Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

After Hours beers in O'Connells pub Galway, Aug 13th.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

I should probably figure out staying somewhere if im going ;s

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

I would love to go but doubt you would let this headcase join ye. Maybe I should change my username before I attend a boards beers.

I have an idea. How about monthly beer events. Not only in galway but other cities around ireland like dublin, cork, limerick could host a beers event. And maybe we could get a new forum just for boards beers events. Just an idea.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

ilovesleep wrote: »
    I would love to go but doubt you would let this headcase join ye. Maybe I should change my username before I attend a boards beers.

Everybody will be made welcome

August 20th
    ilovesleep wrote: »

I have an idea. How about monthly beer events. Not only in galway but other cities around ireland like dublin, cork, limerick could host a beers event. And maybe we could get a new forum just for boards beers events. Just an idea.

Anybody who takes issues that arose from threads on the website to a beers should be just asked to leave.

Most forums hold their own beers anyways. Check out the Regional forums.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

Anybody who takes issues that arose from threads on the website to a beers should be just asked to leave.

Most forums hold their own beers anyways. Check out the Regional forums.

Amen brother.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

anyone know of hotels nearby with a late bar or hostels that allow drink in the rooms ?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

I got my hours in work for August and I def can't make it.

Ye can breathe a sigh of relief :pac:

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Swap the day on with somebody else. They'll understand if you just tell them you have to meet your friends from the internet.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

August 27th
    I won't be making this i'm afriad. Have to go to Roscommon instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

August 27th
    super-rush wrote: »
    You're dead to me. I'm inconsolable.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

August 27th
    g'em wrote: »
    You're dead to me. I'm inconsolable.

I would have went if it was in Dublin...

August 27th

I'm very disappointed in you :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭mstan

Why dont we just move the whole thing to Ros. Beers in the Hollywood and finish the night off in Rockfords!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭Hermione*

August 27th
    I'm very disappointed in you :(
    Me, too :( I was looking forward to finally meeting you, SR!

Y'know there's Citylink busses that leave Galway at 2am for the city?

(it's gonna be my Nitelink to the parent's place anyways)

Edit: This has nothing to do with you owing me a drink, does it? ("yeh scabby fecker" if so.)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,964 ✭✭✭ToniTuddle

August 27th

Well there goes that game of Kings in the pub!!:p

anyone know of hotels nearby with a late bar or hostels that allow drink in the rooms ?

Yes I'll be interested in this as well.

ToniTuddle wrote: »
    Well there goes that game of Kings in the pub!!:p

Whats this Royal game you speak of?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,964 ✭✭✭ToniTuddle

August 27th
    YFlyer wrote: »
    Yes I'll be interested in this as well.

I've never asked a hostel if I was allowed drink in the rooms....I've just drank in them end off! They can't search your bags :pac:
    YFlyer wrote: »
    Whats this Royal game you speak of?

It causes much joy but also suffering at the end of the night!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

May have a change of plans. Orbital are playing in salthill that night...

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

August 20th
    This one time AH beers are held somewhere else there's Dubs crying to high heavens and a Dub beers is being organised on the same night, in Dublin so Dubs don't have to feel left out.
    Boo ****ing Hoo.

I hope this will show that AH is more than "town" and open up possibilities to have AH beers in Cork, Belfast, Waterford, Athlone... each time I'm sure with a certain regional group feeling hard done by because they're not treated like the most important people in AH.

Anyway, if you're over from Dublin for this beers, come up to me and say hi, I promise to be extra nice because you took the time and made the effort to come all the way to Galway for this one. Fair play.

August 27th
    biko wrote: »
    This one time AH beers are held somewhere else there's Dubs crying to high heavens and a Dub beers is being organised on the same night, in Dublin so Dubs don't have to feel left out.
    Boo ****ing Hoo.

Did SR actually succeed in trolling his own forum?

August 20th
    Nah, he's from Carlow.
    One day we will have one there too :)

August 27th
    Nah, he's from Carlow.
    One day we will have one there too :)

Yep, I knew he was from Carlow, that's why I thought...ah forget it, I picked that up alll wrong!

So if I come up to you at the beers will I get a pat on back from coming all the way from Dublin?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭dilallio

The Foster Court Hotel (Morgans Bar) on Foster St is only 2 mins around the corner (200 metres). It's beside the new bus station, and has no problems serving late beers for 'residents'.

No idea on their room rates though.

http://maps.google.com/maps?saddr=Eyre+Square&daddr=Forster+St&hl=en&sll=53.274886,-9.046812&sspn=0.001036,0.001918&geocode=FdfnLAMdVu51_w%3BFcrpLAMdSPZ1_w&mra=ltm&dirflg=w&z=18

August 20th
    So if I come up to you at the beers will I get a pat on back from coming all the way from Dublin?
    I was thinking of buying people beers but it may be too expensive that way.

August 27th
    I was thinking of buying people beers but it may be too expensive that way.

sure isn't a pint only about 50p outside the pale? none of yer outrageous Dublin prices down the country!

August 20th
    Yes we still use penny here, but wages are lower and mostly paid in meat, salt and spuds :)

• Registered Users Posts: 202 ✭✭chloek

hotels are pricey around galway, anyone get a good deal anywhere.
    Not hostels.

August 27th
    Yes we still use penny here, but wages are lower and mostly paid in meat, salt and spuds :)

Excellent. Now where will I be able to change my €500 notes into pennys? hmmm.