Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Donegal yellow reg plates

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

n97 mini wrote: »

It's happened more than once. Northern Palestinians evidently don't like Wexfordians? Maybe they look like Arabs?

Complete nonsense!!
    Some days you would see more white reg than yellow ones in the bogside:D

Unless of course he was parked on the central reservation at the mural and in that case I'd have been throwing bottles at him too:)

(Free Derry isn't a place, its a wall)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Satanta

Also, you do know Free Derry corner is in the nationalist side right? And you are saying theyhave something against the free state plates? I might have believed you if you had said Sandy Row Belfast.

Satanta wrote: »
    Also, you do know Free Derry corner is in the nationalist side right? And you are saying theyhave something against the free state plates? I might have believed you if you had said Sandy Row Belfast.

Got a puncture outside the rangers club on the sandy row/donegall rd. one night and two buckos standing outside gave me a hand to change it, not a bother to them:). Invited me in for a drink and everything.

I declined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,295 ✭✭✭n97 mini

Also, you do know Free Derry corner is in the nationalist side right?
    Last time I checked acting the w@nker wasn't the sole preserve of "loyalists".

And anyway a lot of what they dub sectarianism we'd dub anti-social behaviour, and rightly so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Got a puncture outside the rangers club on the sandy row/donegall rd. one night and two buckos standing outside gave me a hand to change it, not a bother to them:). Invited me in for a drink and everything.

I declined.

Were you driving this?????:)

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Ford/Focus-ST/225-BHP-/201125203013302/advert?channel=CARS

n97 mini wrote: »
    Last time I checked acting the w@nker wasn't the sole preserve of "loyalists".

And anyway a lot of what they dub sectarianism we'd dub anti-social behaviour, and rightly so.

That's excellent the way you partially quoted me and totally misrepresented what I said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

Makes me sad when I see threads like this. I have lived in Donegal most of my life, the last 19 years driving here. I have seen only a couple with dl yellow plates. I have never been hastled in the north in a dl reg. I see this sh1te posted here and I have to wonder where it comes from. What a load of mince 90% of this thread is

glasses.jpg

You don't like my thread then stop whinging and dont post !

bryaner wrote: »
    PSNI seem to think different, we were in Belfast last year for the marathon and we stopped to ask an officer where was the best spot to park, he gave us directions to an indoor car park, his words were ye would be better off parking that inside as there's still a lot of arseholes about..
    And if you had been driving a northern reg car he would have said exactly the same thing to ya:)

Many areas of Dublin I wouldn't leave my car parked outside as "there's still a lot of arseholes about"

Whats the difference?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭bryaner

Driving a D reg or any other southern reg in NI is no more or less dangerous than driving a DL reg in Dublin or Cork or Limerick.:)

PSNI seem to think different, we were in Belfast for the marathon last year and asked an officer where was the best spot to park, he directed us to an indoor car park, his words were yer better off parking that inside as there's still a lot of arseholes around..

And if you had been driving a northern reg car he would have said exactly the same thing to ya:)

Many areas of Dublin I wouldn't leave my car parked outside as "there's still a lot of arseholes about"

Whats the difference?

Difference is the Garda have never told my northie mates to park their northern registered motors indoors..

Edit:And no he wouldn't have said it if it was a northern reg, he stepped back looked at the reg and then said to park it
    indoors.

bryaner wrote: »
    Difference is the Garda have never told my northie mates to park their northern registered motors indoors..

Edit:And no he wouldn't have said it if it was a northern reg, he stepped back looked at the reg and then said to park it
    indoors.
    Did he specifically say to you to park indoors because your rear numberplate wasn't yellow?;)

If he did I'll stand corrected:)

Driving a D reg or any other southern reg in NI is no more or less dangerous than driving a DL reg in Dublin or Cork or Limerick.:)

Just replying to this..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭m.j.w

Just going to give my opinion on this, im orginaly from the north and travel home every weekend (work down here). I dont want to vrt my car even though it is free for me to do so as I owned it in the north for more than 6 months. Some of the places I have to drive through on the way home are very loyalist and as much as you's say its grand there is no way I would want to drive through these places coming upto the 12th of july with a southern reg. My dad works for the health service in the north and works in a hospital in belfast and coming upto the 12th they are issued with a sticker for the car stating that they should left alone so obvioulsy the hassle is still there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭mgbgt1978

@where do i go from here here;
    you don't happen to work here by any chance???
    http://www.discovernorthernireland.com/

"is it down to the lake I fear ????";)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,439 ✭✭✭Richard

I've never had a problem with a southern plate in the north and I've been in some hairy places at hairy times believe me:)

I drove a Dublin reg on the Shankill Road and stopped at a junction whilst an Orange march went past. No problem at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,439 ✭✭✭Richard

I always thought that the whole DL yellow plates phenomenon was caused by Donegal residents who buy a car in NI. The NI showroom makes some plates but can't make them in the ROI style because they're metal. I've no info to justify this assumption however.

If it was unsafe then why would a considerable number of NI drivers illegally display IRL ovals on their cars (left over from a trip abroad, presumably)?

I've even seen (although I think only twice) NI reg cars using white Irish plates with IRL and the European stars.

Richard wrote: »
    I always thought that the whole DL yellow plates phenomenon was caused by Donegal residents who buy a car in NI. The NI showroom makes some plates but can't make them in the ROI style because they're metal. I've no info to justify this assumption however.

Most Irish plates are not metal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

You have a problem with Knocknaheeny?

Outside of the fact that on two occasions I left my car(s) outside my home and on both occasions when I went outside to get in to them I had to get a drive to Knocknaheeny to retrieve them..I have no problem with the place or the people there :P

mgbgt1978 wrote: »
    @where do i go from here here;
    you don't happen to work here by any chance???
    http://www.discovernorthernireland.com/

"is it down to the lake I fear ????";)
    No but I think I should appy given my strong feelings on this subject:-)

m.j.w wrote: »
    Just going to give my opinion on this, im orginaly from the north and travel home every weekend (work down here). I dont want to vrt my car even though it is free for me to do so as I owned it in the north for more than 6 months. Some of the places I have to drive through on the way home are very loyalist and as much as you's say its grand there is no way I would want to drive through these places coming upto the 12th of july with a southern reg. My dad works for the health service in the north and works in a hospital in belfast and coming upto the 12th they are issued with a sticker for the car stating that they should left alone so obvioulsy the hassle is still there
    I'm not denying that theres certain areas at certain times that are a no go, but some of the posts on here would suggest theres a big red target placed on an Irish reg the minute you cross the border.

Thats's simply not true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭JerCotter7

I'm not denying that theres certain areas at certain times that are a no go, but some of the posts on here would suggest theres a big red target placed on an Irish reg the minute you cross the border.

Thats's simply not true.

You just gotta be right?

JerCotter7 wrote: »
    You just gotta be right?

He is right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 904 ✭✭✭yourpics

Yellow plates to blend in while in NI?? NONSENSE! That pretty much suggest that people are illiterate and can't read the actual reg but assume its NI if it has a yellow plate.
    If you have a yellow plate it can still be clearly seen that it is a ROI car!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

I don't think this has anything to do with the border and NI, I live in Kerry and you would see quite alot of boyracers cars with yellow plates, quite often Toyota Levin twincams. Donegal would be boyracer central in Ireland but Kerry is not far behind with both counties having Rallys throughout the year to thank for this chavtastic culture.

I don't think it is so much about the North as it is about scumbag scrotes acting the bollix in their "savage" cars. And having yellow plates somehow makes you the tough man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Stinicker wrote: »
    I live in Kerry

Most of the Kerry drivers put on a C reg when crossing the border down here..:p:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

I've seen it a few times myself around Dublin, but on Dublin regs not DL. There's a chap close to me in a regular A4, now mods of any description bar the yellow rear reg. Maybe it's just a styling choice like German style plates?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭Technique

As someone who drives in Donegal and Derry every day of the week, I can't believe some of the comments on this thread.

I simply can't remember the last time I saw a Donegal car with yellow rear plates. Certainly not this year. To suggest it is commonplace in Donegal is crazy.

With the peace process, exchange rate etc. there are almost as many 'Irish' cars in places like Derry and Strabane than 'Northern' cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭Gulliver

Technique wrote: »
    As someone who drives in Donegal and Derry every day of the week, I can't believe some of the comments on this thread.

I simply can't remember the last time I saw a Donegal car with yellow rear plates. Certainly not this year. To suggest it is commonplace in Donegal is crazy.

With the peace process, exchange rate etc. there are almost as many 'Irish' cars in places like Derry and Strabane than 'Northern' cars.

Well I'm sick of the sight of them in Bundoran. Especially the sneaky ones that letter and space the reg differently e.g. 03 DL 1234 becomes O3D LI234. Unfortunately I know a few fvcking morons whose only reason to get this done is to go speeding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Miceal68

I agree with the second bit below and disagree with the first bit. I have just been in Co. Donegal for seven days and in the Letterkenny area I could easily spot a yellow 'DL' plate say every 10 to 15 minutes. Most were the smaller version of that font a lot of them use in the North but I even saw one which was full Republic spec with Euroband and Dún na nGall logo but was yellow. That particular one was on a van. All the other ones with the North style font were on a certain look of car, like VW Jettas and Audis.

As for the idea that such a plate prevents trouble whilst in Derry (or perhaps Drumahoe...) I don't know but surely people in Loyalist areas aren't that thick that they can't read the plate and realise that it is a Donegal plate from the Republic? I have to agree with this point you make though as if you go down the county to Lifford and just over the river in Strabane (Co. Tyrone, in Northern Ireland) 50% of cars in Lifford were Northern plates and 50% of plates in Strabane were Republic plates.

I would suggest or hazard a guess that yes, in a bad situation, in a Loyalist area, then floating around with Republic reg plates might not be advisable.

On the Gards attitude to yellow rear plates, I did get buzzed by them a week ago on Letterkenny. I was driving a UK registered car with an ex-Dublin registration from 1953, correctly bearing UK spec front and rear white/yellow plates. I think they were buzzing me because I was not carrying a 'GB' oval sticker on the back. As soon as they saw I had just a tax disc on the front window and not a tax/NCT/insurance holder they must have assumed I was from the North and shot ahead in the other lane to look for something more interesting.

Slán,

Míceál

P.S. I drove through the lovely village of Castledawson today. Makes Drumahoe look like a retirement home for Sinn Féin councillors.... still got the wheels on my car luckily :cool:
    Technique wrote: »

Hello Gulliver,

I don't doubt this is the case where you live but today in Letterkenny, in the space of two hours in the town centre I saw eleven cars and one van with yellow rear 'DL' plates. I was actively looking for them but neverthless I did see 12!

Before I found this thread with other peoples' suggestions I thought of the following possible reasons. Some of them are bollocks I know, after reading this thread but here is what I thought of:

1. It's a look. Just like the 'Rice Rocket' look you see young lads with lowered Honda Civics and the like. I thought maybe it was the 'Yellow Plate' look.

2. It's a speeding scam so that the Gards ignore you (mentioned on the posts above).

3. It's some kind of NCT/MOT scam.

4. It's some kind of road tax/VRT scam.

5. It's some kind of statement by people from "old Unionist" families living in Donegal. Prior to 1922 Donegal had a large population of people with a Unionist belief, i.e. they didn't want the formation of the Free State and partition.

Anyway from reading all the previous posts I reckon that it is either:

A) a genuine aid to some kind of scam, or
    B) a perceived aid to some kind of scam (e.g. see 2 above and various previous posts)

Or as my wife has just suggested, an urban myth amongst some folks in Donegal that having a yellow rear plate will give some kind of benefit as per the above posts, but probably doesn't.

One question I do have is who makes these plates? I thought motor factors and other plate suppliers in the 'UK' had to see a copy of V5 log book document now before making a plate. So do they ask to see the equivalent Republic document to a V5? As a previous poster noted, factors in the Republic won't do yellow plates and haven't for a long time. Six or so years ago in Co. Dublin I was getting standard white plates made up but because of my accent the guy behind the counter said, "We don't do yellow plates."

Slán,

Míceál
    Gulliver wrote: »
    Well I'm sick of the sight of them in Bundoran. Especially the sneaky ones that letter and space the reg differently e.g. 03 DL 1234 becomes O3D LI234. Unfortunately I know a few fvcking morons whose only reason to get this done is to go speeding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

Gulliver wrote: »

I was in Bundoran and Ballyshannon for a good few days a while back and the only yellow regs I saw were Nordie regs.

What I did see a lot of was burnout/drift marks on the Ballyshannon and Bundoran bypass. I must say during the day I saw no worse driving in Donegal than I did elsewhere in the country, certainly nothing that would make one believe that DL reg cars have a much harder life than those in the rest of the country.

This is the usual style of yellow rear 'DL' reg plate. This was in Letterkenny this morning. It was driven by a 40-something woman and an older woman which tends to knock the boy racer theory slightly unless her son drives it in the evening?

Slán,

Míceál

5968532284_02e6815cc1_z.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭Slushfund

Sure it's bandit country up there, Limbo land, you have to cross the border twice to get to it from Dublin, do we even know who owns it anymore ?

Maybe they are going for some sort of independence like Andorra, and are using their own number plates to express this desire ?

Come to think of it, they'd probably own a fortune of oil, fishing, forestry and natural gas if they did go for it, and we could all go there for duty free !

This photo shows the van I mentioned in a previous post. It is clearly not a boy racer and it is clearly not trying to avoid rabid Loyalists as it is a full Republic spec rear number plate.... but it is yellow...????

This was in Letterkenny this morning.

Slán,

Míceál

5968546640_7aa0e255c9.jpg

Slushfund,

I like it! Thanks for the laugh :). I did kind of wonder that myself. It is held on to the rest of the 26 counties by 4 miles of land at the narrowest bit down between Ballyshannon and Bundoran.

I was all over north, west and east Donegal this past week and I saw burn-out marks on most R and N roads so there must be plenty of crazy young fellas doing spin-outs of an evening.

I like the idea of an independent Donegal. They could have green reg plates on the front and their beloved yellow on the back to represent the county colours :)

Slán,

Míceál
    Slushfund wrote: »
    Sure it's bandit country up there, Limbo land, do we even know who owns it anymore ?
    Maybe they are going for some sort of independence like Andorra ?