Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Still Waters No Longer Running, Derp.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭iwantmydinner

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    :eek: I forgot that one.

I. Am. Morto. Like.

:o

Ok so it's:

1. Atheist.
    2. Homosexual.
    3. Feminist.
    4. Mother (and grandmother) of bastards.
    5. Socially liberal.
    6. Anti-Cleric.
    7. Academic 'intellectual'.
    8. Socialist.
    9. Anonymous internet type commentator.
    10. Possessor of a womb.

What else have I missed?

I have 7 out of ten there... Imma call that a win.

*high fives self*

• Registered Users Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

Pherekydes wrote: »
    Corkonian? :D

True. They are bound to hate us cos we is perfect.
    B0jangles wrote: »
    (ex?) Rugby player?; I bet they hate them too for some reason.

Player of a 'foreign' game perhaps?

Good suggestions but I reckon we need at least one published rant for the 'thing' to qualify.

Has Waters complained about being called a langer???
    My 80 year old mother called him one last night but sadly she wasn't on RTE at the time. If I told ye what she said about Iona the lawyers would have boards sued before I even hit post.

Has he mentioned rugby in his rants against D4 lib'ral blah blah?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

Have you read Harry Potter? If so you could probably add "supporter of witchcraft and dark arts" to that resume:D

swampgas wrote: »
    Historical revisionist ? :pac:

Yes!

Historical revisionist who claims there were wimmez in the past wat did more than bake cakes and birth babbies, that the ol Gaels had no problems with the gays and Ireland was in me hole as Catholic as we have been led to believe.

We now have:

1. Atheist.
    2. Homosexual.
    3. Feminist.
    5. Socially liberal.
    6. Anti-Cleric.
    8. Socialist.
    10. Possessor of a womb.
    11. Historical revisionist.

A few more and I might be able to make their heads implode just by existing.

bumper234 wrote: »
    Have you read Harry Potter? If so you could probably add "supporter of witchcraft and dark arts" to that resume:D

Ohhh...

AND I happen to be very good friends with an actual witch (lovely woman) and I have lectured on the witchtrials and said they were bad m'kay.

Thought of another one - did some Drag Kinging for a laugh so we can add messing with gender roles.

Plus we forgot secularist AND officially defected from the RCC - DOH!

Anyone know what their position on attendance at art colleges and fancy dancy Frenchy style cheffing is?

Can we hit 20?

1. Atheist.
    2. Homosexual.
    3. Feminist.
    5. Socially liberal.
    6. Anti-Cleric.
    8. Socialist.
    10. Possessor of a womb.
    12. Supporter of Witchcraft and the Dark Arts.
    13. Gender discombobulationist.
    14. Secularist.
    15. Apostate

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,410 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Fun times...

March 4th (via broadsheet)

Bf5HoNzIUAAItSA.jpg-large.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,232 ✭✭✭Brian Shanahan

Nodin wrote: »
    RTE suggested giving the total sum (€40,000) to charity but John decided to take it and has yet to decide what to do with it. But there are several charities he works closely with," he said.

Translation to ordinary (if wordy) English: "John really, really doesn't want to give up the money, but we're trying to persuade him that it is in his best interests to give it away, as from a PR standpoint he will look a right tool keeping it, especially after claiming he only wanted €15k to go to charity and self drafted apology."

All that statement is doing is trying to buy time while Iona's (or his own) PR people try to persuade the aul' homophobe that he's looking really stupid by keeping onto the money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,232 ✭✭✭Brian Shanahan

1. Atheist.
    2. Homosexual.
    3. Feminist.
    5. Socially liberal.
    6. Anti-Cleric.
    8. Socialist.

Given the amount of time you've spent across the water they'll probably apply the biggest
    9. Sassenach.

And you're definitely:
    10. Female who doesn't know her right place (tied to the kitchen sink adoring and constantly deferring to her husband and master).

• Registered Users Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

ninja900 wrote: »
    Legal tender means currency which a creditor must accept if offered to settle a debt.

A retailer offering goods for sale isn't obliged to accept legal tender, they can refuse large notes for instance. No debt exists because they keep the goods and you keep your money. Now if you ate a nice restaurant meal for two (well, not on your own) for say, €100 and all you had in your wallet was a €500 note, and they say it's not their policy to accept €500 notes, it would get interesting, as a debt exists as you've already eaten the meal :)

I understand that, but since the money is, essentially, a gift to JW do the laws governing transactions (i.e. the exchange of money for goods or services) and the acceptance of coins cover it?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,417 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

ninja900 wrote: »
    Iona have charitable status, don't they
    I believe they do, no doubt under the "advancement of religion" clause.

That said, given their achievements in the area of advancement over the last few weeks, perhaps it's time for them to stop claiming that particular state benefit.

I Forgot Pro-Choice!

How the hell could we have missed that????

Revised list:

(In no particular order of importance to them)

1. Atheist.
    2. Homosexual.
    3. Feminist.
    5. Socially liberal.
    6. Anti-Cleric.
    8. Socialist.
    10. Possessor of a womb.
    14. Secularist.
    15. Apostate
    16. Pro-Choice.
    17. Anglophile (N.B term defined as meaning not a little Irelander)

Lads - If I hit 20 I may post myself to them. :p

• Registered Users Posts: 16,164 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Heretic!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

I Forgot Pro-Choice!

How the hell could we have missed that????

Revised list:

1. Atheist.
    2. Homosexual.
    3. Feminist.
    5. Socially liberal.
    6. Anti-Cleric.
    8. Socialist.
    10. Possessor of a womb.
    14. Secularist.
    15. Apostate
    16. Pro-Choice.

Lads - If I hit 20 I may post myself to them. :p

Don't mean to get personal but do you masturbate? I believe this is against the rules of the church too and could also set you on the fast track to hellfire and brimstone. Or so the Christian Brothers used to tell us every week.

Pherekydes wrote: »
    Heretic!

True.
    bumper234 wrote: »
    Don't mean to get personal but do you masturbate? I believe this is against the rules of the church too and could also set you on the fast track to hellfire and brimstone. Or so the Christian Brothers used to tell us every week.

Doesn't everyone even if it is only 'I'm just sitting on the washing machine to steady it'.

Revised Revised list

1. Atheist.
    2. Homosexual.
    3. Feminist.
    5. Socially liberal.
    6. Anti-Cleric.
    8. Socialist.
    10. Possessor of a womb.
    14. Secularist.
    15. Apostate
    16. Pro-Choice.
    18. Heretic and Blasphemer.
    19. A Diddling Jill
    (be very careful of the search terms when looking up euphemisms for female masturbation :eek:)

This list makes me look far more 'edgy' and interesting then I actually am btw.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,902 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

A 'bad' influence on impressionable young catholic minds in our universities.

I wouldn't bet money against some wealthy Irish-American establishing a Bob Jones-type (but catholic) looniversity here within the next ten years.

The Dublin Airport cap is damaging the economy of Ireland as a whole, and must be scrapped forthwith.

kylith wrote: »
    I understand that, but since the money is, essentially, a gift to JW do the laws governing transactions (i.e. the exchange of money for goods or services) and the acceptance of coins cover it?

It may well not.
    But if he's not happy with the method of delivery of the settlement, he can always have another nasty letter sent!

The Dublin Airport cap is damaging the economy of Ireland as a whole, and must be scrapped forthwith.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,776 ✭✭✭Mark Hamill

1. Atheist.
    2. Homosexual.
    3. Feminist.
    5. Socially liberal.
    6. Anti-Cleric.
    8. Socialist.
    10. Possessor of a womb.
    14. Secularist.
    15. Apostate
    16. Pro-Choice.
    19. A Diddling Jill
    (be very careful of the search terms when looking up euphemisms for female masturbation :eek:)

Are you married to your partner? If not, wouldn't that make you an adulterer?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Lucy8080

True.

Doesn't everyone even if it is only 'I'm just sitting on the washing machine to steady it'.

Revised Revised list

1. Atheist.
    2. Homosexual.
    3. Feminist.
    5. Socially liberal.
    6. Anti-Cleric.
    8. Socialist.
    10. Possessor of a womb.
    14. Secularist.
    15. Apostate
    16. Pro-Choice.
    19. A Diddling Jill

Mother,grandmother and human being.

That would be a nice number twenty. I.m.o.

Oops...was skimming missed number 4...maybe it's worth saying twice.

Can't marry partner.

and it's not worth marrying a man just to get #20 :P

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,518 Mod ✭✭✭✭5uspect

Surely employed and tax paying?

5uspect wrote: »
    Surely employed and tax paying?

Do 'they' not like that? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Are we a going to see John in March????

efb wrote: »
    Are we a going to see John in March????

and April, May, June, July... :mad:

Do 'they' not like that? :eek:

Well you're a woman aren't you? Shouldn't you be at home making cakes?

5uspect wrote: »
    Well you're a woman aren't you? Shouldn't you be at home making cakes?

Ah, gottcha...I do actually make cakes.

Given that there are some working women among 'them' I don't think they have actually ranted on that particular topic - which is our touchstone in this little exercise - surely they can't be that hypocritical?

I know... I know..., I may be letting the sistahs down with the cake making but I like cake. I'm very fussy about cake. I make nice cakes.

Oh there's nothing wrong with a bit of baking... Mmmn cake.

Well I guess nobody's perfect. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

Can't marry partner.

and it's not worth marrying a man just to get #20 :P

What was JCs pleasant turn of phrase (or was it someone else, they all blend into one)? Ahh, yes. Fornicator. Consensual sex between two unmarried individuals.

BINGO!

We have #20 :)

Revised revised revised list

1. Atheist.
    2. Homosexual.
    3. Feminist.
    5. Socially liberal.
    6. Anti-Cleric.
    8. Socialist.
    10. Possessor of a womb.
    14. Secularist.
    15. Apostate
    16. Pro-Choice.
    19. A Diddling Jill
    20. Fornicator.

Where the hell do I find the time?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Where the hell do I find the time?

It's amazing how much free time you get by not going to mass and not worrying about all that catholic stuff.

I was going to suggest Fornicator but then I was unsure if it's only for heteros?

(Ancient joke : Heteros? Didn't he play for Real Madrid?)