Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Training log

• Registered Users Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭Squatman

squat
    60x6
    100x5
    120x3
    140x2
    160x1
    180, 2x2 PR
    heavy squatting felt light...ish!

Bench
    60x6
    80x5
    105, 5x5, inconsistent, some sets were tough, some easy!

Assistance

leg extensions
    40x15
    80x12
    100, 3x10

Leg curls
    40x12
    50, 3x10

bridges, 30 sec, +10kg x30 secs

Db Rows
    62.5kg, 2x8, rowing itself wasnt too hard, grip was giving out tho!
    20kg x 20
    incline bench
    60x5

good session tonight, prefer if bench was easier! very happy with the squat considering my 1rm is 185!

front squat
    barx5
    60x5
    80x3
    100x2
    110, 3x3

Bench
    60x10
    80x6
    100x5
    110x2
    115, 3x5

bench was all bounced, but not too much, i dont normally bounce it, but i suppose i needed an ego boost

BOR's
    60x12
    80x12
    100, 3x10 easy!

thats all for tonight, contemplating maxing out on saturday on the squat! hopefully I wont be too far from a 200kg squat!

deads
    60x5
    60x5
    100x3
    120x3
    140x2
    160x1
    180x1
    192.5 x2 these were tough, having trouble keeping my lower back from rounding!

SLDL
    60kgx8
    80kg, 2x8

GMs
    75, 3x8

Lat pulldowns
    40x8, x8, cable snapped! :(

35mins on spinning bike!

medical today, bmi says im obese :(

squat max test

195kg 10kg pr! delighted with this! hamstrings were tight going into this, 180 was slow, but i really wanted it! this is pretty much 2x bw!
    may test bench today also

bench
    60x6
    80x5
    100x5
    110x2
    120x1
    130x1
    135xf urgh!
    100x12:cool:

weighed in recently at 101kg ugh! this needed correcting! did 5 hours of cardio last week and 2.5ish the week before along with and impeccable diet!
    its the healthiest i eaten in ever! got down to 97.5 some time last week! all weigh ins were at 8ish in the evening in a not spectacular scales! but is should be relatively repeatable!

anyways
    tonight
    squat
    bar x6
    60x5
    100x5
    120x3
    140x2
    155x1
    170, 3x3, this is a reps pr. they were quick enough, but the last one was a pretty bad grinder! which is possibly the wrong kind of training! but anyway it was an ego booster

bench
    60x8
    22 mins on bike
    60x5
    80x5
    100x1
    110x1
    120x1
    130x1
    135x1 nice grinder, but there was no bounce, so im well pleased with that! I thought with my cardio that the strength would have gone down!
    plan is to keep the volume low and intensity high for the next few weeks!

6 month thread revival,

All time pr's are 200kg squat, (240x2 to a high box)
    220 DL 135BP
    Current maxs are probably 180, 120, 200
    plan to get back to where i was, in the next 9 weeks

Tonight,
    DL conventional
    60x5
    100x5
    120x3
    140x3
    switch to sumo
    160 2x1
    180x1
    190x3

Fairly pleased with the dling, dont normally rep at that high of weight, first 2 were grand, third was a bit of a grinder,

Bench,,]]

bench reallt needs attention,
    tried bands and chains tonight, but i need to find a better way of choking the bands, as im only getting tension at the top of the press.
    any suggestions, currently jusgt wrapped around collar of bar and a heavy dumbell on the ground,,

Anyway
    60x5
    60 + heavy chains x3
    60 chains and bands x3
    80 chains and bands 3x2, very difficult to lockout!

today,

Bastardised Ed coan bench program, after fasting for 12 hours
    85kg 2x10 (this was tough, i did this with 100kg a few months back)
    75 close grip x7, x6, both were ment to be 10,
    inclines, 70 x4 and 60 x10, really pathetic!

speed squats tp heavy red bands
    barx3
    60x3
    100x3, flew up
    110x2 felt really heavy, had trouble unracking it (too heavy) and failed 3rd rep!!!

fml. need a plan to train to for next 9 weeks!

yesterday
    deadlifting 60x5
    100x5
    120x3
    140x2
    160x2
    180x3
    185x2

speed deads
    140, 3x2

gms
    80, 3x8
    bors
    75 3x8

sldl
    80, 3x8

+ some recreational cg bp!

Today
    squat
    60x5
    100x5
    140, 3x5
    smoke show

Thn some chin ups, pull ups and ab work,

on a side note i am both fat and weak! both need correcting. ~102kg:eek:

monday

Bench
    100x2

60x6
    80x5
    90, 2x8 easy reps

Close grip
    80 2x8

Incline
    75, 2x8

Squats,

Large Red bands
    with bar x 3
    60kg x3
    80kg*3
    100kgx3
    110kgx3
    60kgx 3
    all to a chair slightly higher than parallel. all touch and go (making it higher again)

this evening,
    bench
    75kg, 2x10 didnt bother warming up to this, piss easy anyway

deadlift
    barx10
    60x10
    100x6
    140x3
    160x3
    180x1
    200x1
    205xf, flew up to the knees, but no power and had to drop her down,

Speed deads with thin red band,
    60x5
    100x3
    140x3
    100x3

stiff legged dead
    75kg 3x8

bent over row
    75kg 3x8

Shrugs
    75kg 2x12

Good mornings
    75kg 3x8

disappointed with the deadlifting, to combat it, im going to incorporate speed pulls!

Walked 3k today, all cardio'd out now!

last night,
    Squat
    60x8
    100x5
    150, 3x5

These were fairly easy. plan to go much heavier in the coming weeks,

Weighed myself today, ~103kg all time fattest.

Bench today,
    60x5
    80x5
    100x2
    120, 3x1

i can bench slightly over body weight :(

Last night,
    Squat.
    Bar x 5
    Add bands
    Red bands x3 to a chair
    60 x3
    80x3
    100x3
    110x3
    120x3
    60x3

Leg Extensions
    60kg 3x10

Leg Curls
    40kg 3x10

Bench
    60x8
    80x5
    95, 2x8

CGBP
    85, 2x8

Incline BP
    80, 2x8

Inclines are a new exercise for me, and these were quite difficult. arms were like jelly pushing out the reps.

Some dumbell rows!
    I think the squat is coming back, shouldnt be long before im squatting 200kg again.

Bench is still lagging, hopefully should have it back round 130 in 6 weeks time though.

Deadlift is as inconsistent as ever, will start DL'ing 2x per week, starting this evening with speed pulls against bands!

yesterday,
    Deadlift
    60x5
    Added small band
    60x3
    100x3
    140x3
    140x3
    140x3
    140x3
    140x3.

Some of these were tough but i think the form didnt break on any. Might be a bit heavy considering i want to do heavy deadlifts tomorrow.
    Next week i plan to reduce the weight and increase the size of the bands!

EZ Curls
    20x5
    40x5
    60x5
    60x6

yesterday
    Squat
    60x6
    100x5
    140x1
    155x5
    155x5
    155x5
    Squatting was easy this evening

Bench
    75kg x10
    75x10
    easy money.

Yesterday
    deadlifting

60x5
    100x5
    140x3
    170x1
    190x1
    210x1 easy rep, band deadlifting is reaping dividends. instant improvement since tuesday!

Benching

60x5
    80x5
    100x2
    110, 3x2, heaviest benching in a good while, pretty easy!

Yesterday

Squat against heavy bands
    bar x3
    60x3
    100x3
    110x3
    120x3
    added belt
    130x3 this equalled a previous PR (last time i did this I had a 200kg Squat)
    hope to increase this to 210 in the next 6 weeks.

Stuck for time so did some cardioesque benching
    60x6
    100x5
    bout 30 s rest#
    100x5

CG 90x5
    90x5

was meant to do some inclines but had no time. will make up for that today.

back is aching today. maybe i slept akwardly, but i hope its okay for deadlifting later this evening.

yesterday speed deads
    60x3
    100x3
    140x3
    140x3
    140x3
    140x3
    140x3
    All with pink band prob adds 30kg at the top

Incline bench
    60x5
    80x5
    80x5
    arms were zapped after that. meant to do these on monday, but ran out of time!

Yesterday

Squat
    60x6
    100x5
    140x1
    160 x4
    160x4
    160x4 all were easy and fast, prob didnt hit parallel on many, not too bothered anyway, the speed was good,

Bench
    60x5
    80x10
    80x10
    CG
    80x5
    80x5

Benching and squatting all felt light!

today,
    Deadlift
    60x5
    100x5
    140x3
    160x1
    180x1
    200x1
    215x1 this was hitched, fast enough off the ground, but stopped at the knees.

was tired going into this, and in all honesty should have been put off till tomorrow, but still its the heaviest iv got in 4 months. hopefully ill pull a 230 in 6 weeks!

curls
    40x10
    50kgx5
    60kg x 10
    60kg x 10

bent over rows
    60x15
    100x5

dunzo

This week,
    monday
    60x3
    100x3
    120x3
    140x3 PR
    100x3

Bench
    60x5
    80x5
    102.5 2x5.
    Benching is solid. Hope to go to 120 later on in the week

That felt heavy and was pretty much on the limit

Tuesday
    Speed Deads
    60x5
    added band
    60x3
    100x3
    145x 5x3

Wednesday
    Squats
    60x5
    100x5
    140x2
    160x1
    170, 3x3, dunno if this is a pr for reps, but is certaintly equals one if not.
    I presume i have my 200kg squat back. Testing in 3 weeks time.

Bench
    80 2x10

Last Friday

Deadlift

60x5
    100x5
    140x5
    160x2
    180x5
    180x5 REPS PR
    Probably had another set of 5 in me,. but dont like to push it on the deads. The first time I did 180 for 1, i had a 220 deadlift. So hopefully this translates to a 225/230. time will tell, il test in a few weeks time.

Bench
    60x6
    80x5
    100x2
    110x2
    120x2
    120x2
    120x2
    Benching still hasn't peaked, Had a (1-2) reps to spare on each set. coming close to where i was before. hoping to break the 140kg barrier in this training block, again, will test in probably 6 weeks.

Pullups
    neutral grip, bodyweight
    x5
    x5
    x3
    Too fat for this craic

Monday
    60x3
    100x3
    120x3
    140x3
    140x3 REPS PR doesnt really count tho IMO.

Bench
    60x6
    80x5
    107.5x5
    107.5x5 these felt easy (think i did 110 5x5 before, not entirely sure)
    reps were fast tho

CGBP
    95kg x5
    95x5 easy

Inclines
    85 x5
    85x5 these too felt easy, makes a big difference when oyu have someone to lift off the bar

Neutral Grip Pull Ups
    b.w. x5
    b.w. x5
    +~5kg x5

This was done almost to failure.

Tuesday

Speed sumo deadlifting against thin red band
    60x3
    60x3
    100x3
    120x3
    150x3
    150x3
    150x3
    150x3
    150x3 Technical PR as iv only started this lift. May reduce weight, and increase band tension, undecided as of yet.
    Seem to be getting good carryover from this, much faster off the ground and easier lockouts. will test max deadlift in 3-4 weeks, but hoping for a 230kg lift.

yesterday
    Squatting
    60x5
    100x5
    140x2
    160x1
    175x3
    175x3
    175x3
    squatting didnt feel easy, but judging by the vids, all reps were fast and controlled, maybe leaning forward slightly, but should be on par for a 200kg + squat. All reps were beltless

Bench,
    60x5
    80x10
    80x10, just to keep them ticking over, elbow seems a bit iffy, right in the joint. dont know whats up there.

Curling
    40kgx10
    60kg x 10
    60kg x 10
    40kg x 10

Leg Extensions
    80x10
    90x10
    90x10

Cant really fit more weight on the machine.

Leg Curls
    40kg x10
    40x10
    50x10
    probably could have gone heavier here or 50kg ,3x3, maybe next week.

probably should have done some bent over rowing also, but lost motivation at that point!

friday
    Deadlkift

60x5
    100x5
    140x3
    160x2
    190x5
    190x5 both sets were a 10kg pr only ever did 190x3 before, may move up to 200 3x3 or similar this week!

Today
    Squat
    60x5
    bands x3
    60 with bands x3
    100x3
    120x3
    140x3
    140x3, last two sets were beltless pr's cant wait to max this out next week (provided i get a PR)

Bench
    60x5
    80x5
    100x5
    112.5x3
    112.5x3 was fit for 2 more in each set.

CGBP 100, 2x3

inclines
    90, 2x3.

pullups

3x5 getting easier. still tought

yesterday
    Speed deads

60x5
    added bands
    60x3
    100x3
    130x3
    155x3
    155x3
    155x3
    155x3
    155x3
    some of these sets were tough, should be fit for 160 5x3 next week~!

tonight
    squat
    barx5
    60x5
    100x5
    120x3
    140x3
    160x2
    added belt
    180x1 easy
    190x1 tough
    190x1 easier
    180x1

Speed bench against blue band

60x5
    60x5
    70x5
    80 3x3

elbow is a bit weak,

The plan was to test max squat next week but after tonight im not too sure that 190 wasnt my max!

last friday
    deadlift
    60x5
    100x5
    140x3
    160x2
    180x1
    200x3 PR
    200x3 PR
    200x3 also pr

bench
    worked up to 122.5 for 3 sets of 2

last night,
    squat against bands
    baR x3
    60x3
    100x3
    120x3x3
    100x3
    barx3

Bench
    60x5
    80x5
    100x2
    115, 2x3 these felt quite fast, thought i was fit for 5 on each set

CGBP
    2x3 @ 102.5 again this was easy

INclines

95kg, 2x3 this is a PR.
    unracking it myself is tough, each rep felt like max effort!:pac:

tonight
    Squat
    barx5
    60x5
    100x5
    120x3
    140x2
    160x1
    180x1
    200x1 BELTLESS PR
    210xf slow and controlled on the way down, but only got it up about an inch. (this was with a belt)

never the less this cycle was only re-introducing myself to my previous form, and that is done. hopefully the next training block will see large gains.

Bench
    2x10 @ 82.5kg

leg curls and extensions

Guns! dunzo