Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Entourage - Season 8 [** Spoilers **]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

I liked it but I'm a big fan of the show. Like it's been for the last two seasons I think Ari's storyline is going to be the best keep the rest moving. It'd be interesting to see how it can lead into a movie.

This E & Sloan on/off story is taking the piss at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,009 ✭✭✭kronsington

i thought this episode felt kind of strange, it just didn't "feel" like a regular entourage episode. it sort of looked different too. hard to explain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Is anybody watching this anymore ep3 had a great ending

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭chalkitdown1

Yeah, brilliant episode this week. Best for a long, long time. The show has kinda moved completely away from the comedy and into full-on drama territory now, though. Not that I'm complaining.

Yeah I like the Ari storyline and I think Vince has become a more calmer charachter and more focused

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Very unimpressed with this season, as I was with season 7 too. It's a shame IMO, because up until the 6th season the show was quality. Hopefully it improves dramatically in the next 5 episodes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,143 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

this came out early because of the holiday weekend, 1 ep left after this, its all wrapping up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭crank_1975

Have to say, much as I loved Entourage, this series is completly pointless. E and Sloan wtf? Vince is a shadow of his former self, Turtle is literally half the man he used to be, Arnold is dead, Lloyd is never around and Drama is just annoying. Not to mention that Ari (who was the real heart of the show) has turned into a whiny b*tch. Add to that the likes of Scott Caan's charachter and Andrew "Dice" Clay who are equally annoying and it all adds up to a show which should have been killed off at the top, possibly when Vinny got the Scorcese movie?

God only know what the movie will be like (if it ever happens).

Entourage RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭joannaman

crank_1975 wrote: »
    Have to say, much as I loved Entourage, this series is completly pointless. E and Sloan wtf? Vince is a shadow of his former self, Turtle is literally half the man he used to be, Arnold is dead, Lloyd is never around and Drama is just annoying. Not to mention that Ari (who was the real heart of the show) has turned into a whiny b*tch. Add to that the likes of Scott Caan's charachter and Andrew "Dice" Clay who are equally annoying and it all adds up to a show which should have been killed off at the top, possibly when Vinny got the Scorcese movie?

Entourage RIP

Agree totally. Considering they only have 8 episodes for the final season, they have wasted a lot of time going around in circles with inconsequential storylines such as Drama going back and forward with Dice, and Vince coming out of rehab. It started really going downhill from season 7 onwards when Turtle started selling tequila. They seem to be so bereft of ideas now that they are rehashing that storyline but now he's selling pasta sauces. Wtf? I also can't stand Ari's storyline and his family in general, especially that satanic little kid (who i think is the show creator's son!). My guess is that Vince will marry that chick from the magazine that's writing a negative piece about him and E will get back with sloane, and the movie will be the stag-dos and the weddings. Hell, maybe even Turtle and Drama might get married too. Yawn. Bring back Dom!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,489 ✭✭✭iMax

I think it performed better when vince was in a movie for the season. There was much more room for guest stars & there was more vitality in general.

I'd prefer to see the much rumoured "The Agency" spin off than the movie to be honest.

And why oh why didn't they do the ramones movie (for real as well). That would have been incredible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

I think this season has been sh*te.With one ep left the only thing I can imagine will bring it to a close is if they kill off Vince.Forget about a film.Nobody would be arsed with watching it.

Scott is the best character in it these days,and even that is when he isn't the centre of the scene (drinking the vinegar/answering the fake cock phone....)

Very disappointed overall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭don ramo

yeah i generally dont swing so much on a show as i have on entourage, i think if i didnt know this was the last season i most likely would stop watching, every caracter has become annoying on an insane level, its like they all just hate each other,

a few fans are blaming the head writer ally musika, shes been there 4 or 5 years and has become more and more involved each season, i was watching an interview with the 4 lads and 2 or 3 other people and she was one of them and it seemed like she was running the show now, head writer and all that, it seems the shows downfall has coincided with her rise to promenance on the staff,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,383 ✭✭✭S.M.B.

It's not like they could even go all meta with the movie and have it so it's about how Vince and they boys go about executive producing a TV series paralleling their rise to fame in Hollywood.

Usually I'd be interested in something like that but with the state Entourage is in at the moment it would be 10 times as irritating.

Vince being all annoying with Robert Pattinson playing the even more annoying TV version of Vince.

*explodes*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Mr Freeze

joannaman wrote: »
    ....and the movie will be the stag-dos and the weddings. Hell, maybe even Turtle and Drama might get married too...

Oh dear God, No! That sounds like Sex & the City, not Entourage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭telekon

I cringe every time I hear the name Sloane. I couldn't care less about her or any of 'E's relationship storylines. This season has been shocking.

Plus Turtle is now skinny and wearing grown-up clothes...Boo-urns I say!!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Mr Freeze wrote: »
    Oh dear God, No! That sounds like Sex & the City, not Entourage.

It's been kind of had to tell the two apart these last few seasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

I have to agree with everything thats being said I used to love the Ari, Lyod dynamic but theyve completely killed that off, and made Ari into a whinge which alone ruins the show for me all on its own.

Plus with only one episode left youdimagine theyd have you sitting on the edge of your seat dying to see whats going to happen, but they havent really or maybe its that I just dont really care for the characters anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

absolutely couldnt care less how it ends now, went from one of my favourite shows during the Aquaman/Medellin years to absolute drivel this season. Sloane and E is just something thats been dragged out to death, nobody cares! its turned into soap opera sh1te. Scott Caan is the best character in it now by far since Billy Walsh was turned into a pussy. Hope Ari and Dana wind up together they have a good dynamic that should carry over into the Ari spinoff if it goes ahead. when was the last time Vince actually made a movie? its been at least 3 seasons since he was in something that we saw him filming aside from that movie where he did the stunt that never seemed to get released, did that ever go anywhere?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

While we're all sh*tting all over that show,how come,when the house burned down and they had to get their old clothes out of storage,all Turtles basketball shirts weren't 10 sizes too big for him?

They were always too big for him, even back in the days when he was the size of a small baby whale...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

So, after 7 years and 95 episodes there's now only one episode left. I only actually started watching the show this summer, and I have to say that for the first 4 or 5 series' I couldn't believe that I'd missed out on it for so long. It was everything that I liked, best friends living a great lifestyle, partying with celebrities, picking up woman after woman, driving fast cars etc, it was also very, very funny. However, I think it's been clear for a long time now that it should have been stopped after series 6.

Anyway, how do you think it will end next week? My predictions are that Vince gets with Sophia, Eric moves to New York with Sloan, Johnny goes to work on the movie and now that Turtle is a millionaire I can see him moving to open up his own restaurant as he'll want to make a success of it without the rest of the lads.

No doubt it will be left open for a movie and the above would do that, they could all meet up for say, Vince's wedding or to see E after the birth of the baby.

Hopefully they make a much better go of the movie than they have the last couple of series'. Regardless of that I'll still miss watching it even though I only started recently and I'll look forward to the movie too.

Oh, and I'll certainly miss Dana Gordon too:

constance_zimmer_l3.jpg

Agree with pretty much everything said in the above posts. This series has been awful. It really has. Last season was poor and I thought they'd pick it up this year, but they haven't, it has gotten worse. There are NO interesting storylines this year. Nothing. Great characters like Walsh and Ari have become nothing. Particulary Ari, who Piven will probably say some crap like "it was great for my character to show some vulnerability". I loved the dynamic of the original foursome with ari on the side. I know the characters are older and things are changing a bit but i think they have dropped the ball on this series. i thought the story with drama and dice could be good but it's crap. it seems like nothing is happening this series. all the episodes feel the same. and sloan and e? just kill them already. very disappointing stuff this year. there's almost a smug self awareness to it this year. it basically doesnt feel like entourage anymore. poor form

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

The last properly funny scene in Entourage. Definitely should have ended after season 6 and maybe done a hangover style movie. :pac:

i was thinking there earlier, didnt dana gordon have a kid a few seasons back, i remeber ari was being nice to his missus and went to collect the kids from school but he actually wanted to talk to dana who was also collecting her kid, wheres her kid:confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,459 ✭✭✭T-b0n3

don ramo wrote: »
    i was thinking there earlier, didnt dana gordon have a kid a few seasons back, i remeber ari was being nice to his missus and went to collect the kids from school but he actually wanted to talk to dana who was also collecting her kid, wheres her kid:confused::confused:

Yea your right that definitely happened. They are conveniently ignoring that at the moment!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭datk

T-b0n3 wrote: »
    Yea your right that definitely happened. They are conveniently ignoring that at the moment!

The kid is probably off with the Gold's third kid that got dropped after the 1st or 2nd season!! Continuity on Entourage has not been great!!

Dana Gordon is way hotter than Ari's wife - although she is richer probably, which would have swung it for Ari.

Dana has been super hot this season

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

Final ever episode tonight.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

Any pornstars featured in season 8?...think previous seasons had a few.

Final ever episode tonight.
    your observation will not be rewarded ;)

Any pornstars featured in season 8?...think previous seasons had a few.
    and thats probably the main reason season 8 was sh1te, but season 7 was sh1te cause a pornstar was in it to much,

TBF it should have ended last season if not the one before, when i rewatch it in future ill just stop after season 6, season 7 and 8 have added noting to remember,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

I have thought ending on season 6 with perhaps a photo montage of Vince winning an Oscar or something would have been a great ending. but even just finish with him getting his career back it would have been the perfect show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭jvc

crank_1975 wrote: »

Entourage RIP

What happened to Arnold? Did he die in the fire? I dont remember them mentioning that.

Watch until after the credits is what my friend in L.A. texted me last night.

I'm hoping it'll be them just arriving in Hollywood after the success of Queens Boulevard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

Finale felt rushed and very soppy. Too soppy in fact.
    It's a bad idea to end on a downer. I get that. But it all worked out perfectly for all of them. :rolleyes: I mean, really? :mad:

E and sloan sort of makes sense because they have been on again off again for a while and they have a baby etc. But Vince getting married after one date is just ridiculous. Too ridiculous even for this show.

I'm wondering if the movie will tank. People have likened the show to Sex and the City for men......but can you really see blokes lining up to see this on the big screen like the wimmens did for that? I'm not sure. People originally watched the show for T&A. I don't think it will translate well.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

iMax wrote: »
    Watch until after the credits is what my friend in L.A. texted me last night.

I'm hoping it'll be them just arriving in Hollywood after the success of Queens Boulevard.

Nope
    a big huge massive setup for the Ari spin off

I liked the finale, kind of reminds me of the older episodes. Vinny and E helping each other out and Drama and Turtle adding a touch of humour from the sidelines.
    Everything looks to be wrapped up and it's left wide open for a movie or another season.

if they can get the caracters back to where they were around season 3 or 4, i think a movie could work,

thought it was a good enough eneding, better than most, ari and the wife had to get back together, ari isnt ari without her, we knew E and sloane would get back together, and vince getting married after one date may be a bit much, but hes never chased a girl that much, and as we know vince will only chase the things he truely loves, some time it works out and others it doesnt, so maybe the film will give a us a better idea on if it will work or not, and if ari was gonna accept the offer he was made, id say no, well id hope he wouldnt anyway, maybe ask john to stick around for a year or two while he takes a much needed break,

also does anyone know if they are gonna make the film or not,

good that dramas last line was "we better find something to **** in paris":D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,217 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

Yeah, I loved the
    suggestion of an Ari spinoff. I would really like to see that. The lads' stories are done and dusted. Anything more would be a retread (or re-retread).

TBH I can't see a movie happening. As Kirby said, I don't think people are going to exactly queue around the corner to see it. I mean, what would it be about? Vince in another movie? Another business for Turtle? E and Sloan AGAIN? No, I think their stories are finished. Strangely enough, I think the one character with most potential apart from you-know-who is Turtle. Thought it would have been fun seeing his exasperation with that couple he brought over from NY. That and Scott Caan. He would've been good actually. Like the boys at the start: In it for the craic, the money and the wimmen :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭datk

Yeah, I loved the
    suggestion of an Ari spinoff. I would really like to see that. The lads' stories are done and dusted. Anything more would be a retread (or re-retread).

I was worried he'd do the 'I only want to do movies now, TV is beneath me' bit but this cheered me up
    would be fun...RT“@michaellescano: @jeremypiven ARI GOLD SPINOFF!!!!! #PLEASEBETRUE”

8 hours agovia Twitter for iPad
    at least he's entertaining the idea. Talk of the spin off was started by Mark Wahlberg back on the Season 4 DVD extras but a lot of time has passed, hopefully it'll happen I can see Ari wanting to 'try being god'!
    :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,143 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

so i guess a movie would be about them going to new york, maybe in and around making the ramones movies which was his dream project and a new york based story

Wasn't too bad. Little too much crammed in. I guess the much rumoured spin off will be The Studio.

Ari in charge with Dana under him :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Sad its over but all good things must come to an end,

The whole finale was a bit "meh", I'm just delighted I don't have to endure any more crappy Sloan and E storylines....

Now an Ari spin-off, that would be very welcome, as long as he stays in the office all day and the wife gets off his case...

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

It was fairly predictable that the last episode would be a feel-good episode where everything worked out well for everybody, and that's fine by me. The only issue I have with it is that it all felt a bit rushed and disjointed cramming everything into half an hour. They could have made it a 45 or 60 minute episode and it would have been a bit more satisfactory imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭nicklauski

I agree Zaph. Could have done with an extra fifteen minutes or 2 episodes :D
    I would love to see Ari getting the spin off, it was rumoured to be the agency a few years ago, now that that is gone, the Studio is a great idea. Still could occasionally get Vinny et al in there and many more.

Imagine Llyod and Ari back to there best, feck it, I'd even bring Adam Davies back. Get Amanda Daniels back too.

Has great potential. Let's hope it comes true.

Is it true there were scenes during/after the end credits? i missed any of this as i turned it straight off when it was over

There was a two/three minute scene with Ari & Mrs Ari
    They're relaxing in a beautiful villa with staff etc, she gets up to get another bottle of wine & the phone rings. Ari answers & the guy who owns the studio from a couple of seasons ago is on it, Ari tells him he doesn't want the head of studio job, Dana is doing a great job etc, guy replies, Its not her job I'm offering you, it's mine, I want you to take over as CEO & COO as the company, it's your time, you've a week to decide. Mrs Ari returns, asks him who it was & Ari doesn't answer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭nicklauski

Is it true there were scenes during/after the end credits? i missed any of this as i turned it straight off when it was over

Yes.
    It should Ari and his wife away. When the phone rings. Ari picks it up and it's the head of Warner Brothers studios. He says he wants Ari to work for him. Ari thinks it's to replace Dana Gordon, but he is then told that it's to run the whole WB studio. TV, Movies, Music, Sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

awful ending, wtf was the point of
    having Vince marry a woman we were only introduced to a few episodes earlier?
    the E and Sloane stuff got old 3 seasons back so didnt care about that either. annoying it didnt end with Vince making another movie either. basically reversed everything the season built up to in 20 mins, everyones happy, yay. I know its Entourage and it always works out, but for ALL of them? thats just lazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭Tristram

Had no idea that was the finale lol