Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trinity Rooms / Angel Lane / Mollys ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

iguana wrote: »
    Mid-90s actually. And on Saturdays in summer they had a barbeque in the garden so you'd get a free burger if you were lucky.:)

Were there more clubs in the 90s than there are now? We had Featherys, Docs, Tropics/The Gallery, Cheers (if you were really stuck, I could get in there when I was 16 and looked 12), Termights, The Globe, The Market, The Pery, The Works, Bakers, Dolans, even the Kilmurry.

Also there were a couple of late might cafes like Java's and Puccinis so you could get something nice to eat after a club somewhere chilled out if you didn't fancy fast food.

also Teds, Hanrattys.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,382 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

Mid-90s actually. And on Saturdays in summer they had a barbeque in the garden so you'd get a free burger if you were lucky.:)

Were there more clubs in the 90s than there are now? We had Featherys, Docs, Tropics/The Gallery, Cheers (if you were really stuck, I could get in there when I was 16 and looked 12), Termights, The Globe, The Market, The Pery, The Works, Bakers, Dolans, even the Kilmurry.

Also there were a couple of late might cafes like Java's and Puccinis so you could get something nice to eat after a club somewhere chilled out if you didn't fancy fast food.

Lots of nightclubs back then. Not to mind starting off in Quin's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Roadend

Strictly Rythmn, Teds, The Theatre Royal, Costelloes, Bojangles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,916 ✭✭✭✭iguana

So it actually is a case of "it was better in my day," there's a turn up for the books.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Icky Thump

So it actually is a case of "it was better in my day," there's a turn up for the books.:D
    heres another one

turnip5.jpg

im sorry:D

• Registered Users Posts: 230 ✭✭Exothermic

So Angel Lane have said they're 21's for the night. What organisers are 18's for the night?

I'm fairly outraged by the sudden lack of clubs for 18 year olds. It's rather idiotic to exclude the business of 18, 19, and 20 year olds during a recession. -.- I'm NOT a teeny bopper, I'm not scum, I don't drink too much, I use real valid ID to get in.
    I'd just like to have a good night out with friends and not be rejected from somewhere with the exception of Tuesdays and Thursdays.
    Anywhere? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 Rosewaterstone

I'm the same, its so annoying! me and my friends are all 18 but would never cause any trouble or get too drunk, its all the young scum that are ruining it for the rest of us!:-( Unfair!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Roadend

Don't worry, I'll tell ye how it went on Monday next. Chug chug chug chug...

• Registered Users Posts: 115 ✭✭Voy

roast wrote: »
    The Bitter End is closed down now, so even less places for you young 'uns to go. ;)

Why was the bitter end closed down?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭The Snipe

Voy wrote: »
    Why was the bitter end closed down?

Bitter end was bought by the Still House, and is becomming Foxies Bar. Sunday is the last day of trade for the Still and Foxies is opening within the next few weeks.

• Registered Users Posts: 115 ✭✭Voy

Thanks. Wonder if it will be the same sort of crowd there again.

Voy wrote: »
    Thanks. Wonder if it will be the same sort of crowd there again.

As the b.e? doubt it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,853 ✭✭✭Poxyshamrock

Bitter end was bought by the Still House, and is becomming Foxies Bar. Sunday is the last day of trade for the Still and Foxies is opening within the next few weeks.

And why are they closing the Still house, moving only down the street and changing the name?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,873 ✭✭✭✭banie01

And why are they closing the Still house, moving only down the street and changing the name?

Economics and upward only rent reviews ;)

You'll have to ask Ken that :P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

Bitter end and still house same crowds,maybe the still was more pubby but ud have all the diamond earrings and mullets/tracksuit crowd in both

Bitter end is a big pub they will have to fill it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,506 ✭✭✭sioda

Have to disagree there the still was a sport crowd and over 20's bitter end was a hole full of children and ****e music

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

Im been in there twice with friends on weekend nights in in last 2 years and i thought it was rough,didnt feel in danger but all the lads were scobey and a raw vibe to the place

Not sure what its like to watch a match in

• Registered Users Posts: 871 ✭✭✭savagecabbages

It is a bit like that, but generally safe enough. Big regular crowd in there so very little hassle, inspite of the atmosphere. Foxies should be grand too provided they get through the first few months.

The bitter end was 10 times as bad and did have trouble. LOADS!
    The only reason I'll miss it is that crowd will move on to some other pub and ruin it...

It is a bit like that, but generally safe enough. Big regular crowd in there so very little hassle, inspite of the atmosphere. Foxies should be grand too provided they get through the first few months.

The bitter end was 10 times as bad and did have trouble. LOADS!
    The only reason I'll miss it is that crowd will move on to some other pub and ruin it...

Not if they had to cop on to refuse them :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭SarahBeep!

Not if they had to cop on to refuse them :/

They always find somewhere :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭IHeartChemistry

Who needs clubs when we have Costies? :P

Also is Bitter End closed? I havent seen it open in agggges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭roast

Who needs clubs when we have Costies? :P

Also is Bitter End closed? I havent seen it open in agggges.

Yep, its closed, but bought and will be reopened.. Check the previous pages.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Munstergirl12

Hey what age is Angel Lane on a Saturday night i want to go out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 Rosewaterstone

i've heard that its 21's now(perhaps i'm wrong though!). i'm well pissed off, im 18 and nowhere good to go out anymore:-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,092 ✭✭✭CiaranMT

i've heard that its 21's now(perhaps i'm wrong though!). i'm well pissed off, im 18 and nowhere good to go out anymore:-(

Costello's is yer only man ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Munstergirl12

aw damn i wanted to go there saturday!But like i am only 18 and i doubt ill get in!Sick of limerick its a ****hole!although ive heard they let 18 year old people in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,174 ✭✭✭1huge1

Well if your a 18 year old female then you have a better chance than a 18 year old male... at the same time, there are better places (or at least there used to be assuming they haven't closed since I've been in Limerick last)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

Sick of limerick its a ****hole!

Socialise in some other city/town then? Problem solved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Iang87

RikkFlair wrote: »
    Socialise in some other city/town then? Problem solved.

expensive enough gettin a cab from town to somewhere else.

Thankfully i'm 24 so i have my pick of where to go however the pick is limited to say the least