Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Intrinsic Value?

Options
  • 06-07-2011 1:07am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭

Hey, this concept came up in a thread on the Christianity forum. I sense it is better suited here. I'm new to the idea so don't really have any opinion to offer of my own as of yet (apologies) so just wanted to throw the question out there.

Does intrinsic value exist?

Comments

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,258 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Perhaps a philosophical definition is needed, as there are other disciplines like equity investments within economics that also claims the concept. According to the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy:

"The intrinsic value of something is said to be the value that that thing has in itself, or for its own sake, or as such, or in its own right.”

Moore in Principia Ethica finds intrinsic value central to ethics, but problematic to analyze. In isolation there may be some agreement, but once we review intrinsic values in real world contexts, the debate begins.

Max Weber in Economy and Society contended that no one is value free; i.e., that we are all biased in how we intrinsically value things: One person's freedom fighter is another person's terrorist.