Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Still Waters No Longer Running, Derp.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,447 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

lazygal wrote: »
    https://www.joe.ie/news/tuam-irish-journalist-john-waters-605900

He hasn't gone away you know. But he has gone out foreign.

Fingers crossed its a one-way ticket.

He is off to tell the yanks that the Tuam stuff is all a hoax, and that the children died from natural causes.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,648 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Gintonious wrote: »
    Fingers crossed its a one-way ticket.

He is off to tell the yanks that the Tuam stuff is all a hoax, and that the children died from natural causes.

...and they just forgot to record the burials. Yeah, that's it.

Fingal County Council are certainly not competent to be making decisions about the most important piece of infrastructure on the island. They need to stick to badly designed cycle lanes and deciding on whether Mrs Murphy can have her kitchen extension.

Its becoming increasingly clear that he is a very ill man if he believes even half of what he says.

I do hope RTE or any Irish channel refrain from having him on any panels to discuss the 8th Ref, his moral barometer is clearly very very broken.

*Of course, he will definitely be on RTE

• Registered Users Posts: 8,091 ✭✭✭Odhinn

Gintonious wrote: »
    Its becoming increasingly clear that he is a very ill man if he believes even half of what he says.

I do hope RTE or any Irish channel refrain from having him on any panels to discuss the 8th Ref, his moral barometer is clearly very very broken.

*Of course, he will definitely be on RTE

America being large as it is, he can probably make a decent living talking to the "fringe" over there.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,247 ✭✭✭pauldla

...and they just forgot to record the burials. Yeah, that's it.

The remains were just resting in that septic tank.

:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Is that Breda O'Brian one the eejit that wrote the article about women covering their hair in Church/in general?

• Moderators Posts: 51,765 ✭✭✭✭Delirium

John Waters attacks media ‘hoax’ over Tuam scandal

Writer criticises the use of ‘Holocaust’ to describe mother-and-baby home deaths

Writer and commentator John Waters has told an audience in the United States that he doesn’t object to the work of Galway-based historian Catherine Corless or the story of the children of the Tuam mother-and-baby home.

However, he said he did object to how some media outlets in Ireland and internationally had reported the story, calling their journalism a “hoax”.

Speaking on Saturday at the University of Notre Dame, Waters denounced the use of the word “Holocaust” in relation to the deaths of children at the mother-and-baby home in Tuam, Co Galway.

“Of course there’s a story of Ireland, of these women and of these children. It’s just not a story of slaughter and murder. That’s my point,” he said.

About 200 people gathered to hear Waters give one of the presentations at the 18th annual Fall Conference of the university’s Centre for Ethics and Culture. The title of his talk was “When Evil Becomes Virtual: Cyberspace, Failing Media, and the Hoax of the ‘Holocaust of Tuam’”.

Waters claimed the story would not have received as much attention if media outlets had not claimed skeletons were found in a septic tank.

“I want to stop this story from doing the rounds as it has been doing,” he said.

Criticising media reporting of the Tuam story, he said the hoax “resides on the word ‘journalism’, which used to be associated with truth and facts and has now become a byword for the poisonous propaganda”.

Full Article

If you can read this, you're too close!

• Registered Users Posts: 40,411 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

well if anybody knows about poisonous propaganda masquerading as journalism it is waters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

well if anybody knows about poisonous propaganda masquerading as journalism it is waters.

Very true. John Waters is poisonous, vile individual with hateful opinions. Writer of hardline Catholic articles and composer of a few forgettable songs one of which was used in and came last in the Eurovision = John Waters.

His other major achievements are riding Sinead O'Connor, and sitting in the nip for a portrait.

Fingal County Council are certainly not competent to be making decisions about the most important piece of infrastructure on the island. They need to stick to badly designed cycle lanes and deciding on whether Mrs Murphy can have her kitchen extension.

• Moderators Posts: 51,765 ✭✭✭✭Delirium

His other major achievements are riding Sinead O'Connor, and sitting in the nip for a portrait.

Never happened!! >.<

giphy.gif

:P:P

If you can read this, you're too close!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,414 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

Delirium wrote: »
    Never happened!! >.<

It did indeed happen. Here's a screen capture from what I believe is the original Naked program on RTE in 2011, for which he was painted by artist Nick Miller:

The placing of the hairy paintbrushes to frame the hirsute Mr Waters is a nice juxtaposition, though the ensemble is a little difficult to forget.

433448.jpg

I thought it harrowing enough to invoke the memory, without posting the visual to go with it :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 9,788 ✭✭✭MrPudding

robindch wrote: »
    ...though the ensemble is a little difficult to forget.
    Yes, it was difficult to forget, but it was something that many of us were managing to do, until you posted it again. :mad:

MrP

O.O

SOME of us had managed to get through our lives until now not knowing that image existed!

I cannot return to the blissful state of 20 seconds ago ever again now.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,344 ✭✭✭✭looksee

He could have made better use of the bunch of flowers.

looksee wrote: »

A bigger one. Perhaps a whole rhododendron hedge.

Probably best leave the daffodils wilt where they are, as having them standing erect in that place suggests a horror beyond the simply nude.

Samaris wrote: »
    A bigger one. Perhaps a whole rhododendron hedge.

I remember years ago hearing about some 'christian brother' who liked to strip naked and throw himself into a thorny hedge as a form of penance

• Registered Users Posts: 20,184 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

I don’t mean to be a spoil sport but I’m not comfortable with taking the micky out of a dumpy middle aged man for being dumpy and middle aged.

His ideas and behaviours are fair game. His nasty, spiteful, dishonest ideas and behaviours are ripe for criticism. But not his attractiveness.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,344 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Hi El Duderino, I appreciate your thoughts on this bit of the discussion, and you are to some extent correct. However I am not reading that the micky taking referred to him being dumpy and middle aged - you are the only person to mention this. Any of the comments could have referred to anyone who chose to sit 'in the nip' for a really ridiculous portrait, not showing a flicker of humour, and then make it public.

He chose to appear naked on a TV show ffs. Not the cleverest thing to do imo no matter what you look like.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,184 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Hi El Duderino, I appreciate your thoughts on this bit of the discussion, and you are to some extent correct. However I am not reading that the micky taking referred to him being dumpy and middle aged - you are the only person to mention this. Any of the comments could have referred to anyone who chose to sit 'in the nip' for a really ridiculous portrait, not showing a flicker of humour, and then make it public.
    Yeah fair enough. I kinda admire an old codger who would pose for a warts and all portrait in the nip. If I liked him I’d say fair play.

His behaviour is his most unattractive aspect anyway.

Hold the front pages!

Fresh from his success in Notre Dame, Mr Waters will be joining Mr Ganley and a stern-faced Fr Marcel G - no surname given; is he a rapper prelate? - to travel the nation, addressing "The Crisis of Democracy".

Early bird tickets are available now, in case anybody's worried that the tour will be a sell-out, at least in the primary meaning of the term.

https://www.facebook.com/crisisofdemocracyireland/

434242.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 40,411 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

that priest looks a right barrel of laughs.

He'd fit right in here with a face like that

However it seems thats Fr. Marcel Guarnizo who refused communion to a lesbian woman attending her mothers funeral
    https://www.huffingtonpost.com/john-shore/father-marcel-guarnizo-not-the-whole-story_b_1311289.html
    Subsequently he appears to have become somewhat of a "folk hero" amongst the 'I am not a homophobe..............................But.....' brigade.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,164 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

"Ambassador Thorn, I want to speak to you about your son. When the Jews return to Zion / And a comet rips the sky / And the Holy Roman Empire rises, / Then You and I must die. / From the eternal sea he rises, / Creating armies on either shore, / Turning man against his brother / 'Til man exists no more."

The crisis of democracy. :pac:

*May be a misquote.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,993 ✭✭✭✭recedite

robindch wrote: »
    Fr Marcel G - no surname given; is he a rapper prelate? - to travel the nation, addressing "The Crisis of Democracy".
    What does he want... a return to theocracy??

recedite wrote: »
    What does he want... a return to theocracy??

From the net
    "A friend gave me a CD of Fr Guarnizo speaking at a Catholic Voice (Irish Catholic newspaper) conferance 2014 that I have listened to many times.
    The subject of his talk was 'The culture of death and the demise of democracy.' His faith, philosophy and logic are outstanding, perhaps the greatest talk I have heard in my long lifetime. Sadly it is not on-line.

He shows the Devil in democracy where a majority can allow the legality of child murder while at the same time forbid all other murder. He addresses the myth of homosexuality as an inhereted gene and explaind it is a perversion of the natural order, just as eating too much or eating to little deserving no particular status.
    He also shows the absurdity of 'same sex marriage' in a marvelous way.

The problem is socialism he said, obviously the 'error of Russia' that Our Lady warned would engulf the western world."
    https://www.cathinfo.com/fighting-errors-in-the-modern-world/fr-marcel-guarnizo-a-priest-for-our-time/
    Also
    http://www.catholicstand.com/radical-homosexuals-want-to-have-their-ideological-cake-and-make-you-eat-it-too/