Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Frank Duffy 10m - 20/08/2011

191011121315»

• Registered Users Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Johnnio13

3 stars (average)
    Enjoyed the race.Was off for the last week with calf-strain. Managed a 1.22 so uber-chuffed at that - but did make the injury worse. Could have done the sub 1.20 like last year but with 800 to go calf muscle went.

Did have a problem with the waves. Was back of wave 1, apart from a couple of slow runners it wasn't too bad

It was awfully quite though. I let a roar at a group of chinese tourists that were standing at the obelisk and they all cheered back. That got me going for the last 4miles!! The chinese - a great bunch of lads.

• Registered Users Posts: 366 ✭✭Jk_Eire

3 stars (average)
    Really enjoyed this race.
    I was aiming for sub 80 mins and finished with a nice 79:47, so I was very pleased.

Here are my splits:
    Mile 1 - 8:10
    Mile 2 - 7:40
    Mile 3 - 7:46
    Mile 4 - 7:53
    Mile 5 - 8:28 (my left foot started to go numb and I stopped twice to loosen laces.)
    Mile 6 - 8:16 (still running a little heavy with the feeling coming back to my foot)
    Mile 7 - 8:04
    Mile 8 - 7:56
    Mile 9 - 7:42
    Mile 10 - 7:47.

Delighted to run sub 8 min miles for most of the race.
    Going by the reactions here I must have been one of few people who found the wave start just right. I was a little over half way up wave one and I managed 8:10 in my first mile which was just 12 seconds over my average mile a minute pace for the race. Had to dodge a few people, but it was plain sailing for the most part in the first mile.

There was one goon in an orange t-shirt pushing a buggie and overtaking people at pace within the first mile. Pretty much stuck his buggie into any space that would fit so he could overtake. Judging by reactions, he pissed off a lot of people. The marshals should have pulled him.

The last hill onto the acres was a curse but I managed to regain myself for the last 200 metres for a nice sprint finish involving 3 other runners. Nearly passed out when I crossed the line, but managed to beat them :D

• Registered Users Posts: 7,806 ✭✭✭corny

Jk_Eire wrote: »
    Really enjoyed this race.
    I was aiming for sub 80 mins and finished with a nice 79:47, so I was very pleased.

Here are my splits:
    Mile 1 - 8:10
    Mile 2 - 7:40
    Mile 3 - 7:46
    Mile 4 - 7:53
    Mile 5 - 8:28 (my left foot started to go numb and I stopped twice to loosen laces.)
    Mile 6 - 8:16 (still running a little heavy with the feeling coming back to my foot)
    Mile 7 - 8:04
    Mile 8 - 7:56
    Mile 9 - 7:42
    Mile 10 - 7:47.

Delighted to run sub 8 min miles for most of the race.
    Going by the reactions here I must have been one of few people who found the wave start just right. I was a little over half way up wave one and I managed 8:10 in my first mile which was just 12 seconds over my average mile a minute pace for the race. Had to dodge a few people, but it was plain sailing for the most part in the first mile.

There was one goon in an orange t-shirt pushing a buggie and overtaking people at pace within the first mile. Pretty much stuck his buggie into any space that would fit so he could overtake. Judging by reactions, he pissed off a lot of people. The marshals should have pulled him.

The last hill onto the acres was a curse but I managed to regain myself for the last 200 metres for a nice sprint finish involving 3 other runners.

I finished 6 seconds ahead you JK and like you i found i was exactly in the right spot. Ran on the path overtaking people in the first mile but nothing really held me up (ran 8.07 split).

• Registered Users Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

3 stars (average)
    liamog wrote: »
    I thought technical T Shirt just means it has holes in it

Yeah, pretty much. I think the holes are supposed to be small enough to let sweat vapour out, but not let water in, and the material doesn't hold on to the water as much as cotton.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 smileyc86

Pretty happy with my time of 73.36. Had aimed for 73.00-74.00 so besides a slow 1st mile i paced pretty well.

I find it quite dangerous letting people run with buggies and agree with JK Eire about the lad in the orange top with the buggy aggressively overtaking people. He really got on my nerves when he nearly went through me when i was overtaking someone else in the 2nd mile.

Otherwise was a well run & enjoyable race. Bring on the half marathon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 CJDubsFan

4 stars (good)
    The lad in the Orange T-Shirt pushing the buggie passed me with half a mile to go. Knew I was having a C**p last mile when he went by though he must have been wrecked running up the last hill.

Strife- Not getting a proper Goodie bag is not good enough. Everyone pays the same entry fee & organisers know the numbers running in advance. Hopefully this won't happen again in half Marathon.

Good to see some people out running in Clontarf this evening wearing their purple Technical T-Shirts.

• Registered Users Posts: 32 DixNeuf

3 stars (average)
    liamog wrote: »

Ah ok.

ah sure, I had techinical 100% polyester tshirt as a kid,...so Technical is just a snake oil term then? :D

(Apoligies for the derail.)

I thought technical T Shirt just means it has holes in it
    Technical T-shirt just means that technically, it's a t-shirt :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 20,991 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Ah ok.

ah sure, I had techinical 100% polyester tshirt as a kid,...so Technical is just a snake oil term then? :D

(Apoligies for the derail.)

The majority of running tops are polyester.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,505 ✭✭✭daymobrew

3 stars (average)
    dernipper wrote: »
    Not sure if it was just a once off 'follow the herd moment" or ongoing during the race but anyone else see the people cheating and cutting the corner at mile 5-6 before the turn onto the path?

Why would you do this? Sad, sad people and a far bigger crime in my book then being in the wrong wave
    Are you talking about the left turn off Wellington Road onto the footpath?
    If so, it is not possible to cut that corner because the fenced in area either side of it.
    Or are you referring to people mounting the footpath on the approach to the turn? (I did this to avoid being running into anyone when I turned left - I did not see any distance advantage).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭Donny5

4 stars (good)
    daymobrew wrote: »
    Are you talking about the left turn off Wellington Road onto the footpath?
    If so, it is not possible to cut that corner because the fenced in area either side of it.
    Or are you referring to people mounting the footpath on the approach to the turn? (I did this to avoid being running into anyone when I turned left - I did not see any distance advantage).

I think he means cutting through here instead of running on to the roundabout, which is about 20m farther. I think that's what he's referring to, anyway. I went through there following the crowd.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭outforarun

4 stars (good)
    Donny5 wrote: »
    I think he means cutting through here instead of running on to the roundabout, which is about 20m farther. I think that's what he's referring to, anyway. I went through there following the crowd.

I didn't see anybody not going through there. I went through there myself, like you did following the crowd. Besides I think if you go round the outside by the roundabout there is a metal black fence blocking you from getting back in.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭ergonomics

2 stars (poor)
    dernipper wrote: »
    Not sure if it was just a once off 'follow the herd moment" or ongoing during the race but anyone else see the people cheating and cutting the corner at mile 5-6 before the turn onto the path?

Why would you do this? Sad, sad people and a far bigger crime in my book then being in the wrong wave

There was a woman near me for the last 3 or 4 miles and she cut every corner possible. She walked across the grass from half way along Old Lamp Road to half way along North Road. If she could cut a corner she did. I tried to get her race number as I was tempted to name and shame her but she saw me and blocked it! Despite her corner cutting I still finished ahead of her. I made sure I did.

Why take part if you're going to do something like that?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭Donny5

4 stars (good)
    outforarun wrote: »
    I didn't see anybody not going through there. I went through there myself, like you did following the crowd. Besides I think if you go round the outside by the roundabout there is a metal black fence blocking you from getting back in.

Yeah, I think you're right. Maybe dernipper saw people cutting through here in the fence? That looks like a big short cut, but my ruler says about 15m.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭outforarun

4 stars (good)
    Donny5 wrote: »
    Yeah, I think you're right. Maybe dernipper saw people cutting through here in the fence? That looks like a big short cut, but my ruler says about 15m.

Yeah, that would make more sense alright. Ok my money's on that being the short-cut dernipper saw.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,551 ✭✭✭chinguetti

2 stars (poor)
    Passed buggy man going up the hill at Acres Road and he seems to be going ok.

However, i nearly said to him that he was to go up the S bends as he was to start in Wave 3 from what i remembered reading that the DCM said in their email last week. Tis lucky i didn't i suppose.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

3 stars (average)
    chinguetti wrote: »
    However, i nearly said to him that he was to go up the S bends as he was to start in Wave 3 from what i remembered reading that the DCM said in their email last week. Tis lucky i didn't i suppose.

Yeah, they were announcing that on the day too - all buggies to start in wave 3.

• Registered Users Posts: 150 ✭✭dernipper

Suffer from a bit of goldfish syndrome when it comes to matching incidents during a race to when they occurred but almost certain it was just before the left hand turn onto the path for miles 5-6 what I am 100% sure is that it was a shortcut and not people running on the foothpath, a considerable group (15 - 20) took a left and ran diagonal across the clearly out of bounds grass park thus avoiding the bend and then joined the footpath, there was no fence in this section so they had no problem jointing the footpath, the actually advantage in distance terms was insignificant it was the mentality that I wonder about, also accept that there was those who did this by accident and not intentional,

• Registered Users Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

4 stars (good)
    Lads at the end of the day they are only cheating themselves from knowing their real potential. IMO, It shouldn't matter what shortcuts they take unless they are receiving prizes that should rightfully go to someone else..i know it bad sportsmanship but like i said cheating themselves!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 150 ✭✭dernipper

I appreciate what you are saying and in many ways you are correct however I think iit does matter. For one it is certainly not in the spirit of the event nor does it display an appreciation of what competition is about and the ethic required to train for an event and see incremental improvements over time as a result of effort,

Younganne wrote: »
    Lads at the end of the day they are only cheating themselves from knowing their real potential. IMO, It shouldn't matter what shortcuts they take unless they are receiving prizes that should rightfully go to someone else..i know it bad sportsmanship but like i said cheating themselves!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 474 ✭✭potsy11

4 stars (good)
    Younganne wrote: »

RQ|75:01|
    EJ|89:59|
    WHIP IT!|85:00|
    folan|95:00|
    RayCun|74|
    Steviecakes|79:59|
    smileyc86|73.00|
    outforarun|74:59|
    metamorphosis|65:00|
    macinalli|68:00|
    Buck|100:00|
    menoscemo|67:50|
    Jet Black|100:00|
    rovers_runner|89:59|84:13
    belcarra|Sub 78|77:13 (TBC by chip...)
    Pistol|80:00|
    Krusty_Clown|59:30|
    7mile|62.59.|
    PDCAT|79.59|
    ILikeBananas|84:59|
    Tec Diver|79:58|
    Couedelion|89:59|
    jester1980|84:59|
    pconn062|75:59|
    paulb79|74:59|
    Vagga|77:30|
    Catseye2|76:30|
    liamog|84:59|
    brownian|59:59|
    antomagoo|77:00|
    Jk_Eire|79:59|
    Spanx|76:00|
    pulpo|67:00|
    TheT|89:59|
    Inquitus|84:30|75:27
    NeedsTraining|64:16|
    Marthastew|74.59|
    Caprica|61:29|
    PaulieYifter|74:00|
    cwgatling|63:59|
    Potsy|72.00|:D71.57 Get in there
    run44|94:00|
    opus|< 64:00|
    Lex Luther|63.59|
    Mike D|89.45|
    28064212|89.59|
    WB Yeats|79.59|
    RoverHogan|66:00|
    Corny|82.42|
    PDiddyW|79.45|
    devotional1993|56.00|
    Peckham|67:30|
    DogSlySmile|64:59|
    Tunguska|55:30|
    L&P|66:00:00|
    razor12345|00:94:59|
    funrunner95|82:00|
    12weeks12miles|00:99.59| 00:98:01 :) !! first timer :)
    AdrianII|85:00| 79.04
    ButchMG|68:30|
    James Howlett|74:00|
    Younganne|98.00|92:12:D
    theboyblunder|59:59|
    i008787|79:59|
    DublinDilbert|78:00|
    cr17|79:59|79:17|
    [/QUOTE]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭pistol_75

4 stars (good)

RayCun|74|
    smileyc86|73.00|
    Pistol|80:00|78:22
    7mile|62.59.|
    PDCAT|79.59|
    Marthastew|74.59|
    Potsy|72.00|:D71.57 Get in there
    Lex Luther|63.59|
    Mike D|89.45|
    28064212|89.59|
    WB Yeats|79.59|
    Corny|82.42|
    PDiddyW|79.45|
    devotional1993|56.00|
    funrunner95|82:00|
    12weeks12miles|00:99.59| 00:98:01 :) !! first timer :)
    Younganne|98.00|92:12:D

• Registered Users Posts: 7,806 ✭✭✭corny

ergonomics wrote: »
    There was a woman near me for the last 3 or 4 miles and she cut every corner possible. She walked across the grass from half way along Old Lamp Road to half way along North Road. If she could cut a corner she did. I tried to get her race number as I was tempted to name and shame her but she saw me and blocked it! Despite her corner cutting I still finished ahead of her. I made sure I did.

Why take part if you're going to do something like that?!

Says more about you that you felt threatened enough to want to beat her. Honestly who gives a ****. She cheats herself and no one else. Mind your own business and run YOUR race.

corny wrote: »
    Says more about you that you felt threatened enough to want to beat her. Honestly who gives a ****. Mind your own business and run YOUR race.

Technically that makes it a time trial and not a race ;) In a race you want to beat every single person that you can. I do see the Dublin marathon series more as time trials alright though, far too many people to make race position anyway meaningful. It wouldn't bother me to see someone ahead of me in a large race cheating, if it was a small race where I was chasing a position, I'd be mega pissed off.

• Registered Users Posts: 78 ✭✭cr17

Unless your an elite runner going for the win, who cares what others do.
    99.9 % of the runners are running against their own times and thats their race.

In the vast majority of races I do, I have a list of rivals who I want to beat and that's the fun of racing. That goes for people at all levels in the field. You don't need to be an elite runner to race against someone.

• Registered Users Posts: 177 ✭✭funrunner95

RayCun|74|
    smileyc86|73.00|
    7mile|62.59.|
    PDCAT|79.59|
    Marthastew|74.59|
    Potsy|72.00|71.57 Get in there
    Lex Luther|63.59|
    Mike D|89.45|
    28064212|89.59|
    WB Yeats|79.59|
    Corny|82.42|
    PDiddyW|79.45|
    devotional1993|56.00|
    funrunner95|82:00|83:27 :(
    12weeks12miles|00:99.59| 00:98:01 !! first timer
    Younganne|98.00|92:12

I didn't make my target time, but I enjoyed the race and am happy with my time none the less. I have to agree with the previous posters re buggys they are dangerous to other runners and should be banned, I'm surprised by the fact they havent been by now. Congestion was bad again but I think its a fact of life of any big race in the Phoenix Park. Those Chinese tourists were hilarious!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,703 ✭✭✭PDCAT

4 stars (good)

RayCun|74|
    smileyc86|73.00|
    7mile|62.59.|
    PDCAT|79.59| -- 79.57 (Two seconds faster than my target time).
    Marthastew|74.59|
    Potsy|72.00|71.57 Get in there
    Lex Luther|63.59|
    Mike D|89.45|
    28064212|89.59|
    WB Yeats|79.59|
    Corny|82.42|
    PDiddyW|79.45|
    devotional1993|56.00|
    funrunner95|82:00|83:27 :(
    12weeks12miles|00:99.59| 00:98:01 !! first timer
    Younganne|98.00|92:12

Only two seconds off my target time.

• Registered Users Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Johnnio13

3 stars (average)
    Queried the time with Dublinmarathon and they changed it? Think just to appease me...but seriously I wouldn't be trusting those throw away chips unless they match your watch.