Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whats the most horrible wake-up you've ever had?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

Cramps in both legs at the same time after a heavy drinking session , jumped up outta bed in one movement , cue the room spinning way too fast from being drunk, and the worst tigh cramp imaginable felt like i was goin to collapse and vomit but i managed to grip a desk until the cramp eased and limped my way to the bathroom , cue vomiting from pain of cramp/spinning room/booze.
    The cramp was so bad i couldnt walk properly for days after it.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

Years ago, waking up with a massive hangover after a house party i reached for an open can of beer and took a mouth full...it was full of piss, tasted salty. Didnt drink beer for a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

Shortly after watching Ringu (original Japanese version of The Ring) for the first time, I dreamt that I watched the cursed video from the film, and would therefore die in a week, per the film. The week passed by in the dream, and it felt like a full week too. The whole time I was scrambling to find a way to break the curse, and was getting nowhere and more and more desperate. And the dream felt completely realistic too.

Finally it got down to the last day and I was absolutely frantic. The time kept ticking away, and I remember it got down to my last minute and then towards the final seconds and then...

I woke up, still believing that I was about to die a horrible, horrible death within seconds and that it was a completely real situation. This lasted for about a minute, and I think I only realised it was a dream because I knew the time had passed and I was still alive. Only after did I realise that it was obviously a dream because I was in bed and not in Japan, and the film's not real.
    The relief after was amazing, but I had a weird sad, empty feeling with me for the rest of the day, as I had genuinely believed I'd die a horrible death, and I can still remember that feeling :(.

I had a similar dream after watching that, unfortunatly that night i fell asleep watching a film , had the dream and when i woke the telly was on and it scared the **** outta me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,968 ✭✭✭Cork Lass

Three years ago (almost to the day) my OH woke me saying "get up, we've been burgled". F**Kers come into the house in the night while we were all asleep and cleaned us out. We were going on hols a few days later and they used our trolley bags to cart everything off in. Took me ages to get over it but was lucky no one was hurt and we were insured.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭Mickjg

First time getting drunk in college in America. Didn't remember going to bed, but woke up the next morning having forgotten about the night before. Then the smell hit me. Pretty soon I realized the devastation I had brought upon my room. Vomit on my duvet, under it, on my pillow, on my wall, in my shoes, on my shoes, on the carpet, on my clothes from the night before, on my TV, on my expensive school books and on a packet on printing paper.

Another one is not bad but funny. We had some American friends come to visit us in Ireland in 2006. I was 16 at the time. My brother and I had to share a hotel room in Dublin with 2 of the American lads. Their dad came in in the morning to gently wake his kids, "Buddy... buddy... come on buddy, it's time to get up".
    I get a phone call from my dad's room, "Up. Showered. Dressed. 15 miuntes". He loves that story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Having my mum walk in and say "come down quick your dad's dying", he was in the final stages of cancer and i had been up all night and went to bed for a couple of hours during the day. Although he was getting progressively worse over the previous week, i still believed he'd live for months and months, those words came as a massive shock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,321 ✭✭✭Jackobyte

Sleep Paralysis. Felt like a demon was in the room and it was the most scariest experience of my life. I couldn't move a muscle and only found out years later it was sleep paralysis.

This is the worst feeling ever. Happened by when I was about 12. Woke up after falling asleep on the couch with something similar to this. Could only groan, couldn't move for about an hour. When I regained movement, the first thing I did was chuck by stomach contents. Went to the hospital and had to stay for 2 days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Fergus_

My friend blaring Friday onto me >.>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Fortunately, none as bad as most here though I do have an awful knack for spasming out just as I drift off to sleep.

I refuse to sleep on public transport if a stranger is sitting beside me anymore, the last time I spasmed was on a bus when I kicked the person sitting in front of me and elbowed the person beside me in the gut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭stevejr

gloobag wrote: »
    I'll direct you to this post from a few years ago...

:pac::pac::pac: One of the funniest things I've read in a while!

What's the reason for being reasonable?

Is that an unreasonable question?

Karsini wrote: »
    I've had two really creepy ones but am only listing one here.

I had watched Mythbusters earlier in the day and they were testing how to get out a car when underwater, which most likely brought this on. So, I was the passenger in a car which crashed into a river. The car went under and as the water entered my nose I woke up in a fright. I still briefly had a feeling of water in my nose, it was horrible.

Yes, yes but was the Myth busted or not?:pac:

stevejr wrote: »
    Yes, yes but was the Myth busted or not?:pac:

Nope, was confirmed. :p

You have to wait for the car to fill up with water before you can open the door because the pressure inside the car is less than outside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

cruiser178 wrote: »
    Years ago, waking up with a massive hangover after a house party i reached for an open can of beer and took a mouth full...it was full of piss, tasted salty. Didnt drink beer for a week.

Party at Bear Grylls house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭scooby2791

I get sleep paralysis generally once a week, it is awful!

Worst wake up for me was at the Basketball Intervarsities for college in Galway two years ago, second night down out on the piss, remember little and managed to wake up wrapped in a towel in a bush in the middle of nowhere in Galway. Vaguely remember getting sick loads and a taxi at some point, then made it back to the hostel and just passed out in the hallway. Varsities are the craic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

you've either woken up in a garda cell or you haven't

i have

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭dx22

cruiser178 wrote: »

Ya i hate Dutch Gold too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 455 ✭✭Jonah42

When I was around 15 I was woken up by my mam who told me a foal we own was hit by a car and needs to be put down. Got changed as fast as I could and was out the door withing 2 minutes running to the field about 2 miles away to meet my dad.

Got there to see the poor wee foal with his leg barely hanging on. Tried to comfort it for 15 mins til the vet arrived with the injections. After I was totally exhausted and upset and nearly fainted. (Probably cause of not getting any food and then seeing the state the foal was in).

RIP Sonny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Laika1986

Woke up pretty hammered on a train heading back to Manhattan, full of commuters and a ticket warden poking me asking for a ticket. Naturally I had no idea was going on, prick threw me off at the next stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Needler

Laika1986 wrote: »
    Woke up pretty hammered on a train heading back to Manhattan, full of commuters and a ticket warden poking me asking for a ticket. Naturally I had no idea was going on, prick threw me off at the next stop.

You're lucky, if you tried it in London you would have ended up with a 20 pound fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,018 ✭✭✭✭klose

Was only about 8 or 9 at the time, was the morning after halloween and my father woke up saying wake up weve to go your cousin was murdered last night.
    Now i was young at the time and didnt know him so much but its always one moment that will live with me for the rest of my life, the drop in my stomach I can still feel it today. I remeber it so vivadly, impossible to explain. A young life wasted by the scum of the earth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

after a staff party few people came back to mine for a few more woke up in the morning with my landlord in my room screaming at me to get my stuff and get out of his house. Unpleasant.

a funny one woke up to phone ringing at about 7 in the morning from a number i didn't know, answered it and said hello. Guy on the other end in a thick Dublin accent goes to me "Darren, tell me, is it you or Lisa selling the hash" me in my Kerry accent goes "I think you have the wrong number" he just says oh in a really embarrassed tone and i start roaring laughing down the phone at him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

Sleep paralysis really is the scariest shít imaginable. I felt like I was asleep, thought I was asleep and I was dreaming but my senses were "awake". It sounded like somebody / something was very slowly creeping towards my bed and just as it felt it was beside my bed I came to. Turned the light on in a sweat and was to scared to go back to sleep, this was at 4am and I spent the rest of the night up watching TV deliberately not sleeping.

I don't scare easily at all, but this experience really freaked the shít out of me as it felt so real.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭amjon.

Woke up in A and E with my head wrapped in bandages and blood all over the place. Had been in a pretty bad bike crash. Still can't remember what happened to this day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

My dad has epilepsy and just last week he had a bad seizure during the night. I awoke to what sounded like him choking and hearing my mam just telling him over and over, "It's gonna be okay, you're okay, you'll be okay". No matter how many times it happens, it never gets easier. There are always the moments where you're holding your breath wondering when it's gonna stop... if it's gonna stop...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

One night I dreamt that i was awake,but when i woke up i was asleep:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Karona

Waking myself up snoring the head off myself on a tourist bus in Italy and everyone looking at me.

Another time i woke up in my bed at home with green puke on my wall and duvet but managed to not get a drop on me. I thought the bin was on that side of the bed.... how wrong was I.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

spagboll wrote: »
    I was put in cast, "for a minimum of 6 weeks", the night before we had been celebrating finishing school and starting our summer holidays, those of you that have experienced it will know that having a cast during the summer holidays as a young fella is horrific
    It could have been worse.

I woke up to some lad screaming. He was in the hospital bed opposite me. His screaming woke me up quite often over the next few weeks. Seems I was involved in a car crash. I was on the bicycle (the pedal type, not the motorised type), and went through the windscreen window. You could see the windscreen wiper imprint on my bicycle helmet :eek:

Well, it seems I woke up for the first time a few times before, after waking up from a 3 day coma, for something like 2 weeks I think. Temporary amnesia my folks were told. The crash happened the week before the end of 5th year in primary school. Got out of the hospital about 2 weeks before 6th year started, so just enough time to get a school uniform. No broken bones, but had a lump of skin (3" by 4" wide & a few mm's deep I think) taken off my left knee that had some glass (from the windscreen) in it.

Back on the bicycle a few weeks after that :pac: Stayed cycling until last year when the back wheel slipped on some black ice and I broke my elbow. Now I only cycle when the weather is good during the summer.

pebbles21 wrote: »

You'd love Inception.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,727 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

Woke up one morning to the phone ringing...20 seconds later my Mam walked up the stairs in tears, walked into me and simply said 'Mark hung himself. I replied with 'Oh right' out of complete shock and just stared out the window for a few minutes, then rang a mate and off I went to see the worst possible image in my life :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

I've never been woken up to be given bad news thankfully. Sleep paralysis was the worst for me. Hasn't happened for a good while now but I still vividly remember the sense of total panic. Couldn't move, couldn't breathe. Thought I'd somehow paralysed myself rolling in my sleep and was just terrified I would never be able to move or speak again. *shudder*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭Mickjg

Also, I once let the dog sleep in the bed. I woke up in the morning covered in doggy diarrhea. Not nice. Although the dog seemed fairly happy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Tubsandtiles

Woke up years ago to my mother screaming downstairs, the sitting room had went up on fire because we had a wooden fireplace, luckily everyone was ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

Waking up on a gurney in the Mater Hospital A & E in serious pain the night after an accident in which I broke an arm and a leg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭stephendevlin

Waking up on a stone bench on a lads holiday at 11am on a busy shopping street in santa ponsa 10 years ago. Heavy night the night before :D. Worst thing was I was dreaming I was in my appartment in bed. Confusing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 271 ✭✭Sefirah

Worst wake up ever- I was staying in an Arab Christian hostel in the Old City of Jerusalem in a dorm with loads of beds but I was the only one in there (in retrospect, I should have seen it as a sign...!!) when, at 3am, the lights were suddenly turned on and 3 Arab dudes walked in, stood around my bed and leered down at me without saying a word. Needless to say, I was scared SH!TLESS and started asking them what the hell they wanted (it was over 30 degrees without any air conditioning, and I wasn't wearing a hell of a lot, which made it extra awkward). Eventually I screamed so much that they looked nervous and left. Went to complain the next day, and they turned out to be the owners :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,730 ✭✭✭✭Penn

One Sunday morning, years ago. My sister ran into my room, started jumping up and down on the bed screaming "IT'S MY BIRTHDAY! IT'S MY BIRTHDAY! IT'S MY BIRTHDAY! IT'S MY BIRTHDAY! IT'S MY BIRTHDAY! IT'S MY BIRTHDAY! IT'S MY BIRTHDAY!.... Oh, and Princess Diana died", and then ran out of my room.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Waking up the morning after a hard night to be a shown a pic of a 'teabag' on my face :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭stephendevlin

Onkle wrote: »
    Waking up the morning after a hard night to be a shown a pic of a 'teabag' on my face :mad:

aahhh Teabag or a ""Teabag!""

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭Cravez

Duggy747 wrote: »
    Fortunately, none as bad as most here though I do have an awful knack for spasming out just as I drift off to sleep.

I refuse to sleep on public transport if a stranger is sitting beside me anymore, the last time I spasmed was on a bus when I kicked the person sitting in front of me and elbowed the person beside me in the gut.

I remember having a sleep spasm on the train as well. Spasm'd and flung my mp3 player into the seat infront of me. Person must have thought I had physical tourettes or somthing. Still 15 minutes left on the train journey too :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Needler

pebbles21 wrote: »

a dream within a dream?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

Whats the nastiest, scariest, most shocking etc. wake-up from your sleep you've ever had?

As far as nasty goes, it'd be last weekend, a day of BBQ and beer for a party at a friends house, didn't get to sleep til about 5am.

Everyone evacuated the room quickly and crashed out in the back garden.

hmmm, this wasn't in celbridge by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Woke up back in October 97 to the sounds of giggling and the smell of freshly cut grass. Was a tad confused so opened up the old peepers and lo and behold Pighead was lying on his mattress in the middle of the gaelic pitch in GMIT.

We had been out for a drink or two the night before and unbeknownst to an intoxicated Pighead his flatmates had carried him from the house up to the pitch circa 5AM that morning. Lay there pretending to still be asleep until everybody had gone into class.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

aahhh Teabag or a ""Teabag!""

A "Teabag!" :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

My mother waking me up when I was younger to get dressed quick that there was complications with my fathers surgery and showing up to a priest over by his bed giving him the last rights

Being woken up another time to be told my cousin was found dead.

Or more like After Hours. I once woke up after somehow sleeping with both of my legs full weight on my balls. Once I moved my leg I got a shot of the worst pain I've ever felt..it lasted for about 15 minutes and felt awful..still have flashbacks over 10 years on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭Redlion

Was away with the lads in the England last year, staying in a room with two single beds and a bunk bed. I grabbed the top bunk not knowing there was a fire alarm about a foot and a half above my head. On the first night, after not sleeping for about 18 hours or so, I fell into a pretty deep sleep.

I woke up to the most horrible sound ever. The bloody fire alarm had gone off. I was so shocked, I woke up screaming, only to see my mate jump out of bed running towards me screaming as well. He hadn't a clue what was going on. My other mate started grumbling something like "ah lads leave us alone, will ya?..." without waking up. I eventually calmed down long enough to flick the lights on. Needless to say the lads were laughing their arses off, while I debated whether a change of boxers was needed!

Have never felt so scared in my life! Needed about an hour to properly calm down after that. Deep sleep can really feck ya up. Surprisingly, no one else in the hotel checked on the two screaming lads at four in the morning! Ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭Tyler MacDurden

I woke suddenly one night with a violently painful cramp in my calf muscle. Jumped out of bed and bent down to grab it all in one motion.... and smashed the bridge of my nose off the mahogany bedside locker. Lay there dazed and bleeding, heart thumping and leg spasming. Give me demonic nightmares or anal-probing aliens any day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 910 ✭✭✭Jagera

I've had 3 different ones

1 - When I was living in Sydney I played an early game of rugby, finishing up at around 11. We all started drinking and watching the other grades play throughout the day. Back to the clubhouse, more beers, and then a walk to the local nightclub at around 10pm. I didn't make it to the nightclub. I don't remember walking off, but I woke up about 3 hours later, asleep in the mud, pissing rain and right next to a 20 foot sheer drop to the Pacific Highway going north of Sydney. Had I rolled the wrong way, I would be in a spot of bother. I dusted myself off and got a taxi home.

2 - Like a previous poster, I've had sleep paralysis. I was in Galway with some friends, after having been out sightseeing by day and drinking, fairly heavily, for the previous 4-5 evenings. I had to stop early one night because my head was spinning a bit, and when I fell asleep I started dreaming that someone was in the room kneeling over me looking at me like I was dead. My mouth was numbed and I couldn't move or speak. It felt more real than any normal dream. I finally woke up and went out and wandered around Eyre Square for a while to get some fresh air and clear the head. Back on the drink the next night.. no further problems........

3 - I was dreaming one night that my son was standing on a large furnace and as I tried frantically to grab him, he slipped into it. At that moment I woke up and my heart was thumping so much I actually thought it was a heart attack.

EDIT:
    I woke suddenly one night with a violently painful cramp in my calf muscle.
    I've had this too.. that cramp lasted for a week. Sat up like a bolt in agony, and calf muscle was tight as anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭Sweatynutsack

I was awoken on Sunday morning @ 2.30am by some feuding travellers.
    Twas the best entertainment i've had in a long time, looking out the top window as the firemen tried to put out a burning d4d avensis !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭careca11

I've had a couple of incidents
    was woke up one morning to the sounds of screaming fire engine siren's , I was covered in puke , turns out I fell into the bushes outside the fire station (mainly becuase I was sh1tfaced).

again woke up in a prison cell (in Prague)with not a stitch of clothes on me , no glasses , bruises all over my face stomach in bits and smelling of pee ,
    as it turns out , the cops found me asleep in the nip on park bench ( i was totally transmunglafied) they though I was a homeless person as I had no ID etc on me , while asleep ,I was mugged even my fechin socks where robbed , and obviously whoever robbed me , throw a few thumps and pissed all over me ...............dirrrrrrrrrrty bas'tards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

Slightly off topic, but the most horrible wake-up my father never had was when he slept through a fire alarm, thankfully it was only a false alarm!