Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Farm quad??

• 24-06-2011 3:28pm
    Registered Users Posts: 130 ✭✭

Lads, been contemplating buying a farm quad for a while, would have plenty of use for it as all land is well spread out over the one area. Anyway a neighbour purchased one recently for pleasue, and biggest mistake of his life, not sure of the exact brand but he finds it impossible to get parts or anything. From your own experience what have ye witnessed, what make would suit best?

Not looking for a new model, a strong reliable one, at least 300 cc, not planning on spending to much either, 1250 or that.

Thanks lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭ihatetractors

anfieldrd wrote: »
    Lads, been contemplating buying a farm quad for a while, would have plenty of use for it as all land is well spread out over the one area. Anyway a neighbour purchased one recently for pleasue, and biggest mistake of his life, not sure of the exact brand but he finds it impossible to get parts or anything. From your own experience what have ye witnessed, what make would suit best?

Not looking for a new model, a strong reliable one, at least 300 cc, not planning on spending to much either, 1250 or that.

Thanks lads.

Honda fourtrax is the only job.. Have ours a good few years now, 1600 hrs and not a days trouble. Regular servicing and changing parts like bushings as they wear is life of a machine, newer hondas aren't ment to be as good for reliability

• Registered Users Posts: 29 zitaron

1250 won't get you much - be very wary.
    no chinese is number 1
    beware worn diffs and drives - a dear fix
    fourtax is a good buy - but most of them are showing their age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭minktrapper

1200 wont buy you much. more like 5 grand

where are you from

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭delaney001

Doesnt sound too bad, + pictures coming on it tomroo

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/quads/2382152

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 719 ✭✭✭fastrac

We had a discussion group meeting lately and it was agreed that if you had a reckless driver of any age in the yard you should get rid of the quad as the chance of an accident was too big. A 2nd hand John Deere Gator or simular would be a far safer bet and way harder to steal too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

delaney001 wrote: »
    Doesnt sound too bad, + pictures coming on it tomroo

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/quads/2382152
    no heros or test drives

No thanks then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭delaney001

johngalway wrote: »
    No thanks then.

Assuming your referring to the 'test driving' part and not the Hero bit... I would imagine you would be allowed a test drive if you showed serious interest in it. Either that, or the person selling it is quite the fool

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

delaney001 wrote: »
    Assuming your referring to the 'test driving' part and not the Hero bit... I would imagine you would be allowed a test drive if you showed serious interest in it. Either that, or the person selling it is quite the fool

I think it's foolish to put "no... test drives" in an advert for a quad. If someone viewing the quad is a time waster they'll pretend to be interested to get a go of it. If they are interested in buying it, they'll want a test drive.

It's pointless!

I reckon a decent farm quad could be got for under €2,500. But bring someone who knows what to look out for with ya.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

zitaron wrote: »
    1250 won't get you much - be very wary.
    no chinese is number 1
    beware worn diffs and drives - a dear fix
    fourtax is a good buy - but most of them are showing their age.

anything under E1500 and I'd say you just buying trouble. Honda are very good but also heard yamaha are tougher more robust and the no.1 choice of foresters now and those yokes see some torture.

Only other advice I could give you is to go for a 4wd one or you'll end up changing it and putting money with it to buy a 4 wd one!

Best of luck and once you get one you'll never be without one again, most used machine in the place !

• Registered Users Posts: 104 ✭✭Lofty0990

Like all things machinery location of dealer can be an issue but had honda now yamaha simple and strong !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

The big three Japanese maker all make quads and they are all good.
    Suzuki, Honda and Yamaha all make good machinery and more importantly have parts backup.
    The Chinese don't have a proper network of dealers here and thats what lets them down as far as spares goes.
    The actual machines aren't that bad mainly being copies of existing japanese engines etc, and the quality can be variable which is another story.
    Beware quads that have had the guts pulled out of them towing big trailers around the farm.

Get one with with optional four or two wheel drive for easier steering.

CJhaughey wrote: »
    The actual machines aren't that bad mainly being copies of existing japanese engines etc, .
    The chinese machines are 'that bad'.... and the engines are the least of it -- electrics, diffs, drives, cheap wiring, poor rubber, and more --
    Last year I used a copy flail mower (copied from UK LOGIC) with a Honda copy engine engine - it worked badly even though its paper spec was the same as the Logic.
    There are kids quads on the market that can be bought in China for $200 dollars -- yet cost euro 1,000 to buy here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

It really depends on the machine, China make a lot of stuff now for the main factories which is indistinguishable from Japanese made stuff, its built up to a spec not down to a price.
    Chinese stuff is not all bad, but some of it can be poor I grant you that.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,285 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

While I'm not against Chinese made stuff per-se, you really need to know exactly what to look for if you're contemplating this- and I'd also suggest a service contract from the seller, whoever that might be.

You can get totally top notch Chinese stuff- but you can also get dangerous crap with fake safety stickers etc- and if you don't know what to look for, it can be damn difficult to distinguish between them........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭eire-kp

Make sure its 4wd its a lot safer,

If your going down a slope/bank with a 2wd and don't feel safe/or change your mind about where your going you will find it very hard/impossible to reverse back up a slope without 4wd.

What ever make you go for dont be afraid to spend that bit extra for a good one because parts are pretty expensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Dazzler88

Look at this yoke.The older type bike are holding their money,had one of these before.They are great bike.

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/quads/2274112

Dazzler88 wrote: »
    Look at this yoke.The older type bike are holding their money,had one of these before.They are great bike.

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/quads/2274112

:confused: just looking at the picture of that heap of junk should tell you to run a mile from such a sale -- sagging seat and plastic, old, tired, abused.... they may have been a great bike(20 years ago, when it was built) - but at 1300euro, that one isn't great anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Dazzler88

zitaron wrote: »
    :confused: just looking at the picture of that heap of junk should tell you to run a mile from such a sale -- sagging seat and plastic, old, tired, abused.... they may have been a great bike(20 years ago, when it was built) - but at 1300euro, that one isn't great anymore.

id agree with ya on this.But that seems to be what guys are looking for older bikes.Its madness.

• Registered Users Posts: 34 jim420

i'd go with a 4wd honda 300 or 350 fourtrax or big red just a great bike,just make sure diffs are good,bring someone that knows quads if your lookin at any.
    money wise you'll not get anything good for 1250.
    1500-1800 should leave ya with a safe quad