Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Today's bargain watch that I'm not buying

• Closed Accounts Posts: 754 ✭✭✭mynameis905

Nolimits wrote: »
    Not a great picture but saw this in Temple Bar Jewellers today, I'm a bit out of the loop but it seemed like a good price to me, even more so for a B&M store

Edit: That doesn't appear to be working so here's a link

http://i.imgur.com/NKwHxRs.jpg

Glycine make some great watches. That particular model usually goes for around the €700ish mark online so the original asking of €1000 is inflated but €500 is a pretty good deal.

• Registered Users Posts: 439 ✭✭TedR

oooh that Glycine is California dial, I like that in a watch

• Registered Users Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭StereoSound

Check this Seiko out for €101. I wouldn't normally suggest buying something from Argos as they are usually scuffed from numerous rotational display pieces from my own experience looking at watches there. Imo though is a very nice piece for small money.

http://www.argos.ie/static/Product/partNumber/2465100/Trail/searchtext%3ESEIKO.htm

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,664 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Speaking of Seiko, anybody looking for an unusual kinetic? Only thing wrong is it's oct 08, and it's in Texas. But he 'needs it gone'.

http://www.ebay.ie/itm/201506026197?ul_noapp=true&clk_rvr_id=970897763420

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,818 ✭✭✭Bateman

scwazrh wrote: »
    My one cost me the grand total of 135 euro inc. p&p just goes to show the markup the jewellers add on.

Was that on a Chinese website or something? Where is the best place to buy one of these at the moment?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭StereoSound

Nice reduced Seiko from Argos, that price is for nothing really. For €83.99 that's a stunner.
    http://www.argos.ie/static/Product/partNumber/2276629/Trail/searchtext%3ESEIKO.htm

Similar model in a differ color for €69.99
    http://www.argos.ie/static/Product/partNumber/2465100/Trail/searchtext%3ESEIKO.htm

Another €69 one
    http://www.argos.ie/static/Product/partNumber/2379722/Trail/searchtext>SEIKO.htm

These are about to be replaced with newer models I'd say hence the reduction. Pitty your dealing with Argos though as they are probably scuffed to feck. Still......

• Registered Users Posts: 507 ✭✭✭Jasper79

Nice(IMO), Leather strap watch in Debenhams for €36.

http://www.debenhams.ie/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/prod_10052_10001_061010310260_-1

• Registered Users Posts: 278 ✭✭GEO147

Check this Seiko out for €101. I wouldn't normally suggest buying something from Argos as they are usually scuffed from numerous rotational display pieces from my own experience looking at watches there. Imo though is a very nice piece for small money.

That's now €69.99

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

GEO147 wrote: »
    That's now €69.99

im getting 319?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,693 ✭✭✭scwazrh

Tigger wrote: »
    im getting 319?

I ordered it last night on argos.ie at the €69 price .When I went to collect it today the price had gone up to €317 .When i told them the price had changed since i reserved it they agreed and only charged €69 which was fair play to Argos .Its a nice watch for what i paid but no way is it worth €317..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 754 ✭✭✭mynameis905

Apparantly going for around €1400 this side of the pond. Want.

Longines Military COSD

P2011092.jpg?ixlib=rails-0.3.0&auto=format&fm=jpg&q=80&w=820&

• Registered Users Posts: 673 ✭✭✭CarltonBrowne

Apparantly going for around €1400 this side of the pond. Want.

Longines Military COSD

So near and yet so far. If I could get one of those, maybe a couple of years hence at 50% in a sale, I'd get somebody to make me a white dial (without the bloody date window), brush the case and stick in some shoulder-less spring bars. It always stuns me that Longines have such a fabulously rich back catalogue and yet manage to mangle pretty much every re-issue.

And I really, really wish Hodinkee would stay the feck away from MWR.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

It always stuns me that Longines have such a fabulously rich back catalogue and yet manage to mangle pretty much every re-issue.
    Do NOT get me started CB. :mad::)
    My last sentence, doubled. They're cool hunting the hell out of places like MWR, particularly since the Talking Watches segment featured that guy involved with the Timezone forum who noted military watches were "bargains", yet seem to have feck all clue about his own Breguet Type XX. As sure as night follows day a "high ticket" auction will be along shortly to put military watches front and centre and watch the prices balloon and existing collectors hanging onto their pieces seeing said prices go up and the marker stalls.

On the bargain front, these new GQ style investor vintage collectors normally see bargain as just under five figures and they're utter brand whores with it. And when they run out of a brand to peddle they look around see what's undervalued in the market(according to them) and suddenly that brand gets pushed. QV Universal Geneve. Funny enough even with all their pushing Longines stuff is still well under the price of Omega's etc. Even their article on their 30 series flyback chronos hasn't seemed to push prices up. They're still well undervalued, even though they blow the doors off pretty much all of their contemporaries(and even many modern pieces).

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

So near and yet so far. If I could get one of those, maybe a couple of years hence at 50% in a sale, I'd get somebody to make me a white dial (without the bloody date window), brush the case and stick in some shoulder-less spring bars. It always stuns me that Longines have such a fabulously rich back catalogue and yet manage to mangle pretty much every re-issue.

I actually like the dial on it, I'm guessing it has ETA 2824 movement? Everybody seems to hate the date windows on Longines' heritage collection. Sometimes they have 600 or 1000 limited editions without the date.

Sorry I don't get what you mean about Hodinkee, stirring up demand perhaps?

Wibbs types faster than me!

• Registered Users Posts: 673 ✭✭✭CarltonBrowne

blue5000 wrote: »
    Sorry I don't get what you mean about Hodinkee, stirring up demand perhaps?

I think Wibbs nailed it and appreciate that you were probably still drafting when he posted.

Here's an example: the two most niche bits of horological interest for me are military watches and Universal Genève. I've only been in this game for getting on 8 years and I'm not paid a huge amount of money so, whilst I'm happy with the way that my collection has developed and is developing, I've still got a few things on the list. I have to combine astute combing of places like Ebay, gradually trading up various pieces and a bit of good old-fashioned luck to get something I really want. 3-5 years ago a 1960s UG chronograph could be had for, let's say, £2-3k and maybe somebody throwing something up with a poorly researched Buy-it-Now price a bit less than that. It's within sight. It takes one article from Hodinkee to push the attainable price to more like £7k overnight and often well above that. Not only does this push the £3k watch out of sight but it also means that all the lesser watches that were selling for £600-800 are now up for £1.5k (they're not selling, mind you, but that doesn't seem to matter). Rinse and repeat.

Lovely if you're sitting on a safety deposit box full of vintage UG chronographs but of absolutely no use to me. I enjoy the Hodinkee videos for a bit of casual watch porn but I really could do without everything else that goes with it and don't want the formula repeated for another significant area of personal interest.

Ya Wibbs is faster at typing when he's angry!

I've only been interested in watches for about a year, and I think 'asking' prices for a lot of watches have gone up, Longines and early quartz anyway. Also seiko early chronos are now making the same prices as seiko pogues were last year. Don't get me started on Rolex. The market is increasing as demand increases, like everything else the bubbles will start popping eventually.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

And whenever I think I don't really need yet another one ...along comes something new and shiny and they catch me again ...

350669-2.jpg

like sweets at the checkout :D

(fiddy quid sweeties)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Here's an interesting old thing. Described as a Longines prototype, but is instead an ESA prototype of their tuning fork movement based on Bulova's Accutron, but updated and improved by the same guy who invented the original(still had to pay Bulova for some patents). I suspect at some stage the original movement died and an identical movement, but Longines branded, was dropped in. These were also used by Omega, IWC, Tissot and a couple of others.

$_12.JPG

I suspect that when said movement was swapped it was a while ago, as the Longines branded movements are pricey themselves these days. The branding is only a glued in plate so can be removed.

IMHO at 240 euros this is a stone cold effin bargain Ted. If this was an everyday and pretty common in general Omega f300 it would have sold at twice the price, if it was a Longines try triple the price*, but here you get an ESA prototype from the late 1960's of a tuning fork movement with the oh so smooth seconds hand, dead Fash blue dial and in a Compressor case? For 250 quid? Bejaysus. I've to sit down I've come over with an attack of the vapours, the screens nurse, the screens! gobsmacked that's not gone. If I wasn't temporarily financially embarrassed(and didn't have so many damned blue dials already :)) I'd be all over that like a rash.

*one of the few areas of watch collecting where Longines get a premium for some reason.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

And…. it's gone. Forget the Hodinkee effect, maybe the Wibblydink effect? :D Wonder if anyone here grabbed it? IMHO that was a real bargain for a bloody rare watch.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,434 ✭✭✭Deep Thought

Missed it...

Any more like that, send them on..

The narrower a man’s mind, the broader his statements.

Wibbs wrote: »
    And…. it's gone. Forget the Hodinkee effect, maybe the Wibblydink effect? :D Wonder if anyone here grabbed it? IMHO that was a real bargain for a bloody rare watch.
    Wasn't me anyway;)
    Missed it...

That seller had a few similar looking Craftsman watches. http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Vintage-Craftsman-Automatic-Mens-Wrist-Watch-70-decades-/391369918351?hash=item5b1f77078f

Missed it...

No worries. If I see anything kinda cool that I don't want myself ;):D *

Actually that seller is one to watch(no pun) as he has had some real oddball stuff from the 1970.s He had a Longines Ultraquartz a while back and a couple of Omega 70's with different engines.

*Actually there is one like that on the radar, no bids yet but I'd be shocked if it's not spotted...

http://www.ebay.ie/itm/281922933458?_trksid=p2055119.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

Not for me, but if anybody here was born in '72 and wanted a birth year watch this would be a nice one to have. Others I have seen have been very rough condition, I think this has been polished.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

blue5000 wrote: »
    http://www.ebay.ie/itm/281922933458?_trksid=p2055119.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

Not for me, but if anybody here was born in '72 and wanted a birth year watch this would be a nice one to have. Others I have seen have been very rough condition, I think this has been polished.

Its a lovely watch. I would want to be seeing pictured of the insides though...see if it has been loved.
    I reckon it will go for £550 or so in the end. 45 hours for me to raise that cash!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 971 ✭✭✭Senecio

Wibbs wrote: »

I really need to subscribe to this thread so as not to miss Wibbs' gems

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Menas wrote: »
    Its a lovely watch. I would want to be seeing pictured of the insides though...see if it has been loved.
    I reckon it will go for £550 or so in the end. 45 hours for me to raise that cash!

£785 in the end! :eek:

Menas wrote: »
    £785 in the end! :eek:

It's up for sale again
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/281930638014?_trksid=p2055119.m1438.l2661&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

But I see bidding is private;) draw your own conclusion, some sob story about dollars too. No actual movement photo yet either, there's another one with buy it now http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/321903967918?_trksid=p2055119.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT
    in Argentina, but open to offers

• Registered Users Posts: 8,980 ✭✭✭893bet

The Speedmaster on adverts.........I wrote the offer twice and stopped myself.

2200. Sensibly priced with two extra straps and a deployment ontop of the OEM bracelet.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,434 ✭✭✭Deep Thought

Speedie Reduced on TZ for £750

Not bad

The narrower a man’s mind, the broader his statements.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,980 ✭✭✭893bet

Speedie Reduced on TZ for £750

Not bad

No paperwork, box or bracelet though. Price is about right.

Risk free purchase though as easily moved on for same money.