Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Dublin Marathon 31/10/2011

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,741 ✭✭✭brownian

drquirky wrote: »
    3:16 for me-

Had the mother of all blow ups at 18- I was on target for a 2:56/ 2:57 but the strength just wasn't there. Had to have a massive HTFU gut check with myself to even finish this one so glad I made it through as its good to get the 1st marathon out of the way.

I certainly have the leg speed to run faster but my endurance needs some work. The pain from 20-26.2 was pretty much the worst I've ever experienced. Congrats Early Evening thats a great run- everyone else who hit their targets well done!

Sorry to hear that, Andy. You'll just have to join me for a spring effort. Take, and enjoy, a break...on a day like that, getting around in one piece is an achievement all you runners can be proud of.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,118 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

The pictures of the pacers are funneh.

Nobody around in the preceding pictures, then a balloon and a big gang of people escorting them along.

• Registered Users Posts: 301 ✭✭Pronator

3 stars (average)
    Did Tunguska run?

I was just behind him at half way but he was stuggling with his leg so not sure if he finished?? He was not moving too freely, a real pity as he was on for a top class marathon until the injury:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭RubyK

Pronator wrote: »
    I was just behind him at half way but he was stuggling with his leg so not sure if he finished?? He was not moving too freely, a real pity as he was on for a top class marathon until the injury:(

Ah no, sorry to read that. I was sure he was on for that sub 2.35. Hope he's ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭hawkwing

3 stars (average)
    hawkwing wrote: »
    No time up for me although after such a pathetic cramp filled race from 14 miles maybe just as well.Is it me or were more people getting cramp than the last 3 years,had to run along the side for 12 miles in order to stretch as the legs were going from under me.Also --was in a ball of sweat for first 6 but took loads of drinks and gels so that was not the cause of the cramp..Anyways happy in the end to finish,medal is nice.
    Result has now appeared,a real halloween horror show :o I might try and cross out the "star" performer from my shirt but it was completed so what the hell.

• Registered Users Posts: 12 pulpo

My time 3.26.XX. My marathon training was aiming 3.15, but 10 weeks ago I injured my knee and could not run at all. Last 3 weeks could little run only 2-3 miles and few times a week. This was my first marathon and I'm very happy, because I missed over 620km and all my long runs. Next time then 3.15!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

3 stars (average)
    3:59:20 by watch as a 4 hr pacer. Times on tds still seem to be gun times rather than chip times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭snailsong

3:29.13 for me, totally emptied the tank, delighted. Must have been running close to Ray but unfortunately didn't introduce myself. Doesn't look like I'll get to McGrattans, hotel is a mile away and I can't walk.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭GoHardOrGoHome

Another thing, I thought it started at 9am and was all ready for that. Just realised an hour ago that it was a 10 start. Did it start at 9am other years or have I remembered incorrectly?

Great prep EE! Still, didn't stop you getting your sub 3. Well done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭911sc

3 stars (average)
    Worse marathon time ever:mad:
    Not a bad thing to be honest, i did not follow a structured training plan because i knew better having ran 6 before today. Lesson learnt. I am being put back in my place and will listen to others. I neglected the LSR as "sure, i'll be grant". And the longuest distance i had to run this year was 21km as part of IronMan 70.3 galway. After that, only did one 25kms and one 32kms:( I paid for it today, but I will bounce back soon though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭meijin

4 stars (good)
    menoscemo wrote: »
    3:59:20 by watch as a 4 hr pacer. Times on tds still seem to be gun times rather than chip times.
    Many thanks to you and all the 4h pacers! I finished in similar time, my first ever marathon :)

• Registered Users Posts: 97 ✭✭shivDCM

wheres he best place to keep an eye out for the chip time result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭ThePiedPiper

3 stars (average)

Had the mother of all blow ups at 18- I was on target for a 2:56/ 2:57 but the strength just wasn't there. Had to have a massive HTFU gut check with myself to even finish this one so glad I made it through as its good to get the 1st marathon out of the way.

I certainly have the leg speed to run faster but my endurance needs some work. The pain from 20-26.2 was pretty much the worst I've ever experienced. Congrats Early Evening thats a great run- everyone else who hit their targets well done!

Drquirkey, I blew up too lookign for my 2.55. I was at that pace up until 15 odd but was in trouble by 18 and couldn't hang onto the 3 pacers so 3.07 in the end. The conditions got the better of loads of people.

Always another race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭superbad50

tell us how you got on , experiences , injuries , times . I am absolutely bo jangled from it . I don't think I would be up for doing another

• Registered Users Posts: 243 ✭✭Aquals

Well done to everyone in the marathon today! You're all fantastic! Congratulations from me and my sister (some of you might recognise us)!!308745_130056363769115_100002942575257_169594_275945413_n.jpg

Aquals wrote: »
    Well done to everyone in the marathon today! You're all fantastic! Congratulations from me and my sister (some of you might recognise us)!!308745_130056363769115_100002942575257_169594_275945413_n.jpg
    i'm in that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭mfdc

3:59:33! Just under my goal of 4hrs, so delighted with that. After the half I was entertaining notions of 3:45, but after 2km following the pacers my heart rate was through the roof so I backed off to LSR pace.

Couldn't get the HR down at all, even at LSR pace it was 10-15bpm higher than normal. Dunno what the cause of that could be... taper too long and I lost fitness maybe? I followed the Hal Higdon novice plan to the letter. Anyway it's academic now, even though the HR was high I managed to hold it together and get in under the original goal so hooray!

The 4hr pacers caught me just before the 9 mile marker, and I stuck with them the rest of the way around. Well, I say "them" but in reality it was just Niall (dunno your boards name) - didn't see the other two lads at all until about mile 23 :) Huge huge thanks to him, the last 10 miles I found really difficult and had I been left to listen to the gremlins whispering in my ear instead of having someone's heels to chase and the occasional chat + encouragement I may well have "just for a little bit" stopped to walk around mile 22, and we all know how that ends.

Main lesson learned today - ditch the drinks belt. The last chunk of the race I felt like I was gonna be sick, and I only put 2+2 together just before the end that the belt was causing my stomach to hurt, once I took it off and carried it I started feeling better immediately.

i wore four 2L bottles of cider and it didnt do me any harm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Pronator wrote: »

Was struggling at the half way point with the Hammy cramping up and pulled up (was around 1.17-18 at that point) got started again but dont think he made the finishing line

• Registered Users Posts: 48 spanx

4 stars (good)
    sideswipe wrote: »

I'm in that!

First marathon - 3:28:58.
    Delighted. All due to the pacers, who I forgot to thank - so thanks guys.
    My leg's a bit messed up now but I'm sure it'll heal.
    Loved the support around the course, brilliant signs there Aquals.

Edit: Except I got the wrong size t-shirt in my bag, but no biggie.

your man was right.
    it was great running.
    well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭Abhainn

Abhainn 2:43 not bad after the recent months real LIFE activity this man has had ot endure. Fair play and beautifully paced too

Thanks dude. 2 mins outside last years time and finished in 72nd , same as last year. :)
    Best race I've ran in a while.
    Great out there today, well done all

why cant you get your result when you want it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

There is a few pictures on the RTE website here also.

• Registered Users Posts: 158 ✭✭aigster

3.47 just outside my target but not by much...so glad to get it done, was tough..thanks to 3.45 pacers and well to all pacers ..knocked 18 mins off last year... So that's me .. I'm not running again Ever...

Well till Thursday anyway! and the winning tine in 2.08... That's just unreal...!!

Congrats one and all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

4 stars (good)

I feel for you DQ. I had a similar experience. Blew up c. 18 when on pace for sub 3. Finishing it was a real struggle for me as I've lots of non-sub 3 times before so the motivation was really lacking :( That and the body just wasn't performing. Still, its great to see others on posting of lots of good results.

• Registered Users Posts: 101 ✭✭Jimh

2:00 Half 4:28 Full - Nothing in the legs from13-19 miles but then ran the last 7 - Beat last year by 2 minutes but was hoping for closer to 4 hours

• Registered Users Posts: 76 ✭✭fluboy

Just checked my time on the DCM web page. It shows that my chip time was 3.26. 57. My Garmin timed me at 3.25.59. Also checked a friends time and his chip time is 4 mins faster than his watch. Any ideas why????????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭bart simpson

4 stars (good)
    2:59:38 chip 2:59:57 clock
    absolutly delighted....i thought i was going on for 3:01 at mile 26 with no pacer in sight but wanted to leave it all on the course so kept grinding at it....when i saw the clock at 3:29:01 i knew i had it, great feeling, i needed to be brought off in a wheelchair from the finish line to the order of malta tent cos i was fvcked :) thanks to all them, now for some lovely beer :) well done to everybody, not an easy day for it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

4 stars (good)
    Thanks to the 3.30 guys for getting me around. TBubendorfer was on point and I kept him in my sights all through the race, and ran alongside Village Runner here and there (introduced myself to TB before the start and VR in the park).
    Tough day out there, and I might have marked the race down a bit because so much of it was on narrow sections of road, it felt really congested in a lot of places. But they get the point back again for the help in the medical tent :):eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 153 ✭✭Bruncvik

I finished around the 4:50 mark. Far short of my 4:30 goal for my first mararhon, but I'm very happy with my secondary goal of running all the way, never walking. Now that I know I'm mentally in shape to run a marathon, once I recover physically (I ran with a fever and lower lung capacity) I'll start training for the next one.

• Registered Users Posts: 293 ✭✭Paddy1234

You need a race number to check all the results. Last year was able to check by surname. What's that all about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,993 ✭✭✭griffin100

A complete disaster for me. Went off with the 3.45 pacers and by mile 2 I knew it wad going to be a bad day. Body felt empty, no energy and HR about 15bpm over what it should have been. Decided to slow it down and to aim for B target of beating my PB of 3.53. By mile 8 I was suffering badly. Almost called it a day at 10 miles as I pasted the mothers house but kept it going and waved cheerily at the ma as I passed. Crossed the 13.1 in 1.55 so still on for B target. Started to slow really badly and by mile 19 the 4hr pacers caught me. After that I just gave up and walked most of the way to the finish. Managed to shuffle the last mile for a time the same as my last marathon in august, except that marathon was after I had cycled the Ring Of Kerry. Felt like a fraud collecting a finishers T shirt given how much walking i had done. A day to forget. Don't know what went wrong but my body just gave up on me today. I'd like to blame it on not training enough, a poor taper or the fact I fell down the stairs at home on Sunday bruising my hip, arm and ankle - but none of these would account for the fact that I was done in by mile 2. Oh well back to the drawing board.

• Registered Users Posts: 233 ✭✭ct_roy

griffin100 wrote: »
    A complete disaster for me. Went off with the 3.45 pacers and by mile 2 I knew it wad going to be a bad day. Body felt empty, no energy and HR about 15bpm over what it should have been. Decided to slow it down and to aim for B target of beating my PB of 3.53. By mile 8 I was suffering badly. Almost called it a day at 10 miles as I pasted the mothers house but kept it going and waved cheerily at the ma as I passed. Crossed the 13.1 in 1.55 so still on for B target. Started to slow really badly and by mile 19 the 4hr pacers caught me. After that I just gave up and walked most of the way to the finish. Managed to shuffle the last mile for a time the same as my last marathon in august, except that marathon was after I had cycled the Ring Of Kerry. Felt like a fraud collecting a finishers T shirt given how much walking i had done. A day to forget. Don't know what went wrong but my body just gave up on me today. I'd like to blame it on not training enough, a poor taper or the fact I fell down the stairs at home on Sunday bruising my hip, arm and ankle - but none of these would account for the fact that I was done in by mile 2. Oh well back to the drawing board.

don't be too hard on yourself. I had a very similar day today to you. I went off just ahead of the 3:45 pacers and was fine until Chapelizod but started suffering big time after that. I was hoping to get near by PB of 3:44 from last year but all chance of that faded away as the 3:45 pacers left me for dead around mile 19. After that I was hoping to beat my 2009 time of 3:55 and was looking good to do so for a long time but the energy just kept being sapped from the legs today and I ended up coming home in 3:57.

I was more dissapointed at mile 19 when I realised a PB wasn't on the cards but given the agony of the last hour I was delighted to clock a sub 4 in the end - funny how the dynamics of a race change!

I've decided on an "All or nothing" approach for future marathons. I was most definitely undertrained for today and wasn't sure a month ago if I'd make it to the start line. In hindsight I probably would have been better off knocking DCM 2011 on the head and training hard for Commemara 2012. Lessons learned.

griffin100 - no need to feel like a fraud - making it across the line when faced with adversity is a hell of a lot harder than cruising around with no problems whatsoever. Pat yourself on the back and take on board the lessons from today for your next one.

Thanks for all the wonderful people who made it out in the crap conditions - you're support is always appreciated!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,175 ✭✭✭seanin4711

I went to the expo yesterday feeling slightly under the weather(though it was food poisoning)registered etc, went to hotel with family.
    Went to bed early 8.30 feeling slightly worse (stomach cramps,wicked headache and aching muscles) had a terribly restless sleep.
    I thought I will see how I am in the morning.
    I woke at 7am dizzy and groggy and in no physical shape to run to the loo never mind 26 miles.
    I am extremely gutted as I did my 1st marathon last year in Dublin and was really looking forward to repeating it today.
    wasn't to be!

I am already looking at making amends and as the inlaws live in west cork I am seriously considering the clonakility marathon.

anyone got any reviews of that one?

thanks
    john
    gutted but i will get over it

• Registered Users Posts: 284 ✭✭butrasgali

My Garmin told me I done 26.48 miles today- start to finish line any of you have the same problem

• Registered Users Posts: 895 ✭✭✭subscriber

4 stars (good)
    cant thank the 4.30 pacers enough, i was planning a 4hr marathon for my début at the start of the hal hilgdon novice plan there 20 weeks ago.. but knew very shortly that weren't going to be achievable, and nor was 4.15 so im glad I took a second examination of my capabilities and went with the 4.30 crowd, it made it achievable and a meant a fantastic day all around.

There was some banter and good motivation from the pacers, shouting at every mile marker!! And that guy in the dublin jeresy was some craic as well. Anyway got a chip time of 4.27.34 so absolutely elated with that... and had soo glad I can finally call myself a marathoner!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 319 ✭✭munsterbear

butrasgali wrote: »
    My Garmin told me I done 26.48 miles today- start to finish line any of you have the same problem

My Garmin said 26.5. Some difference. I know how wide you go on corners etc can affect it but by that much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

That's not a problem, that is perfectly normal. My Garmin showed 26.5 miles. All my marathons have Garmin distances between 26.4 and 26.5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭bart simpson

4 stars (good)
    that

you ran 26.48 miles or there abouts(allowing for GPS error)
    the course is measured at its shortest possible route, so when you take bends wide you a a meter here and a meter there....it adds up to quite a bit over 26.2 miles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,993 ✭✭✭griffin100

ct_roy wrote: »
    don't be too hard on yourself. I had a very similar day today to you. I went off just ahead of the 3:45 pacers and was fine until Chapelizod but started suffering big time after that. I was hoping to get near by PB of 3:44 from last year but all chance of that faded away as the 3:45 pacers left me for dead around mile 19. After that I was hoping to beat my 2009 time of 3:55 and was looking good to do so for a long time but the energy just kept being sapped from the legs today and I ended up coming home in 3:57.

I was more dissapointed at mile 19 when I realised a PB wasn't on the cards but given the agony of the last hour I was delighted to clock a sub 4 in the end - funny how the dynamics of a race change!

I've decided on an "All or nothing" approach for future marathons. I was most definitely undertrained for today and wasn't sure a month ago if I'd make it to the start line. In hindsight I probably would have been better off knocking DCM 2011 on the head and training hard for Commemara 2012. Lessons learned.

griffin100 - no need to feel like a fraud - making it across the line when faced with adversity is a hell of a lot harder than cruising around with no problems whatsoever. Pat yourself on the back and take on board the lessons from today for your next one.

Thanks for all the wonderful people who made it out in the crap conditions - you're support is always appreciated!

Cheers for those words, sitting at home watching the race on sky plus still trying to work out what went wrong. When I said I felt like a fraud that wasn't a reflection on that marathon time and anyone who has that time, it was a reflection of the anger I felt with myself for wallowing in self pity for the last 10 miles instead of HTFU:o

RayCun wrote: »
    Tough day out there, and I might have marked the race down a bit because so much of it was on narrow sections of road, it felt really congested in a lot of places. But they get the point back again for the help in the medical tent :):eek:

Yes, and with a massive balloon that had the habit of wrapping itself around runners behind me, it was all the worse.

I went through halfway a couple of seconds behind pace because I had been stuck in traffic for a couple of miles, and there were quite a few such sections. It was my sixth Dublin marathon I don't ever remember it being so crowded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 siooo88

My first time doing the marathon today, and I am glad to say that it won't be my last, even though both my legs feel like they may fall off at any moment!!

Managed to stick with the 3:45 pacers until about half way...but then the knees started to give way. I had been suffering with them the past 6 weeks so hadn't gotten the long runs I needed before today. Ended up finishing with a time of 4hrs 19mins on my garmin, happy with that for my first time out as there was a point where I questioned whether or not I could finish but battled through to cross the line.

Hopefully get healed up soon, and I am looking at the Rotterdam marathon as my next outing!!

Well done to everyone today and some excellent times by the guys on here!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 432 ✭✭The Fool

4 stars (good)
    3.29 thanks to the 3.30 pacers. No problem too big for these guys including slow punture on one of the baloons. Thanks guys!!

One of the pacers lost his number for bag colection, hope you got sorted.

Very much enjoyed myself today.

I was one of the 3:30 pacers. Maybe it's because I could take it easy rather than trying to run at the the edge of my abilities, but I thought the crowds were particularly good today. I could not stop smiling half the time and the encouragement from the sidelines was brilliant.

Anyone who ran with an ipod, you really don't know what you're missing.

To anyone watching today, encouraging the runners and clapping for hours, despite the windy and rainy conditions - thank you. You make this a special day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,830 ✭✭✭catweazle

griffin100 wrote: »
    Cheers for those words, sitting at home watching the race on sky plus still trying to work out what went wrong. When I said I felt like a fraud that wasn't a reflection on that marathon time and anyone who has that time, it was a reflection of the anger I felt with myself for wallowing in self pity for the last 10 miles instead of HTFU:o

Sorry I didn't get to see you Griffin, you have had a long year a 1/2 Ironman in May, Ironman in August and its hard to keep plugging away up to November. I had 12 weeks from The Humbert Challenge and I reckon i needed more so you had even less coming from Hardman. Take a nice few weeks off and then the focus goes to Connemara perhaps

I got chatting as I do to two lads way down behind the 3.45's at the start line. I tried and tried to get back but never could even though I was running at 8.30 pace (I had forgotten to factor in I was running more than 26.2 with the twisting and turning).

I had a low moment at mile 16 where I knew I was fading fast even though I had ran faster and longer a few weeks ago, I gave up on the 3.45 there and then, slowed and worked on breaking my sub 4 duck. Got to 20 miles and I just knew I was going to make it running all the way so was able to pick it up again. Came in with chip time 3.49.59 so I will take that like a shot as I was worried the sub 4 was gone at 16.

Really enjoyed the support, Inchicore and eye of the tiger was a huge lift for me - fair play to them all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

4 stars (good)
    aigster wrote: »
    3.47 just outside my target but not by much...so glad to get it done, was tough..thanks to 3.45 pacers and well to all pacers ..knocked 18 mins off last year... So that's me .. I'm not running again Ever...

Well till Thursday anyway! and the winning tine in 2.08... That's just unreal...!!

Congrats one and all!

well done I hope we provided good entertainment along the way, my shouts of encouragements were falling on deaf ears, oggy oggy oggy:)

• Registered Users Posts: 152 ✭✭gerbear1

4 stars (good)
    First time doing one, finished in 4 hours 34 minutes. Was aiming for the 4 and a half hour mark. Absolutely delighted with myself, I couldn't stop smiling after crossing the line, despite being in a lot of pain!!

Well done to anybody that did it, especially for the first time. We're now part of an elite group!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

4 stars (good)
    To anyone watching today, encouraging the runners and clapping for hours, despite the windy and rainy conditions - thank you. You make this a special day.

Yeah, seemed to be loads of supporters out today,more than last year

• Registered Users Posts: 684 ✭✭✭Toblerone1978

4 stars (good)
    Really happy to have done this and really "enjoyed". +1 on what TFBubendorfer said about the crowd, they were the best I ever experience, fair play to Dublin. Inchicore was a brilliant buzz with the crowd closing in like a mountain stage of Tour de France.

I'm not sure where people are coming from with conditions, I thought it was pretty good!

My only complaint would be that the pacers went too fast :D. Nah, seriously my only complaint would be that at the water stop, they should have been on both side of the roads - the pushing and josseling would have been lessened. It's a minor complaint and it was something that as far as I could see, everyone was aware of and didn't get angry about.

I got a Large jersey at the end and I would hope someone would swap it for a medium. PM if you're interested.