Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Mayo GAA Discussion Thread

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

We don't need Mortimer, he left us the week before the Connacht final without consideration for his team mates and the jersey. Maybe ring his parents and see if they will allow him.
    Anyway, we don't want him. Move on.

We should still have plenty for Ros. Coen, Moran, Doc.

Well done London

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

Only d'BIG TWO and the d'small two left now. Just like the olden days. An interesting Connacht final seems guaranteed now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,426 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

A 'significant' injury, according to the RTE website, same shoulder as injured back in October.
    Scan on Thursday.

Hopefully someone can step up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭threebeards

From http://mayogaablog.com/?p=12851 incorporating a statement from the County Board in relation to the injury:

I’ve done some enquiring today about the situation regarding Cillian’s injury and having spoken with well-placed sources it’s clear that the injury is a serious one and it will definitely rule him out of the Roscommon match in three weeks time. He’s due to be assessed this coming week to see if surgery is an immediate requirement and if it is (which it may or may not be, this will depend on the assessment) that’s likely to be it for this year for the two-times Young Footballer of the Year.
    If surgery isn’t required immediately, I’m told that an operation will be needed in any case later in the year so a number of months post-surgery recuperation will be on the cards at some point, either straight away or later in the year. Even if an operation doesn’t have to be undertaken now, it’s still very likely that the injury will rule Cillian out for some time, which means that at the very least we shouldn’t be under any illusions that he’ll be back anytime soon. Depressing news, I know, but that’s the way it is.
    The County Board have tonight confirmed the position regarding Cillian with this statement, which reads in full as follows:

On Saturday 25th May while on club championship duty for Ballintubber, Cillian O’Connor suffered what can be described as quite a significent shoulder injury. The injury sustained was to the same shoulder as Cillian previously hurt last October. While the initial diagnosis is that Cillian has suffered a dislocated shoulder to a similar injury suffered last year, more assessment is needed. Cillian will undergo a further scan next Thursday and will meet with the specialists then to determine the extent of the injury and the treatment required. Cillian will continue to work with the excellent medical team who will no doubt have Cillian back playing for Mayo as soon as he is physically able to. In the meantime we wish Cillian all the best in his recovery and look forward to seeing him again very soon in the Green & Red of Mayo.

The above statement is fairly carefully worded, laying plenty of stress on the need for further assessment and the decisions that’ll need to be taken later in the week about the medical treatment that will be required. However, the description of the injury as “significant” mirrors the language used by the Board in their official statement last August when Andy Moran did his cruciate and the bit about having Cillian back playing “as soon as he is physically able to” is, I think, a bit of a giveaway too. In other words, nobody should be getting their hopes up about an early return to the fray for the talented Ballintubber man.
    From James Horan’s vantage point, the only thing that matters right now is that Cillian won’t, like Michael Conroy and maybe a few others as well, be available for selection to face Roscommon on June 16th. It’s this match and who’ll be available for selection for us that we need to keep focused on, not least because, after today’s shock result in Ruislip, the Rossies – who, from what I’m hearing, will be a hell of a lot better drilled this year than they were twelve months ago (not difficult, I know) – will know that if they manage to upset the applecart on us, a handy Connacht title awaits for them.
    As a result, loose talk about who might or might not be available for us in August or September is, I reckon, best avoided right now. Instead, we need to concentrate our thoughts on the resources still available to us to face the Sheepstealers three weeks from now. As ever in the Championship, it’s a case of one match at a time.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,513 ✭✭✭seanhynes

Who knows? O Connors injury could possibly tip the scale of mayos championship prospects like a grain of rice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,785 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Get well soon Cillian, time for the likes of Dillon and Doherty to step up and take resposibility for thr free taking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Get well soon Cillian, time for the likes of Dillon and Doherty to step up and take resposibility for thr free taking.

I was thinking about this today. Our free taking in the league was very hit and miss with Cillian injured for the majority of it. I think Jason Doherty had a good strike rate against Kildare ( I think it was against them ) but it was very sketchy throughout. McLoughin - who I rate very highly, took a few too but didn't have a great record. So it will be Doherty ( if fit ) and Dillion probably.

Some loss is Cillian though, his free taking is excellent for a lad of his age. Never feels the pressure and when he steps up you know it's going over most of the time. I've never seen anything like the two sidelines he kicked down in Cork. His general play was improving too. I thought he was one of our best players against Dublin in the league semis and his performance against Galway was outstanding. 3 goal assists, 6 points and he was very vocal in organising the forwards throughout. Best of luck to him in his recovery.

We have to move on now and pray no more of our big hitters get injured. Maybe someone else can step up now, just like Varley did in Salthill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Cosmo Kramer

Hopefully Doherty will be the next player to step up and show his past league form in the championship. He has a great chance of a regular start now for his free taking ability and we know the goal scoring potential that is there also.

McLoughlin Dillon Carolan
    Varley Moran Doherty

with Freeman, Feeney, Regan and Coen to come in is still a strong forward line for the Roscommon game. Hopefully Conroy will be back before too long as well. Sadly, I think it might be best for the player himself if Cillian has the surgery he needs now, even if it means his season is over as a result. Not a good idea to take any risks with a repeat injury.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

Senior C'Ship outright odds update:
    Castlebar 5/2
    Ballintubber 3/1
    Ballagh 6/1
    Knockmore 6/1
    Breaffy 7/1
    Ballina 8/1
    Charlestown 12/1
    Garrymore 20/1
    Claremorris 20/1
    Crossmolina 25/1
    Westport 25/1
    Ballinrobe 33/1
    Aghamore 33/1
    Davitts 40/1
    Tourmakeady 50/1
    Shrule/Glencorrib 66/1

I think them odds are a bit harsh on Shrule/Glencorrib, Crossmolina and Westport, dont think they are as much outsiders are their odds say (although S/G are nowhere near winning, I dont think they are the worst team in Senior in Mayo!)

And on the other side of things, Garrymore and Claremorris surely cant be more likely to win than Crossmolina?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭GBXI

Breaffy a good beat for the County title looking at those odds?

Seem to have started the year very well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

GBXI wrote: »
    Breaffy a good beat for the County title looking at those odds?

Seem to have started the year very well.

Yeah they have started very well, beat Crossmolina comfortably in Championship and had some great league results.

Also finished brilliantly in the league last year, something like 4 wins on the trot I think!

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Btubber will be lost without COC. Breaffy blow hot and cold, so many years expecting them to come through but just seem to explode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,354 ✭✭✭naughto

yop wrote: »
    Btubber will be lost without COC. Breaffy blow hot and cold, so many years expecting them to come through but just seem to explode.
    new manager and new trainer this yr 7/1 looks a good bet

naughto wrote: »
    new manager and new trainer this yr 7/1 looks a good bet

Is Jim gone from Breaffy? Who is in there now?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Always_Running

Castlebar look good for senior title. Three in row U-21 titles they have won?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭tacofries

Any word on Cillian? I know that they were expected to be told today the exent of the injury..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Kalyke

Scan is today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭tacofries

Pretty sure they new yesterday the extent of his injuries!

tacofries wrote: »
    Pretty sure they new yesterday the extent of his injuries!

The scan was Thursday so weren't going to know on Wednesday ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭ultrapercy

The scan was Thursday so weren't going to know on Wednesday ;)
    He and anyone near him knew the extent of it very soon after it happened. The consultant saw him as soon as he was in the hospital so that helped. Ive discolated my shoulder 7 times on 4 of those occasions I waited for 10 hours overnight for it to be reduced. No fun. Unfortunately for me, not being an intercounty footballer, I got no preferential treatment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 962 ✭✭✭john mayo 10

Any word on the scan that COC was to have on his shoulder

• Registered Users Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭Barlett

I've heard from a few people that they are not going to operate, surgery will be required but not until the end of the season. He'll be out for 6 weeks so will be back for the Quarter Finals.

Barlett wrote: »
    I've heard from a few people that they are not going to operate, surgery will be required but not until the end of the season. He'll be out for 6 weeks so will be back for the Quarter Finals.
    Good news I suppose, But he is looking at a summer of every opposition player looking to have a rattle at his weak shoulder.

I think this is the very worst thing he could do. If this was the first occurrence you could almost understand but it's the second time in a little over seven months his shoulder has broken down. There's obviously something seriously wrong with it and trying to play on could end up creating a Michael Meehan situation of a chronic injury that shadows his entire playing career, nevermind the effects it could have on his life in general. A shoulder injury is one of the nastiest things you can get and it can have a real impact on your quality of life.

I suppose he's thinking Mayo have a shot at an AI this year and he wants the chance to be involved but it's verging close to madness to try and get away with this one. Far better if he's shut down for the year and gets surgery and is able to get his shoulder fully healthy before stepping on a pitch.

No opposition player is going to be sentimental about his plight and rightly so. If you put yourself in the firing line you need to be damn sure you're fit.

• Registered Users Posts: 20 Itoa

Syferus wrote: »
    I think this is the very worst thing he could do. If this was the first occurrence you could almost understand but it's the second time in a little over seven months his shoulder has broken down. There's obviously something seriously wrong with it and trying to play on could end up creating a Michael Meehan situation of a chronic injury that shadows his entire playing career, nevermind the effects it could have on his life in general. A shoulder injury is one of the nastiest things you can get and it can have a real impact on your quality of life.

I suppose he's thinking Mayo have a shot at an AI this year and he wants the chance to be involved but it's verging close to madness to try and get away with this one. Far better if he's shut down for the year and gets surgery and is able to get his shoulder fully healthy before stepping on a pitch.

No opposition player is going to be sentimental about his plight and rightly so. If you put yourself in the firing line you need to be damn sure you're fit.

Bit of worst case scenario there! In reality when the consult saw him he wouldn't have been thinking about weather or not Mayo are going to be playing in an All-Ireland final. He would have given COC an option of what to do. If not having surgery until after a summer of playing football was going to do his health harm he would not have given him the that option.

Itoa wrote: »
    Bit of worst case scenario there! In reality when the consult saw him he wouldn't have been thinking about weather or not Mayo are going to be playing in an All-Ireland final. He would have given COC an option of what to do. If not having surgery until after a summer of playing football was going to do his health harm he would not have given him the that option.

It hardly works lilke that. For one players in every sport regularly disregard doctor's wishes to get back on the field but obviously if you need surgery on something you have the surgery immediately or as soon as humanly possible, that's simply good practice. I highly doubt choosing to delay surgery on a (re!)injured shoulder was the ideal scenario for any surgeon. There is always going to be a risk attached to playing when you know something needs corrective surgery when the season is over.

Result from Ballina, Mayo 5-12 Cavan 0-16 goals from Coen,Alan Murphy (2) Andy Moran (2) McLoughlin,Freeman took frees today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,466 ✭✭✭mayo.mick

Photos of todays match, http://pix.ie/mayomick/album/467405

Some hammering today :D

CD970369E3334C03A7BB14797DF72084-0000346470-0003268379-00500L-11AE399493BC4B769063C1401009CDDB.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,354 ✭✭✭naughto

Is Jim gone from Breaffy? Who is in there now?
    ya jim is gone declan reilly and conard coghill are the new setup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭Caiseoipe19

16 points is quite a big score to concede though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,251 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Any of ye know the teams from today lads? I hear Cavan put out a different fifteen in the second half.

They did the same against Meath in another recent challenge.

Did Mayo do that too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Hammar

Lemlin wrote: »
    Any of ye know the teams from today lads? I hear Cavan put out a different fifteen in the second half.

They did the same against Meath in another recent challenge.

Did Mayo do that too?

Do you read the gaaboard Lemlin? One of the posters there seems to have put up a resemblence of the team/s. Supposedly we more than matched Mayo in the first half and we were leading 0-10 to 1-05 at half time. It shows progress that we were/are able to compete with one of the best 3 teams in the country for a decent period of time.

Mayo starting line-up
    O'Malley
    Keane
    McHale
    Cunniffe
    Burke
    Boyle
    Vaughan
    AOS
    Gibbons
    Mc Loughlin
    Feeney
    Carolan
    Coen
    Freeman
    Andy Moran.

By all accounts Andy Moran was outstanding, Its good to see one of the elite players coming back to his best. I'l not bore the Mayo lads,by listing the Cavan teams. :D

Don't know the Cavan team though they did make 15 changes at HT. Mayo starting team was

O'Malley,Keane,McHale,T Cunniffe, J Burke,Vaughan,Boyle,Gibbons, A O'Shea,Carolan,McLoughlin,R Feeney,A Moran,Alan Freeman,D Coen

Alan Murphy,Evan Regan,Michael Walsh,Keith Rogers were some of the subs brought on

Don't know the Cavan team though they did make 15 changes at HT. Mayo starting team was

O'Malley,Keane,McHale,T Cunniffe, J Burke,Vaughan,Boyle,Gibbons, A O'Shea,Carolan,McLoughlin,R Feeney,A Moran,Alan Freeman,D Coen

Alan Murphy,Evan Regan,Michael Walsh,Keith Rogers were some of the subs brought on

Is that an experimental team lads or near enough your normal line up? I don't see mention of Keith Higgins for example.

Lemlin wrote: »
    Is that an experimental team lads or near enough your normal line up? I don't see mention of Keith Higgins for example.

I think only 7 of that line up started against Galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭homewardbound11

mayo.mick wrote: »
    Photos of todays match, http://pix.ie/mayomick/album/467405

Some hammering today :D

ZZWZWSZWZWWWWWIMG]

WZZWZWWZWZAWWAZWZZWAZAWWWW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭BrianBoru00

Senior C'Ship outright odds update:
    Castlebar 5/2
    Ballintubber 3/1
    Ballagh 6/1
    Knockmore 6/1
    Breaffy 7/1
    Ballina 8/1
    Charlestown 12/1
    Garrymore 20/1
    Claremorris 20/1
    Crossmolina 25/1
    Westport 25/1
    Ballinrobe 33/1
    Aghamore 33/1
    Davitts 40/1
    Tourmakeady 50/1
    Shrule/Glencorrib 66/1

I think them odds are a bit harsh on Shrule/Glencorrib, Crossmolina and Westport, dont think they are as much outsiders are their odds say (although S/G are nowhere near winning, I dont think they are the worst team in Senior in Mayo!)

And on the other side of things, Garrymore and Claremorris surely cant be more likely to win than Crossmolina?

Not a Mayo man but from the outside - 6/1 for the county champions to retain their crown seems very generous....and presumably with their best player back this year........Is there some reason they re this price??

• Registered Users Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭blowitupref

Not a Mayo man but from the outside - 6/1 for the county champions to retain their crown seems very generous....and presumably with their best player back this year........Is there some reason they re this price??

Lost their manager but Andy Moran can only improve a side 6/1 is a good price.

Ballagh have been notoriously inconsistent, they can be great but have yet to (obviously) do it two seasons in a row. Losing Mark Dowd (who the lads were full of praise of) to our minor set-up was a big blow but given his pre-existing relationship with Fergie it was a hard offer to turn down. It's a pity he didn't have the time for both jobs.

They only drew with Aghamore in the first round but they aren't in a group of death so should be well able to qualify for the QFs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Cosmo Kramer

Impossible to judge anything from that challenge match. Cavan put out two different teams for each half (judging by their performance I can only assume the first half team was nearer to their starting 15)?

Mayo played less than half their first 15 to start with and didn't being any first team players on as the match progressed, only reserve players. At the same time they will be disappointed to have been behind at half time and only kicked on when the second Cavan 15 came on. 1-3 for Coen and 2-0 for Murphy are nice scores though as I don't think either of them have started a championship match. It was a pity Evan Regan didn't get more of a run.

We certainly have plenty of depth in the forwards, the problem is trying to work out which are our best 6. Moran, McLoughlin and Dillon are certain starters (O'Connor and Conroy probably would be too if fit). Varley would have to be a starter given his performance against Galway and his ability on left footed frees. Then you have two more spots at the moment with the injuries and Carolan/Doherty/Regan/Coen/Murphy/Freeman/Feeney all fighting for them. They're all good players. The latest injury news seems to be that O'Connor and Conroy could both be back by August as well (hopefully we're still going at that point). That's a serious amount of competition in the forward line, more than I can ever remember a Mayo team having.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭blowitupref

The problem is trying to work out which are our best 6. Moran, McLoughlin and Dillon are certain starters (O'Connor and Conroy probably would be too if fit). Varley would have to be a starter given his performance against Galway and his ability on left footed frees. Then you have two more spots at the moment with the injuries and Carolan/Doherty/Regan/Coen/Murphy/Freeman/Feeney all fighting for them. They're all good players. The latest injury news seems to be that O'Connor and Conroy could both be back by August as well (hopefully we're still going at that point). That's a serious amount of competition in the forward line, more than I can ever remember a Mayo team having.

I think best six forwards pick themselves McLoughlin,Dillon,Carolan,A Moran,Freeman,Varley and when fit O'Connor,Conroy,Doherty would replace Freeman,Varley,Carolan.

Impossible to judge anything from that challenge match. Cavan put out two different teams for each half (judging by their performance I can only assume the first half team was nearer to their starting 15)?

Cavan's two teams:

O Mara
    McLoughlin
    Dunne
    Tighe
    McEnroe
    A Clarke
    F Flanagan
    D McKiernan
    Packie Leddy
    Cian Mackey
    M Reilly
    R Flanagan
    J Brady
    Tierney
    Dunne

2nd Half
    james Reilly
    D Barkey
    K Clarke
    Joshua Hayes
    Meehan
    Podge
    McCutcheon
    D Reilly
    Murray
    B Reilly
    M McKeever
    N McDermott
    Givney
    Keating
    A.nother who is unknown to me at present.

The first team has eight of the team that started against Armagh. The second team has only five.

Killian Brady and Conor Gilsenen both played against Armagh and didn't feature in the challenge. David Givney supposedly started in the forward line in the second half and not at midfield because of a stomach bug.

I don't think either side could be seen as a first choice selection by Cavan. That said, the first selection does have 5 of what would be considered the first choice backline so its no surprise they were alot tighter than the second half team.

Hyland has been very secretive about the team and I'm not surprised he selected a mismatch of players for each half. I've no doubt Canavan will have had someone at the game and, having already had the benefit of seeing Cavan in action against Armagh, Hyland will want to give nothing further away.

This is only the second challenge game the team have played. The first was against Meath and Cavan followed a similar template of changing the entire team at half time.

According to Midwest COC is out for 8 weeks and will be analyzed on a daily basis.

And guess who we have to ref the match against Ros.....

Is he better or worse than his brother that was the ref for the Galway game?

According to Midwest COC is out for 8 weeks and will be analyzed on a daily basis.
    Is that from the date of the injury or is it the latest info to hand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,734 ✭✭✭Fowler87

Is that from the date of the injury or is it the latest info to hand?

Id say its just an estimate on his return as considering its the same shoulder he injured, the docs will be taking every week as it comes along to get proper assessment. Fingers crossed though:)

• Registered Users Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Please God,not Marty Duffy?!:eek:

Is he better or worse than his brother that was the ref for the Galway game?

Is that his brother, only copped it was "Michael" not "Marty", sweeet Jeeebus I nearly collapsed when I read "Duffy"

Yes his brother and i'm not sure if he's better or worse than Marty?