Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tribe meets white man for the first time.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,343 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

I couldnt help thinking of this series when I watched that vid
    http://www.channel4.com/programmes/meet-the-natives/4od
    They bring 5 tribesmen from Vanuatu to England

It got a bit of criticism for being a bit "Oooo, Lets laugh at the savages" but tbh I found it fascinating how they had such a clear and logical outlook on a lot of our western ways.

Donal MacIntyre also did a similar one, The Curious Tribe with people from PNG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Well thats them fcuked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭jimbob86

• Registered Users Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭dasdog

Pawpad666 wrote: »
    I wonder what the fist against the head means when they taste the rice?

I saw this years ago and it means "good". They didn't like the rice grains at first but with a sprinkle of salt that all changed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭The High King

A great bunch of lads. Am I insane for thinking that would be a grand life ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

The bit at the end where he hears himself on the tape recorder is great, all the children laughing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 606 ✭✭✭baaaa

Can anybody gif the bit at 10:06 where the second dude tastes the rice and reacts,that's priceless.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Daroxtar wrote: »
    I couldnt help thinking of this series when I watched that vid
    http://www.channel4.com/programmes/meet-the-natives/4od
    They bring 5 tribesmen from Vanuatu to England
    Watched the first part of that last night. I really like their attitudes towards some things, especially the artificial insemination of the pigs. The leader felt it was wrong for them to be there watching a private matter between the pigs and it was wrong to take away their enjoyment, "humans and animals are the same thing".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

If they think the mirror is good wait untill they see terminator 2

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

So primitive yet they still had that crappy pan pipes new age soundtrack

• Registered Users Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Amazing stuff, I just hope they don't learn our stupid dependent commercialised ways.

• Registered Users Posts: 256 ✭✭hoff1

• Registered Users Posts: 230 ✭✭DHYNZY

Its a fantastic video, but you have to feel they struggled to return to their day-to-days after the experience. You'd feel left behind!

The Sentinelese are my favourite of the world's uncontacted peoples. They (sometimes violently) refuse to let outsiders onto their small island (North Sentinel Island, only about 75 Km^2). We know pretty much nothing about them: not their language, their customs, their culture, nor their religion. Nothing. They killed a couple of fishermen who came too close to the island about 5 years ago. Often when a helicopter or boat comes close they fire arrows and hold a threatening posture and perform some kind of a war dance.

Here's a video showing anthropologists trying to win them over by putting coconuts on the island. You can see the tribe when the people return to the boat:

In Indian government (the island is technically under Indian control) has vowed to not attempt to make contact again, as all previous attempts have failed. So, hopefully if all works out, they'll continue to live on the island for a long time to come, just as they've done so for what could be tens of thousands of years.

There's a nice (and long) essay on the tribe here for those interested in finding out more about them.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭Jammyc

Great video. Where have I heard that song before though?

• Registered Users Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Jammyc wrote: »
    Great video. Where have I heard that song before though?

probably on one of those daytime informercials for one of those "85,00 pan pipe classics in this 250 cd box set, order now and we'll throw in another 150 cd box set of Pan Pipe Gangta Rap: The Complete Collection at no extra cost!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

jimbob86 wrote: »

OMG, nostalgia!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,596 ✭✭✭anniehoo

krudler wrote: »
    he should go back with an iphone, a wii and some miracle cleaner from JML and blow all their minds
    It was 1976...i think it'd blow everyones mind nevermind an "uncivilised" tribe. Actually they ALL blow my mind. Whats JML??

• Registered Users Posts: 940 ✭✭✭cyberhog