Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Overheard in Port Láirge

• 30-06-2011 10:03am
    Registered Users Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭

Thought this might be a good thread. Post any weird/funny quotes or stories you've overheard or come across around Waterford.

Got one from WLR on the way in to work this morning.

Timmy: "We have a text here from a listener asking about the Bryan Ferry gig tonight. It says "Is this concert seated and when does it finish?"

Karen: "What!? Is it seated!? It's Bryan Ferry!"

Timmy: "Yeah this isn't Barbra Streisand or an orchestra in the park. But eh...yeah...should be over by 10:45 maybe. Standing room only..."

• Registered Users Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Dan133269

Last summer I was walking into CitySquare through the back entrance. It was a drizzly day, raining on and off. A randomer shouted to Howdo "Bit wet today Howdo isn't it?" Without missing a beat, he shouted back, "that's what she said last night."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭Joey leBlanc

I remember walking home from school when we were small, crossing Ballybricken, passing Billy Burke's fish shop the standing joke was
    "Did you just see Billy Burke mooning out the window" "Yeah, he's just put
    his arse in the window for the cod!"
    BOOM! BOOM!
    Of course years later when we were walking home from disco's the banter
    had fallen to the level of "Two blind men were passing Billy Burke's & immediately tipped their caps & said "Goodnite Ladies!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 Beerholder

Thought this might be a good thread. Post any weird/funny quotes or stories you've overheard or come across around Waterford.

Got one from WLR on the way in to work this morning.

Timmy: "We have a text here from a listener asking about the Bryan Ferry gig tonight. It says "Is this concert seated and when does it finish?"

Karen: "What!? Is it seated!? It's Bryan Ferry!"

Timmy: "Yeah this isn't Barbra Streisand or an orchestra in the park. But eh...yeah...should be over by 10:45 maybe. Standing room only..."

Overhear that one on the Radio did ya?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

Beerholder wrote: »
    Overhear that one on the Radio did ya?
    Yeah on WATERFORD radio because WLR stands for WATERFORD live radio. You see how it was still OVERHEARD on WATERFORD radio while I was driving to work in WATERFORD.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 Beerholder

Yeah on WATERFORD radio because WLR stands for WATERFORD live radio. You see how it was still OVERHEARD on WATERFORD radio while I was driving to work in WATERFORD.

Woah woah! Haha, only joking Mitch, relax man....

Good idea for a thread.

Beerholder wrote: »
    Woah woah! Haha, only joking Mitch, relax man....

Good idea for a thread.
    WAAAATTTEEERFFFFOOOOORRRDDDD GGGGRRRRRAAAAWWWWWWW

• Registered Users Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

I was on that street directly behind city square talking to one of the lads once and we were chatting about something about that I called a group of fellas fairies.

Anyway I hear this little old lady near us say some little rhyme to herself and then she pulls on another old ladies arm and say "com'on they'll bring down the little people on us" and took off.

Seemingly saying the word fairy brings them out and they'll cast a spell on you and those with you unless you say some kind of spell explained my grandmother who found it comical that people still lived who believe in these kind of things.

Made me smile anyway. I'm sure I have a few better ones.

Great idea for a thread BTW.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Dan133269

My friend's brother was explaining to me where something was in town.
    He said to me "you know when you pass the atheist church, just after that."
    I said what? He replied "the big atheist church, just next to the credit union." He was referring to Christchurch :)

"Y'no The Book Centre used to be a cinema?"
    "Yeah? Must've been weird with all the books like."
    "......"

• Registered Users Posts: 2,411 ✭✭✭SUNGOD

the famous old alcoholic character harry miller who had a long white beard himself was once asked
    "harry would you do santa claus for christmas?"
    harry replied
    "i will if you hold him down"

• Registered Users Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭gscully

"Well, any craic boy"

"I'm sorry, I don't deal drugs"

panther quinlan once got a tip for a horse from harry miller and his drinking partner cashin , together known as cashin & miller
    anyway this morning cashin & miller were skint and gave panther the tip,
    the horse won and panther went in to walsh's(kervicks on ballybricken) to celebrate.
    as panther was drinking his third or fourth pint he looked out and saw cashin & miller sitting by the bull post. the barman asked panther " would you not give them a few bob for giving you the tip?"
    and panther replied " no way sure they'd only drink it"

overheard this in bad bobs myself

" you have two chances boy, bob chance and no chance and bob chance just left the building"

to this day im still confused

Me: "I have to meet him at some Johnstown or someplace, any idea where that is?"
    Mate: "I can tell you what pub it's near."
    Me: "....why?"
    Mate: "I'm feckin **** at directions around town, but I can tell you how to get there through a series of pubs. Works all the time"
    Me: "Alright here's where he wants but I don't think....."
    Mate: "........yea head down past Harvey's towards the Quay and turn right by Katty Barry's. Then a left and you're sorted."
    Me: "........holy crap it works.

I do this now too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭dayshah

SUNGOD wrote: »
    overheard this in bad bobs myself

" you have two chances boy, bob chance and no chance and bob chance just left the building"

to this day im still confused

It should be Bob Hope, the late US comedian.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Ah crap. I always thought it was Waterford local radio. Hmmm oh well.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭Finnbar01

I heard a word last week that I hadn't heard in years... ' put the child into the tan-sad'.

Also when I was on the bus years ago, two fellas were sitting in front of me. Convo went like this.

fella1: One of the lads is in deep ****e with his lack.
    Fella2: Why, what did he do?
    fella1: Well his girlfriend was in England on a business trip for two weeks.
    Fella2: And?
    fella1: He move the local slapper into his flat for the two weeks and he got caught.
    Fella2: How, did his girlfriend come back early?
    fella1: No, ya see he has a parrot and when his girlfriend came back, the parrot told her.

I nearly broke me balls laughing.

seanybiker wrote: »
    I accept my stupidity.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,985 ✭✭✭mikeym

It is Waterford Local Radio :)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/WLR_FM

• Registered Users Posts: 385 ✭✭deise_boi

mikeym wrote: »
    It is Waterford Local Radio :)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/WLR_FM

It would seem your sarcasm detector needs tweaking :p:p

• Registered Users Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

That's Bolton St... not Johnstown :p
    Me: "I have to meet him at some Johnstown or someplace, any idea where that is?"
    Mate: "I can tell you what pub it's near."
    Me: "....why?"
    Mate: "I'm feckin **** at directions around town, but I can tell you how to get there through a series of pubs. Works all the time"
    Me: "Alright here's where he wants but I don't think....."
    Mate: "........yea head down past Harvey's towards the Quay and turn right by Katty Barry's. Then a left and you're sorted."
    Me: "........holy crap it works.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭dayshah

AdMMM wrote: »

Hey Mitch, never ever drink and post. ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 827 ✭✭✭jimbojazz

One of my mates wasn't the brightest and had this conversation with us a few years ago (we'll call him Kevin - not real name or is it:)):-

Kevin: Lads, did ye hear Larry Guinan the ex- Waterford hurler died yesterday.

Us: Larry Guinan, dead, no he isn't I saw him drive past in his van.

Kevin: He did, I just heard it on WLR.

Us: No he didn't - that was Philly Grimes, you donkey.

Kevin: Philly Grimes, ah ye're right. Ah sure it's an easy mistake to make - both their surnames begin with a J.

AdMMM wrote: »
    He did say he was crap at directions. :D

dayshah wrote: »
    It should be Bob Hope, the late US comedian.

i know , that was the joke

it was confusing as the term he used makes no sense

*fireworks finish going off from top of Ard Rí*
    Me: "Hey look the roof is on fire now!"
    Cousin: "Ha! That's mad. There's another one now!"
    One hour later
    Cousin: "Hey I think it was the fireworks going off that set the roof on fire."
    Me: ".......You cannot be that slow...."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭Joe blogger

definition of overhear

to hear without the speaker's knowledge or intention

examples of overhear

she overheard what her boss said to his secretary

i overheard a rumor about you

just saying is all..........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Definition of pedantic ^^^^^^^^^^^^

Just saying

just saying is all..........
    Just say it....somewhere off topic. http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055531343&page=6

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭Joe blogger

Definition of pedantic ^^^^^^^^^^^^

Just saying

easy tiger

all i am saying is that you cannot overhear a conversation you are actually involved in

if something is broadcast to you... you are not overhearing

ill spare you the definition of pedantic