Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Day Of Champions! (July 30th)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Fergus_

When is the exchange available to open? I've to take an early bus

• Registered Users Posts: 16 supersquaddy

Ok, I can make it to this event.
    How many setups have we got as i can bring my asus monitor if needed and a full xbox+ps3 setup.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,868 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

Ok, I can make it to this event.
    How many setups have we got as i can bring my asus monitor if needed and a full xbox+ps3 setup.

I'm pretty sure they always need more set ups!

@paraxis:
    I don't have a ps2-xbox converter, sorry. If it's a stick you need you could prob get a loan on the day.

It just means carrying it on the train :(

Well you don't HAVE to man. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Dwydwy

Carrying stick on Train is freeeeee! ;D

Hype guys! Tomorrow's time to get owned <3 xxooxx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,164 ✭✭✭Konata

If you had told me a year ago that I'd be sad about missing a Fighting Games tournament, I would have laughed and asked you what the hell a Fighting Games tournament was?

What have I become?! :P

• Registered Users Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭Voa

Well you don't HAVE to man. :)

BUT it would be awesome if you did! Having 6 setups means we could do 1 for the SSFAE teams, 1 for casuals/single elim, and then 4 for the main tournament. Which would be nice :D

More Setups = More happy Voa.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 Paraxis

@paraxis:
    I don't have a ps2-xbox converter, sorry. If it's a stick you need you could prob get a loan on the day.

Ahhh thanks but it's actually a pad I play on. I'm gonna be soooo messed up if i have to play on an xbox

• Registered Users Posts: 319 ✭✭DarkTalant

I'll probably be up at about 12 if anyone wants to meet up before 1.

ok, full setup it is.
    2 sticks, asus + 360 with AE and HDR

ok, full setup it is.

I think you don't need to bring a second stick to be fair.

ok, full setup it is.

I think you don't need to bring a second stick to be fair.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭Owwmykneecap

I think you don't need a second post to be fair.

The numpties are after putting a yoga class in before us.

Don't arrive before 12.30 would be y advice... Think I may get a coke in the Turks head til they're done.

I'm having brekky first though.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭Owwmykneecap

won't be in till 1:50 or so

May have missed a bus due to fatigue...

• Registered Users Posts: 488 ✭✭the 1st hardter

Same here kneecap. Looks like I'm missing marvel I think

Edit: oh its bb on first. I'm OK then

• Registered Users Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭UberPrinny_Baal

Good day, I had a lot of craic, thanks for organising it Voa!

My nephew also had a really good time. He's looking to pick up Marvel and Blazblue now (which was kind of the point of the day).

It was good to meet the Mortal Kombat Krowd too. They seem like a nice bunch of young people.

I'm afraid I didn't get a chance to work on a write-up for the site during the day as I had hoped. I thought it would be more useful to try and help the tournament progress by moving people and machines around. That was probably for the best.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,762 ✭✭✭Yreval

Didn't get to move to XGC at 7 as my lift home couldn't wait any longer. Had a decent time nonetheless.

I have to say, it was a bit ambitious thinking that all those tournaments could be finished in the Exchange in five and a half hours.

GGs to Doyler in MvC3, whose Captain America taught me the true meaning of freedom.

GGs also to Hound in ST. ST = Still Terrific.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Fergus_

GGs to everyone I played! (3 euro profit yeaaaaaaaaah)

Ladnopoka, I'm going first next time! Lol

Lads, I have a AE disc inside my Xbox, I heard someone calling at the Exchange for an AE disc, I wasn't aware it was in my Xbox.

Anyway, I missed my bus so I spent some time in Dr. Quigleys (Spelling?) and I was looking at the VF5 cab and there was a like 6-7 year old boy on the machine. He looks like me when I was his age, (blue eyes, curly brown hair etc.) and I put in a euro I had and pressed start for him and he spent a while looking around at the character screen and ended up picking Aoi which surprised me because I thought he'd pick someone "cool looking" like Jacky or Brad, Aoi was my character when I played VF5 for a while. I asked him why Aoi and he said "because she looks cool"

tl;dr, I found a mini me.

Lads, anyone own that AE disc? I'll return it to whoever in tomorrows allnighter.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭Voa

It's Doom's.

And Uber; yeah, I was probably aiming a lil high...but better to aim high and fail than not try I say. I'll get a longer booking next time, and probably run less tournaments.

• Registered Users Posts: 217 ✭✭powerofscience

It may have been too ambitious but it was still a lot of fun. Managed to make to 4th place in BB (woot). GG's to everyone I played, especially Xinkai and Chuey who both beat me at BB, oh and Voa who didn't perfect me on MVC3.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭UberPrinny_Baal

Yreval wrote: »
    I have to say, it was a bit ambitious thinking that all those tournaments could be finished in the Exchange in five and a half hours.
    Voa wrote: »
    And Uber; yeah, I was probably aiming a lil high...but better to aim high and fail than not try I say.

I did not express the sentiment you are replying to.

I'm always appreciative of people who run tournaments, because I love participating, but I hate running them myself.

Reach for the stars Voa, reach for the stars!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭Xinkai

Yeah was well run under pressure, fair play to voa for that.

GG to all, I may now take my crown as the saltiest of the salt. :D

@DarkTalant: Sorry about earlier, just pissed me off is all, over it now.

lol, seriously, mistakes were made, no one was hurt, we shall all learn :)

Looking forward to the next one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 Tsukiko_chan

was a good fun day ^^ so much nerves on my part. def looking forward to the next time i play you guys XD good stuff!

• Registered Users Posts: 551 ✭✭✭Monkeyto

Shout outs to Dreddy running a fun 2v2 tourny, and ggs to the dudes in the pub after!

• Registered Users Posts: 217 ✭✭powerofscience

Xinkai wrote: »
    I may now take my crown as the saltiest of the salt. :D

I think I'm saltier than you, I've lost to you twice now because of stupid mistakes. I swear I'm gonna beat you next time. Love playing your Lambda though it's definitely a challenge.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,707 ✭✭✭✭K.O.Kiki

I don't remember half of what happened or what I've been saying.

Damn Evo stream (1.30-8.30am)!!!