Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DCU - Who wants to go there?

• Registered Users Posts: 300 ✭✭Nagikami

Thanks, so your roomate can go through the bathroom to get your key?!
    Haha Sorry It should have looked like this:
    ==== ----
    /
    \
    |==L\---K---/L===|
    |
    |====|
    |
    |
    |---B---|
    |
    |
    |
    |
    |
    |
    |==L=|
    |
    |
    D
    D
    |
    ===|==D=|====

Just ignore the dashes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

UrbanSea wrote: »
    Wolfe where'd you recommend
    Get a house, or theres great off campus student accommodation just across the road, the name escapes me though...

Shanowen hall I think it may be, Shanowen something anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,143 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

I'm Rebecca, I'm 19, I failed common entry science MISERABLY so I am now hoping to re-apply into Law and Society :)

To whoever was asking, you cannot get into Genetics and Cell Biology through Common Entry. Friend of mine had the points for it, but put down common entry, really wanted GCB and now she wont get it :(

If anyone has any questions on common entry or any other other science course (all the first year courses are exactly the same), fire away :)

How do they determine who gets into what course from common entry?

• Registered Users Posts: 74 ✭✭vDarr

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    I just did first year there, avoid larkfield, decent craic but its very restrictive and expensive

It may not be the best accommodation in fact it's possibly the worst on campus accommodation I've seen for any college in terms of space (granted I haven't seen a lot) :P

But would you not at least recommend it for meeting people? the fact that you're surrounded by first years is the only reason I picked it. :confused: :pac:

vDarr wrote: »
    It may not be the best accommodation in fact it's possibly the worst on campus accommodation I've seen for any college in terms of space (granted I haven't seen a lot) :P

But would you not at least recommend it for meeting people? the fact that you're surrounded by first years is the only reason I picked it. :confused: :pac:
    Oh yeah, deffo, the lads I know who stayed there met tons of people and had great craic, its not sh!t, but off campus or hamstead is better

Im lucky cause my grandad lives right beside the college!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Wolfe,in what ways are they strict?

Fines for stupid things, ie place being messy, posters on he walls etc etc.

Worse thing is, if you are a lad, and you pull some bird who doesn't live on campus, you cant bring her back unless you sneak her in.(which sometimes you can)

You can have people over but it costs money and you have to book in advance.

You need a card for the guards to let you in after 11 you see...

• Registered Users Posts: 712 ✭✭✭teenagedream

Worse thing is, if you are a lad, and you pull some bird who doesn't live on campus, you cant bring her back unless you sneak her in.(which sometimes you can)

What about weekends and that? Is it the same way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭Night_Prowler

Im a DCU and AF alumni. Couldnt rate DCU highly enough! As for the campus accommodation - ah sure you can find a cheap house well within walking distance - if not accross the road!

What about weekends and that? Is it the same way
    AFAIK yeah, I didn't actually live there mind but some friends did.

If you get them in before 11pm, when they start checking cards, you should be ok though.

AFAIK yeah, I didn't actually live there mind but some friends did.

If you get them in before 11pm, when they start checking cards, you should be ok though.

You think I'd get away say during mid term or whichever having someone over for a week?

The place is pretty small man! Would be real cramped

Dunno tbh

The place is pretty small man! Would be real cramped

Dunno tbh
    Haha, nah I wouldnt be worryin' about space too much :pac:

Thanks anyway

Raging,I wanted to pull a load of birds.
    And that off campus place you recommend,do many first years live there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭Cardor

There are a lot of people doing languages in DCU this year.. I hope the points don't rise too much...

My first 4 choices are DCU
    1-Applied Languages - with german and spanish
    2-Business International - with german
    3-European Business - with german
    4-Economics, Politics and Law

If I don't get my first 3, i'm gonna repeat as I really wanna do a Language.. so i'l be seeing most of you guys in the SALIS building in september.. :D

I'm 18 and from Westmeath.. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭Gunslinger92

How do they determine who gets into what course from common entry?

Exam results. Whoever passed all their exams gets their number one choice, don't know what happens to the people who failed..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,654 ✭✭✭shadowninty

DCUs campus is really cool! do want

• Closed Accounts Posts: 922 ✭✭✭aoife_bennett

Anyone else going to live on campus? In Larkfield?

Yup.. Me! :D

I don't mind if I get Hampstead either.. but I have larkfield down as my first choice..

Cardor wrote: »
    Yup.. Me! :D

I don't mind if I get Hampstead either.. but I have larkfield down as my first choice..

samesies :) Larkfield looks tiny but shur we'd have the craic anyways :)

Yeah.. it'l be good.. what are you studying?

Journalism if the results are good to me :D:/ Yourself?

Applied languages.. Hopefully..:D

saw your post above . . . g'wan German!!!

male/female etc deets?

I'm male.. :P Whats deets? I'm guessing your female considering your name is aoife.. :P

Cardor wrote: »
    I'm guessing your female considering your name is aoife.. :P

give the man an A1

female, 19, waterford

Lads when did ye put your names down for accommadation? I was going to wait until results time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭LilMissCiara

Lads when did ye put your names down for accommadation? I was going to wait until results time.

Did it a few months back. It's free to get on the waiting list so I'd do it now if I were you!

I put mine in when i finalised my CAO, so around late June maybe? It might have been early July too though. I'd say put it in now just to be 100% sure. . .

Did it a few months back. It's free to get on the waiting list so I'd do it now if I were you!

Where'd you apply for? Larkfield?