50km at 50km/hr or something like that. I still wouldn't like it though

Ok lads speak english you have me worried now :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Is it manual or auto?

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Is it manual or auto?

It's manual :confused::confused:

An auto RWD should be towed the other way around. Strictly speaking a manual should too but as said above manufacturers say its good for 50 miles. How far is it going?

Tow truck driver should know htis TBH.

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    An auto RWD should be towed the other way around. Strictly speaking a manual should too but as said above manufacturers say its good for 50 miles. How far is it going?

Tow truck driver should know htis TBH.

It's going from Ashbourne to Drumcondra, thats 54km as per the route planner (33 miles)

Ok is this cos the driving wheels are the back wheels or something, what are the implications? :confused::mad::confused:

It's going from Ashbourne to Drumcondra, thats 54km as per the route planner (33 miles)

Ok is this cos the driving wheels are the back wheels or something, what are the implications? :confused::mad::confused:

Driveshaft isn't being lubricated but should be ok for that distance.