Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi there,
There is an issue with role permissions that is being worked on at the moment.
If you are having trouble with access or permissions on regional forums please post here to get access: https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058365403/you-do-not-have-permission-for-that#latest

fishing in rathescar, co. louth

• 28-06-2011 10:37pm
    Registered Users Posts: 45

hi all, im a bit of a beginner so apologies in advance...
    im thinking of heading up to rathescar lake just outside dunleer/drogheda and was just looking for a few tips.
    firstyl do i need a permit and if so how much is it and where can i pick one up.
    ive heard theres plenty of roach and some breem to be caught, what sort of bait/hooks should i be using and whats the fishing like at this time of the year???
    also is there any other good fishing spots around drogheda, i remember hearing about a lake on the north road near monasterboice, any ideas??

cheers
    tom

Comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭skipz

Hey tom Rathesar is a good little spot for the roach and a great place for the beginner!
    You dont need any permit to fish and is free to all as long as you dont litter.
    A basic stick float with a few shot weights and a size 16 hook should do it. You can plumb the depth either or fish 3/4 down.
    As for bait you can use all sorts, the roach in this place eat everything but red maggots seem to do the trick.