Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Grown-Up Debs Ball II - another chance to do your Debs properly.

• 27-06-2011 10:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,637 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Ladies, Gentlemen, boys and girls - it's time.
    (With the kind permission of the Mods of F&A and B&C)

Last year was fun, Boardsies turned out in great numbers, drink was drunked.
    For a first time event it worked well. However, we have learned from the event and now we cam promise it's going to be bigger, better, debsier and debonair.
    Start hunting and for those ball gowns.
    Spit polish your dancing shoes.
    Lace up those corsets.
    Master the bow tie knot.
    Hire a horse drawn carriage.
    Learn to waltz.
    Pick a partner, ask 'em out to...

The Grown-Up Deb's Ball II

Yes, it's back and it's going to be rather entertaining.
    Start your preparations and I'll see you there.

picture.php?albumid=1433&pictureid=9954

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

OoOoh Gresham, nice! I was at this last year and had great craic. Well worth the 50 squid.

Damn it. Now I have to look for a dress. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,637 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Joys of being a man at these events is that the same tux does over and over and over again. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭Hermione*

Larianne wrote: »
    OoOoh Gresham, nice! I was at this last year and had great craic. Well worth the 50 squid.

Damn it. Now I have to look for a dress. :pac:
    Me, too! We should go dress shopping while the sales are still on! :pac:

I had great craic at this last year. Plus, it's for a good cause!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,281 ✭✭✭Valentina

OldGoat wrote: »

For a first time event it worked well. However, we have learned from the event and now we cam promise it's going to be bigger, better, debsier and debonair.
    Lace up those corsets.
    Master the bow tie knot.
    Learn to waltz.

picture.php?albumid=1433&pictureid=9954

Oh wow!
    I wasn't active on boards last year so obviously didn't know about this.
    It sounds like great fun, I am verrrrry tempted!! :D

\o/
    Aw lads we are so going!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Acoshla

Well poop, we're going to Dublin for two nights on Oct 13th, so won't be able to go to both, comedian tickets already paid for so I'm out :( I really wanted to go! Humph!

Make a week long visit. I'm sure we could arrange a Beers or two to keep you amused on the days between events.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Acoshla

Not possible unfortunately, couldn't afford to stay anywhere for that many nights and entertain myself there for that many days! Will be dying to see the photos from it!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,722 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

Ooh this is the week of my birthday, perfect :D It will now be my NYC mission to find the perfect dress.

And shoes. And bag. And earrings.

Should probably get some make up too :D

Twee. wrote: »
    Ooh this is the week of my birthday, perfect :D It will now be my NYC mission to find the perfect dress.

And shoes. And bag. And earrings.

Should probably get some make up too :D

My birthday is the week before this. Mega awesome birthday beers bash! :D

Larianne wrote: »
    My birthday is the week before this. Mega awesome birthday beers bash! :D

Dear lord won't someone think of the children! That would be awesome!

It was my birthday this year too! Wooop!! Debs Beer Cake day.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭fillefatale

Wow, might book flights back just for the occasion!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 applejacks

great cause...such a good idea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,368 ✭✭✭The_Morrigan

Lace up those corsets.
    Master the bow tie knot.
    Learn to waltz.

OldGoat...for a formal event really?

You won't be wearing a corset under your ballgown? What about a bussel? :eek: Strumpet, going out half dressed! :cool:

I'm not allowed wear a corset in public anymore :( It makes me look like a strumpet!

I'll send ya a pm - you might be able to help!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭Fiii

Oh life! That sounds awesome.
    I'm more of a lurker than a poster these days, and horribly shy in groups of people I don't know, but I might try to make it :)

Fiii wrote: »
    Oh life! That sounds awesome.
    I'm more of a lurker than a poster these days, and horribly shy in groups of people I don't know, but I might try to make it :)

There's loads of people who don't know each other. It's not just boardsies who go! So if you want to bring someone along, there will be plenty of people who have no idea who anyone else is :)

It's FUN!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

Ooh I'm tempted to actually come home for this, my debs was so sh*te!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Asphyxia

Acoshla wrote: »
    Well poop, we're going to Dublin for two nights on Oct 13th, so won't be able to go to both, comedian tickets already paid for so I'm out :( I really wanted to go! Humph!

Tim Michin???

I never had a debs... this could be kinda fun. Plus I've been looking for something formal to wear my shiny THE DRESS to :o
    and it's after my exams and just before my birthday...

bluewolf wrote: »
    I never had a debs... this could be kinda fun. Plus I've been looking for something formal to wear my shiny THE DRESS to :o
    and it's after my exams and just before my birthday...

Kinda fun? KINDA FUN?
    Oh it's gonna be lotsa fun! Lotsa fun indeedy!

I've already started looking at dresses \o/

I'm going to try very very hard this year not to break my leg a few weeks before so I can do lots of dancing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Asphyxia

I'd totally be interested in going! I also have a comedy gig to go to on the 13th but if I get money together I would be very interested :D I'd love to meet all you :D:D

I need tartan trousers for this. Or a kilt. Hummmmmmmm.

Kilt FTW ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,404 ✭✭✭✭Pembily

OOOOHHHH I wanna go again, it was so so so much fun last year and this year you can drink Lar :)

Oh darn I have to buy a new dress :rolleyes: :eek: :cool:

Old Goat will they have a late bar this time?

• Registered Users Posts: 713 ✭✭✭Cherry Blossom Girl

Soo tempted to go to this! But I dont know any boardsies in real life and am (usually) terrible at talking to people I don't know :o

Give in to temptation! It's bound to be a great night! I went to my first beers alone and ended up having such a laugh (and got insanely drunk).

It's so far off, but we can organise closer to the time to meet people outside the venue, or somewhere nearby if some don't want to go in by themselves. And it's not a Boards exclusive event! I know I'll be telling all my mates about it and hope some will come along.

Pembily wrote: »
    OOOOHHHH I wanna go again, it was so so so much fun last year and this year you can drink Lar :)

Oh darn I have to buy a new dress :rolleyes: :eek: :cool:

Old Goat will they have a late bar this time?

I don't know. I'll find out.
    EDIT: The message I got back is
    yep it is all sorted one venue all evening dancing and drinking until late :-)
    So thats all hunky dory then. You may buy me a gin gimlet. :D

Yep, as Twee says it's not a Boards event but a lot of Boardsies have taken it to heart. Get a few friends and come along or get together with a few other boardsies and come along. Either way you have to come along. :D

We could even have some pre-ball coffee the week before so people can meet and get to know people before the event.

Twee. wrote: »
    We could even have some pre-ball coffee martinis the week before so people can meet and get to know people before the event.
    FYP :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭squeakyduck

Last year was a blast....I will be there in Spirit watching all the gorgeous dresses in awe and urging ye to drink too much and swing Dance!

Can you bring it to Korea OG? :)

International plans have been made for both this and for Burlesque adventures. As soon as we have a substantional win on the Lotto we'll go ahead. Watch this space.
    /Scratches scratchcard
    Doh!
    /Scratches scratchcard
    Doh!
    /Scratches scratchcard
    Doh!

Pembily wrote: »
    ?

Larianne wasn't drinking last year :confused: how come?

There's a shop in bloomfields with outrageously dressy dresses, I'm loving it! haven't looked at the price tags though :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭Hermione*

There's a shop in bloomfields with outrageously dressy dresses, I'm loving it! haven't looked at the price tags though :D
    Think she was on antibiotics last year.

We should have a girly dress-buying date in that dress shop, Whoopsy! It sounds amazing!
    Is Bloomfield's the shopping centre in Dun Laoghaire? The one with the Tesco?

Yes! We should!

yep in beside tesco :D

:confused: I was drinking but didn't go all out due to painful exams.

This really is a great event to go too! And I've never been to The Gresham before, very excited. :)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭Splinter

hope you lot don't mind the update :) the website is now live (or so i've been told!)

http://www.grownupdebsball.com

hopefully will see you lot there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

I was considering going but I looked at the date after I read the thread and I can't go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Once was enough. Next time I wear a suit will be at a wedding or a funeral.

I was considering going but I looked at the date after I read the thread and I can't go.
    Booo!
    /Shun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Booo!
    /Shun
    Pre-marriage course takes priority on this occasion.

Pffft, I'm married, I can give you all the advice you need.
    And then Mrs.Goat will correct me. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

Hmm, I very much think I will head to this!

Just over two and a half weeks to go. Must order a corsage. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭squeakyduck

oh gosh...I wish I was going. I NEED everyone to post themselves looking gorgeous. I wish myself and my gorgeous date H who came to the last GUD were going together again....such a fun night. Boardsies are soooo lovely!

This just got posted on the Facebork page. Anyone wanna be the subject of the program. :)
    Really important question...

Hi attendees :)
    We have been asked if it would be ok to film one of the attendees who is doing a feature for TV3 at the Debs.
    On the plus side it is great coverage for the charity, however I don't want to do it if anyone would feel uncomfortable. (Not that everyone would be filmed just general crowd shots and one or two may be asked where they got their dress). I need to give them as answer tomorrow so if you have strong views either way please let me know ASAP. Thanks.
    D x
    http://www.facebook.com/messages/other/?action=read&tid=c3ce36caacf64655acb9a1ac5c857327

Any pics??? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

Anyone know when this years one is, if there is? :)