Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Got the PhD acceptance, but still not sure. If I sign am I bound into doing it?

Options
  • 24-06-2011 7:46pm
    Registered Users Posts: 99 ✭✭

I got a PhD acceptance there today, it's great but I still have reservations. I am wondering if I go ahead with the acceptance am I stuck?

I'll give a little background about myself. I worked as an engineering in the building ind for 3 years, but when things started to go belly up I tried to get out and make a fresh start before the rush, but I timed it about a year wrong. I did an MSc in Bioeng and got top marks in my class but no companies want to know anything about me, or so it seems. Coming out of Uni I was fortunate enough to get a job but it's not in engineering and I've been there for over 2 years now. Looking at what was happening to me I decided that a PhD might be the only way for me to get back into what I want to do.

The reason I have misgivings about this PhD is that while it is a very interesting project, it's not a very renound university, it's in Glasgow (not a million miles away, but I know I would miss home), and if I had a job offer in an engineering firm I would take it today. I haven't stopped looking for a job and would really much prefer to work than to be doing a project. I think I would do really well at the project, and I can see I would probably enjoy it, but I am getting a little old now and I just want to get my career back on track (hear that? it's the worlds smallest violin playing just for me). I also have potential offers with other Universities that have fantastic projects as well.