Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Today's bargain watch that I'm not buying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65,611 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

That's the sh1ttiest sh1tter I've ever seen :p

(no offense)

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,156 ✭✭✭wanderer 22

:D The best feature has to be the two fake subdials :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,402 ✭✭✭1874

I have one that I have rarely worn. Think I paid something in the mid 60s for it about a year ago. I could break the habit of a lifetime and sell it to you if interested.

I just saw your reply now, PM'd

colm18 wrote: »
    You don't need to be blowing 2 figure sums of cash for stainless steel - 4 euro delivered from Aliexpress (purely to test the size I hasten to add :pac:). Arrived 2 days ago and I'm somewhat shocked it's still running...

IMG-20210218-160354.jpg

I did not recognise this

colm18 wrote: »
    :D The best feature has to be the two fake subdials :D

Until you said this,

I was given one of these as a gift, although mine has 3 fake subdials, the Yazole 271.
    I'm far from an expert but when I was given it, I wasn't sure if it was an insult or a joke, I think it was a genuine gift, never worn, and doesnt run anymore, tidy looking, someone could wear it as a dress watch if stuck, but cheap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭The Inbetween is mine

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/254870023742
    I do like this, no idea of what it's selling price should actually be, but it looks in good knick

• Registered Users Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

I do like this, no idea of what it's selling price should actually be, but it looks in good knick

It will take a week to find out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭Fitz II

32mm......far too small for a man.

• Registered Users Posts: 437 ✭✭mrm

Fitz II wrote: »
    32mm......far too small for a man.

'Click image to enlarge'....sorted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,299 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Always check size when looking at vintage stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭The Inbetween is mine

Sorry, it's not for myself, relatives 50th in 3 weeks, so am going to see can I pick it up if the price stays keen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭dinorebel

Cienciano wrote: »
    Something my (17 yrs) younger wife often mentions.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,163 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

+1. Overall for most of the 20th century men's watches were around the 35mm, but in some periods the trends are smaller. EG the 80's under 35mm was the norm. I suspect the Omega dates from that time. The trend in the 70's was for generally larger 36-40mm.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,761 ✭✭✭Lorddrakul

Wibbs wrote: »
    +1. Overall for most of the 20th century men's watches were around the 35mm, but in some periods the trends are smaller. EG the 80's under 35mm was the norm. I suspect the Omega dates from that time. The trend in the 70's was for generally larger 36-40mm.

Aye, this.

I had a lovely late 60s diver, with a lovely Valjoux 92 movement. The case was 36mm across, without the crown. The diver bezel was a smidge smaller still.

In every way, it was lovely. But it was just too small for me. It's proportions were perfect, but every time I looked at it on my wrist, it just seemed to get smaller. I have a couple of 39s and one 37mm, but the 37 has shrouded lugs that make it wear much bigger. But that classic 36mm size is just too small for me.

It's such a pity as there are so many gorgeous vintage watches in that range that are well within reach.

My sweet spot, to my eye and wrist, is 42mm, 45 at a pinch, but anything bigger gets unwieldy.

It is so subjective, and doesn't make a lot of sense, but them's the breaks.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,163 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Yeah, I've seen people try to get into the vintage thing and get out just as quickly because of the sizes involved. Some just like yourself who thought they could live with it, but found nope, the vintage piece was left in the watchbox. Dress watches were usually 35mm or under, tool watches were 33-38, even chronos were 34-36mm. 40mm and above was a rarity indeed, mostly confined to specialist divers and pilots watches(and even then. IIRC the first Rolex Diver/Sub was 36 or 37mm, some Longines Weems in WW2 were 28mm). As well as the fashion aspect to it, more men were also of a slighter frame in the past. So smaller wrists is a part of it too. I've vintage wrists :D so say a 36mm on me looks more like a 40 on a normal guy, so it's less an issue for me. Plus I go through periods of preferring a smaller watch anyway. My sweet spot I suppose is 35mm.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,876 ✭✭✭fat bloke

Spectacular indifference to my "bargains" :D. What are ye not telling me? Good? Bad? Overpriced?

Hardly overpriced at that level. :) Hamilton seem to get generally favourable reviews and as you note at that kinda money you can't really go wrong. They take a hit in the used market, but aren;t exactly mad money new either.

Auto chrono Hamilton with the Valjoux 7750 for €700 second hand is a lot of watch for the money. Most depreciation out of the way already, a great buy imho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,402 ✭✭✭1874

Are they legit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,003 ✭✭✭handlemaster

https://www.norqain.com/watches/freedom-60-chrono-anthracite/

what is this brand like ? any experience ?

https://www.norqain.com/watches/freedom-60-chrono-anthracite/

what is this brand like ? any experience ?

Nice, particularly that chrono, but yikes - up to and over 4 grand for a 100m diver from a Johnny-come-lately, whatchamacallumagain?-Swiss brand?

https://www.norqain.com/watches/adventure-sport-auto-gold-black/

Four grand? Ah here. Someone in that company is on the waccy baccy.

Movement is €225.

https://www.amazon.com/Genuine-Watch-Movement-2824-2-Swiss/dp/B07D6TR867

€4k is crazy. Some expensive brands jump up their prices so it feels "exclusive" or exotic.

Stock ETA and the like mechanical movements are a lot cheaper than many realise and you can be sure manufacturers bulk buying get them even cheaper again. Never mind how cheap other members of the Swatch group can buy in ETA movements. So a mechanical movement like that costs say 150-200 quid for a brand, an ETA quartz movement runs around 30 quid. Big difference it seems. However because of market perceptions and marketing there will be a bigger difference in RRP between a watch with a quartz movement and a watch with an automatic movement.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,679 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

fat bloke wrote: »
    Nice, particularly that chrono, but yikes - up to and over 4 grand for a 100m diver from a Johnny-come-lately, whatchamacallumagain?-Swiss brand?

https://www.norqain.com/watches/adventure-sport-auto-gold-black/

They had a little popup chat window, couldn't resist asking why 4k for an ETA movement, never thought I'd end up being a watchtroll when I got back into watches. Sad.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

Wonder how much you'd get something similar on aliexpress?
    It's crazy to think what known brands you could get for the same price. I'd go with 60 vostoks.

Movement is €225.

I bought a brand new Swiss made diver with that ETA2824-2 movement for €210 including shipping a few years ago. I'd like to see transfer pricing but I doubt they'd be much higher than €100 excluding taxes

unkel wrote: »
    I bought a brand new Swiss made diver with that ETA2824-2 movement for €210 including shipping a few years ago. I'd like to see transfer pricing but I doubt they'd be much higher than €100 excluding taxes

Unlucky, you could have got that watch for €4k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,257 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

What are the odds that this is just a silly RRP purely to make the massive "discount" on Amazon or elsewhere seem like a steal.

Eoin wrote: »
    What are the odds that this is just a silly RRP purely to make the massive "discount" on Amazon or elsewhere seem like a steal.

I did a search on other forums, seems that's the price. And everyone is having the same conversation we're having. Not a hope they'd hand over 4k for a microbrand with an ETA. Although a few have bought the cheaper €1200 ones and are happy with the finishing. Probably accounts with 10 posts about how great the watches are if you look harder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,110 ✭✭✭Thirdfox

https://www.hodinkee.com/articles/norqain-independence-20-limited-edition-first-with-kenissi-caliber-nn201-introducing - Hodinkee got into trouble pushing the brand and then becoming a seller of the brand shortly thereafter... They do have pedigree that microbrands can't compete against (but is that pedigree worth the extra 3-3.5k? That's for buyers to decide)

And I'm surprised by a price of 225 euro for a single ETA2824 unit - from my factory partner at bulk prices it's still higher than that (not much more mind).